Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red

Thomas Nelson NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red

Discover the Holy Spirit throughout the Bible!
Dr. Jack Hayford, founding pastor of The Church on the Way, has led a team of anointed leaders to produce the New Spirit-Filled Life Bible. Even after more than twenty years, the Spirit-Filled Life Bible offers a fresh look at the Scriptures and the work of the Holy Spirit. This Bible addresses important issues of Spirit-filled living in the context of solid biblical scholarship.

Features include:
  • Kingdom Dynamic—41 themes throughout the Scripture that give us values as we advance the gospel throughout the world
  • Word Wealth—More than 550 key terms defined and brought to life pulling the language from the original Greek and Hebrew to everyday English
  • Truth-In-Action—Practical charts pulling out practical application from every book of the Bible
  • Detailed book introductions to each of the 66 books of the Bible
  • Verse-by-verse study notes
  • Concordance
  • In-text charts and maps
  • Eight pages of full-color maps
  • Blank lined pages for personal notes
  • Articles
    • Bridging the Testaments
    • Harmony of the Gospels
    • Dealing With the "Last Things"—The Rapture, Second Coming, and the Millennium
    • In Studying the Book of Revelation
    • Holy Spirit Gifts and Power
    • The Holy Spirit and Restoration
    • Aflame With Passion for World Evangelism
    • The Believer's Potential and Pathway for Ministering Healing To the Nations
    • Understanding Messianic Jewish Ministry
    • How to Lead a Person To the Savior
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edges
  • 9.5-point text size
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.50
  • Free Bible Study Tools download available
About the Executive Editor
Dr. Jack Hayford is the founding pastor of The Church On the Way, Van Nuys, California. He has written over forty books, has composed more than 600 hymns, and is the Executive Editor of many Spirit-Filled Life publications. He is heard around the world on radio and television.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Review 1 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible Ever

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather m
Location:Orange, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just gave my husband my Bible like this so I could get a leather bound one, so now I'm trying to decide between red or black. I loved the maps, charts and section to write notes. This book is great for both new Christians who are looking to learn more, just as well as it is for a seasoned Disciple of Christ. One of my favorite passages of The Bible is The Beatitudes, and this Bible puts it in an even deeper understanding than I could have imagined. I've recommended this book to everyone I know and will continue to do so. You won't be disappointed. I've tried the Love Languages Bible, Women's Study Bible and a few others, but this one takes the prize.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the outline

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joni
Location:Syracuse, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this in the NKJV and this one was for a young friend that is currently being discipled - she is VERY happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Study Bible Available

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr Plegge
Location:Youngstown, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The New Spirit Filled Life Bible in the New Living Translation is hands down, by far, the most complete study bible on the market today. It provides the NLT which makes the text of the Bible very readable as well as understandable. This Bible draws from the wisdom of some of the greatest Bible scholars and teachers of our time such as Bishop Joseph Garlington Sr. PhD, Marilyn Hickey, G.E. Patterson, James ryle, Charles Simpson, and Reinhard Bonke. This Bible is packed with charts, study notes, original language notes, and a detailed concordance as well. I have read through many versions of the Bible, and this particular Bible has caught my attention and rekindled the fire in me of reading God's Word with a fresh and accurate understanding of it. I would highly recommend this Bible which is produced by Dr. Jack Hayford, one of the great fathers of the faith of our time. This Bible is perfect for both the new Christian as well as the seasoned scholar. You will be glad you made this purchase. I know I am!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
annie
Location:Shelby, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible more than met my expectations. It has notes from so many whom I have utilized studies from the past ten years. Thanks to Jack Hayford for this newer edition. Thank you .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent choice

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scott E.
Location:New Sewickley, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what the New Spirit Filled Life Bible needed, a more modern translation. Having used the NKJV version for years I had personally switched to the NLT for many reasons. I either had to carry two Bibles or did not have the notes from the Spirit Filled Bible. It seems the notes are redone for the NLT which is great. If you are looking for a updated translation with excellent notes from a Spirit filled position this is your Bible. I would love to see a parallel NKJV NLT version of the New Spirit Filled Life Bible, like what Tyndale did with the Life Application and NLT Study Bible parallel. An electronic version of all of these would be super, are you reading Tyndale?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful. Powerful. Relevant.

