Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2

New Hope Publishers Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2

In book two of the "Freedom" series, readers find Mara fighting against her attraction to Bible college student Jonathan Flannery. Mara also wrestles with risking her own precarious safety to become involved in the rescue of another girl who is pregnant and desperately wants to escape her captors and save her own life as well as her child's.

Halfway around the world in a brothel in Thailand, a young girl is rescued with the promise of being reunited with her younger sister who was adopted by an interracial couple in the States, friends of Jonathan's family. Meanwhile, Jefe-Mara's uncle, who held her as a sex slave in his brothel in San Diego for years-seeks revenge for Mara's testimony that put him behind bars for life.

Will his underworld connections be successful in kidnapping and killing the girl who believes she has finally won her freedom?

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Review 1 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

page-turning fiction

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Special Delivery, the second book of her freedom series, Kathi Macias once again tackles one of the largest problems in our society today—human trafficking. Many Americans mistakenly think this only takes place in third-world countries, but unfortunately it is being discovered on a regular basis in our own backyards. Mara, who was rescued from human trafficking in book 1, knows the signs to look for and is able to rescue another girl from this terrible life. Although in jail, Mara’s uncle seeks to have her tortured and murdered. Once again Kathi has written a gripping novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat as you walk through the lives of young people caught up in the horror of human trafficking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

How deep is your love?

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Delivery continues the story of Mara, a girl illegally transported across the border from Mexico and forced into this scene by her own Tio (uncle). Freed from the grips of her captors in the previous book, Deliver Me from Evil, Mara now moves from Mexico to San Diego, this time legally. She has an honest job working as a waitress, she's thinking about some college courses, and her uncle is in prison where he can't hurt her.
Or at least she thinks she is safe. But her uncle has long arms that reach out of the prison to again place her in danger. As if that wasn't enough, a man and a young girl Mara is sure is also held in slavery come into the cafe, and she cannot help but notice them.
Somehow, she has to help. Perhaps a woman who gave Mara her card would be willing to help. She did before. And a young woman and her brother who had rescued Mara before discover that she's back in town, so now she has friends on her side to help.
But does she want them back in her life? Mara isn't sure she wants anyone from her past around. Especially not the handsome young man who rescued her and stirs feelings in her she has no right to feel. No man could ever want her in his life, not with the past she has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Macias Grabs My Heart Again!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friends, Kathi Macias, is one of the most gracious and talented writers I know. She writes more than a story, she pens a message of hope. She brings passion within her words and stirs your heart to do more and be more for Christ.
In her latest installment of her, "Freedom Series", Kathi takes us on a new journey into a world many ignore. Most don't even realize it's happening and sadly, it's very true. Sex trafficking is heartbreaking and an evil of all evils that prevails in our world today. Not just our world, but in our own communities.
We meet Mara once again and the family who saved her from tragedy. We too meet new girls. Girls who will change your life as you read their story. Fiction, but very real. I must tell you, this was hard for me to read. I loved the hope it brings, but my heart aches for those touched by this evil. You cannot read Kathi's words and not realize this is happening today. Somewhere, today a child is being touched by this evil that needs to be stopped!
It's a story filled with hope. A story where God is very much present and moving in the lives of those willing to be His vessels. It's just heartbreaking to picture this happening in our world today as we sit in our comfortable homes, sipping our morning coffee, another young child is being kidnapped and held in slavery.
I applaud Kathi for penning such passionate and life changing stories. This is why God gives us gifts. So that we can use them for His glory and honor.
I have loved every book, I have been blessed to read, penned by Kathi. This series is no different. Excellence in story writing. This story will captivate your heart and bring you to your knees for those touched by this evil.
This book was given to me as a gift from Kathi Macias for it's review and is published by New Hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kathi Macias gripping story of redemption.

