Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Words

B&H Books Words

Kaylee's mother is gone. And it seems she took Kaylee's voice with her. Now, ten-year old Kaylee must fend for herself with her mother's abusive boyfriend. Her days are spent collecting words she may never speak.

Sierra Dawn is alone. She has allowed the shame of her past to silence her present hopes. But on the twelth anniversary of her daughter's death, God begins wooing her back to Himself.Brought together by Divine design, the relationship between Kaylee and Sierra begins a healing process in each of them as they dare to let the Truth, Jesus Christ, set them free.

Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Words
Review 1 for Words
This review is fromWords - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
sedwards
Location:Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very different than anything I had ever read before
liked the way the chapters were short and were for different characters
enjoyable read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me set the record straight. I read. A lot! Not only do I read a lot, I am a GUY that reads a lot. It can be difficult, at times, for me to find something that I think that I would enjoy reading. Since I run the library for my church, I want to be well-versed in the books that I read so that I can make educated recommendations to my patrons that “are just looking for that right book”. Sometimes, though, I can’t seem to find just that right book for me to read. I was recently in Chicago on business and had finished a book on the flight up and hadn’t had the pre-thought to take a replacement. So off to Family Christian I went in search of a particular book that I knew was out, but I hadn’t bought yet for the library. Unfortunately, they didn’t have any in stock. They did, however, have the first novel by Ginny Yttrup, “Words”. Now I must admit that this was my last choice of books to purchase, but I have read her newest book, “Invisible”, so it wasn’t a stretch for me to pick this one up.
Young Kaylee has seen it all, experienced it all and continues to live it all. Her mother abandoned her with her alcoholic boyfriend and never looked back. Kaylee, though, has endured things at the hand of this “male person” ( I can’t call him a man because a man doesn’t do those things!) that no child should ever endure. Due to this abuse, Kaylee has shut down and lost her “voice”. She does retreat into a world of words that allows her to escape, even if it’s for a moment, from her horrid life. Sierra has spent the last 12 years mourning the loss of her child at the hands of a premature birth brought on by years of drug use. Though she’s clean now, that moment of holding her baby at the end of its life etched in her a season of loss that she hasn’t recovered from. As Sierra struggles again with the anniversary of her daughter’s death, she is encouraged by those around her to move on and accept forgiveness. She finds herself in the woods, once again confronting the issue of forgiveness with Him. While she’s there, she thinks she sees a young girl. Considering her current emotional state, though, she shrugs it off. Later, recounting the story with her friend, she recommends that she go back and see if the girl was real or imaginary. Thus, begins a relationship between these two souls; one looking for acceptance and one looking for forgiveness, but both looking for something that only He can provide.
Jesus = Truth = Freedom. What a powerful thought just in that one equation. Jesus promises us that “we will know that truth, and the truth will set us free”. That comes from John 8 and refers to Him. Once we lean on Him and live a life of truth, He will set us free from all that binds us. Will we have a perfect life? Not at all, but we will have a life that we can be assured that will be surrounded by His glory. The characters that Ms. Yttrup develops in this novel are amazing. They are so real and life-like and pull you into the story. I love reading a book that takes the time to cause you to invest yourself into the characters so that you root for them throughout the entire book.
Is this a "guy's book"? I have to say that this doesn’t rank up there in the guy’s book category. What I will tell you though is this. As I read this book on the airplane back from my business trip, there were times that the high attitude sure took a toll on my sinuses ;) Even though I did not rate this book as a must read due to it not being a true guy’s book, I am extremely glad that I gave it a chance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So powerful!

