Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Book of Days

B&H Books Book of Days

What if you were losing your most treasured memories? Of your wife who passed away, of your dad who died far too young? What if you heard of a book whaere all of those memories are recorded and you could get them back? And what if this book also told your future? Would you believe it? Would you go on a desperate search for it, holding onto a strand of hope it would bring healing and answer all your questions?

Young Cameron Vaux's mind is slipping. Memories of his wife, killed two years earlier in a car accident, are vanishing just as his late father predicted they would. Memories he knows are critical to remember. But his only hope for answers, and a cure, seems to lie in search for a book--and a God--he doesn't believe in.

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Book of Days
Review 1 for Book of Days
This review is fromBook of Days - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rod Man of God
Location:Concord NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. It was exciting and had many turns and twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Book of Days
This review is fromBook of Days - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Salvation is in Christ.

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book's major themes of dealing with memory loss, forgiveness and seeking the Lord are woven throughout; the main character is cast well as an appealing protagonist.
However, the New Age/American native influences in the book are never fully refuted and becoming acceptable to God is portrayed as a mystical experience which has no basis in Christ's death, burial and resurrection. One is left with feeling that the book could have been written by any well-meaning, uninformed seeker.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Book of Days
This review is fromBook of Days - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Bartlett TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I was pleased with product although I have not finished it. I love your e-book selection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story that makes you think and reflect...

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book of Days was interesting in a totally Rubart sort of way. What I mean is that the mind-twisting content reminded me of Rooms, his first book. Now whether or not the third book, The Chair, has the same feel...we'll see. Regardless, I found myself enjoying the story. At first I was thinking, "where is this all going?" and "When will they decide what they want to do?" I enjoyed the flashbacks of Cameron's time with Jessie. I found that heart-wrenching and beautiful. I also found the history between him and Ann quite interesting, as well as Ann's connection to the whole story. Taylor was a bit of a mystery and I wasn't sure what to think of him for a long time. Jason was plain creepy. I disliked him in every sense of the word. The twist at the end was quite good. I found it believable. I also found myself smiling when things wrapped up.
The concept of the story was pretty deep. It's about choosing to love, choosing to forgive, and choosing to let go of the past. All of those things relate to the Book of Days in the story. I won't say how. Just know that it's true. I enjoyed the fact that the story revealed something we all need to remember...to have true peace you need to walk in the "light" of truth and in the present. You can't hold even a shred of unforgiveness in your heart, or it will keep you from true freedom. That was nicely woven into the plot. All in all, this is a book that makes you think about relationships and choices. While it did drag out in a few parts, overall, it was a compelling and insightful read. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes to ponder life, it's meaning, and spiritual things. This book won't disappoint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book of Days - James L. Rubart - A MUST READ

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both Rooms and Book of Days, I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like “something about you crumbled his Oreos” on nearly every page. His wordsmithing is refreshing, like ice cold sweet tea on a hot summer’s day.
Both novels are deep, searching, and thought-provoking. They challenge a believer to reflect on their faith, to look for a deeper relationship with God. And for the unbeliever or the doubter, Mr. Rubart writes in such a way that one can relate to his characters’ stories without preaching a sermon to them.
In Book of Days, we meet Cameron Vaux. Cameron already lost his wife and his father, and now he thinks he’s losing his mind. Afraid of what that may mean, he decides it’s time to go on a journey to look for some answers. His wife and father asked him to search out an ancient book upon their deathbeds. Either they were both crazy, or the book is real. Will Cameron be able to find it before he forgets them altogether?
James Rubart weaves an intriguing tale of Cameron’s search for the Book of Days. Filled with obstacles and characters who don’t want to reveal secrets hidden for decades, Cameron faces many challenges during his quest. Several secrets remain untold until Cameron nears the end of his journey. Filled with gripping suspense peppered with subtle hints, one will not find closure until the final chapters.
This is one of the first books I’ve read where I’ve been tempted to skip ahead a bit in search of answers to the questions each chapter brings.
I also enjoyed the movie and music references throughout the story. Being a lover of both, they assisted in my ability to relate to the characters.
A perfectly engaging read, I highly recommend Book of Days. I enjoyed every second of reading it. I’d also encourage you to pick up a copy of Rooms. Mr. Rubart will not disappoint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Precious Memories

