Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand

B&H Books Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand

From pastor and Courageous executive producer Michael Catt comes an up-close look at the biblical themes and characters that inspired the hit movie! Catch a new wind of bravery in bold accounts of Abraham ("The Courage to Get Going"); Nehemiah ("The Courage to Face Criticism"); Ruth ("The Courage to Face an Uncertain Future"); and others. 176 pages, softcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.82 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Review 1 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A High Recommendation from a Local Pastor

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Victory4me
Location:Livermore, Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are currently going through the Courageous material at our weekly men's group. It is both insightful and engaging. This particular book was purchased as a resource for the leader to use inconjunction with the study guides. We may use it as the basis of an eight week follow up study once we have completed the initial four part series. I highly recommend this material in all its forms.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
msnidersong
Location:MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my husband. He enjoyed the movie so I thought he might enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
monkey
Location:Milwaukee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think every man and woman should read this moving story! I have recommended this book to many many people. Thank You to Christian Books for bringing this book to my attention.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book with a timely topic

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did you see the movie, Courageous? Five men who take a stand to be courageous in their faith, their homes and their world. It is a powerful and moving show. Now you have the opportunity to bring that suge of courage and strength into your own life.
Michael Catt, senior Pastor at Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Georgia, home of the movie making team of pastors and laypeople responsible for Courageous gives us a biblical breakdown of the concept of courage.
Courageous Living is a short book but a fireball of prompts to action, calls to stand up and urges to speak out. Michael is not soft in his delivery and leaves no grey areas behind. Although I found the movement of the book to fast at times to properly digest, there was page after page of golden nuggets to bolster my faith.
Courage is a word our materialistic and self-serving culture shies away from. Catt pulls back the veil of fear and timidity and forces the reader to take notice of what God is calling his believers to ... a courageous life.
You do not need to be familiar with the movie Courageous to get something from this book. Catt quotes from the movie at times but his focus is not the movie or the movie makers; his focus is the call of our Lord to ‘be strong and courageous’. The book is meant to inspire action in our hands, movement from our feet and of course hours on our knees. All you need is a saving knowledge of Jesus and a heart to see His kingdom come.
I think there is great value in this book and encourage everyone to read it. You may not agree with Catt’s style or his no-holds-barred approach but you cannot argue his biblical examples of courage. He breaks down the lives of Abraham, Moses, Joshua, Gideon, Daniel, Elijah, Nehemiah, Ruth, Timothy, Stephan and Jesus Christ. He spurs us as believers onto the call to live boldly and courageously for Christ.
Do as Michael Catt encourages you ... dare to take a stand ... for your faith and your family.
Book has been provided courtesy of David C Cook and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from B&H Publishing Group
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

challenging and inspiring

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the new film COURAGEOUS (from the makers of Fireproof), four police officers are confident and focused when it comes to facing danger on the job. But leading their families at home in a God-honouring way? That takes courage.
Because it is important to take a faithful, fearless stand in so many areas of life, pastor and COURAGEOUS executive producer Michael Catt offers 'Courageous Living' as a closer look at biblical themes and characters that inspired the greatly anticipated movie.
Catt brings fresh insight to "stories of people in the Bible who displayed great courage when it would have been easier to play it safe... (who) challenge me to keep moving forward. They demand that I examine my priorities and deal with anything that brings fear to my heart."
This book has a powerful and challenging message for men, women and young people: "We need to man up! We need to be courageous! We need to do it now!" The author highlights biblical characters like Gideon, Joshua and Ruth to drive this point home throughout the book. Reading it you're challenged to examine yourself and strive even more to be the person God wants you to be. I especially appreciated the analogies like this one: "If you want to raise a Moses, you can't be training your kids like a chicken or an ostrich." encouraging parents to be godly and courageous, have a mission, a purpose in life to lead the next generation to God. I would recommend this thought-provoking book for anyone, especially those who seek to 'be on guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.' 1 Corinthians 16:13
"Book has been provided courtesy of David C Cook and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. It’s available at your favourite bookseller from B&H Publishing Group".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
star
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unable to see the movie so I purchased the book, and I am glad I did. It makes me want to study more of what the Bible has regarding what it says about widows, and being a greeter at church, check on what the Bible teaches us about greeting one another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging and Inspiring

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the new film COURAGEOUS (from the makers of Fireproof), four police officers are confident and focused when it comes to facing danger on the job. But leading their families at home in a God-honouring way? That takes courage.
Because it is important to take a faithful, fearless stand in so many areas of life, pastor and COURAGEOUS executive producer Michael Catt offers 'Courageous Living' as a closer look at biblical themes and characters that inspired the greatly anticipated movie.
Catt brings fresh insight to "stories of people in the Bible who displayed great courage when it would have been easier to play it safe... (who) challenge me to keep moving forward. They demand that I examine my priorities and deal with anything that brings fear to my heart."
This book has a powerful and challenging message for men, women and young people: "We need to man up! We need to be courageous! We need to do it now!" The author highlights biblical characters like Gideon, Joshua and Ruth to drive this point home throughout the book. Reading it you're challenged to examine yourself and strive even more to be the person God wants you to be. I especially appreciated the analogies like this one: "If you want to raise a Moses, you can't be training your kids like a chicken or an ostrich." encouraging parents to be godly and courageous, have a mission, a purpose in life to lead the next generation to God. I would recommend this thought-provoking book for anyone, especially those who seek to 'be on guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.' 1 Corinthians 16:13
"Book has been provided courtesy of David C Cook and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. It’s available at your favourite bookseller from B&H Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't end up on the shelf of mediocrity

