Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Hide and Seek

B&H Books Hide and Seek

Amelia Lennon no longer wears a uniform or carries a weapon. An Army trained Foreign Affairs Officer, she's negotiating a dispute with the Kyrgyzstan government that threatens to leave the U.S. without an airbase in that region. She traded her gun for the power of words, but now she needs both.

While following her government contact - Jildiz Oskonbaeva, the lawyer daughter of Kyrgyzstan's president - Amelia witnesses an attempt to abduct her. She manages to prevent the kidnapping, but now the two women are on the run in a city that's erupting into chaos.

Master Sergeant J.J. Bartley is the Special Operations team leader tasked to rescue Amelia and Jildiz. With two new members in his unit - one with a secret that could endanger everyone's life - J.J. must soldier his unit through crazed mobs intent on overthrowing the government. Back home, his pregnant wife is misinformed that her husband and the team have been killed. But before this is over, Bartley will find out that's the least of his problems.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hide and Seek
Review 1 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wild Ride - Made My Best Writer List!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in the middle of Kyrgyzstan, a country boiling with turmoil, a foreign affairs office attempts to save the daughter of Kyrgyzstan’s president from terrorists determined on taking over the government. Master Sergeant J.J. Bartley is the leader of the team sent to rescue them, after the Kyrgyzstan government expressly tells the U.S. stay out. Mirroring today’s international tensions and immediate decisions required by our military leaders today, Hide and Seek is a riveting ride as the Special Operations team tracks down the two women who are running for their lives. Struecker uses his military knowledge to create a novel that puts the reader into stressful situations that mirror today’s current events. The inclusion of the characters’ conversations with the Lord creates an added depth to the story. This was definitely one of the best suspenseful novels I have read this year, and I am putting Struecker and Gansky on my list of Top Writers. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys war/ military, and suspense novels.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spec Ops At Work

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Military stories are not normally my favorite - but Hide and Seek held my interest. It is the story of two missions of an Army Special Ops team. The first was the rescue of, Amelia Lennon, an Army Foreign Affairs Officer. Amelia had been in the right place at the right time - to save and protect Jildiz Oskonbaeva, the daughter of the President of Kyrgyzstan, from kidnappers. As Amelia and Jildiz attempt to avoid the kidnappers, JJ and his special ops team need to track and save them from the riot filled streets of the capital of Kyrgyzstan.
Almost immediately after accomplishing task one, the special ops team is called upon to neutralize a compound housing terrorists and biochemical weapons.
Not only following the stories of Amelia and Jildiz and the special ops team, the story also focuses on the lives of the team leader's friends and family back home.
Though not a fan of military stories, Hide and Seek did hold my attention. It was both about the job and the relationships that make a special ops team work. The book also serves as a reminder of the commitment and faith that our servicemen bring to the battle field. But it is a commitment not only of those on the ground, but of their families and friends back home.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for the guys

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fellas, this book review is especially for you, not that the ladies wouldn't enjoy the book. But sometimes there just has to be a novel for the guys, and this is it!
Action-packed from the get-go. Suspense in tons. Steeped in intrigue. Code of honor. Fellas, it just doesn't get better than this.
Struecker and Gansky have written a great book. Not just great, but GREAT! You won't be able to stop reading this book. This isn't one you can lay aside after a few pages. Oh no, your hands and eyes will be glued to it until you finish it.
Struecker and Gansky have called upon their various military and spiritual experiences to write a story that is alive with strong characters, from Amelia Lennon, the Army Foreign Affairs Officer and her daring thwarting of the kidnapping of the daughter of Kyrgyzstan's president to Master Sergeant J.J. Bartley and his Special Operations team.
How do I tell you about this book without spoiling it? Let's just say there is more to the story than just a blown kidnapping and rescue operation.
There is chaos and fear. There is also faith and hope. And let's not forget, honor.
A most compelling story that you won't be disappointed in. I would rank it right up there with Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancey and the rest of the great writers.
The B & B Media Group, Inc. provided me with this free review copy. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your childhood 'Hide and Seek!'

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hide and Seek by Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky is based in the small country of Kyrgyzstan, an off shoot country from the former USSR. It’s a country rife with riots and uprisings.
Amelia Lennon, an army trained Foreign Affairs Officer, has just met with Juldiz Oskonbaeva, the government contact and lawyer daughter of the President of Kyrgyzstan, to negotiate a stay for the US military on Manas airbase. China and Russian are trying to out the US from the base.
Upon leaving the meeting, Amelia happens to follow behind Juldiz, as her next stop is just beyond Juldiz’s stop. Amelia witnesses an attempt to abduct her, contravenes the kidnapping, and finds them both on the run from the remaining abductors.
J. J. “Boss” Bartley was promoted to team leader of the mission to rescue Amelia despite Kyrgyzstan’s demand that US military remain outside the rioting areas. There are unknown circumstances with this mission that jeopardize the search and rescue. Amelia and Juldiz are alternately hiding and running to safety, unaware that the US Special Ops team is trying to find them. Thus begins part of the ‘hide and seek’ portion of the story.
At home, the wives of these men are misinformed that the whole team has been killed. So the story weaves back and forth between the grief and stress these women go through and the hazards of the team members.
I’ve come to enjoy the team of Struecker and Gansky in their high-rev mission trips of the Special Ops. This book is no different for action, suspense, danger, and deadly obstacles. The book may start out slow with the introduction of the team players and the meeting between Amelia and Juldiz, but the hard action and dangerous endeavors peal out of the racetrack and don’t stop till the end of the book. The scenes are depicted in real action and the characters form a camaraderie of humorous banter and serious workmanship.
I found the instrumentation and gadgets used for surveillance mind-boggling and fascinating– Special Ops gadgetry that are usually only privy to the military or thugs who might get their hands on for spying and interception. Now I don’t know if these actual instruments exist, but I’ve seen the bee drones, so I’m sure the information is close.
J. J. and another member are Christian, and they unabashedly pray during the hard times. They actually become a witness to the other men as the operation goes forth. It’s also a witness that one can be a Christian and still do the difficult job ahead of them, even if it means killing the enemy.
You don’t have to be a guy to enjoy this book. I’m fascinated by the bravery of the men that carry out these dangerous missions. It gives me a greater appreciation of what all our troops do on behalf of our country and the people of other countries. Grab a copy and sit down for an action-packed read! There are some raw areas that are gruesome, so keep that in mind.
This book was provided by R. Roberson of The B & B Media Group, Inc., in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action packed and well-written

