Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Invisible

B&H Books Invisible

Cafe owner Ellyn DeMoss seeks protection from pain behind extra pounds. So why is a handsome widower attracted to her? Abandoning her family, Sabina Jackson comes to Northern California to heal. But is she doing more hiding than healing? And Twila Boaz once wanted to disappear. Now she wants to conquer her eating disorder. Will she succeed?
Average Customer Rating:
4.893 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Invisible
Review 1 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What can I say? Fantastic!

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
bunny
Location:montreal
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you suffer from a negative body image then do yourself a favour and pick up this book, it will encourage you to think and act differently toward yourself. I don't think there's a woman on this planet who won't be able to relate to at least one of these characters. I know I related so well to Ellyn. I couldn't put the book down and actually read it in one sitting. In our appearance-saturated culture (and yes, even CHRISTIAN authors are getting on the bandwagon! For shame!) this book is a breath of fresh air. Perhaps that has something to do with the author's own personal struggle. She reveals her characters, warts and all and doesn't attempt to turn them into Super-Christians! I liked its realism and didn't feel like I was being preached at or left with a toothache from any candy-coated, unrealistic, happily-ever-after tripe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life-changing fiction!

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invisible by Ginny Yttrup, makes my Top Ten for 2013 list and my Top Ten of All Time. Yttrup employs a light hand and humor to impart heavy truths. Normally, I read to be entertained. With Invisible, when I least expected it, I was touched and changed. Novel Rocket and I give it our highest recommendation. This is a book everyone needs to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

will miss my time with these characters

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Indio, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sad.
I'm disappointed.
I'm sad because Invisible ended. And I'm disappointed because when I come out of my trance of involvement reading this book, I realize the characters aren't real. They had become my friends. Now the book is finished and I can't look forward to spending some time with them.
Ginny Yttrup has become even better (if that's possible) at defining her characters and creating interesting plots with twists, turns, and catch-your-breath situations that the characters must deal with.
As in her other two books, Ginny has accepted the challenge of dealing with difficult issues: child abuse, emotional abuse, and now in Invisible: body image, depression, and self-worth. Ms. Yttrup really is adept at getting us inside each character's mind, emotions, and motives. We totally understand why they react the way they do.
In a unique fashion, each of the four main character's chapters are written in first person. At times, this became a little confusing. I would have to remind myself who was “talking.” But in time, the characters became real enough to me that it didn't matter.
Also, one of the main characters, Miles, is male. Since I'm female, I'm trusting his perspective was consistent with maleness. It seemed like it. Very believable.
I have looked forward to each of this author's books and I haven't been disappointed. Only disappointed that a good book has to end and the characters are figments of the novelist's imagination. I was hoping I would meet one of them and we could have dinner at Ellyn's restaurant. Can't wait for another book from this terrific author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartfelt and Original!

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the struggle with insecurity fear feeds doubt.
Ellyn, restaurant owner who often hides her emotions behind her physique. She feels inadequate to her counterparts and cannot bring herself to acceptance.
Twila, a prisoner to the complications of food longs to fill her heart with something to take the hurt away.
Sabina looks for healing from confining darkness.
All three struggle with inevitable emotion and inner turmoil. Can each find that which seems unreachable or will fear confine the heart?
Self Doubt, Regret, Love and Acceptance pepper a novel written in first person for each character portrayed and in each chapter progress. With easy to connect with characters and realistic scenery this faith challenging read has it all. A book for readers who are searching for a different kind of read. I was entertained and will recommend this book to others. Thanks to B&H Publishing Group and Win Books Weekly for the review copy for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

INVISIBLE Helps Us Understand

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a powerful book in Ginny's Yttrup INVISIBLE. We have three, unique main characters is the story who are each struggling with issues and learning their way back to God. Sabina, Ellyn, and Twila could provide guidance to so many different women with similar issues or those other friends/family members who wish to help loved ones in their life. Ginny Yttrup tackles some tough issues with the ability to break down the issues and make them understandable to outsiders. The book, through-and-through, gives God the glory for the healing the various characters reach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“Invisible” is Touching and Thought Provoking