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Delivery by: Kathi Macias is a tale of redeeming love through the violence and terror of sexual slavery. Girls and young women who’ve been stolen from their homes or sold by their own families suffer the horrors of back street bordellos. Mara has been rescued from such a situation but is hated by her Uncle who kept her prisoner for years. Now, in prison himself, he would like nothing more than to see his niece suffer.
Jonathan and Leah are working on their schooling. Jonathan attends Bible College and Leah has hopes of attending the same college after graduation. They’ve helped and prayed for Mara, wondering what happened to the beautiful young woman. As their paths cross again none has any idea of the dangers to come.
Ms. Macias weaves a story which could have been torn from the pages of newspapers around the world. Threading the horrors of sexual slavery with the love of a God who seeks those who may choose to trust Him, Ms. Macias does an admirable job with a difficult subject. A book to read, discuss and share I recommend Special Delivery.
Special Delivery
By: Kathi Macias
New Hope Publishing
ISBN # 10: 1-59669- 307-X
ISBN # 13: 978-1-59669-307-4
Reviewed by: Mary Bell-Foster
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abolition of Sex Slavery

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Delivery is the story of Mara, who is now free from sex slavery. It is the story of her life. Yet it’s more than just her life. It’s the suspense of revenge from Jefe. It’s the opportunity to help other girls get free. Will Mara find the grace to work through her personal issues and reach forth and help?
With Kathi’s incorporation of a tensive romantic relationship that intrigues both Jonathan and Mara, would Mara be able and willing to have a relationship that’s ‘normal’ with a husband? Would Jonathan be able to handle her brokenness?
Though this malady is worked feverishly in other countries, such as Lawan’s story and experiences, the United States is one of the biggest perpetrators of sex slavery. It’s an extension of what we have known as pimps and prostitutes, only in an uglier way, as it includes girls from ages five and up.
Kathi once again fleshes out the reality of sex trafficking and the devastation it brings upon the girls–mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually. You will see how the repugnant self-centered, self-serving mindsets of the perpetrators clash violently with those willing to give their lives to help girls trapped in this horrendous situation. That there are lost, sleazy men and women who will do the bidding of the perpetrators. Her characters dig deep under your skin, crying out for you to help. It’s personal, drawing you into the devastation with a cry for freedom and abolition.
You will find that Special Delivery is just as compelling as Deliver Me From Evil. Both books are meant to draw you into the battle and expose the debauchery of humankind, bringing justice to the perpetrators and freedom for the slaves. What is God calling you to do? Will you heed the call?
I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for posting the author’s interview on my blog. This blog tour is managed by Christian Speakers Services (http://ChristianSpeakersServices.com). No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A shining light into the darkness!

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias has always placed a unique passion into her books and Special Delivery is no exception. Written as a sequel to Delivery Me From Evil in her Freedom Series, we pick up once again with the story of Mara. Mara has finally found freedom herself after spending a lifetime in the human trafficking ring that was run by her Uncle. She has spent the last two years striving for citizenship in the United States, while her Uncle Jefe seeks his revenge for her betrayal and arrest. She makes her living working as a waitress in a seafood cafe in San Diego and is trying hard to put her tragic past behind her.
Jonathan Flannery, a Bible college student, was one of the men responsible for Mara's rescue along with other girls being held against their will and forced into prostitution. He now finds himself wondering about how Mara is doing and what is going on her life. His family was instrumental in taking Jonathan's advice that human trafficking was going on near him and that Mara was one of the missing girls he had seen on the streets. Now the family has taken a proactive role in preventing and locating girls involved in human trafficking and prostitution. There appears to be an attraction between Jonathan and Mara but because of Mara's previous encounters with men, she has sworn off them completely.
Just as Mara believes she is finally moving forward she encounters a pregnant girl that she believes is mixed up in another trafficking ring and finds herself slowly being dragged back into helping her escape. However, her Uncle Jefe has plans for Mara thanks to her testimony in bringing him to justice and he's not about to let her forget she's the one responsible for putting him in prison.
I received Special Delivery by Kathi Macias compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I had read the first book in the series and wanted to know just how this would all turn out for Mara so I had to pick this one up. The subject matter of the story is very real and for some readers it might be difficult to deal with the horrors that are happening not just in this country but all over the world. Suddenly all those child kidnapping stories seem too real and what the end results might be are horrifying to comprehend. I applaud Kathi once again for shining a beacon onto the plight of child prostitution and human trafficking in her books and highly recommend this book for the awareness it brings to the surface. This book can be read as a stand alone without having read the previous one, but it makes the story so much more meaningful when you can see how it all got started in the first place. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful...