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Authors Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky, creators of Certain Jeopardy, have teamed up again to offer Hide and Seek, a fast-paced military adventure that sees the return of Master Sergeant J.J. Bartley, now promoted to Special Operations team leader. The team is on an air base in Kyrgyzstan, just about to start training with two new replacement members on their team, when they are suddenly called upon to rescue two women who have gone missing in the middle of an uprising of civilians who appear intent on overthrowing the government. Amelia Lennon is an Army trained Foreign Affiars officer who meets a government contact, Jildiz, daughter of the Kyrgyzstan president, to negotiate the continued presence of the Americans on the airbase. Following Jildiz on her way home from the meeting, Amelia witnesses a kidnap attempt, and her heroic actions send the women running for their lives through the chaos on the streets. J.J. and his team race to locate the women, uncovering a dangerous secret along the way.
Hide and Seek was a fantastic thriller, with non-stop action and excellent pacing. The characters are ones who readers will relate with, and for me I liked reading about men who are human, at times sarcastic and humerous, but above all are sacrificial and courageous in the face of danger. I love that the men are not shown as emotionless machines who have no fear. Instead, they are real men, men who man up when called upon, but who also ache for their families and who aren't afraid to cry when the situations calls for it. All of the characters are well-developed, and I found myself laughing out loud at some of their comments and interactions. The plot is believable and sobering, the writing so crisp that it will have your pulse racing. I felt like I was watching a movie! Although I haven't loved Alton Gansky's last couple of books, this one has restored my faith in his skill as a writer, and I hope that Gansky and Struecker have future books up their sleeves, because they will be on my list of planned reads if they do!
I highly recommend this outstanding read and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided by the publisher & B&B Media for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast moving. Could not put it down.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
kpersin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written. Holds your interest through out the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

action packed covert military operations

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kyrgyzstan became an important country when it ceased to be a part of the U.S.S.R. It is a key country in the region and is being courted by Russia and China. There is a U. S. base there, strategic for staging deliveries of men and equipment to Afghanistan. But the country is in turmoil. Protests and riots are evidence of the hatred toward the American presence.
In the midst of the unrest, there is an attempted kidnapping of the daughter of the Kyrgyzstan President. She is temporarily rescued by Army trained Foreign Affairs Officer. The two women are on the run and are in danger.
A special ops team in the area for training is sent on the rescue mission. Their assignment becomes more dangerous when the Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan makes it look like the American team has been killed but secretly arranges for their deaths. The special ops team must avoid the riots and the military trained men after them, all the while trying to find and rescue the endangered women.
This is a well written military suspense novel. The story is realistic, the action is fast paced, and the characters are well developed. The special ops team leader is a Christian and the authors described well how his faith relates to his job. His wife is recently pregnant and the pain she experiences when misinformed of her husband's “death” is heart breaking.
The most disturbing part of the novel, for me, was the fact that this is about military action in a foreign nation where all U. S. military presence has been forbidden. Granted, this novel is about a rescue and that made it easier to take. But violating another nation's sovereignty in covert operations, even if it is supposedly for their good, was difficult for me to read about with enjoyment.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from The B & B Media Group for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hide and Seek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Paced Action Packed!

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review Summary: Hold on to your hats and glasses this here is the wildest ride in the wilderness! Struecker and Gansky give readers a fast paced and action packed read. Set in the country of Kyrgyzstan, which is a real country (learned lots of new things) a part of the former Soviet Union and where the United States has an air force base. This story provides a political piece as well as special ops Army style along with a tough as nails former Army Captain who isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty. The only thing the story doesn’t give you is a romance dimension. But that was okay, the characters were strong and a romantic storyline would have diminished the overall book.
Digging Deeper: This story deals with the precarious balance of power in the former Soviet Union as it relates to the United States, China and the Middle East. It also deals with the stress of our special ops teams especially as this team has not only a new leader but two new members that are put into action with no training time. The authors also gave us a peek of what life for the wives of these soldiers have to live with, and it’s not easy.
I think my favorite character is Amelia Lennon, the former captain in the Army now a Foreign Affairs Officer is tough as nail, but real and her faith carries her through. Then there was J.J. a man of integrity and faith but is struggling with his new role as team leader.
This story is for those who enjoy action stories with a military flare. But least you think it’s only a “guys” book, with a strong woman character in Amelia women will enjoy it as well. If you are a purest for romance, then you might not enjoy it. I look forward to more from Struecker and Gansky.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher but was under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.