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellyn nurtures others through her restaurant but berates herself privately for her extra weight. Sabina is hiding from her life, her family and herself. Twila is still living in the shadow of anorexia. Three women with hurts will find themselves drawn together as they discover ways to overcome their fears and see themselves as God sees them.
“Invisible” was a truly lovely read. As someone who struggles with weight, I was a little tentative about this book…what if it made me feel worse? Instead, I found the journey of these three characters to be tremendously uplifting and freeing. Ginny Yttrup does a terrific job of giving us intimate glimpses into the heart and mind of all the characters so that we feel we get to know each one. The only criticism I have in this book (and it is trivial) is that one character’s constant use of the word “gal” grated on me. Other than that tiny fly in the ointment, this book is terrific! I would highly recommend it whether you struggle with your weight or not. There is truly something for any woman in this book. The story is well-written, nicely paced and the dialogue is memorable and believable. The ending is uplifting and doesn’t necessarily take you where you think you may be going.
This book is also a great book to share with younger women of high school age and up. Perhaps with more books like this, we could raise a generation of women who can see their own unique beauty regardless of their size.
This book was provided for my by B&H Publishing Group for this review. The opinions, however, are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Will Speak....

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nashama
Location:Roswell, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't read one of Ginny's books and not feel her passion for God. Her books point to him as our healer, friend, Lord and Creator. In "Invisible", Ginny once again takes very real characters who will reveal, throughout the course of the book, how God takes our woundedness, which is played upon by the enemy, scrapes out all the junk, then heals it from the inside out. You will cheer each of these characters on as they learn the meaning of being created in the image of God, and He will open windows in your own heart as well. Beautifully written and a great read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

you will find yourself in this book at some point

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia Rush
Location:Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invisible by Ginny Yttrup
Have you ever felt alone in a crowd, wanted to be invisible? And then someone walks up to you and the room turns into a wonderful place to be. That’s Ellyn, she’s the someone who draws people like a magnet with her personality, loving nature and her laughter…not to mention her food. Have you ever felt guilt that overwhelms you? Beautiful well educated Sabina has spent a lifetime helping others regain their sense of worth. Now when she runs to hide from the past, who will she turn to in her time of need? Have you ever felt shame when you look in the mirror? Twila doesn’t even want to see a mirror, yet at the same time she wants to reflect whose she is.
Ginny Yttrup has gotten inside these women and shared their thoughts and feeling through words we will all understand….maybe too well for some. In Mendocino, California, these three women’s lives will collide into a kaleidoscope of sharing love, laughter, tears and even bickering. It’s a beautiful story of healing, emotionally, mentally, physically and spiritually. Take the journey from anguish, despair and brokenness to laughter, joy and wellness. Come to Mendocino…and find peace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five Wows Up!

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seldom give a solid five thumbs up for anything. Usually, the very best is 4.5 thumbs. This book by Ginny Yttrup, though--maybe it should be five wows plus. This is one of those books that will be a forever classic, one you'll remember all your lives.
If you have (or have a loved one who has) ever suffered from being overweight, anorexia, or depression caused by deaths, you will be amazed at the insights into these life-stealing diseases. I don't know how one person can express the inner thoughts of those suffering so without having "been there." I personally recognize one--and sometimes two--of the characters as myself. I, too, wanted to fade into the scenery.
There are four principal characters inside Invisible. One is Ellyn, Chef and Owner of one of the many excellent restaurants on the Mendocino Coast. She loves butter and hates Earl, the inner voice that accuses her of being (shudder) fat and foolish, one no man in his right mind would want for anything other than a casual friend.
The next protagonist to be introduced is Twila, a twenty-six-year-old, thin-as-a-rail vegan who works in her mother's health food store. Memories of her father leaving when she was small haunt and threaten her. She has an amazing gift to know what's hurting those around her.
And then there's Sabina, a psychiatrist convinced she caused two girls' deaths--or at least didn't do enough to prevent them. She's come to Mendocino without her husband to stay for maybe a year. She needs to get away from her practice, her life, everything.
Miles is a doctor who semi-retired a few years back with his beloved wife who knew him inside and out and loved him anyway. When she died of cancer she left a hole in his heart the size of an ocean or two. Two years have passed, though, and his wife made him promise to look for another wife. She put her seal of approval on Ellyn, and Miles agrees until...
These four lives meet, collide, and merge, sometimes helping and sometimes hurting each other. As we all do.
You have got to read this novel--but pick a time when it won't matter if you laugh out loud or cry and when you can sleep in the following day, because you'll find it almost impossible to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow. Just Wow.

