Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1

B&H Books The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1

Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton, is ordered by the King to take guardianship over Lady Alexandria Featherstone whose parents are presumed dead after failing to return from a high profile treasure hunt. But Alexandria ignores this royal reassignment, believing her parents are still alive and duly following clues that may lead to their whereabouts. Gabriel, pressured by what are actually the King's ulterior motives, pursues her across windswept England and the rolling green hills of Ireland but is always one step behind. When they do meet, the search for earthly treasure will pale in comparison to what God has planned for both of them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
17 out of 1989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Review 1 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Guardian Duke

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’ve never before read anything by Jamie Carie, although I am familiar with her name and books due to my frequency here on Christianbook.com. I saw that this one got high ratings (plus I like the cover), so when I saw it was available on Netgalley, I decided to try it.
I think the strength of this book is that it wasn’t “typical.” There were a lot of little quirks and things that kept the story fresh and original. All the same, there were a few things that just didn’t “work” for me. First of all, though I really enjoyed all of the letters between Alexandra and Gabriel, I didn’t get why she kept trying to elude him. He was on her side, after all!
My favorite character was definitely Montague, although I liked Baylor also. Though the storyline is definitely unusual, if you know coming into this book that it’s more of an adventure story that a formal Regency, you’ll probably enjoy it.
I’m happy to say, the book didn’t really have any objectionable content that I can remember. (However, I had read reviews of the second and third books, and so apparently there is some objectionable stuff in there, which is sad because this book ends on a cliffhanger…so you’re probably going to want to read the next books.)
Rating: 8
I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great start to a trilogy

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After the King ordered Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton to be the guardian for Lady Alexandria Featherstone whose parents are missing. Alexandria, who practically raised herself, does not feel the need for a guardian at this point. Alexandria wants to find and save her parents, and she assumes that the Duke is a stuffy old man who will put a stop to her desires. Immediately, Alexandria begins her plans to find her parents while keeping away from Gabriel and walking right into danger.
The Guardian Duke starts this series off on the right foot. Carie weaves an interesting romantic mystery as the main characters deal with personal problems and attempt to strengthen their relationships with the Lord. Carie describes the scenery beautifully, building visual pictures of the travels. This is a great read for historical romantic mystery readers of all ages.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting picture of the time, a little dreaming

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gskov
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interesting picture of the time, a little dreaming and unrealistic when it comes to the persons, but it kept my attention to the end - which was frustrating, as it has to continue . . .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming story.

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Very readable. I finished it is 3 days and was anxious to go to gook #2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Beautiful Story by Jamie Carie

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this wonderfully written tale Jamie Carie sweeps us away to the beautiful Island of Northumberland, England in the year 1818 to introduce us to a resourceful young woman, Lady Alexandria Featherstone. Alex has pretty much been on her own for her entire life except for the two servants that help her run her family’s castle. Alex's parents are treasure hunters and that has always seemed to be more important to them than Alex. When she receives word that her parents are assumed dead and she is now the ward of the esteemed Gabriel Ravenwood, the Duke of St. Easton, she is very upset. Alex decides that she will not sit around and wait to be called to London to live with this "old" Duke, not when her parents need her as she is sure they are not dead. So she hastily sets out on her own to find them but not before sending her guardian a letter asking for money for repairs for her rundown castle, which she uses to fund her trip. Will a beautiful girl alone on the road be able to protect herself from harm? Will God look out for her and send a rescuer just when she needs one?
Gabriel was shocked to say the least when he is interrupted by his secretary while enjoying his favorite pastime, the Opera. The message was life changing for The Duke, he had no clue he had any relatives named Featherstone, but when the Regent speaks you heed what he says. Gabriel cannot imagine why the Regent would want him to look after this "child" but the more he dwells on it, he thinks it might be a good idea to bring her to London and perhaps she could spend time with his sister's children. But after a terrible tragedy affects Gabriel, he has to send his secretary to meet Alexandria. To his surprise when the secretary returns he finds out that the "child" is a breathtakingly beautiful young woman. What is it that draws him to Alexandria? Would God place a love for her in his heart without him even meeting her? Will he ever catch up to her or will she keep eluding him at every turn?
Jamie does a fantastic job of creating a story that grabs on to your imagination and doesn't let go until the end. She introduces us to Alexandria and Gabriel in this book one of the Forgotten Castles Series and no, they won’t be able to overcome all of the obstacles that keep them apart in this book. But I can assure you, you won’t be disappointed in this exciting read that carries you from England to the beautiful green rolling hills of Ireland. Thank you Jamie for this marvelous read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cliffhangers

