Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group Demon: A Memoir

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group Demon: A Memoir

Clayton's life is stuck in the mud. His wife has been cheating on him for years, his literary career is uninspired, and his job as an editor is mediocre at best. But when he walks into a restaurant and finds a mysterious dark-haired stranger waiting for him, his life dramatically changes. The stranger claims to be Lucian, one of Lucifer's fellow fallen angels, come to tell Clay his story of the angels' dramatic fall from Heaven, Adam and Eve's Eden, and Christ's triumph on the cross - from a demon's perspective. This seems just the thing to get Clay's career jumpstarted, but it could mean his ultimate success or failure as Lucian's story seems to become more and more like his own.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Demon: A Memoir
Review 1 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

After 3 years, I still think about this book

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sara Rassler
Location:Brainerd, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been three and a half years since I read this book, but I still think about it. This book really stuck with me. I recommend this book to any Christian who has a hunger for faith-based thought-provoking books. It will make you question the darkness within yourself and within others. Here are my initial thoughts from three years ago:
"I did not cry until the end. I was hanging onto every page, every paragraph, and every word until the very last page before the Epilogue. I could absolutely not put the book down. I was fidgeting and trying to read faster and yet still consume every word until the end. As I read the Epilogue, I yelled at the book. I yelled at Tosca. I absolutely hated the ending until I sat back and realized that I actually did read the end of the story. Just as Clay thought until the very end that he didn’t have the ending to the story, I thought the same.
In the end, there is an end to the story. And in the end, just as the story is all about Clay, the story is also all about me and all about you. I dare you to read this book and not be captured by it. I dare you to read this book and not have your life changed by it.
And now, excuse me as I patch together all of the things I’ve just learned about myself and Elohim."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seeing things through fresh eyes! LOVED this!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're like me, you've probably read the creation account of the Bible quite a few times as well as the story of the life and testimony of Jesus Christ. When I had the opportunity to read, Demon: A Memoir by Tosca Lee I was completely blown away by the author's ability to enhance what I've read time and time again with new clarity. Mind you she doesn't take away anything from the Bible, but merely increases the reader's knowledge about why there is such a hatred from demons towards human beings in general.
In this novel, the reader is given the opportunity to witness an interaction between an editor for Brooks and Hanover named Clayton and what he considers as a random encounter with a well-dressed man who goes by the name of Lucian. What Clay soon discovers is that Lucien isn't all that he appears to be, and begins to tell him things about his life that only Clay would know. Thinking Lucien has been spying on him, he gets visibly upset and its then that Lucien reveals that he is a demon who wants Clay to publish a memoir of sorts based on the conversations he has with him.
Of course at first, Clay doesn't believe this is really happening until an unexpected meeting appears on his calendar at work with the name of the client as simply "L." When Clay arrives at the library he encounters a beautiful woman he is immediately attracted to. However when the woman speaks to him, Clay soon realizes that Lucien can take on the shape and likeness of anyone he chooses while having these random meetings with Clay. Over the time he spends with Lucien, he learns about the history of angels and their relationship with God before the fall, as well as what happened when Lucifer and the third of the angels fell from heaven. He is the witness to the creation of the world, the garden of Eden, the testing of Job as well as the life, testimony and crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Along the way, he gives Clay insights on why they rose up against God, how they viewed their own status against human kind, what they really thought of Earth, the creation of Adam and the new relationship with God. He paints the picture for Clay that illustrates just why things have gotten so out of hand in the world and what role demons play in their influence here on Earth with humans. It truly does paint a different picture seeing it through the eyes of a fallen angel who was once in a very intimate relationship with God, and then suddenly found themselves perpetually damned with no hope of redemption, while man on the other hand, could make mistake after mistake and God works to restore that relationship even to the point of dying to restore the covenant of everlasting life for those that believe and have a relationship with God through Jesus Christ.
I received no compensation to review this book or to provide a review other than my own honest opinion and I purchased a copy for my Kindle on my own. After reading Iscariot, also by Tosca Lee, I was completely blown away by her uncanny ability to delve into such historical biblical research and create an impression of what we might all be missing. For me, this just solidified some of the answers to those time honored questions we all find ourselves asking like, "Why do bad things happen to good people?" "If God, really is a God of love, why does He allow things to happen when He could easily prevent them? Like I stated, earlier, she doesn't change what the Bible has to say but merely gives us a more in depth look at why things are the way they are, and truly how wonderful the gift of salvation really is. It is one I will never take for granted again. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars and I can't wait to get started on Havah next!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking.