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellyn De Mossmid is in her forties, and is the owner and chef of her own restaurant. Sabina Jackson is a counsellor on leave with stress issues and mild depression. Dr Miles Becker is a healer recovering from the truth that he couldn't heal his own wife, and Twila Boaz is a recovering anorexic who works in her mother's health food store while waiting to see where God leads her.
Miles describes Ellyn as witty, intelligent and beautiful. Her voice certainly comes across as witty and intelligent, whereas Miles is more distant, his formality no doubt a product of his grief--and perhaps his guilt. Sabrina tries to be upbeat and professional, but there is something there that might be a lie, while Twila has a wisdom beyond her years. They form an unlikely group of friends, each learning from the others… and there might even be a little romance in there somewhere…
Ginny Yttrup's first novel, Words, was a finalist for two Christy awards and winner of one, and after just three chapters I could see why. I am in awe of her writing. What is even more amazing is that the writing is unobtrusive. I wasn't reading it and thinking 'oh, this is great writing'. I was totally engaged in her characters and the story she was telling. It was only as I paused to reflect on the story that I saw how good the writing is, how she has managed to write four quite different characters all in the first person (and in present tense, no less), each with their own unique voice.
Invisible is about finding beauty in God's creation, including ourselves, and understanding that God's standard for beauty is not the commercialised and sexualised standard we see in contemporary media. It’s a beautifully written reminder that we are created in the image of our mighty God. Recommended.
Thanks to and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

invisible review

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
invisible review
No matter what your size, there is a reason to connect with this book. "Invisible" by Ginny L. Yttrup is a novel about three women and a man who are connected through there body image, physical health, and emotional trauma. Allyn is an overweight middle aged bachelorette who owns and cooks in her restaurant. Sabina, is a psychiatrist on sabbatical who is battling depression and probably a good case of post traumatic stress disorder. Twila is an anorexic woman in her mid-twenties who works in a health foods store. And finally we have the good doctor, Miles, who is the connection of the three.
The book is arranged so that each chapter is a first person telling of the four main characters. Each character has a distinctive voice that is undeniably their own. The characters are detailed and well written. Mostly, the plot is the telling of each person's image and association with God. This is a great book. I received this book for free from Handlebar Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take it to the beach

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invisible by Ginny Yttrup is a fictional novel that focuses on the lives of three different individuals as they struggle with various issues. One lady is hiding behind her weight, another is recovering from an eating disorder and another is hiding something. Yttrup does a great job of seamlessly weaving these characters and their issues into the novel. The women are drawn together and begin to realize that they have their worth found in Christ, their Creator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully rich story!

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invisible from Ginny Yttrup is a wonderful and rich story of the lives of three women and the God that loves them wonderfully. Each woman in the story has her own reason for wanting to feel "invisible" but most of it stems from shame. The story weaves together the healing that only God can give through His mercy and love and through the people He places in our path.
It is important to know that the book is written in first person, present tense. Which I must admit I really enjoyed. It draws you in so intimately to the core of each character. The chapters are unique to the voice of the characters and labelled well. Yttrup did an excellent job of making it easy for the reader to flow into the next mindset. Well-done!
I found the pace a little slow at first as the stage was set for each character and the beginning of their arcs. Yet, once I found myself in each of their skins it read smoother for me. The depth of the characters and their struggles drew me in deeper as the pages turned. Their growing friendship and developing faith journeys were enlightening to me and attended to some of my dry soul spots as well.
A fantastic read. A refreshing and inspiring message. A hopeful gift!
Be sure to check out Invisible.
Thanks to HandelBar Publishing for proving me a free copy in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invisible, by Ginny L. Yttrup, is a novel that leads the reader through the lives of three women who would prefer to blend into the background. Each one has a significant reason, a situation that many readers can relate to, making it personal for those who may be going through similar situations.
Ellyn is a chef and the owner of a café. She loves butter and food in general, but she is hiding behind a weight problem and has a low self-esteem. Sabina is a counselor suffering from depression. She has left her family to spend a year healing. Twila is a young woman who is recovering from an eating disorder. She is attempting to follow God. These women lives, along with that of Dr. Miles Becker, intertwine, and each of them begin to realize what it means to be created in God’s image.
This book was not what I originally expected. At first, I had a difficult time with the first person and the constant change of character. Nonetheless, this book is a recommended read for those who would rather become invisible to the world than become the person God intended them to be.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hiding From Pain, Healing, Forgiveness & Restorati