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Definitely the beginning of something...
Alexandria Featherstone's parents have been missing for over a year, and suddenly she finds herself the ward of Duke of St. Eatson. Alexandria is desperate to find her parents, so she writes to the Duke to ask for support. Letters go back and forth between the two, but what will they ever meet each other face to face?
In my mind this book ended up being much more of a beginning, than a stand alone novel. It had plenty of intrigue and mystery. I liked many of the side characters and Gabriel, but I kind of found myself not liking Alexandria all that much.
I liked how the characters were pretty well developed and Gabe was a fresh hero, a sort of perfectionist, with plenty of brains--maybe even too smart for his own good! But to further explain why I didn't like Alexandria, was because she claimed to be a Christian, and to pray, but she was all too comfortable lying at the tip of a hat and choosing her own way. I will definitely be looking forward to some spiritual growth from her in the next book :) I mean, I did sympathize with her to some extent, but not as much as I would like to have.
There were plenty of twists in the story, and mystery that kept me reading. So basically I will say that this was a somewhat frustrating book for me, because I felt that this was more of a beginning, but I hope to remedy that by reading the next book. Because I do want to find out what happens next! It was a quick read, I read it in less than a day, but it left me somewhat unsatisfied. So don't read this book unless you plan on reading the next two, as well!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quest, A Search And High Adventure

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamie Carie in her new book, “The Guardian Duke” Book One in the Forgotten Castles series published by B&H Publishing Group takes us to Medieval England in 1818.
From the back cover: Someday I will meet you and see your face.
Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton, is ordered by the King to take guardianship over Lady Alexandria Featherstone whose parents are presumed dead after failing to return from a high profile treasure hunt. But Alexandria ignores this royal reassignment, believing her parents are still alive and duly following clues that may lead to their whereabouts.
Gabriel, pressured by what are actually the King’s ulterior motives, pursues her across windswept England and the rolling green hills of Ireland but is always one step behind.
When they do meet, the search for earthly treasure will pale in comparison to what God has planned for both of them.
Do you remember the Sixties TV show, “The Fugitive”? What made that show exciting was the chase. Dr. Kimball was chasing the one-armed man who really killed his wife but Lt. Gerard was chasing Kimball to bring him back to jail. Lady Alexandria is chasing across the continent searching for her missing parents who are presumed dead. Gabriel, The Duke of the title, is chasing after her because he was appointed guardian of Lady Alexandria by the king. This is the stuff of high adventure. Do the two of them get together? Does Lady Alexandria find her parents? To find out you will have to read the story. All I can say without giving anything away is this is book one in a three book series. I liked this book and am looking forward to book two!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B&H Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Super reader
Location:London ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can' wait to read second in series. I can't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Catherine Coile
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only comment is that I was surprised and a bit saddened that it was a "to be continued" type of story......had no idea about that and now that it is, the second book is not even out yet! Big bummer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Cliffhanger!

