Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Scribner The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1

Scribner The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1

Now C.S. Lewis's classic trio of fantasy tales is in one convenient volume! Called to join the universal battle of good vs. evil, Dr. Elwin Ransom, a renowned scholar, fights demonic forces with the help of heavenly messengers. Follow his out-of-this-world adventures in Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength. 728 pages, softcover from Scribners.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Review 1 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the series for my self years ago. Over the years it was lost in one of the many moves. I bought a replacement for Christmas for my son. He was excited. He had been looking for it. He loves sci-if especially when it includes the creator of science and space. CS Lewis is such a great author that it makes a great combination. Keep in mind when it was written for so of the space stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
marsch4
Location:Homewood, Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value on a great, but lesser known work of the splendid-minded C.S. Lewis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mamasheep
Location:Weatherford, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son was so excited to get this volume for Christmas. We made the assumption that since it was C.S. Lewis that it would be family friendly. Unfortunately, in the first chapter there were several uses of a curse word! We were all so disappointed. CBC was so good to allow us to return it immediately for a full refund.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Summer Adventures

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
whispercare
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is my summer reading. I've read the trilogy before, but wanted to revisit them. I am pleased to spend my summer adventuring with Ransom and C.S. Lewis' other characters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pops
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having all three books of the trilogy in one volume is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact volume of all three books

Date:March 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prisca
Location:South metro Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Out of the Silent Planet", "Perelandra" and "That Hideous Strength" are all included in this compact trilogy. It is a great value and I am a C.S. Lewis fan so I couldn't pass up the bargain. Much more expensive elsewhere.
I haven't begun reading yet, but I'm sure I'll enjoy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I could not believe the price!!!!!!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been trying to find this collection for under $40 for nearly two years now, and to see it listed on sale for $9 was mind-blowing. It's definitely worth more, but I am thankful I was aware of its being on sale.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
miss bookworm
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book, and this is the best price I've seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific fantasy correlating to Scripture

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
macfz
Location:Anaheim, Ca
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Space Trilogy is a wonderful collection, each book dragging the reader in to a new world. Eden, Christ, demonic forces, etc.- all are here presented in C.S. Lewis' unique style. My only complaint is that the book seems to have been published in a hurry. There are numerous punctuation errors, and I can't imagine these faults the original author's. Of course some misplaced commas and quotation marks should not keep anyone from purchasing these wonderful stories at such a great price! Perhaps it should be listed as slightly imperfect, unless I simply received a copy from a bad batch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Rhinebeck, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just started reading it. It has caught my attention, I see my self completing all three sections of the book,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Location:Hickory Grove, South Carolina
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
C.S. Lewis's Space Trilogy contains:
Out of the Silent Planet,
Perelandra,
and That Hideous Strength. 
The Space Trilogy is an extraordinary and suspenseful story of Dr. Elwin Ransom's journeys to and from space. It's hard to put down once you've started! I highly recommend this book! There are many lessons to be derived from the reading of these masterpieces. 
That Hideous Strength, especially shows what science - if we are not careful -is capable of doing. This isn't necessarily just fiction. It could happen - or it may already be. We need to read and take heed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Simon Fournier
Location:Quebec city, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read volume 1 while I was on vacation and I look forward to read volume 2 and 3. It's really entertaining science-fiction but at the same time it makes you think about spiritual and even socio-political issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

C.S. Lewis does it again!

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
CW2SAD
Location:Guffey, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our library of C.S. Lewis books isn't extensive, but we do read a lot of his works. We found out about him when our children were small and we bought the Narnia books (which we still have - the "collector's box" they came in is almost worn out, but the books are now exciting the grandchildren!). We bought two of these books for our son's 29th birthday and one for my 55th birthday; they're great!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lewis classic

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ken Howes
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have not read the Space Trilogy before, you have missed C.S. Lewis's finest work. It confronts the reader with many of the great ethical questions society faces today. The first book strips away the excuses made for aggression and greed. The second revisits the Genesis situation, as the first human in a new creation is tempted to seek knowledge not given to her, by doing something that God has forbidden. There is also a Christological point in that it is the Son who communicates to her--the eternal Word. The final book is almost chilling when one thinks of the issues in modern society.
All this is within a riveting science-fiction narrative that takes the lead character to Mars, and then Venus, and then has to return to Earth to face the onslaught of organized evil on earth. The faces of that evil will be recognizable in any number of ways. The corruption of American academe today mirrors closely what Lewis posited in England in 1946.
This is a good read; the best read you will get in any of Lewis's books.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
CanoeBeyond
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun and thought provoking. Read it once, then read it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

C.S. Lewis

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patrick
Location:Calverton, New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slow starting read. Once commited the book sails along. Definitely for adult fans of Narnia. Another look into the brilliance that is C.S. Lewis.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series by C.S. Lewis,

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Will Mc
Location:North Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great series by Lewis, but even a die-hard fan such as myself has a difficult time getting through the third book in series "That Hideous Strength". The 1st two books however are brilliant. Buying the series in a combined volume just makes sense, I was able to purchase the three books for not much more than the price of one volume.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
unclejack
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent books, still reading them and I am enthralled. Very different for C.S. Lewis but still a good read. Fantastic and exciting, mysterious and imaginative. Everything you could ask for from C.S. Lewis
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Space Trilogy, 3 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

classic by C.S. Lewis

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
RRAS
Location:Troutdale, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was very pleasantly surprised to find this book in your online catalog . i have been looking for used copies everywhere, but never found any.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.