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspiring, convicting, entertaining - Courageous Living packs quite the punch. Written in an easy-to-read style, this book will hold your attention from the first page, and lead you to examine your life and the choices you have made. This is the type of book that you'll want to read yourself and then get a copy to others that you know - it's that good! Imagine if everyone lived life as described in this book, living without fear of what the world thinks, but instead solely focused on God and his incredible plan for our lives, no matter the cost - the world would be transformed! One of my favorite quotes in the book is, "The life of courage will see what others can't see and believe what others can't believe. Courage is a pattern and a path that will keep us going when all around us are falling and failing". The author reminds us that this courage can't be conjured up on our own - but it comes from God through the power of his Holy Spirit.
The author weaves together sound wisdom with key scriptures and messages from the lives of characters from the Bible, and creates a stirring call to be courageous. I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Don't settle for less. Read this book.
Book has been provided courtesy of David C Cook and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from B&H Publishing Group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As a big fan of Randy Alcorn's, for me this book was mediocre. I loved the deep issues brought up in the story, but somehow they seemed a bit glossed over. It was like touching down on a tragedy like abortion, the death of a child, peer pressure, but never really getting to gut level. One issue that was personal: I don't talk "street" so I had to reread some sections to understand the message. I drew a blank on a couple of sentences. It was a good book, just not one I couldn't put down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action, Action and More Action!

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book revolves around the lives of four men, all officers of the law and their families. Other characters enhance this fast paced story. Nathan, a transfer to Albany GA, Adam, David, a rookie, and Shane. Each man realizes that sometimes being a father holds more challenges than being a police officer, each learns what it takes to be a better father and in his own way. Derrick, wants to prove to gang leader TJ, that he has what it takes to be a member of the Gangster Nation. Javier, looking to find a permanent place in the workforce, quickly becomes an ally to the team. Tragedies are a part of every officers job and life but when it encompasses one of their own all pull together in support of the one.
Action from the very first chapter pulled me in and kept me there. Suspense, drama, high action, tear at the heart moments and comedy as well meshed together and made these characters come alive on the page and seem very real as I was reading the novel. Excellent character development, dialogue, description and scene all worked well. I found the overall message inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. I would recommend this excellent novel to others. I now look forward to watching the movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyclist Sue
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard about this book from several friends and when the movie came out, I knew I wanted to read the book first. Started it on a Friday and finished on Saturday. A truly compelling story about relationships fathers have with their children. I was deeply touched by the plight of these officers and their attempts to "reconnect" with their children, wives, and most of all Christ. It's life changing!!! I can't wait to see the movie!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courageous is Outrageous!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy Hobbs
Location:East Alton, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the wife of a policeman, I can really relate to this book. I laughed, I cried with and for the characters who became so real to me. It was totally awesome the way each of them 'came to the Lord'! My husband actually read this book in 1 1/2 days while on his breaks at work! He truly enjoyed this book and felt heartfelt joy as each officer truly came to know God! We are passing it around at the Police Dept. to anyone wanting to read it! We feel every policeman and their wives and family members should read this book. It does indeed touch the heart!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ASTOUNDING! ENTERTAINING!

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed all the movies from Sherwood Baptist Church, so I was anxious to read this book before the movie came out. I enjoyed this book on many levels.
First of all, since 9-11 there has been a new awareness of the sacrifices our policemen and firefighters make to serve us. This gave me a very in depth and personal look at the even greater sacrifices and struggles they face with their jobs and their families. Not only did I find it very insightful but it brought me to an even higher level of appreciation.
The police officers in the book came into contact daily with horrible sin and human depravity. The story shows how difficult it was to leave work and not have these things affect them and their attitude. Also the greater challenge of remaining a Christian while facing such difficulties.
Secondly, what Fireproof did for marriages this book does for parenting. I loved the way they wove scripture, biblical principles and applications into the intimate lives of the families. There was so much to learn, the book really needs to be read more than once! It gave not only the ideas but steps to implement to be the parent God wants you to be and for men to be the leaders of their families God intended.
The story line was so real that at times I had to remind myself it was fiction.
I cannot begin to stress how enjoyable this book was, and add to that the bonus all the valuable lessons and scripture. I can’t wait to see the movie now!
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great job done my Randy Alcorn

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Medford
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not put the book down. What a great story line. Helps you see the difficulties police officers encounter on a daily basis and the hardships faced by their families. Congratulations to the Kendrick brothers for another great story soon to be released as a movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspiring and challenging

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
GHNL
Location:Albany, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Courageous Living is a thought provoking book. Not only is it a great read for men but women also. This book addresses an issue that permeates our society today - courage in the face of adversity. Courage is not a character trait that we have an abundance of in this generation.
Each chapter speaks about a biblical character that had great courage while in the midst of conflict and danger. Although we may never face these same obstacles in our lives today, at some point we will face a crisis that will demand courage. Reading this book you will clearly see how biblical characters responded to dangerous and often life threatening situations. These characters defined courage through their stories.
This book challenged me to keep my focus on Christ and not this world and continue to dig deeper in His Word. Courage is to do what is right and not what is easy and comfortable. Now that’s a challenge!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended!