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamie Carie has spun a delightful yarn, that takes us on a journey to England; replete with crumbling, old English castles, dukes, and masquerade balls, to the beautiful purple heather-filled rolling hills of Ireland.
Our heroine, Alexandria, receives word that her parents are presumed dead, while on a high profile treasure hunt, and Gabriel, the Duke of Easton, is ordered by the king to be her guardian. All of her life, Alexandria's parents have left her alone to pursue their treasure hunts, and she feels compelled to find them at any cost (refusing to believe they are dead), and ignores the duke's missives to come and let him watch over her.
Gabriel begins to have strange, unexplicable attacks of deafness and nausea, and finds strange comfort in Alexandria's return letters. As he realizes she has gone to Ireland to find her parents, he feels he must find her, only to be met with disappointment as she eludes him at every turn. Not only has Gabriel received orders from the king to protect Alex, but what else is driving him to seek out this woman whom he has only "met" through letters?
Will Alex find her parents?...and will Gabriel find her? And as he unknowingly closes in on her, what happens at a masked ball that left my heart palpitating wildly? :) What is causing Gabriel's strange attacks of deafness and will he find healing...for his physical being and his heart?
I can honestly tell you that some of the above questions are not answered in this book (major frustration!), for Ms. Carie has left us with a wonderful cliffhanger, leaving the reader wanting more! And in Book Two, The Forgiven Duke, I'm sure we will get some answers. I love Jamie Carie's books, and this was no exception. I was actually covered in goose bumps at the conclusion, with tears in my eyes, and feeling frustration at the same time. What a mixture of emotions! Wow, does Jamie Carie ever know how to tell a story! Her characters wrapped themselves around my heart, and I found the duke particularly endearing, and was so moved by the emotions he displayed in his affliction. Well, my Kindle awaits me with The Forgiven Duke...I must get off this cliff I'm hanging on!
I received a copy of this book from Net Galley and was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Story context more for young women.

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good book to donate to my church's library for young women/teens. Not an adult storyline.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This story has some interesting elements

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Guardian Duke is written by Jamie Carie and published by B&H Publishing Group.
Gabriel, who is the Duke of St. Easton, has been made a guardian of Lady Alexandria Featherstone by the King. The Duke has been made Lady Alexandria’s guardian because everyone thinks her parents are dead. She on the other hand decides they are not and goes in search of them. The Duke becomes aware that she is out looking for her parents on her own and goes out searching for her. As the Duke and Lady Alexandria communicate with each other we are able to see their relationship grow through the letters they write to each other.
This story has some interesting elements but is not like a lot of fiction I have read set during the Duke and Lady historical period. I did not especially like how the story concluded. I do not like when they end books just so they can start another one. They pull you along as a relationship grows and then just leave you at the end with no resolution. What if you can’t afford to get the next book or your library does not carry the book? You will never know how the story ends. I will say, however, that the writing style was nicely done and the characters were interesting but I don’t think I will read anything by this author again.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Characters and Setting!

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dickerson
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved both the setting and the characters in this wonderful novel. I can hardly wait to read the second book! The characters were so real! I fell in love with Gabriel and Alexandria and was dying for them to get together. The book kept me on the edge of my seat, and now I am looking forward to book 2, when they will finally be together!!! Rarely do characters get inside my heart the way these two did. This book did not have closure, but that was okay with me, because I want to read more about Gabriel and Alexandria. They deserve more time! So do yourself a favor and get this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gabriel is a Duke and is ordered by the King to be the guardian of Alexandria(Alex). At first he thinks its just a normal guardianship but soon learns there is more going on then meets the eyes. As he is learning about the guardianship he suddenly goes deaf for no real reason and has to deal with that as well.
Alex does not believe that her parents are dead and sets out on her own to find them. Along the way she finds danger and thankfully she also take up her search with some protectors. Once the Duke learns that she set out to find her parents he heads after her. Will he get to her in time? Can she find her parents? Read this book to find out.
This is a Regency-era novel taking place in the early 1800’s. I felt myself having to step back in time and remember some of the rules of the time period so I could better understand this book. Some of the early reviews I read about this book where not very kind and I think the reason is they don’t have an understanding for the time period.
What I liked: There is something almost magical about the setting of castles and Kings and Dukes. I found myself being swept away into the time period. I really liked the characters. Alex has spunk which at the time was not looked highly at and caused me to laugh quite a few times. Yes she made the silly choice to go after her parents alone but she was young and had grown up with out her parents being around a lot and also growing up on a island where she felt safe she really did not understand the danger. I liked the Duke because even though he was rich and powerful he also has a heart.
What I did not like: The whole story line of the Duke going deaf was a little weird. Maybe there will be some more answers about it later on in the series but I don’t really understand why the author went with this storyline. The cat and mouse chase between the Duke and Alex was exciting at first but by the end I was a little disappointed we have to wait until the next book to see if the Duke will finally catch up with Alex.
Over all this was a fun book to read. I was rooting for the Duke to catch up with Alex. The book ended as a cliff hanger but it definitely makes me want to read the next book. This book has romance, humor and suspense. A very enjoyable read. Looking forward to more of the story when the next book is released this summer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Whisks You Away to England and Exciting Castles!