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cameron Vaux is desperate. Though only 33 years old, he's starting to lose his memories. Memories of all-too-few years with his wife, Jessie. Memories of his dad, who had Alzheimers and died too young. And memories of things he'd done last week. Or even yesterday.
Both his dad and Jessie had spoken of something they'd seen in the Oregon mountains, a book that showed the future and the past. A book, his dad said, that contained all one's days. Before he died, he told Cameron it would cure him of his memory loss, if only he could find it.
Eight years later, Cameron is desperate enough to go on a wild goose chase to Three Peaks, Oregon. He invites Jessie's best friend, Ann, to come along. Together they search the town and the area for information about the Book of Days. A cult has sprung up here worshiping the mythical book-or is it real? One man, Taylor Stone, seems to hold the key. But he's not talking.
I couldn't figure out why Cameron asked Ann on this journey, or why she came, since the two had never gotten along in the past. Still, she has her uses as a climbing companion, lock picker, and romantic interest. Even with that question in mind, I enjoyed following Cameron and Ann's adventures as they tracked the rumors about the book and deliberated whether it was all a New Age hoax or a carefully guarded secret of truth. As with his previous book, Rooms, Rubart rides the line between a contemporary novel and speculative.
The concept for Book of Days comes from Psalm 139:16-"Your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in Your book before one of them came to be." The author shares what a comfort this verse was to him when Alzheimers claimed his own dad. His dad's memories weren't gone completely-God still knew where they were and had recorded them in his book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Memory is as Scary as the Ones You've Lost

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine whole chunks of your memory disappearing. Imagine your dad died with the same symptoms. Scary, huh? Now imagine your dad died 8 years ago at age 49. Imagine yourself spiraling into this abyss when you're only 25. Cameron Vaux doesn't need to imagine it--he's living it.
When Cameron's dad died 8 years ago he warned him that this day would come. He also told him about a book of days where God records every moment of every persons life. He told Cameron that if he can find this book it may cure him. Six years later, on her deathbed after a tragic accident, his wife Jesse tells him the same thing.
Although quite agnostic, Cameron is determined to try anything that may spare him. Jesse's foster-sister Ann, and Cameron have a cold distant relationship, but she is an investigative reporter so he contacts her for help. She reluctantly agrees, and the story takes off.
This book was hard to put down. It's the kind of book that can make you stay up until 3AM without noticing. The characters have great depth and the settings are at times beyond description.
James Rubart is one of the best new authors to come onto the fiction scene in quite a while. His meaningful, gripping tales are the product of superb storytelling. His exciting tales contain that extra twist that makes the difference between a good book and a great book.
5 Star Worthy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Of Days

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cameron Vaux was twenty five when his father died, his dad was only forty-nine. The last conversation Cameron had with his dad was on a day when his dad was pretty lucid, you see Cameron's dad suffered from memory loss, dementia. When he warns Cameron that he too will lose his mind, and when he starts losing his memory that he must find the book of all days Cameron just brushes it off. Fast forward eight years and Cameron's memory is starting to fail. It has been going on for over a year and its getting progressively worse. Could it be possible that his father's prediction is coming true?
This book was quite interesting, the characters were solid and very well fleshed out. As we get the back story of Cameron it is easy to understand why he would fear losing his memory. Ann has her own reasons for looking for The Book Of Days, and we also see her trying to deal with her long held feelings for Cameron.The author provides several secondary characters that round out the story quite well.
While this book started out a bit slow for me, once it got going it was filled with enough mystery and suspense and plenty of plot twists that kept me reading to try and figure out what was going to happen. The ending was a twist that I didn't expect.
This book would easily appeal to anyone who likes a good suspense/mystery with spiritual undertones woven into the story. I am so glad that I kept reading because I enjoyed it and will look for more from this author.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book of Days

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
When I started this book, I thought I am not going to like it! But as I read on a few pages it really got my interest. It started out with Cameron Vaux in his father's room at an assisted living complex. His dad was only in his fifties so it was hard to believe that his dad's mind was gone. His Dad had been asking for someone and the hospital assumed it was Cameron as he was the only close relative. When Cameron got there his dad knew him and started to tell him about a book that would tell him his future, his past and when he was going to die, and Cameron's dad told him that unless he found the book, his mind would be gone also.
Cameron took some time off from his work and went to the small Oregon town where his father had lived when he was a little boy to try and find the book of days his father was talking about. By this time his dad had passed away and Cameron's own mind had started slipping. He keep forgetting a lot about this wife's death and where he put things, why had he written down a number and so on. He had to find that book before he became as his dad was.
This book was so interesting, things just keep happening while he tried to find the book. What were the people hiding and how could he find this book. He got his late wife's sister to come and help him. They just keep running into obstacles. You really need to buy this book when it comes out in Jan. 2011.
The copy of this book was sent to me free by JSKCommunications for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling story and great writing