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad that Ginny wrote this book for every woman who has went through some kind of sexual abuse! "Words" is such a deep, heart-wrenching, and powerful novel! You can see it in every page and every word as Ginny pours our her heart with every joy and pain!
"Words" is one of those books that you might not first pick up because you know it's going to cut straight through your heart, but you also know it's one of those books that you NEED to read! Their were times where I just wanted to put the book down and not finish it because it just broke my heart, but I kept pushing on because I knew redemption would be found. And WOW! Redemption was definitely found and it brought such an amazing freedom that only Jesus can give!
I loved reading their story of redemption in how through all the pain they experienced that they both came to find freedom from bondage. It did not come easily, but it did come once they understood what Christ was offering them through His truth!
It is hard in what to say about Words overall because again it's just one of those books you need to read. To hear the story of a little girl who is sexually abused and abandoned by her mother for drugs while having to live through the tornado-like emotions it wrecks upon her is life-changing to read! We might not relate to Kaylee's story, but like Ginny mentions in her letter to the Reader, we all can relate to Sierra in that she is Sinner in need of salvation from the sin that is plaguing her.
I encourage anyone who is looking for a novel that goes skin deep and makes us reflect on our relationship with Christ in that are we truly surrendering everything to Him while letting Him make us free from bondage! I left this novel feeling encouraged because I know that there is hope not only for me, but every other person who has experienced abuse, pain, abandonment, loneliness, and every other feeling that has torn at our heart!
"Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free" (John 8:32)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Words
This review is fromWords - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing story. Well worth your time.

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
LeftMyHeartInTX
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have already read the story, you will understand my review. If not, I hope you will take time to read this amazing book.
In keeping with the story, I believe Kaylee would approve of this word: poignant - poign∙ant (adjective) 1. causing a sharp sense of sadness, pity, or regret; 2. particularly penetrating and effective or relevant.
This is a tremendously touching story of courage, redemption, reconciliation, forgiveness, and love that touched my heart deeply. It is beautifully and sensitively written about a subject we all wish didn’t exist (child abuse), but unfortunately occurs more often than we can imagine. I can only say - It was a truly poignant story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Words
This review is fromWords - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Words

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little girl, alone, collects words in her mind for comfort. Her mother is gone, and her remaining guardian is a monster. Is there any hope? Can she find the courage to breathe life to the words in her head?
A grown woman, alone, builds walls around herself. Her past is scarred, and her remaining days are supposed to be lonely. Is there any hope? Can she find the courage to give herself to another who needs her so much?
This is the premise of Words. The story is so compelling, and the characters are intensely real. Spoken from an obvious place of true pain, the depth and the transparency of this novel draw the reader in –will Kaylee be rescued? Will Sierra be able to shake her own demons? These questions will have you breathing deeply, biting your nails, and losing sleep until the last page. A great story that will hit home with many readers, Words moves away from what the trauma of the past means and into what the Truth of Christ can do.
As a redhead, my favorite character is the strong friend, who is alongside Sierra the whole time. Although I would never wear orange, I loved the idea of the character as a sculptor who could see past the surface of people into their souls and bring that to life in her art. I will look forward to reading other Ginny Yttrup books in the future. She has the ability to do just as her character, Ruby – bring hearts and souls from the moments of real life to the printed page so they can be shared.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense, but very realistic and well-written.

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, this book left me a little speechless. Funny since it's about words, right? I loved the quirky way the main character, Kaylee, was obsessed with words as a way of coping with stress, yet the lack of words (speech) due to her trauma was a large obstacle in her life. Some parts of the story reminded me a little of the movie Nell, starring Jodie Foster. But this novel had a unique angle to it that I haven't seen in many books -- especially not Christian books.
At first I was a bit overwhelmed with some of the details, but those details also made the story more powerful. I suppose my background of working with hundreds of sexually abused children didn't help because it made me think of all of the Kaylees that I'd gotten to know over the years and reminded me of their horrible situations prior to CPS removing them from their sexually abusive families. Like Kaylee, those children were also very conflicted regarding their families and loyalties. The author expertly described the mindset of an abused child in this story, and because of this, I think this novel should be required reading for all foster parents who are considering taking a sexually abused child into their home. Then when the child does something that seems disloyal, mean, or that doesn't make sense hopefully they will realize it's not about them (foster parents,) but it's just part of the healing process.
Not only was I impressed with this story in a general sense, but the writing, plotting, and pacing were also very good. Women who have been sexually abused might find themselves reliving some of their trauma while reading the first part of Kaylee's story, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. Like in this novel, the truth of what happened needs to be dealt with in order to heal...and to set the person held captive by the painful memories free from those chains.
There are so many good things that can result from reading this book. I found it deep, insightful, and a quality story worthy of an award. The fact that the author says that she was Kaylee makes it that much more meaningful to me. This novel is a great example of how God uses our pasts to help others. He can make beauty from the ashes of our lives. I can see this book helping a lot of broken people, and for that reason (plus the fact that it's great story) this book is making my top fiction list for 2011. Check it out. You'll be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting, eloquent, powerful