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Guardian Duke is a unique tale that will thrill readers of regency romances !
First of all, I have to say that Jamie Carie completely captures the landscape and countries in a very captivating way. As we strolled from England, the Holy Island, and to Ireland, she truly made each setting unique. In fact, after reading this book, I'd like to visit the Holy Island myself one day.
I also love how she has chosen to write an entire series that features forgotten castles spread through-out Europe. What person doesn't love castles? She uniquely describes each of their features and transports the reader to the castles themselves.
While this story is very captivating, and will leave you longing for the next story in the Forgotten Castle series, there are a few moments where it becomes easy to lose interest. Those moments are definitely far and few, but they exist none-the-less.
I absolutely love the hero in this novel. Jamie Carie has done a fantastic job in not only capturing his voice, but sharing what he is going through in a way that engages the reader and keeps them rooting for him the whole time.
I didn't take to the heroine too well. I think, mostly because she still has some growing up to do. Since this is a series, it'll be interesting to watch as her character develops into a mature young woman.
While I definitely enjoyed her last novel much more than this one, The Guardian Duke is still a good, intriguing read that puts Jamie Carie's writing skills on display.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from B &H publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The Guardian Duke

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first book in the new Forgotten Castles series, and the author's first Regency-era romance. This was the first book, and likely also the last, I've read by the author. It shouldn't even be called a romance. Alex and Gabriel exchange snarky letters throughout the story, meet very briefly near the end of the book without realizing who the other person is, and then don't meet again. Absolutely nothing is resolved.
To make matters worse, the book is peppered with inaccuracies. Alex shoots Gabriel's secretary, Meade, with a shotgun, and then Gabriel uses the phrase "alright" later in the book. Stuff like this kept yanking me out of the story and made me want to throw my Kindle across the room. Better Regency stories are available from authors like Julie Klassen and Linore Rose Burkard. Save your time and read those instead.
Thanks to B&H Publishers and NetGalley for my review copy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Jamie Carie

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Lady Alexandria Featherstone has been told her parents are dead but she doesn't believe it all. She just knows they must be alive and that something has happened to them while our on their last treasure hunt. Gabriel, the Duke of Easton, has been assigned guardian of Lady Alexandria by the king and he wants to fulfill that assignment the best he can. The problem is Alexandria does not want to allow and runs of on her own in search for her parents. She manages to always stay one step ahead of the Duke who is bound and determined to catch up with her and bring her back to London safely.
This was such a fun book to read. I loved reading the letters written between Gabriel and Alexandria and wondering what would happen next. This book kept me guessing all the way through. As soon as I thought he would catch up to her she came up with a new way of getting ahead. Jamie Carie did a great job at keeping the story interesting and weaving the two characters stories together. This book left me very excited to read the next book in the series. It ended with a big cliffhanger that left me with more questions and the thrill of what will happen next. The next book, The Forgiven Duke, releases in July 2012.
Note: I was given an advance review copy of this book from the author and publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best yet!!!