Date:April 2, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two years ago Jonathan Flannery stumbled onto a human trafficking operation and rescued the beautiful, abused Mara. Mara's testimony against her uncle, the leader of the operation, put him in prison and gave her freedom from sexual slavery. When Jonathan returns from Bible college for the summer and their paths cross, Mara finds herself longing for him, though she swore off all men long ago. Intentionally discounting her sudden affection for Jonathan, Mara focuses on her waitressing job until a man and young girl appear one day. Mara is certain that they are involved in human trafficking but feels lost as to what to do. More than anything, she wants to stay far away from her past. Adding to her distress, Mara suspects she is being followed by someone hired to exact her uncle's revenge.
Special Delivery by Kathi Macias is the second book in the Freedom Series. I highly recommend reading Deliver Me From Evil, the first book, prior to reading Special Delivery. The story could stand alone, but reading the books in order makes for a more meaningful reading experience. A well-written story with heart-gripping characters, Special Delivery catches and retains the reader's attention from the very beginning. Macias handles the subject of human trafficking by providing a hefty dose of reality coupled with gentleness towards its victims.
I highly recommend this series to any adult, as it is probably not appropriate for younger readers. It is Christian fiction. However, I think everyone should be aware that such atrocities do happen in America and ignoring reality only leads to more victims.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author via Pump Up Your Book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prayers of the Faithful

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Delivery begins two years after the introduction to the characters from book one Deliver Me From Evil. We continue with Mara's story of her life now, after her delivery from the life as a sexual slave. She is working as a waitress and living on her own. There is not a day that goes by that she does not think of the life she'd lived, her bitterness grows. As the story progresses we realize she is still in danger from her past.
Brother and sister--Jonathon and Leah have never forgotten Mara, and wonder how she is; but because of privacy they keep their distance. Jonathon and Leah continue to pray for Mara.
Francesca or Frankie, continues to hope for a release from her predators.
On the other side of the world and in the Golden Triangle area, precious Lawan is struggling with each day in her captivity.
I feel Special Delivery is a well-written, personal, emotional, gutsy stand against child sex trafficking.
Each character has a dramatic story.
Mara, Francesca, Lawan are unaware of the prayers of the faithful that have never given up.
Special Delivery is haunting and memorable---after the last page is read I continued to think about the characters. Days later I am still moved by this story.
I have loved this series from the first page of book one, Deliver Me From Evil.
Kathi Macias has taken a difficult and tragic subject, and turned it in to a passionate plea to the world, to become an advocate and prayer warrior for the precious children that have been sorely abused.
Kathi writes fiction not with the aim of entertaining readers, but with the aim of bringing to our attention a much needed defense for warfare on the battlefield of child sexual exploitation, slavery, abuse, and trafficking.
We can know longer express "we didn't know" and thus sweep this issue under the rug so to speak. But we must become an advocate for children, who have been indoctrinated in to believing that not only do they not have a voice, but that they are mere chattel.
Thank you to Christian Speaker Services and New Hope Publishers for my free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Inspirational book with take home value