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Harper
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally I would not pick up a book which has abuse a big factor because it would either make me very angry or very sad (or both), and because some books sensationalize it. But Ginny does not sensationalize: unfortunately she speaks from sad and all too real experience, yet her book is as much about healing as it is abuse.
Ten year old Kaylee has lost her words, her voice: she hasn't been able to speak since her mom left, abandoning her to the care of the mom's boyfriend -- though you could hardly call it "care." The boyfriend, Jack, not only neglects to take care of Kaylee, but he does unspeakable things to her. Kaylee stays because she has nowhere else to go, no resources, no help, but also she wants to be there in case her mom comes back. Meanwhile, she takes refuge in a dictionary that belonged to her mother, savoring words and their meanings and storing them up in her mind.
Sierra is a woman in her thirties who cannot forgive herself for a wayward period in her past that caused great pain to her family and the loss of her daughter's life twelve years earlier. She tries to bury the pain that is too raw to bring to light and expresses herself in her art, but those who love her worry that she's going to crack if she continues to keep her emotions inside. Though she has amended her ways, she has not returned to the God of her childhood.
God brings Kaylee and Sierra together in their vulnerability and works in and through each of them to bring healing through the Word, Jesus Christ.
It's hard to believe this is Ginny's first novel: she does a masterful job not only telling the story in a compelling but not maudlin way but also in layering various subtexts throughout the plot. The book is riveting, hard to put down, eloquent, and full of depth.
I especially appreciated one section in which Sierra realizes that oft-misapplied John 8:32 ("And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.") isn't just referring to telling personal truth, but to the fact that Jesus is the truth that heals and frees us.
This book is one of my favorites read this year, and I can't recommend it highly enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An incredible read!

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
KHarris
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginny Yttrup has a way with "words," and her story is a compelling, haunting, and inspirational tale of unspeakable loss and the love that heals it. An incredible read from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazingly Powerful Book

Date:April 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't mind my recent long flight to Japan because I read Words by Ginny L. Yttrup. I was as happy as a clam and didn't even sleep because I was so eager to read this book. And once I started, I didn't want to stop! It's an incredible book and you'll never want to stop either once you start. It is a riveting novel about sexual child abuse.
But don't let that subject stop you in your tracks. Ginny handles the topic in a sensitive and yet powerful way. The story is centered on a young girl, Kaylee, who is being sexually abused by her mother's boyfriend. The mother abandoned her and Kaylee has gone mute because of the trauma. There are no explicit sexual scenes but by inference you know what's happening to this child.
The second main character is Sierra who happens upon Kaylee and in time their paths intertwine, bringing healing to both their wounded hearts.
After you read this novel, you'll be blown away that this is a first novel by writer Ginny Yttrup. This book is superbly written. The character development and scene descriptions draw you in. The plot twists and turns and your concern for both Kaylee and Sierra make you want to jump into the story to be a part of the story.
Now, I'll tell you a secret. I'm mentioned in Ginny's Acknowledgement's page. Why? Because I met Ginny at a writers conference many years ago and was privileged to be the first writer to read this very story as Ginny began writing it. Even then, I knew this story and her weaving of it was electric. At the time I encouraged her, I know that she thought I was just being nice but my wisdom :-) has been proven. I told her she was good and now everyone knows what I knew. Ginny Yttrup is an amazing writer and I know that her next books will bear this out even more.
So, yes, Ginny is a friend of mine but I bought this book to take it with me on my trip. I'm thrilled to tell you to get this book! I know you will be mesmerized and won't be able to put the book away. I even recommend you get it for those you know who were sexually abused. I think it can bring healing because of the steps that are taken in Kaylee's healing. This is not a self-help book for sexual abuse victims, but it will minister.
Read this book! You won't be sorry just like I'm don't regret encouraging Ginny to continue on in writing this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Novel
Ginny L. Yttrup
2011
B & H Books
Fiction/Christian/General
Reviewed by Cindy Loven
WOW! This book is not casual reading material. It does need to be said that this book deals with mature subject material. However the sad thing is mature subject material incidents, do not always apply to adults only. A story of redemption, a story of the grace of God and a story of the horrors of drugs, child pornography and child molestation. You may ask yourself, how does a story of this ramifications have a place in Christian fiction. Unfortunately in this fallen world we live in, horrible things happen to children every day and we as Christians can no longer turn a blind eye.
This is the story of two people, who you would never expect to find together, a successful artist, trying to escape the hell of the emotional darkness she lives in, after loosing her baby due to her own drug abuse. A little girl lost in the woods, trapped by her emotional muteness, hoping her mother will some day come back and take her away from the monster of a man who abuses her sexually. God in His mercy and His own understanding brings these two people together, not by chance but by plan, to each find their own healing and way through the darkness they are in.
This story will grip your heart. I cried buckets as I read of the horrors that young Kaylee faced daily. My heart broke with Sierra as she dealt with the guilt that she felt from her own actions. As I said earlier, not casual reading, nor would I suggest it for anyone under the age of sixteen. This book will heal people who allow the words to penetrate their hurts, it will cause them to look within themselves to find the Truth (Jesus) and to be set free by the Truth! Even with the tough subject matter, this book is not a dark book, it is a book filled with hope and a wonderful story of redemptive grace and mercy. A hard story to read because of the subject matter! A story however, worthy of 5 stars. 339 pages $US 14.99 Discussion guide included.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best book I have read in years!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deanna Traynor
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I literally could NOT put this book down. I had to keep reading it! It is very very good, easy to read and the subject is something everyone needs to be aware of! Can not wait until she writes another book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A page turner

