Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD

Zondervan When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD

Prayer can change lives and circumstances like nothing else can. What are the keys that unlock its power, that turn prayer from a mere activity into a vital link with God and all his resources? In this DVD, Jim Cymbala, pastor of the Brooklyn Tabernacle, shows you and your small group truths about prayer that God has used to turn his own church from a tiny, struggling inner-city congregation into a vital, thriving community of believers who pray with passion, focus, and faith. This wonderful teaching on the transforming power of prayer is divided into six sessions of approximately 15 minutes each.

Please note that the Participant's Guide (#26734X) is sold separately.

DVD Features:
  • Teachings by Jim Cymbala
  • Interviews of ordinary people who have received extraordinary answers to their prayer
  • Two songs from the Grammy ® Award-Winning Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Review 1 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
patti
Location:West Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is a wonderful video on prayer. Pastor Cymbala does a wonderful job on teaching about prayer and the testimonies are wonderful. We are doing a study on prayer at our church on Wednesday night and our Pastor is going to show this video. We started a prayer study on January 13th and this will fit in just perfect. I truly recommend this to any prayer group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study on Prayer

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Whitley
Location:Mooresville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study is fantastic. I believe most Christians struggle with prayer and Pastor Cymbala explains the how and why of prayer. The use of the living testimonies with each session is powerful. My prayer life has been greatly enriched. You have to use it with the workbook as it is interactive with the DVD. You won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding series

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim N
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Cymbala and the other members of Brooklyn Tabernacle in the DVD do an excellent job of describing a prayer life of which I am not familiar. Very challenging. They humbly challenge you to seek God at a higher level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
greenthumb
Location:South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A life changing dvd for a group or one person! Whether a new believer or a seasoned Christian, you will gain from this study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful, inspiring video.

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
sallycreech
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this video for a small group. It is one of the most inspirational videos of this type I have seen. I love the personal testimonies of the power of prayer in the lives of His people in each segment. High recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very high quality DVD

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Billy
Location:Cartersville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an impact this DVD had on me! I recommend to everyone who desires for God to do a work in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The messages in this series are life-changing

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kentgolfer
Location:Boynton Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cymbala uses real life examples and lessons to spread this important message on the power of prayer. If you haven't done this study in your small group setting, you need to now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product challenges your prayer life

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
On a Journey
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Cymbala has a gentle way of giving you Biblical truths and sharing testimonies of others that shows God's power and makes you want more for your personal relationship with Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The summary of affects prayer has on the church...

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lorrie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The overall feeling of the DVD is peaceful, compelling. Oh
how I want this for my home church!! Just to get people to
pray. To understand that when God's people pray, the
possibilities that God can provide are endless and totally
unfathomable. As born again Christians we need to wake-up and pray, pray,and pray even more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic study!

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beachlovermom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are finishing up this series with an adult Sunday School class of about 45 people. It has been a great study. The videos are powerful and really challenge the audience to improve their prayer lives. We used the participant's guide alongside the videos and found it to be a great resource as well. This series is life-changing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

used to kick off prayer week at church

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loren
Location:Waseca, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the "second" study from this product, to kick off our prayer week to help us focus on the importance of prayer, and it was well received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent guide to boosting your prayer ministry.

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marlene
Location:WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've just completed the six study sessions and found each one builds to the next and finishes with a challenge to boost your prayer ministry and focus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Highly Recommended Study

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
KatyMensGroup
Location:Katy, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to highly recommend this study/DVD series, especially to Sunday School classes and Men's groups (possibly even to small churches to be shown at midweek gatherings).
This study is very well worth the time! It is doctrinally solid, biblically-based, and practical enough to be used by God's Spirit to effect change in how a Christian sees and involves him/herself in prayer.
Those who are hungry for God will not be dissapointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you're going to do the study you must use DVD!

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phil S
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are currently using it in our small group study. It is excellent for creating discussion and getting people thinking and talking out loud. It definitely is very positive and instills in you that with God and the Holy Spirit's direction that anything can happen. Each week has a personal and powerful testimony from a member of the Brookylyn Tabernacle church.
Be prepared to answer questions about when God doesn't answer the prayer the way you want (needs vs want, how God works in the world, God's omniscience, etc) because that isn't really covered.
This is a study that wants you believing and fully relying with hope and without doubt! It is designed for 60 minutes per week but it is so thorough it is difficult to get through it so we've made each lesson worth 2 weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Far exceeded my expectations

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Starkweather
Location:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD is compelling. Jim Cymbala's teaching is scripturally based and the interviews with members of his congregation are inspirational, to say the least.
We are using this for six weeks focused on prayer at our church. We watch the DVD and then spend time in prayer. Everyone has been so impressed with the dvd series. We are not using the study guide, but it is well written and would be excellent for small groups who want to go deeper. Highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Larry Myer
It is a great resource to get yourself or a group on track with fervent prayer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Knudson
We have a Monday evening Ladies' Bible Study. When looking for material to teach, I came across "When God's People Pray". We have done studies using " Wisdom of the Word", and Max Lucado books. God led me to this book and I am so glad He did. it is just what we needed to refocus our attention on the real reason for our very being..."Prayer". Jim presents a very well- organized format that is easy to follow for even the beginning Bible student. It is important to allow a whole hour for the DVD study, or you will get caught short. We have gone over an hour every time to allow our ladies to share. It is a wonderful study and I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Coleman
We are using this teaching series in "Hour of Empowerment." It is an excellent curriculum. The testimonies are so inspiring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy Grose
We have just finished session 3 and I am so blessed by this study. Jim Cymbala walks very close to His Lord and Savior. His walk (and others) is evidenced by fruit and he shares this with us in the videos. The power of God working through prayer is such an encouragement. Then he shows the principles behind that power. And it is very powerful!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When God's People Pray, Small Group DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stefanie Ainley
Our small group just began this dvd study last week and are very pleased with the product and the subject is extremely powerful! Very satisfied and recommend this to anyone seeking to enrich and expand their understanding and participation in prayer. If I could rate it higher than a 5 star I would.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.