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know that a lot of people will pass over this book just because of its name. Don't be fooled. This is not a book about a demon trying to scare, posses or kill humans. This is a book about God and of His love. It is a book about jealousy. God's jealous love for humans and the demons who are jealous because of that love.
Now, I have no formal education in biblical matters, and I don't know if this book is "theologically sound" but what I do know is that well written books like this are supposed to make me asks questions like why and what if especially on things that I thought I knew pretty well. They are supposed to make me seek God for answers which will bring me into a closer relationship with Him.
The author has done a fantastic job with this book and I enjoyed it tremendously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have an Open Mind and and an Open Heart

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amber McCallister
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was amazed to see a new and different "version" of God and the angles presented to me for my consideration and contemplation. I was astounded at its unique take on God creating us (humans) as a "fresh start" to having beings He could communicate with and have companionship with. My eyes were opened anew to the fact that throughout history, God has shown us such a glorious love and a magnificent restraint in not destroying us and starting over despite our constant sinning against Him.
After reading this book, I, for one, see myself even more of an insignificant ant while at the time such a unique treasure. I am dumb-founded by the intricate detail, care, and love that He has put into my creation and my life so far. Reading Demon: A Memoir after reading Ted Dekker's Immanuel's Veins has left my mind reeling as to how much God, the Creator of the Universe, loves me, cherishes me, and desires an intimate, personal relationship with me. I am still trying to wrap my mind around that concept even now.
I want to scream this message from the roof tops. My heart is bursting at the seams with this knowledge and love that I feel within the depths of my being. I cannot keep it to myself. Even if the whole world denies this message, I won't...I can't deny it because I know it to be true. The Universe is screaming it out to me. My world, which I see as a stage, is telling me this message with every crash of an ocean wave, every sunrise and sunset, and with every beat of my own heart.
God loves me....us...everyone! What freedom, what love, what soul-craving intimacy, and what amazing grace we have available to us if we would only open our eyes and accept it. We just need to have a willing heart and outstretched arms to accept this FREE gift that has been awaiting us since the dawn of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb take on a story I thought I already knew!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
DM Kilgore
Location:Dunlap, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far among the top 5 books I have ever read. It was superb, from story line to the beautiful prose. This book made me think, wonder, and I finished it with a new perspective on a story I thought I knew. I was simply amazed with it from beginning to end and couldn't wait to finish it- and yet so sad when I reached the final page. This book has everything I look for in a story and then some. I definitely walked away with new insights and stronger faith. Tosca has such a beautiful way with words and story... this book, though at times very dark, is a shining example of what great writing can do for a reader. I HIGHLY recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Riveting Read!

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jacquip
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel held me in its grips from cover to cover. Tosca Lee has provided new insight on spiritual warfare, the fall of Lucifer and the redeeming love of the Father. AWESOME!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her writing style is very unique! (4.5)

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
SPOOKY!! Sorry, could not find another word to describe this book. Just look at the title and the cover and you'll know what I mean. To those of us who are very visual and do not like scary things, my advice to you : Don't read in the night! (for sanity's sake!) The book does not drag us to hell, mind you. Praise Jesus, you'll not read of anyone being set on fire-- Nope not that type of scary. It's just that the mood of the book is very deep and dark, and of course as you might have already guessed, there's no happy ending. Not the kind of novel I'd pick up to end my day.
Alright, now to my title up there.
Tosca Lee's writing is unlike anything I've read in other Christian novels. It's deep, metaphoric and quite frankly very nice. (of course, I had to keep a dictionary close while reading :)
Anyways, to those of us who are Bible students or who are just interested in everything biblical, Tosca may not have Dr in theology written after her name, but after reading her novel, it might really interest you to find out more on the fall of Lucifer and his angels. She really does write well!
I don't know about anyone else, but I do not pity Satan and his angels, after reading this. But the beautiful picture she paints of God and of the angels worshiping El, before the fall, well, let's just say you'll not be forgetting this one soon.
I loaned this to a friend, she liked it and even asked about Havah, Tosca's other novel, which I intend to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read.

