Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed

Thomas Nelson NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed

The study Bible that gets you quickly and fully into the Word.
Find what you need! The Open Bible, New King James Version is designed for the hungry reader. This Bible is filled with amazing study aids including comprehensive book introductions and outlines, 64-page concordance, Read-Along references and translation notes, and the classic Biblical Cyclopedic Index covering more than 8,000 textual entries. The Open Bible, New King James Version also features a seven-step method on How to Study the Bible, a Visual Survey of the Bible, The Christian's Guide to the New Life, and The Greatest Archaeological Discoveries of the Bible.

Features include:
  • New King James Version (NKJV) text
  • Biblical Cyclopedic Index
  • Christian's Guide to the New Life
  • Visual Survey of the Bible
  • Book introductions and outlines
  • Concordance
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Review 1 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible Comes Back In Print

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
GetsBackUp
Location:Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this bible for about twenty years before my "new" dog ate it 1.5 years ago, yes it was destroyed. I was traumatized! But I loved this bible so much that I purchased a second one about 4 years after I purchased the first one in case it went out of print (which it did). It has great study helps in it and not just one mans opinions on a topic. I can't speak on the new ones but I can say as far as the content between the cover and back it is a great study bible. Mine is genuine leather, two ribbons, Smyth-sewn and durable...just not as much as a Labs teeth : (
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Study Bible

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor Wayne
Location:MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Open Bible is a great study Bible because of all the helps that have been included. The hard cover is really nice and put together well. I prefer it over the bonded. It would have been nice if Thomas Nelson published this Bible with a good quality genuine leather cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Open Bible the BEST!

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
uthleadr
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the Nelson "Open Bible" for over 25 years! I feel it is the BEST study Bible ever printed as it is a reference Bible, not a commentary study Bible. It was out of print for a long time and SO glad Nelson brought it back! I highly recommend it as a personal Bible or a "first" Bible for new believers! Makes a GREAT gift!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Open Bible is a New King James Version Bible. There are many little extra features, that I loved! Beginning with the large index to find the topic that you wish to read, to several colorful maps, to the Visual Survey of the Bible that appears between the Old and New Testament. The maps sure me understand the geography of the times. The Visual Survey gives a visual overview of the Bible, its writers, and key figures.
For me, the best part of Bible are the introduction pages of each chapter. The Open Bible begins each chapter with a few pages designed to give you an overview of the chapter, such as who wrote the chapter, what the date rage of the chapter is, key verses, as well as an actual outline of each chapter, broken down. This is such a helpful tool in really understanding each chapter, because it gives you some context as to what was going on at the time, who was writing it, and what themes are in the chapter.
My only “beef” with this Bible is the small print. It’s a pretty large size already, so I understand why the font had to be on the smaller size, but it does make reading not quite as enjoyable as it could be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Open Bible, NKJV, bonded leather

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karenc
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got a new NKJV Open Bible. First, I do want to say I understand that paper laws have changed Bible paper; I think it is a sad situation. Over time people have been requesting darker ink but then there is the complaint of bleed through. Personally, I would rather have the dark saturated ink and I don't care about the see through. But others really don't like it at all. Thirty plus years ago, paper was great and even felt great to the touch on some Bibles. Even more, some were so light in weight. When I think about all of the restrictions now, I have to say, I like this Bible. I particularly love the way they are making the bonded leather covers like this. It is a step up from the stuff that was coming forth even just a few years ago. At that time the corners were just clipped and slapped down and left raw corners around the edges. I thought that looked and felt bad and looked rather cheap. I can even smell this leather on this bonded! Also, I thought I read somewhere online that a buyer stated that the ribbon was red on the NKJV, but mine is not. It is just black. I think a red or green ribbon or purple even would definitely be an upgrade. But perhaps the black just caters to the mass appeal...not sure. I think also the font saturation is all right. I wish it was darker, but it is not bad. I think it is an upgrade compared to stuff just a few years ago...pages faded compared to other pages. This Bible seems to have a good bit of consistency in ink usage. I think that makes it very nice.
But regarding my desire to have the NKJV. I had bought this when the NKJV Open Bible first came out, and gave it away to a missionary. So now I wanted one that had the old stuff in it again (per the current redo), after I realized one of the selling points (to me) about this Bible, is the alternate renderings right behind each verse. Even more, I am not sure exactly where they got these alternate renderings from, but I like for instance, Gen 1:30 (alternate rendering "living soul"). This actually is a KJV original marginal rendering for sure, but ironically it is not in the KJV Open Bible redo. Grin. I think I am very happy with these type of features. Plus, it has the NU alternate renderings at the bottom of each page for the NKJV which is a standard feature on the NKJV. This makes the NKJV like getting two Bibles in a sense.
One feature I do not like about the Nelson Bibles is that many of them are glued Bibles. I know a little bit about that. But I am hoping that glued Bibles one day will be a thing of the past. I just don't like that feature.
On the plus side, I don't know of too many NKJV Bibles that have all the extras so conveniently, so it still makes it a worthy purchase. I also love the chain of doctrines that have one following the "go to this page" and read this. I think they are great (at least what I had read in other editions of older ones)...I am assuming that that has not changed...I hope not. Oh, and I still like the font itself. I like that type of book font that is used. Somehow my eyes love it.
God bless you all in Jesus' Name.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent only wish pages were not so thin.