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
glenn7591
Location:Albertville, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been a devoted user of the original Spirit Filled Life Bible and its successor, The New Spirit Filled Life Bible, I thought I knew what to expect when I received this Bible. I must have underestimated the impact of the NLT! It reads marvelously well, losing nothing in translation regarding the "Word Wealth" feature (my favorite). I have thoroughly enjoyed this Bible and am recommending it to my friends and our congregation. If I could make one adjustment, it would be larger print. Hopefully, Thomas Nelson will produce a Large Print edition in the future. LOVE THIS BIBLE!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointed with this 'new' edition

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when the New Spirit Filled Bible came out, with the NLT and NKJV versions; I eagerly ordered one in the NLT version (which I use and enjoy very much). When I did get it, I noticed how small the print text is, compared with the previous NKJV version, which I have. The footnotes at the bottom of the pages are SO small. A feature of my older Bible has the Truth In Action verses reference numbers in the text, which helps me find them...in the new edition, these reference numbers are no longer there. You have to look at the tiny footnotes on the bottom of the page to find them...I much prefer my 'older' NKJV Spirit Bible...I returned the new one.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome study Bible!!

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had the Spirit-Filled Life Bible that was a KJV. I also had the NKJV but gave my copy away. I love the New Living Translation so when I saw that the New-Spirit-Filled Life Bible - NLT was coming up for review, I knew I had to get a copy.
The executive editor is Jack Hayford. This is a hard-cover Bible with 2064 pages. The font isn't too small, a 9.5 point-text size. You also receive free Bible study tools download with the purchase of this Bible. I won't be reviewing the NLT version of this Bible but the study portion of this copy.
I really enjoy these versions of the study Bible. There are many helps included. The three categories are Kingdom Dynamics, Word Wealth, and Truth-in-Action. The details of these sections are found right in the beginning of the Bible.
Throughout the Bible, there are boxes that are shaded grey with either a Kingdom Dynamics or a Word Wealth explanations. Kingdom Dynamics has 41 themes. It lists the Bible chapter and verse and gives a more detailed explanation of the verse. Word Wealth helps you understand key words throughout the Bible. It gives you the "English spellings of the original Green and Hebrew words given, along with helpful insight into the derivation, as well as the Strong's Concordance numerical listing for each word.(pg.xvii)" It also gives you a list of the word wealth words with their corresponding book of the Bible, chapter, and verse.
I think the Truth-in-Action is my favorite part of this study Bible. It shows you ways to apply the Bible's truth into your life. It is a chart that is at the end of each Bible book. It gives you a summery of the "foundations and teachings of each book," then it shows you how to apply it. This requires you to act on what you have read. It's good to read about things but putting it into practice is better.
Each book of the Bible has a detailed introduction which lists the author, date, content, personal application, Christ Revealed, and The Holy Spirit at Work. Numerous study notes are at the bottom of each page. Just before getting into the book of Revelation, there is a chart with the differing views of the end-times. It also gives you ways on how to study Revelation.
At the end of the Bible, there are numerous articles such as Holy Spirit Gifts and Power by Paul Walker, The Holy Spirit and Restoration by James Robison, The Believer's Potential and Pathway for Ministering Healing to the Nations by John Dawson, Understanding Messianic Jewish Ministry by Shira Sorko-Ram (this article is new to me, it isn't in the previous Bibles), and How to Lead a Person to the Savior by Brent Price.
The dictionary/concordance is pretty awesome for being part of a Bible. There are many pages of lined paper for notes. The 6 maps are in color.
I really like this study Bible and looking forward to using it more often. Probably Christians who are pentecostal, Assemblies of God, Charismatic would appreciate these study Bibles more but I recommend them for all believers in Christ.
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this e-book in return for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!!!

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:Central Valley, California
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could only prayer that everyone would buy this Bible, it has so much teaching that is great grounding subjects for all people who love the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT New Spirit Filled Life Bible, Leathersoft, brick red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
oilerslover
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with this Bible! The footnotes on the verses in this Bible are excellent. There are many key words defined which really helps with my Bible studies. If you are looking for a great study Bible, I highly recommend this Bible! It is a Bible that you will go to again and again to get answers and clarity on a number of different things in the Bible. Jack Hayford has done a wonderful job in editing this wonderful Bible! I received this Bible from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.