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bradley Helms
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've found another great author. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unique writing style grabbed me

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an unusual novel! Having read the novel Lee co-authored with Dekker, I knew I had to read one she penned on her own. This one did not disappoint.
Clay is an editor at a major publishing house. At the end of a day at work he stops by the Bosnian Cafe for a bite before heading home to his dark and empty apartment. A man beckons him to sit with him. Clay tries to steer away but the fellow is persistent. He's taken the liberty of ordering for Clay.
Thus begins Lucian's interaction with Clay. Lucian wants to tell his story and insists that Clay will publish it. Over the next weeks, months, Lucian reveals the beginning, his devotion to Lucifer, Lucifer's fall from El's graces, El creating these things out of dirt, etc. Clay is at times repelled and at other times captivated. As the novel progresses we learn more about Clay's life and how it interacts with those around him. We feel the tension as Clay's life spins out of his control, bound as it is with the demon and his story.
One might think the plot line wouldn't hold the reader. A demon, telling his memoirs to an author/editor? Lee's writing is so good, however, that I was drawn to continue on, to find out who the monster really is.
Lee says in her afterward that she got to thinking one time of what the events recorded in Genesis must have been like, experienced from the viewpoint of a fallen angel. Her imagination is as good as her writing skills.
One message that comes across in this book, loud and clear, is the absurdity of God loving the humans He created, even after they rebelled against Him. It made me stop and think, and be very grateful, for God's continued love toward me. It's rare for a novel to illicit that kind of response, I think. It will stir your soul. Well done.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book keeps you on the edge of your seat!

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doris Thompson
Location:Sullivan, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very high pitched energy book. You are out of the gate running from the 1st page. She is an amazing author and pulls you in to the life of Clayton with all of his problems. Demon is very demanding in all he says and does to get Clayton to write his Memoir.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better Than Your Average "Demon's-Eye-View" Tale

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demon’s-eye-view novels aren’t entirely uncommon in the world of Christian fiction. Tosca Lee however has a knack for adding something special to even stories that seem old, which seem ‘done’, like a cliché. Her rich prose strikes the perfect balance between lyricism and clarity bringing rich word images to life on the printed page. She makes me think, every time, and Demon: A Memoir is no exception.
Clay is an editor and published author whose works never succeeded commercially. A recent divorcee, he finds himself mired in a life that lacks direction, purpose, or color. When a mysterious creature named Lucian enters his life and begins telling him a story that burns to be told, Clay finds himself writing with renewed fervor as the early days of creator are laid out for him from a demon’s-eye-view.
What makes Lucian’s revelations so unique isn’t their point of view (which I’ve read before), but rather the conclusions that are formed out of that point of view. Conclusions that contrast man with the angels, which compare God’s treatment of the two creatures when they respectively fall, and contrast His ultimate plans for both of them.
This is the main aspect that makes Demon such a worthwhile read. Compelling prose aside, these breathtaking insights into God’s love from the viewpoint of the fallen enemy are utterly spellbinding.
As a brief warning – readers looking for a decisive, definitive ending may be disappointed with Demon’s conclusion, but Lee is asking readers to make their own choice, to write the end of their own story, just as Clay must do. Those open to pondering for themselves, open to living in the question will enjoy this absorbing novel and the skill with which Lee draws out the question itself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent story, captivating, I couldn't put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kari
WOW, is all I can say. This book caught my attention right away! It was so good and refreshingly different. I would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kari
This book was excellent! It's been a while since I've been that enchanted with a book, but this one did it! Can't wait to read her other stuff. Great, great read and FYI not scary - just in case the name threw someobody off. READ ASAP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Demon: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
connie tinnin
This was the first book of Tosca Lee I read and immediately ordered the second one she wrote. This particular book had me captured from the first sentence. It was exciting, very well-written and full of suspense and action. The characters are very well rounded, all too human, with the exception of the demon, of course, and held my complete attention until the end...which I hated to see come. Tosca Lee is now on my favorite authors list and I am constantly checking to see if she has any other stories available yet. No one will be disappointed reading her literature, in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.