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
revmlw137
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it to replace my worn one purchased over 20 years ago. I also purchased one to give to the man of valor in my life as a study bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Open Bible Rocks!

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
andee
Location:Clear Spring, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so glad to see the Open bible back in print. It is my favorite reference Bible and I wanted to have it in the New King James version. I have had a KJV open bible for years!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tlover
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this same bible, but it is old and it has fallen apart I had been looking for a new one and found that it was out of print. When I saw it in the catalog I had to get it I have always like this study bible it is clear and easy to read. I have put down all but one other bible for this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the features in this bible!

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jewel
Location:MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is great! I love it an I have given it as a gift. I'm in search for another studybible but I do not really want to seperate from this one. I need larger print. I've had this bible since I started in the ministry but the pages are following out and the cover is coming off. I can't let this keep me away from the Word, I just pick up the pages and keep moving. Much like life pick up the broken pieces and keep on pressing your way!
GREAT BIBLE/STUDY TOOL!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great study Bible

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm always in search of a good study Bible. I had the opportunity to check out The Open Bible by Thomas Nelson Publishers. It's a hardcover from the signature series and it's the New King James Version of the Bible. It is loaded with a lot of study helps such as a concordance and maps.
After being used to large-print editions, this has a smaller font, about 8pt. The pages are thin and can see the writing from the other side. Those are my only complaints about this study Bible.
On to the positives. There are so many. It starts off explaining how to use The Open Bible. One thing I noticed while browsing is that there are verses that are already underlined. There's a section called The Christian's Guide to the New Life and the underlined verses is a study of the basic Christian doctrines. At the bottom of the pages that have verses underlined are some noted with detailed explanations. They also tell you where to go next.
A new feature to me is the Biblical Cyclopedic Index. Here is what is said about it. "The Biblical Cyclopedic Index is a special kind of subject index that combines the best features of a concordance, a topical index, the usable features of a syllabus and other related study aids in one unique, easy-to-use form....With over 8,000 subjects, names, places, things, concepts, events, and doctrines of the Bible, the BCI truly 'opens' the Bible."
Between the Old and New Testaments there's an Introduction to the Visual Survey of the Bible. It gives you a whole Scripture perspective with many charts with timelines. It also includes 10 life applications.
After the book of Revelation, there are many other helps such as harmony of the gospels, information about the Jewish calendar, teachings and illustrations of Christ, prophesies of the Messiah fulfilled in Jesus Christ, the parables and miracles of Christ, laws of the Bible. Another section speaks about the time between the last book of the Old Testament, Malachi and the advent of Jesus. It also touches on the apocrypha. It mentions some greatest archaeological discovers along with their effects on the Bible. There are some black and white photos included in this section.
There are so many features in The Open Bible. I am impressed with this study Bible. Great for new Christians or people who want to study the Bible in a more in depth manner.
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this Bible in return for my honest review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great contents, VERY poor quality!