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
tfun
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was fantastic! I couldn't put it down. The description of the young abused girl's thoughts and feelings as she is experiencing the abuse is hauntingly accurate. The message that God can heal ALL wounds no matter how deep came through loud and clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Run and Get this Book!

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Once in awhile, I find a book so outstanding that I urge everyone to run, not walk to the nearest bookstore and get a copy. Here is such a book.
With believable characters, this is a story so compelling that I know it will remain a part of me.
What a great idea for any book club to read and discuss. Discussion questions are included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and BH Books for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

you won't be able to put it down...

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth Croteau
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written book!! It's a hard story to read because it's an ugly subject but so important because abuse and drugs are such a reality in our society. The most important part of the story is the hope and redemption it offers!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Living in silence, the Word brings together 2 ppl

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
kherbrand
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book: Kaylee has been left with Jack, an abusive boyfriend of her mothers. She is only 10 years old and believes Jack when he tells her she can't leave as her mother will be back to get her sometime. She is repeatedly molested by him and has stopped speaking because of the trauma. Instead, she collects words in her head - words that she finds in a dictionary that she and her mother used to look at together.
Jack leaves Kaylee alone for long portions of the day, and she is pretty good at remembering his work schedule - so even though she wanders in the nearby redwood forest she is always home before he is. She has found a safe haven in a burnt out redwood tree. In this tree, inside a circle of pinecones, no one can hurt her. It is here that she first sees Sierra.
Sierra is an artist who has lived alone since the death of her baby daughter 12 years before. She had been a drug addict and her newborn baby, Annie, died because of it. She had been raised in a Christian home, but had wandered far off that path. She was still close to her parents, but refused to let go of the guilt and remorse of her daughter's death. It is on the anniversary of Annie's death that she thinks she sees the ghost of a little girl peering out of a redwood tree, when it is in fact Kaylee.
Although she leaves that day without investigating further, with the encouragement of her best friend Ruby, she ventures back to the spot to see if it was really a little girl. She can't help but wonder what a little girl would be doing out in the woods by herself. Kaylee feels pulled back to the spot to see if Sierra will return as she had been crying and Kaylee is curious as to why. What neither one of them realize is that they are both being nudged by God towards each other.
My thoughts: I really liked this book alot. Being a mom, I totally understood Sierra's need to find Kaylee and see why she was in the forest alone - and once she did, to follow up and try to learn more. You could feel Kaylee's struggle to speak, but also realize her reluctance is because she may have to answer some tough questions about things she doesn't want to talk about. It contains a great lesson in forgiveness and how God loves us, for us, regardless of what we might have done, and the importance of allowing God to do it His way, even when we don't think it is the right way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The simple title holds such powerful truth. For in this book we find that young Kaylee seeks the memorization of words to escape the terrible reality of life around her - they are her voice when she is unable to speak. Words are her friends when she has none to comfort her. While Sierra a woman tormented by her own failures and shackled by her self-loathing and regret at her choices uses words to express in art her soul's deepest yearning and her heart's deepest fears.
In a dungeon of anger, self-hate and unforgiveness Sierra has locked out others in her life. She is so blinded by her accuser that she can not see the free gift of grace and love lying at her feet, she can not hear it in her best friend's conversation or her parent's concern. She can not bear the thought of coming face to face with herself and her choices that led to the loss of the most precious gift given to a woman.
