Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Journeyforth Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel

Journeyforth Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel

Nineteen year old Jim Yoder is part of the 44th division stationed in England during World War II. Hailing from the Hoosier State and a Mennonite--pacifist--background, he's determined that despite the loss of human life, the European countries are worth defending with his life. A riveting historical fiction filled with the account of a young Christian's experience during WWII. 215 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Review 1 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Explore stunning courage

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela Breidenbach
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun read! I stayed up reading until 3 a.m. to see what happened to Jim Yoder. An extra treat in this tale from WWII is the way Rick Barry uses real history to frame his character. I felt the hunger as he races across Germany. I was right there running with him. Kudos, Rick, on a story well told and on bringing history to life in such an entertaining way. Now I'm excited to share it with others. This story crosses generations in exploring the stunning courage of those who fought for freedom as well as the many reader ages that will enjoy it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get ready for suspense

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Rick Barry, a skydiver, mountain climber, rafter and outdoorsman who has done high ropes courses through tree tops knows how to allow a main character to fall into trouble and take the terrorized reader down with him.
That’s what happens in Gunner’s Run with Jim Yoder, a waist gunner on a B-24 bomber during World War II. With enemy planes firing from several angles, friends hit, I didn’t think things could get much worse, but I was naïve.
Barry, who started his career writing textbooks for Christian schools then went to Christian ministry in Russia, has visited the countries where Yoder’s story occurs. His prolific free lance writing revolves around his faith, and in Gunner’s Run he skillfully entwines a Christian message into the story without being preachy. Yoder’s need for faith springs from his experiences and a praying mother.
The story includes humor, romance as Yoder yearns to survive long enough to declare his love to Margo, the girl back home.
I recommend this book to every age group beginning with young adults, and am happy to review it for Journey Forth Publishers who gave the copy to me as part of the Veterans Day Book Giveaway. Now I’ll pass Gunner’s Run on to my grandson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandy N.
I got my dad Gunners Run, and he absolutely LOVED it. He's a Korean War vet. He called to ask if it was a movie. While reading it, all he could think was "Wow! This would be a great movie!" He got so wrapped up in the story that he couldn't put it down at night and stayed up way too late reading. I just can't tell you how excited he was about reading it. He just went on and on and he doesn't do that about anything!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ralph Parks
Gunners Run is an authentic history based story. It will bring back a lot of memories to veterans. It is a must read for WW II buffs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
In Gunners Run by Rick Barry, Jim Yoder, a World War II B-26 gunner, falls from his plane and parachutes into Nazi Germany. He is quickly caught and thrown into prison. Having turned his back on God years ago, he makes his peace, knowing he may never get back home. But once he and God are communicating, Jims prayers are answered. He manages to escape the prison, don a German soldiers uniform, and start the long trek towards France. He sleeps the days away and travels at night, steering clear of the roads, eating raw potatoes and anything he can find. He meets friends and enemies on his journey, assumes several identities to get past Nazi forces, and dreams of the day he can get back to Indiana and see Margo, the girl he hopes to make a future with. I enjoyed Jims suspenseful journey to stay out of the Gestapos clutches and how he depended on God to get him through. Having a grandfather who fought in WWII, it was fascinating to see stories of people trusting God and working together to help each other out of enemy territory. Gunners Run put me smack in the middle of a side of WWII I never studied. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gary Rassi
This story builds intensity up to the very end. From the minute the bomb bay doors are opened right thru the final shoot out and Jim Yoder's escape from Hitler's Europe the excitement spirals. Mr. Barry has done a great job acquainting the reader with the military jargon of the time as well as the actual historical facts the encompass his tale. My wife and I both loved the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Gunner's Run is a book packed with action and suspense. Though not an incredibly detail-oriented book, it allows the reader to fill in the blanks as each scene takes Jim Yoder deeper into the heart of enemy territory, closer to the border, and home. Gunner's Run is a book that you won't be able to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Juanita Rassi
Gunner's Run is a historically fictional mix of suspense, humor, romance, and simple faith in God, done with home-town and girl-next-door flavor. Generally I don't connect with stories about war, but since my husband is intrigued by war stories and our fathers both served in Germany in WWII, I put my prejudice aside. To my delight and surprise, Rick Barry's creatively crafted word pictures drew me into the story and I was hooked!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessica Sanford
I don't usually care for war stories, but this book captured my attention until the very end. Gunner's Run will keep you on the edge of your seat with the adventure of Jim Yoder in Europe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gunner's Run: A World War II Novel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ron Jason
Written in first person format, this novel puts the reader right inside the head of Jim Yoder, the main character. I think the author successfully captured the emotions of a young man from a small town in Indiana who suddenly finds himself thrust into situations he never expected. You feel Yoder's hopes and fears as you accompany him throughout the pages of the book. An added plus is the historical accuracy of the events that Rick Barry uses for the backdrop of his story. I've read many WW II non-fiction books, and the fictional elements of Gunner's Run blend perfectly with events that I know really happened. The romantic element will appeal to women readers. All in all, this is a book that I can highly recommend. Christians will appreciate the wholesome approach and nuggets of biblical truth woven naturally into the account. Non-Christians will also like it as an adventure, but they will also gain biblical insights that Yoder learns along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.