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Lowell, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
What a disappointment. This has got to be one of the best study bibles on the market and it use to be made with quality, but what has happened? Contents still great, but the bonded leather feels like cheap paper, the pages are too thin, and the print is too small. I would not waste my money on the so called bonded leather, but because the content of this bible is so good I would recommend the hardback. I hope that Thomas Nelson will get enough complaints that they will return to making this with quality. I would have gladly paid more for this in a nice leather, better quality pages, and a little larger print. If I were Thomas Nelson publishers, I would be ashamed to put my name on this type of quality.
P.S. I have an older version of this same bible in genuine leather and it is one incredible bible. Wish I could get another one. Even the box my new one came in is cheap.
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pursue and Recover
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Open Bible is a delightful study tool! It offers many features that will allow one to explore the scriptures learn and gain an understanding of the word of God.
This bible is NKJV. An outstanding translation for study, complete with in-text subheadings, parallel passage cross-references, and NKJV translator’s notes.
Additional special features:
Biblical Cyclopedic Index is a detailed subject index that is nearly 300 pages long.
Book Introductions and Outlines: Each book introduction is outlined and is said to be a study within itself and more. The Christian’s Guide to the New Life is an extensive 32 part Guide including subjects that will help one in their new life at various stages.
Visual Survey of the Bible: this is a special 24-page section located between the Testaments. It has easy to use charts, maps, and time lines that walk you through the panorama of Bible history.
There are even more features to this study bible than mentioned. I have various study Bibles and this one will be added to my collection as a favorite that I will use often. I would recommend this Signature Open Bible to be added to one’s library.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thomas Nelson The Open Bible NKJV for Great Study!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wednesday, August 22, 2012
Thomas Nelson: The Open Bible New King James Version Red Letter Edition: Read and Discover the Bible for Yourself
Opening this Signature Series NKJV Bible for the first time, I am thankful immediately to see these:
The section on How to Study the Bible has interesting ideas for having a family Bible study time. Here are a few mentioned suggestions that stood out to me:
* one brief chapter or several paragraphs a day
* have each member read a verse
* study Bible topics
* tell what the verse teaches
* what this verse means or how it can be applied to personal life
* make up Bible game questions
* study a Bible book together
These are reachable including all ages within a family.
My very first King James Bible from Royal Publishing had a Biblical Cyclopedic Index I used extensively, along with the Concordance in the back. This NKJV Open Bible has a 3-column 300-page Biblical Cyclopedic Index in the front! Another feature is the exact same as I received in a separate little book: Guide to Christian Workers. I am glad to see these included in this Bible.
The intent of this study Bible is to make the Scriptures open and rewarding for personal Bible study, giving an overview of the whole Bible message. The pages are set in two-column regular print with references placed within the column. Here is Esther 2:15-20:
Selection of Queen Esther
15 Now when the turn came for Esther the daughter of Abihail the uncle of Mordecai, who had taken her as his daughter, to go in to the king, she requested nothing but what Hegai the king’s eunuch, the custodian of the women, advised. And Esther obtained favor in the sight of all who saw her.
16 So Esther was taken to King Ahasuerus, into his royal palace, in the tenth month, which is the month of Tebeth, in the seventh year of his reign.
17 The king loved Esther more than all the other women, and she obtained grace and favor in his sight more than all the virgins; so he set the royal Rcrown upon her head and made her queen instead of Vashti. Esth. 1:11
18 Then the king Rmade a great feast, the Feast of Esther, for all his officials and servants; and he proclaimed a holiday in the provinces and gave gifts according to the Tgenerosity of a king. Esth. 1:3 Lit. hand
19 When virgins were gathered together a second time, Mordecai sat within the king’s gate.
20 RNow Esther had not revealed her family and her people, just as Mordecai had charged her, for Esther obeyed the command of Mordecai as when she was brought up by him. Esth. 2:10
Further references of The Christian's Guide to the New Life are placed at the bottom of a page to be used as a monthly, daily, or topical study.
About Thomas Nelson
Thomas Nelson Bibles is one of the oldest Bible publishers in the world, and is the largest publisher of the King James Version. They are the proprietary publisher of the NKJV™, NCV™, and The Voice™ translations, and specialize in offering Bibles, reference, and curriculum products from today's great communicators. They pull from their long legacy of Bible publishing to offer quality products that speak to the heart of people by helping to meet their needs.
The vision of Thomas Nelson Bible Group is to be the world leader in Bible publishing - to honor God and inspire all people. They aim to accomplish this by delivering exceptional biblical content and tools that connect people with God's Word in new ways, while serving their partners and customers with passion and commitment.
~*~ ~*~ ~*~
Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishing for this hardback copy of The NKJV Open Bible in exchange for this review in my own words.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Open Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
This review is fromNKJV Open Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Resource

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
savvyshoppingmomma
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say that I am absolutely in love with The Open Bible - This Bible is written in the New King James Version, so it maintains its traditional translation, but the resources within this Bible allow you to feel like you are gaining a deeper understanding of the Bible.
There are many "extras" that are packed into this Bible, such as a vast cyclopedic index that allows you to find literally anything you are looking for - this index exceeds 300 pages, and is so inclusive it would be hard to find a topic that isn't covered! Each book of this bible begins with an introduction to the specific time period, author of that book, survey of the book, key words, verses, and chapters, as well as a very detailed outline of the chapter. This is a huge resource, in my opinion, because it allows you to really soak in the things going on at the time, the key passages to look for, and have a better understanding of what is taking place, and why. This Bible also offers colorful maps at the back of the Bible, detailing important geographic areas as they were in Biblical times.
Another resource that I found particularly interesting is the Visual Survey that is inserted between the Old Testament and the New Testament. This gives you a visual overview of the Bible, outlining topics such as: the history of Israel, the history of the early world, the poetic books, the prophetic books, as well as an overview of the basic information about the Old and New Testament, and key figures within them. This is really interesting and allows you to grasp a lot of information about the Bible without requiring hours of research and reading.
The back of the Bible also offers resources such as a section dedicated to archaeological discoveries that relate to the Bible, a list of the laws of the Bible, an index of Jesus' parables and where they can be found within the Bible, a guide to Christian workers, as well as a concordance. The Open Bible truly offers a great amount of resources within its pages, and I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone! I loved it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.