Kaylee abused and neglected clings to her dictionary and reads the words soaking them up as food. They are her escape in the middle of the attacks perpetrated on her, they are her solace in times of loneliness, they are her comfort in moments of fear. She stores them in a mental file cabinet - a security blanket from the horrendous life of abuse she endures day after day.
These two are drawn together by divine design. Their paths cross and The Word is released into their lives in His fullest power. For it is this Word (Christ) in whom freedom is found. Through the prayer and constant watering of the word Sierra is re-introduced to the Savior she had shut out and is healed and set free. In turn The Word is released in her life and overflows into Kaylees eventually leading to redemption and restoration.
This is a highly emotional, well-written story. Although is specifically deals with sexual abuse and drug use I believe that the truth of the power of the Word is applicable to any woman with a wounded spirit - and their are many. Throughout the book the author points to the fact that The Truth sets us free. God's grace and love is so prevalent in this book that it would be difficult to read it and overlook God's great love and compassion for each of us no matter our past mistakes, our circumstances, those terrible lies spoken to us, or those things done to us that were beyond our control. It is evident that this author experienced God's grace first hand. She has done an excellent job at penning a story that is very healing to a shattered heart.
Thank you B&H Publishing for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moving, inspiring, emotional, challenging

Date:October 31, 2010
Ginny L. Yttrup's first novel Words is absolutely fantastic! Moving, inspiring, emotional, challenging ... just a few words to describe my impressions of the book.
Yttrup writes from the perspective of Kaylee, a ten-year-old little girl who has been abandoned by her mother and abused by her caregiver, and Sierra, a 30-something-year-old woman who is still grieving the loss of her daughter 12 years ago. The two encounter each other and must overcome their individual challenges together.
The author is herself a survivor of childhood abuse, and her experiences dealing with the effects come through in the writing of this novel. At times the book is pretty intense and extremely moving. The story is well-written and quite impressive ... especially for a first novel. I was left wanting a little more on what happened after, but perhaps she's setting it up for a sequel. I look forward to reading more from this author!
I received a free copy of this book from B&H Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Words
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abuse, drugs, God

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Ginny but it a very good book. Kaylee is a little twelve year old girl that has been abandoned by her mom and left to live with one of her mom's boy friend that really abused her. She does not have much food and is left by herself a lot and she had stopped talking after her mom left. So she entertains herself with the only two book that the man did not burn after her mom left. The dictionary and a book of etiquette on how to sit the table and all the finer things of life. She had a phonographic mind and could remember what she read so she spent her time learning word and what they meant. She also had found an old Redwood tree that was so large and the inside had been burned at sometime but it was still alive, so that was her hiding place inside the tree.
The Story also featured Sierra a cured drug user that is an artist. She had gotten in with the wrong crowd at college and became a drug abuser and also had gotten pregnant but she would not stop the drugs so her baby daughter was born too soon and had died. She is now cured of the drug habit and it had been twelve years since her baby died. She had been to the grave of her daughter Annie when she saw this little wild looking girl. She look so afraid and so dirty.
Sierra reported the little girl and then became friends with her, and Kaylee started to trust her. This story is so sad but oh so good as for this once, one child's future looks bright as she is taken out of the situation that she was placed in. You need to buy this book as soon as it come out and read it. It will touch your heart and soul as you read about these two, and what they have gone through and overcome.
This advanced reader copy of this book was sent to me by B&H Publishing Group for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.