Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1

B&H Books The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1

Julienne Ashby, 24, must change her pampered ways after her father, a prominent businessman in Natchez, Mississippi, loses their fortune and family home to a bad gambling habit in 1850. Like a fish out of water, she aims to refit their one remaining possession, an old riverboat, in hopes of making a profit and restoring the Cuvier name along the mighty Mississippi.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Review 1 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the best, but not the worst.

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The River Queen is the story of Julienne Ashby and Dallas Bronte in the pre-civil war era. When her father suddenly dies, Julienne and her family must move out of their upscale mansion and onto a broken down steamer boat.
The fact that this book had a lot of faith based conversations and that Jesus and cross are stated plainly, I love because these are the things that set a christian books apart.
Unfortunately this book only gets 3 stars because of the annoying main character of Julienne, a spoiled and self centered socialite whines and pouts when she doesn't get her way or is confronted with her short comings and she doesn't begin to show the least amount of growth or maturity until the very end of the book. I honestly felt sorry for Dallas who eventually marries her.
Darcy, her brother, I liked better because although he starts out as a lazy drunk, he does grow up and become a hard working adult.
Dallas was the best written because although he wasn't a "christian" throughout most of the book, he did his best to do the right thing for people. I felt he had the most "character." He would take one step foreword and two steps back which I liked because he wasn't perfect, but it did show commitment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i always enjoy pastor morris's books

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
barb
Location:missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the book is different from the books i have read of pastor morris but it was a great book to read. the story was very interesting and i could not put the book down until i finished reading it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Historical Read

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda B
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
“I want to look pretty, I want to have fun, I want to dance. I might even meet some exciting new people!”
Thus are the words of the fiery Julienne Ashby whose flaming red-gold locks match her haywire temper and headstrong rebellious air. Spoiled by the life of frills and social calls and glamorous living that sprouts from her family’s aristocratic status in the community, Julienne hasn’t a care in the world other than the angst of wondering what over-priced outfit she will wear for her next party.
Along with her tomboy sister who’d rather collect worms than learn geography and her partying brother who spends his days recovering from last night’s hangover, this twenty-three-year-old fashion guru of 1855 refuses to cut back on her extravagant lifestyle, despite their father’s persistent warnings that the family’s financial position is headed downstream fast.
When tragedy strikes and the Ashbys are forced to sell nearly all their possessions, Julienne is thrust into a position of family leadership, discovering untapped potential as businesswoman and using her stubborn will to keep her family off the street.
Enter the River Queen. Now the owner of the dilapidated little steamboat, Julienne decides that the Queen is their only chance to make a living and regain their dignity.
The River Queen seems to mirror its primary owner’s soul – strong and steadfast with a potential for great beauty. If only the multiple years’ worth of muck and grime can be scrubbed away. Dallas Bronte, the steamer’s new captain and pilot sees the hidden inner beauty of both. But will Julienne’s pride cause her to turn to a less honorable man for help with the Queen? A man who, unlike Dallas Bronte, is not motivated by a love for the Queen and its feisty owner … but simply by a desire to own them.
And will Julienne’s regard for her steamboat and its pilot move from one of frigid necessity to, perhaps, even love?
Through it all, Julienne and Dallas must learn to trust in a God whose power and love they’ve never fully acknowledged, and realize that no matter how bleak a situation, you’re never too filthy for Him to clean up.
Note: In my personal opinion, the book didn't possess the type of edge-of-your-seat, page-turning pull that I'm used to. However, it did bring back some reminiscent memories of the Mandie series, a childhood favorite of mine, as the historical setting and writing style is similar to that of Lois Gladys Leppard (minus the mystery and frequent kidnappings). But for those who enjoy a good, historical romance with a slight Pride and Prejudice feel and solid Biblical values, this book is a perfect read and should be accompanied by a cozy fireplace and hot cup of chamomile tea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Way Too Detailed Descriptions

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alannie Marshall
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book seemed interesting to me, so I picked it up and began reading it. The entire first chapter describes the leading lady's bedroom! I mean it tells you what kind of bedding she has and everything! Overall, I couldn't stand the lead character's personality- she didn't have one! This book was so boring, I didn't even finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating Story

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. You can just imagine the setting because of the vivid descriptions. This is one of those books where you are transported back to that time in history. I read this book in a short amount of time because you don't won't to put it down. I loved all the characters, even the "bad guys."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Johnson
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual Gilbert Morris writes a story that you dont want to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great One from Mr. Morris!

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book from one of the most successful Christian authors of the last years.
Julienne Ashby is a rich socialite in the 1850's, with every thing she could ever wish for at her fingertips. But as a consequence of Julienne and her family's extravagant ways, they soon find themselves nearly broke with only a run down riverboat in their possession. Julienne is determined to make it a profitable enterprise, along with the help of her aunt and Dallas Bronte, river pilot with a troubled past. Will they be able to conquer the seemingly insurmountable challenges that threaten to pull them under?
A bit slow to start, but well worth it at the end, with memorable, well drawn characters, The River Queen is a book that shows how people can change dramatically in the face of hardship, and in God's love.
My favorite character was Carly who was tons of fun, and always brightening a scene even when things seemed bleak. She had a strong, simple faith and I looked forward to scenes that included her in them.
I also enjoyed reading the character development of so many of the characters, probably most dramatically, Dallas and Julienne. Julienne started out pampered and spoiled, and during the course of the book her faith in God grew tremendously. Dallas was a flawed hero, which is probably what I appreciated about him, he wasn't perfect, yet even though at first he didn't know Christ he was a man that the world would have deemed good enough. Dallas' knowledge was broad and on so many subjects and his sense of honor was most admirable.
Overall, I would recommend this to Gilbert Morris fans and other who would enjoy an entertaining story, with faith and adventure. It's not the heaviest of stories, and I know this book won't appeal to everyone, but I enjoyed it :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
ddt153
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always my favorite author - excellent book - great story line - can't wait for the next one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The River Queen, Waterwheel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good reading

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
grannyd
Location:Garland,TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished the book and It met my expectations, had a great story line, good history emphais, very enjoyable, clean reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.