Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for American Bible Society ESV Economy Bible

American Bible Society ESV Economy Bible

Setting itself apart from other translations by sacrificing neither accuracy nor readability, the ESV is an "essentially literal" translation that seeks to duplicate the original texts while taking into account the differences between modern English and the original languages.

  • 8 point text
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Section Headings are provided throughout the text to help identify and locate important themes and topics
  • 5 1/4" x 8 1/4" x 1"
  • Softcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Economy Bible
Review 1 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value ESV Bible

Date:March 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prisca
Location:South metro Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a Bible to keep in my car so I'd remember to take it into church when I attended. This Bible fits the bill. It's slightly larger than "compact" (doesn't fit easily into my handbag) but the font is readable and it is not heavy.
So far I haven't forgotten to take it inside the sanctuary with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Price

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimber
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Bible that I have owned. The other being the Gideon Bible I received in Grade 5. I have loved my new Bible. I have been able to follow along reading scriptures with some popular Evangelical Christians on T.V. I have noticed though that some of my scriptures are not exactly the same as the scriptures from T.V. I am still learning about the different bible versions. Overall, even if the scriptures a slightly different - there may be a word or two that is different from my favorite Evengelical T.V. Christian. I still love my new Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chow Tai Hwa
Translation and textual notesSection Headings are provided throughout the text to help identify and locate important themes and topics :These are very useful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen Wymer
It's beautiful! I love it, it's the perfect fit for everyday life and it's just what I needed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann Sintas
Easy to read and understand. I like to buy these books for gifts. So friends can find it some comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
This is a very nice Bible, I like the 8 point text size. My husband and I are mostly homebound and we like to have Bibles to give away when we can, when we have visitors. And we are pleased with this Bible. It is nice to be able to give a Bible to someone. Sincerely, Jackie Gray
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joseph Williams
Great Bible! We use them in the Sunday School classrooms. The ESV is easy to read and easy to comprehend the message of the Word of God. I would defiantly recommend this Bible to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Barton
Th ESV is a better sequel to the RSV than the NRSV . It's well written with the usual translator's bias toward certain doctrines. At times the study notes also reflect a strong doctrinal bias, that's not always accurate, in my opinion but generally they are very useful. You just have to make a distinction between the word of God and the word of man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra Kerr
WOW! I have been wanting an ESV Bible for some time now and I am so glad I got one Praise God! The price was great and I really like this Bible because the paper is better to write on, I write notes in my Bibles, I LOVE LOVE LOVE Christianbook.com you always get the Best product at the BEST price and you can TRUST them! I truly recommend this Bible to all, God's Word is our LIFE LINE, we need our daily FOOD and it is our FOOD Praise His Holy Name and God Bless All of You!!! In Christ's Love..Sandy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Economy Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ross Metcalf
What a wonderful and inexpensive bible for all who desire to read an accurate and readable translation based on the Greek text. (It is hard to beat the KJV for language flow; however, the ESV is close to it in beauty of language.) Read it along with your KJV, NKJV, and NIV, etc. Note the accurate translation here as you compare it to the Greek in your word studies.Enjoy this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.