Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black

Thomas Nelson KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black

The study Bible that gets you quickly and fully into the Word.
Find what you need! The Open Bible, King James Version is designed for the hungry reader. This Bible is filled with amazing study aids including comprehensive book introductions and outlines, 64-page concordance, Read-Along references and translation notes, and the classic Biblical Cyclopedic Index covering more than 8,000 textual entries. The Open Bible, King James Version also features a seven-step method on How to Study the Bible, a Visual Survey of the Bible, The Christian's Guide to the New Life, and The Greatest Archaeological Discoveries of the Bible.

Features include:
  • Authorized King James Version text
  • Biblical Cyclopedic Index
  • Christian's Guide to the New Life
  • Visual Survey of the Bible
  • Book introductions and outlines
  • Concordance
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Review 1 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jim C
Location:Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my first genuine leather Nelson NASB Open Bible back in the early 80's and a NKJV large print version in the late 90's. Both were well made real good quality Bibles. Though they are very worn, they are still used today. The study notes are awesome, and it's an easy read..a very uncluttered format.
I've been going to purchase a new Bible for awhile now, been thinking about getting something nice w/out study notes but....my wife surprised me and handed me a box that held a brand new Nelson Open Bible. I'm sorry, but I have one complaint. The binding. I shook my head in disbelief..this is not the quality I would have expected from Nelson and no where near the product they have provided in the past. If I were them I would be absolutely ashamed. The binding is very, very cheap. Cheap looking, cheap to feel and it's glued not sewn like the older Open Bibles. Granted it's bonded leather not genuine, but it's thin and stiff and gives the appearance of a $10 award Bible. I've seen nicer imitation leather bindings.
Packed inside though, if I can get past that, you'll find lots of tools and Biblical info. to help you w/ your studies, if that's what your looking for. Including a 94 pg. concordance and a 300pg. cyclopedic index. It's not a big ol' fat study Bible w/ all that extra either...it's a good easy carry size.
Some might like the print to be a little bolder or the font a little larger as it was in the past though.
Yes.. I would recommend this Bible simply because the helps inside are so awesome. It's great that Nelson brought it back...but they clothed it in a horribly cheap jacket.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bella
Location:North Providence, RI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the historical information provided in this bible between the Old and New Testaments. When I found out the Old Testament spanned a period of 4,000 years and the New Testament only 100 years I was very surprised. These little tidbits of information give the reader a better understanding of the time and how all prophecies and fulfillment of them play out. Also helpful is the description at the beginning of each book providing the author, date written, time period, what was happening during that dispensation and all the additional information given you have a better understanding of Jesus Christ's ministry, that of his disciples and how Christianity itself came to fruition. It is no wonder that the Bible is the greatest book ever written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study bible

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eld WWP
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed using this bible in the 1990s and wore out my first copy. I was disapointed when it was discontinued. Surprised and pleased when I discovered it was back in print. It is a excellent tool for finding and cross referencing scriptures. I love how it defines key words in a scripture passage.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good quality, pricing, service.

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
beedoe
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible was good quality, price, and the service was great. Not my first, nor my last, Bible order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nelson Open Bible (KJV)

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bubblechaser1
Location:Hobart, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
This was a wonderful anniversary gift for a lady whose Bible was falling apart. She was just overwhelmed by all the helps it contained. My wife had the same Bible, so this is what she recommended for this lady. Thanks to the Thomas Nelson company for the product and to you for the quick shipping (ahead of expectation) and for the great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good study Bible.

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Farm Girl
Location:WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older Open Bible. I wish this one came in genuine leather also, the bonded leather is just like paper and I know it won't last as long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not the best study Bible

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very disappointed there aren't more scripture "cross references" in column. I think this would greatly enhance the ability to use this as a true study Bible. As it is I need to keep a concordance handy for in depth studies.
The cyclopedic index is good, but not nearly as complete as the Thompson Chain Reference KJV Bible, but in all fairness, I didn't expect it to be as complete
As far as quality of materials, time will tell. The cover is soft and flexible, but the paper has an odd feel and doesn't accept pencil very well. Also it is very thin paper and most everything bleeds through, this is extremely annoying since I am an avid note taker in my Bible. I would like to see an improvement there.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointing cover

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Bark
Location:western, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Bible (new printing 2012) for a friend the cover is very disappointing.
(hard and cardboard feeling) I kept it only for the inside the notes and extra helps are GREAT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Edition...

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
jam4him
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great edition...the helps & outlines add a lot, and this is a great deal like the Bill Glass Crusades Special Edition Open Bible, which we scoured the web trying to find, but couldn't...thankfully, Christianbook.com had this!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great for a neww believer.

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gee Cook
Location:Taylor, Ar.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I give an A for all the info it has in it. I have the original Open Bible from the early 80"s and this is about the same. You can not buy another bible that has so much for the cost.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
This review is fromKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT TO SEE YOU AGAIN!!!!

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
gamedog
Location:Columbus,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most Study Bibles are in all honesty Bible Commentaries with some having as many as 35,000 notes in them.this Open Bible is a long lost friend.
It lets the reader learn the Word on their own.Not be force fed some Scholar's interpretation of the Word.
I am thrilled it is back.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Open Bible once again

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Hill
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy to see that the Open Bible will again be published in Aug. 2012. My copy was copyright 1975 by Thomas Nelson, I was given it as a gift in 1978. In 2008 I had to retire it because it is so worn. I have used a different version since 2008 and it is large print and it helps me read but I have missed the information presented in the KJV of the Open. I have pre-ordered one for myself. I anticipate what God will show me in this new copy. The large print would really help. He will speak to me though it again. To Him be the glory and praise.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.