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginny L. Yttrup in her new book, "Invisible" published by B&H Publishing Group brings us into the lives of three women.
From the Back Cover: What happens when we turn our health-physical and emotional-over to God?
Ellyn DeMoss -- chef, café owner, and lover of butter -- is hiding behind her extra weight. But what is she hiding? While Ellyn sees the good in others, she has only condemnation for herself. So when a handsome widower claims he's attracted to Ellyn, she's certain there's something wrong with him.
Sabina Jackson -- tall, slender, and exotic -- left her husband, young adult daughters, and a thriving counseling practice to spend a year in Northern California where she says she's come to heal. But it seems to Ellyn that Sabina's doing more hiding than healing. What's she hiding from? Is it God?
Twila Boaz has come out of hiding and is working to gain back the pounds she lost when her only goal was to disappear. When her eating disorder is triggered again, though she longs to hide, she instead follows God and fights for her own survival. But will she succeed?
As these women's lives intertwine, their eyes open to the glory within each of them as they begin to recognize themselves as being created in God's image.
First off just look at the cover, the title has a bit of transparency to it, giving you the feeling that it is trying to be invisible and the woman is out of focus. "Invisible" is a book about us. On the television shows when someone is depressed or anxious or has some sort of problem that it seems they cannot work out they turn to chocolate, ice cream or worse. This is our way to hide from the pain and not deal with the situation. These three women have their issues and each are trying to be invisible in their own way and it takes an awful amount of work to help them see themselves for who they really are and free them from their pain and their past. "Invisible" is a remarkable story about forgiveness and the exploration of who we are in God and that we are made in His image and its importance. Ginny Yttrup knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and recommend it highly.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Handlebar. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotional and Unforgettable!!

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four people, all intelligent professionals, are each struggling with a significant difficulty in their life. Three carry a secret that is crippling them and keeping them from being what God wants them to be. Each person's struggle is so personal they don't want to discuss it, and will do anything to hide it. As time goes on and friendships form, healing starts taking place in the most unusual ways and the message of God becomes clearer to each person.
This beautiful and emotional story kept me glued to the pages and at times I found it difficult to read. It was so emotional and personal for me, as I could relate to and identify with the characters. I know guilt so well and to follow these women and seeing and understanding their paths and choices was a true revelation for me.
The message of God's love is well represented in the pages of this story, and although there is a lot of faith discussion, it's not overwhelming nor does it overpower the story. It is, in my opinion, just perfect.
The lessons and message are as believable as the characters. (oh, and do I ever adore those characters!) When one finally finishes the last sentence, expect to carry this story in your mind and heart for a long time. It's not easily forgotten, nor are the characters!
"Invisible" is a MUST READ and NEEDS to be added to the TOP of your TBR pile immediately!
Many thanks to Julie of Handlebar Central and B&H Publishing for providing me with a copy of "Invisible" to read and review. I was not required to write a favorable review, but only one that states my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding freedom from shame

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invisible: A Novel by Ginny Yttrup was not quite what I was expecting but I was surprised by the way the book affected me. The novel is centered around four main characters and each is struggling with a problem that causes them unhappiness. The three main women in the story become great friends and as they help each other they start to see themselves as being created in God’s image. At the end of the book the author states that this is not a self help book but “a story of freedom from the bondage of shame. Freedom found through believing the truth of God’s Word.”
Ellyn Demoss is a chef, owns of a restaurant, loves butter, and often wonders if she loves butter more than God. She is overweight and even though she has a very poor self image, she sees only good in others. Dr. Becker, a widower, has been Ellyn’s doctor for years and when he shows a romantic interest in her she thinks that there must be something wrong with him.
Sabrina Jackson is a counselor suffering from depression who left her practice and family to spend a year alone in Mendocino, California to heal. Sabrina seems to be hiding from God, is deeply grieving over the deaths of two people dear to her, and does not seem to be really working on healing. She is also the opposite of Ellyn being slim and exotic.
Twila Boaz is a recovering anorexic who has a strange tattoo on her cheek and another tattoo on her wrist which translated means that she is made in the image of God. She has a very strong faith in God and works very hard to overcome her problem with anorexia. She seems to be happiest when she is helping someone especially if it means helping them get closer to God.
My favorite character is Dr. Miles Becker who has such a faith filled relationship with God that others can see Jesus in him. He is kind and loving to everyone and plays a significant role in the life of the three women as he helps them to see themselves as God sees them and to help them work through their problems.
The author did an excellent job in the development of all the characters, the plot, and the dialogue. She did not reveal each character’s problem immediately but slowly developed the story and brought each person’s problem to light. However, I would have liked to have known exactly how much Ellyn weighed. Not really important to the story but just something that I wanted to know. I also wondered about her age but finally near the end of the book her age was revealed. I found the book to be very inspirational and it made me want to work on my own self image and to work on having a closer relationship with God.
I would recommend this novel to anyone who needs or wants to be inspired and likes a good story with a great ending.
I received a free copy of this book from Handlebar Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Speaks to the soul