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book of Days by James L. Rubart is a fascinating look at memory, forgiveness, and God. Cameron Vaux watched his father die eight years ago, but even more terrible than his death was watching him lose his memories to a devastating illness. Now, two years after the death of his beloved wife Jessie, Cameron is starting to worry that he may suffer from that same illness. He's forgetting conversations moments after they happen, missing appointments, and reading notes in his own handwriting as if for the first time, but even worse than that, he's losing his memories of Jessie. Just before his father and Jessie died, each told Cameron of a book of days that he must seek out, but he's ignored their instructions until now, as he begins losing himself, he feels that the book just may hold the answer he needs. He heads to Three Peaks, Oregon in his search and asks Jessie's best friend Ann Bannister to help him in his quest. Ann has her own reasons for going to Three Peaks, more than just her long hidden feelings for Cam. She wants to find out more about her mother who died of a heroin overdose when Ann was just eleven. Cameron and Ann meet Taylor Stone, who seems to have all the answers they need; Jason Judah, whose malicious manipulations and desire to own the book turn them off, and others in the small town, all of whom are enigmatic at best and threatening at worst. Their investigation tells them that the Book of Days was written by God with everyone's memories, the past, and the future all written out for anyone to read, and each person has their own reasons for wanting, or not wanting, to find it. Rubart's writing is compelling and fascinating, as he pulls readers in farther and farther with each turn of the page. My one quibble is that in his attempt to throw readers off in the identity of the bad guy, he leaves them confused as to just why the antagonist was willing to go so far; it's motivations are a mystery. Still, the story is thoroughly entertaining, and the revelation about the Book both satisfying and poignant. Rubart is an exciting new Christian fiction who will be changing the face of the genre with each book he writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
This is the first book i have read by James Rubart, but he has just become a new 'must' have author. Brilliantly written. Subject was just believable enough to keep me reading. Not violent, but a hint of it...Believable characters.
Although i didn't devour "Book of Days" in one sitting like Collen Coble (author of Cry in the Night and The Lightkeeper's Bride), i did read it in one day...Truly a suspense story, a page turner! This book is very well written, one i will be recommending.
i give this book a 10 out of 10. i received Book of Days as a free gift from James L. Rubart through a contest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

awesome book from James L. Rubart

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What if there were a book that showed us all our days, that told us what the future held for us. All my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began. Psalm 139:16 Cameron Vaux is on a quest to find out if there is a physical book, here on this earth that tells us of our days. Having faced the tragedy of loosing his father, first to Alzheimer's and then to death, while his father was still young, then loosing his dear wife Jessie after only five years of marriage, Cameron remembers things they told him.
Things about the Book of Days, things that would show him what the future held for him. Would he end up loosing his memory like his dad did.
Traveling to Three Peaks Oregon, to research what Jessie had told him about the Book of Days, he asked Ann Banister to help him. Ann and Cameron's wife Jessie had grown up in the same foster home and were the best of friends. Ann was on a quest to find out about her mom and the one picture she had of her mom, was taken in Three Peaks Oregon.
Would Cameron and Ann find the answers they both needed for their lives to move forward? They both had been trapped in the past by their hurts and confusion, would they find healing in Three Peaks? Jim Rubart once again brings us a book that will keep you reading to the end. His wonderful writing will weave the story right into you, and you will have to finish this book to know how the story ends! I love Jim's writing, and this book is no exception. Another great book from Jim Rubart and from B & H Fiction!400 pages US $14.99 4 stars
This book was provided by B & H Fiction for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly intriguing. I enjoyed it - reading it in only two days (between taking breaks to play with my 4 children and do my household things). I too hope have the hope that God has indeed recorded my memories - it is a great comfort to know that each breath we take, each moment we are on this earth, each tear we shed, each laugh we laugh is dear and precious to the creator.
Cameron is a young man on a journey to restore his memories - afraid to lose his mind as his father had. He had suffered the loss of his father and his beloved wife. Both had held a deep belief in God and His eternal plans for each of their lives. They both died praying for Cameron to come to the acceptance (a heart knowledge) of the God of the Universe.
This journey is so intricate and involves so many the plot is not easily figured out. I loved all the twists and turns in the journey. I found myself deeply hoping that Cameron would find the true answer to his questions and that the deep longing he felt would be satisfied and he would find freedom.
The last two chapters had me in tears! So poignant, so applicable to our lives, so personal to the heart of God. Absolutely a beautiful story.
Thank you B&H Publishing for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant supernatural thriller!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Fast paced and well-crafted, I couldn't put this thriller down. I love it when I find an allegorical thread woven beneath the surface of an exciting book. Like Rooms, Book of Days robbed me of a night's sleep. James Rubart is a Master Storyteller. Novel Journey and I highly recommend Book of Days—it's a 5 star read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Book of Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Supernatural Suspense

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book of Days is a page-turner from James Rubart. With some authors it's hard to sustain the success of a first novel. But with this book, the author has exceeded the skill he showed with his debut release.
Cameron Vaux's losing his mind. Each day it feels like his memories are slipping farther and farther away. In a desperate effort to restore them and avoid the end his father faced, he makes a desperate bid to find the Book of Days, a mysterious volume that both his father and his wife made him promise to find before they died. The search takes him to a small town in Oregon that is filled with secrets and hidden agendas. If his plight weren't so desperate, it would be easy to give up but he can't.
He is helped on his search by his reluctant friend Ann Bannister, who has her own reasons for being in town. And her presence adds a touch of romance to the book.
The plot hurtles through twists just like a rock climber who's slipped in their climb. The result is a book that I thoroughly enjoyed and couldn't put down. One aspect that I loved the most is that I did not identify the person behind the suspense thread. In many books lately, I've been able to do that, so it was a welcome relief to have a book that surprised me at the end. This book is perfect for those who like suspense with a twist. This time that twist is what if people thought the book of days really existed...here on earth?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.