Date:September 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marine1
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must read! If you have ever had doubt about what it means to be Courageous, this book answers the question. While providing examples and experiences, the author uniquely discusses the Godly characteristics of Courage and challenges the reader to follow Jesus without compromise. Through this reading, I have been personally inspired to live out a life of Courage for me and my family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cameron Godfrey
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this book up because like most men I want to be a Courageous leader for my family. The way Catt uses Biblical characters to demonstrate Courage both Inspired and challenged me as a man. This is a must read for men and women who aspire to lead Courageously.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Challenge to Stand or Else?

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Christian Therapist
Location:GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is must read for those who are tired of "same ole; same ole". Dr Catt challenges the reader to take a stand for Christ even if persecution is on the horizon. We cannot be luke-warm and impact the world. He does an excellent job of weaving the strength received from the biblical "men of old" with modern day examples of God's influence in one's lives. It is a prophet's call to action!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY REVIEW-WOW!! This is about all I am going to say about this book. I have been anxiously awaiting the next film from the Kendrick brothers after watching Fireproof. I get the updates, have the wallpaper on my laptop and I now have the book!
Now, I don't want to spoil anything for those who have not watched the movie or have not read the book. So I am going to be somewhat cryptic in this review. Not like my normal ones where people can know who I am talking about, etc. I just really want to give a good review for this, but I want to keep things a secret for those of you with the pleasure of watching this book come to life in the film. The book is written by Randy Alcorn and I have to tell you, I have loved many of his other books. So even if this wasn't actually a screenplay by Stephen Kendrick, I would have liked the book:) But having this a novelization of the film by the Kendricks just makes it that much better. There is actually only 20% taken from the film itself and Randy Alcorn made the rest of the book. So I was glad about that.
It is an excellent plot, a great cast of characters and soo many good things about this. I have to say my favorite is probably Adam. But the rest of the characters were soo good it was hard to pick out a favorite. There were several times were I was in tears and then many times of such encouragement and wisdom. This book has soo many strong points to it I couldn't even start to tell you about them.
The action and adventure is not lacking either. There is one part with a daughter that I really loved. Again, sorry I can't tell you more:) This is such a great book for fathers to read with their sons. With their families would be wonderful but especially with their sons. Take the message of this book and train your children with it. If you are waiting for the film, please pick up a copy of this book anyways. You will want to read it after you watch the film. And the pictures inside make it a really nice copy. Excellent book with a strong plot. Great for any Christian!!
According to FTC Disclosures, I received a copy of this book for review purposes. I did not receive any monetary compensation. All thoughts are 100% mine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Courageous Living: Dare to Take a Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding mystery

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an outstanding book! I received the book this afternoon and stayed up all night reading it!
Based on the idea that fatherless children (sons) are more apt to turn to a life of crime ~ namely violent gangs. So it isn't gangs that are the worst crime groups ~ but that "kids growing up without dads is the worst problem and the source of a 1000 other problems. When fathers are absent, kids are 5 times more likely to abuse drugs, 14 times more likely to commit rape and 20 times more likely to go to prison."
Courageous is the story of 4 police officers and a friend who follow the lead of Adam (our hero) who when his 9 year old daughter is killed by a drunk driver is challenged and encouraged to study scripture to discover what it means to be a dad and a man. As he studies scripture he is spiritually prompted to create a resolution that states what kind of father he wants to be. This eventually turns into a resolution not only as a father but as a husband as well.
This is a very powerful story that involves seeing the world in all of it's sin - crime, murder, drug abuse, child abandonment and theft ~ and the 5 men who hold themselves accountable to each other and to God to be the very best they can be as fathers, employees and husbands.
Note: "From the creators of Fireproof" actually sort of scared me off at first because I thought as a Christian movie the movie Fireproof was so poorly written and directed that I felt that the opportunity of sharing a quality film and script was sorely lost. The only saving grace of the movie was the wonderful way Salvation was explained to the audience without being preachy.
When I was offered the opportunity of Courageous I actually asked the publisher if the book was MUCH better written and when I found out a movie was being made from the book (or vice versa) I asked if it was better directed I was actually relieved to hear the movie for Courageous is SO MUCH better than Fireproof. According to the person at the publisher I talked to (who has seen the entire show of Courageous - it's MUCH better all around than Fireproof was). Keeping my fingers crossed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>