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By reading this book I learned more about human trafficking than I expected. The slave trade is sickening enough without the violence that goes along with it. The shortening of these precious lives. Stories like this series by Kathy Macias are written to bring awareness of the evilness of sin and how this world needs a Redeemer and people who care.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Freedom series, and though you can read this one alone, I think it helps and you don't want to miss, to read the first one!
Kathi once again has me wanting to hide under the covers, I want to help these Children get out of these situations so badly. The book is a fairly quick read, and you will be glad it is, as it is a real page turner. I had my heart in my stomach, and could not put this book down.
The book is mainly Mara and Lawan's stories, who we met in Deliver Me From Evil. There is so much Evil in this world, and it is still touching these girls. Mara has tried to move on with her life, she is working as a waitress, and spots a girl with a man, and she just knows what is going on. You can see God using Mara, and he brings the people who rescued her back into her life.
What happens to little Lawan is amazing...but thinking of all those little girls as Slaves is so very upsetting. Especially when it is based on fact! The Golden Triangle indeed! UGH!
I loved that Kathi included an Epilogue...I enjoy it when a book has this. You will enjoy this book as I have, and it is a real mind opener!
I received this book from New Hope Publishers, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Special Delivery - Another Powerful Read!

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Delivery picks up with some of the characters from “Deliver Me From Evil." We follow a young lady Mara who has the opportunity to start living a life free from her captors. Is she truly free? The author also brings our attention to Lawan just a slip of a girl at the tender age of 10. This girl suffers a lot of horror and pain at the hands of her captor. What will become of her? Then we have a 14 year old named Francesca who has been shown no mercy by the men who come and pay for her services. Will she ever be reunited with her family?
Author Kathi Macias paints for us a picture of what human trafficking is like. She doesn’t sugar coat it. We read about the horrors of it; the evilness of it; Satan working at his best.
I went through a gamut of emotions while reading this book. First you hope that this can’t possibly be true but deep down you know that it is happening for real in our country as well as others. I felt angry, great sadness and even happiness when I finally saw some hope in the lives of some of these characters. This hope arrived through rescuers and interventions. There are people out there who truly care.
Thank you Kathi for bringing God into your books. We always have hope through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Without that hope we have nothing.
I am looking forward to reading the next book in this Freedom Series called “The Deliverer.”
I am honored Kathi that you sent me this book to read. You didn’t ask for a review of it. I am reviewing it on my own because I want people to be aware of your books and the impact that they have made in my life. Blessings my friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Special Delivery, Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart-rending account of sexual slavery

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Delivery continues the story begun in Deliver Me From Evil, the story of Mara,the youngwoman who had been a victim of sexual slavery since her uncle brought her across the U.S. border from Mexico at the age of 6. Mara has now been free for a couple of years, and has found a job and a place to live and is trying to live a somewhat normal life. College-aged Jonathan and his younger sister Leah also return in this story, Jonathan having played a significant role in helping set Mara free from her sexual slavery and helping get her uncle convicted and sent to jail. Jonathan has never been able to forget Mara, and when their paths again cross, Jonathan must face the confusing feelings he holds for Mara, as he is torn between wanting to explore forming a relationship with her versus the reality that Mara is very emotionally damaged due to her past. A young Thai girl, Lawan, who was kidnapped and forced to work in a brothel, also returns in this story.
Kathi Macias excels at taking seemingly disconnected stories and weaving them together into a unified whole. The stories of Mara, Jonathan, Leah, and Lawan are completely engaging, and Macias has created characters who will long remain on my mind, ones that you cannot help but care about. The issue of sexual slavery is a sobering one, and it is distressing to read about accounts that, while fictional, are based on very real facts of what is occurring not only overseas but in our own backyards. I cannot imagine what those young children are feeling having to experience what they do. Macias handles the subject matter with sensitivity and expertise, and you cannot help but be stirred to action after reading about the tragedies children are experiencing. She provides hope to the reader in showing how God is at work in seemingly hopeless situations, both in divine manners and through using his followers to fight evil.
The story is absolutely action-packed and difficult to put down, and those readers who enjoyed the first book in the series will no doubt be pleased with this second offering. I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
This review is based on an electronic copy provided by the publisher via netgalley for the purpose of completing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.