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three Women. They all are facing something similar, yet different in their own way. As I read the words on the pages of this book, I found myself realizing this was more than a novel. This was a work of art. The book is full of passion for women and the issues that they face everyday. If you ask any woman, almost everyone will tell you there is something about them selves that they hate. This book spoke to something beyond entertainment. It spoke to my soul. It told me that I worth more than the number on the scale, the wrinkles on my belly, the marks on my face. This book is one that I would highly recommend to anyone. You will find yourself in one of the three women in the story, in some way or another. You may find yourself asking the questions that they ask themselves or realize you have a voice of someone in your mind that tells you what you are worth.
This book is one that you will want to own, for you, for your daughters. It is one that you will want to discuss in your book clubs. Buy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great woman's book

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invisible by Ginny Lythrup
Invisible by Ginny Lythrup. What would happen if we turned over our health-both physical and emotional to God? That is the question this novel asks the reader to first imagine then to live. Ellyn, who eats for comfort then hides behind her extra weight, is trying to be invisible to her world which centers around her life as a chef in her own restaurant in a small northern California town. Sabina, a psychiatrist, has come to this same little coastal town to get away from her thriving NYC practice. She is grieving the loss of one of her clients to suicide and is trying to get well hiding here-also trying to be invisible. Twila at 26 is in treatment recovering from an eating disorder. She was trying to become invisible by not eating and is so small people mistake her for a teenager all the time. Twila and Ellyn both say they know and love God but are they willing to rely on him wholly for all their needs and hurts? Sabina looks to have it all but she openly does not have faith that God is loving or caring about her.
I liked this book. It encourages the reader to look inside their self and really look at what in our self we don’t trust to God’s love and care. It is not a book about eating either to gain or lose weight—it’s about the love God has for us if we accept it. Do we really believe we are created in God’s own image? If so do we act like it? Are we willing to take a leap into the unknown in order to have that faithful loving life with our Father, creator? God wants so much for us he sent his only Son to die for us so we could live with eternally. How can we not trust him and yet we don’t.
This book was provided by Handlebar for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting. Informative. Rewarding.

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts: I found this an interesting read involving the lives, past and present, of Ellyn, Sabrina, and Twila and how they met and interacted with one another though their circumstances were so very different.
As Ellyn struggles with her weight issues and her conception of herself, she functions as owner and chef of a successful Northern California restaurant. Twila brings maturity to the table in the relationships though she, too, is struggling with her own concept of who she is and how she appears and this is to the point of an eating disorder. And we have Sabrina who is a psychologist who is battling depression to the point of isolating herself from all she holds dear.
As these three ladies become acquainted with each other, they also become more acquainted with the concept of a God who loves them as they are and who heals wounds. A God who will give them strength for each day.
True this is a book about eating disorders, depression, and individual conceptualization of who one is, but it is more about becoming the person that God intends for you to become and to recognize the need for and presence of God in one's personal life.
I don't think I would necessarily recommend this as reading material for the teen audience, but I do recommend it for adults. There is not any "adult material" in the story. It is a sweet story. There is even a sweet, mature relationship romance that blossoms. But it is more for those who struggle with issues or who know someone who does struggle with issues. This is NOT a self-help book or a physo-babble book. It is a work of fiction and should be read as such. But it is interesting. It is informative. It is rewarding.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of Invisible by Handlebar Publicist on behalf of B&H Publishing Group and the author in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>