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Regency era stories. Hands down they are my favorite. The clothing, the etiquette, the castles, and most of all the intrigue! After much anticipation, I can say that The Guardian Duke met every expectation I had, and then some!
Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton, has never met his newly appointed ward and begins writing her letters. Alexandria has the ability to irritate the Duke with the written word but as time goes on she also beguiles him. Love begins to blossom. He wants to be her protector, thinking she is in need of one. Little does he know how resourceful she has had to be. He fears for her and sets out to bring her back to London. There's something that makes this kind of tricky but I don't want to spoil the story so I will not say anymore about him.
Alexandria has spent most of her life alone on Holy Island, with only a few house staff to keep her company, while her parents travel the globe. Suspected dead by some, Alexandria is not convinced that this is true. She devises a plan to find them but needs funds. She writes to the Duke of St Easton, pleading for money. She's not exactly honest with him, but of course he doesn't know this. What ensues over the course of time, through the letters, is quite amusing.
I enjoyed watching Gabriel fall in love with Alexandria through the letters. It held a special place in my heart as my husband and I corresponded the first 6 months of our courtship through letters while he was living in a foreign country!
If you're a fan of Regency fiction, you don't want to miss this introduction to Gabriel and Alexandria. I couldn't believe I had reached the end of the book. It is a brilliant cliffhanger!
There's so much more to this story but you know I tend to be conservative with my reviews because I don't want to give spoilers. I hope you'll purchase your own copy. The book comes out in February and is available for pre-order at several online retailers. All of Ms. Carie's books have stunningly beautiful covers. This one is no exception and I think it is the best she has written yet!
An Advance Reader's Edition, uncorrected proof, from B&H Publishing Group was provided through NetGalley. I was under no obligation to write a positive review, just my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Guardian Duke, Forgotten Castles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure, Intrugue, Suspense - MUST READ

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loves2Read
Location:Morton, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
My Overview & Review:
All I can say is “wow,” what a wonderful introduction to both Lady Alexandria Fetherstone (Alex) and the Gabriel Ravenwood, the Duke of St. Easton (Guardian Duke). Both characters are brought to life within the pages of this amazing adventure in such a way that the reader feels completely drawn into the story with each and every word.
When we first meet our soon-to-be “Guardian Duke,” he is enjoying the opening strains of relax in music at the opera and is rudely interrupted from his much needed peace by his secretary, Mr. Meade. In Meade’s hand is a letter with the King’s seal addressed to the Duke informing him that his has become the guardian for Alexandria Featherstone upon the mysterious disappearance of her parents. As he reaches for it, he feels a roaring in his ears, as well as a sensation of water filling them, shortly followed by a bright light of sorts exploding inside his head. Once he recovers, he realizes . . . well, I don’t want to spoil the book for you, so I’ll just say he begins to have some physical difficulties that greatly concern and anger him.
We are introduced to Alex (Lady Alexandria) as she is traipsing along the sea shore of her island home, in her night clothing. She shows immediately an adventurous and determined personality. She lives in a castle which is run down, drafty and leaky, while her parents are on one of their many treasure hunting excursions. Her parents frequently leave her to hire out in search of stolen or missing items. This time, they have been gone for about a year and she has not heard from them for nearly 10 months. Although she is concerned, they have often been gone for long periods of time and she is certain they will return once their search is complete. Little does she know the danger they have put themselves, and her as well, into on this quest.
Upon finding out that the Duke of St. Easton has been assigned her care by the King, in her parents absence, she is quite dismayed. She does not believe her parents to be dead as others seem to believe. So despite her new guardian’s concern for her wellbeing, she sets out alone to discover what has become of her parents. Along her journey she meets both dangerous and friendly people. She trusts God to lead her and guide her along the way, yet she still manages to get into quite a bit of mischief.
As we follow along on Alex’s journey to find and save her parents, a parallel journey is taking place. The Guardian Duke is learning to deal with a new and frightening handicap, as well as dealing with a missing ward. He feels a responsibility to her, but also a kinship that grows as they correspond through letters. As he discovers more information regarding her parent’s disappearance as well as her journey to find information about them; he finds that she is in grave danger, and he attempts to meet up with her to help her.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am very anxious for the next book to arrive. There is a bit of a “cliff-hanger” ending to this that leaves me with a greater desire to learn what will happen next and what will happen between the Duke and Alex.
I love the flow that this book has. It is very easy to read, and very hard to put down. I could not stop reading, I needed to know what would happen in each and every chapter. I was able to read this book in 1 day (with several interruptions for housework and kids) and greatly recommend it to anyone who loves good clean fiction, with lots of adventure, excellent, well-developed characters and page-turning intrigue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.