Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed

Thomas Nelson NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed

The Gaither Homecoming Bible makes the Bible come alive for those seeking truth in the twenty-first century—even for those who think they already know it.

For years, Bill and Gloria Gaither have reached millions of people across generations with the Good News of Jesus Christ. Their music of joy, thanksgiving, and praise ushers people into the presence of God so that He can do His wondrous work in their lives.  This beautiful Bible featuring the New King James Version (NKJV) is one that you will treasure for years to come.

Features include:

  • Inspirational and insightful Scripture devotions by the Gaithers and other favorite Homecoming artists
  • Articles on beloved hymns, gospel songs, and Gaither classics and the inspiration behind them
  • Original poetry by Gloria Gaither to enlighten and inspire
  • Quotes by greats of the faith, reflecting on the importance of music in the life of believers
  • Words of Jesus in red text
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Review 1 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
smokymtngirl
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really love this beautiful Bible. I bought it for myself for my birthday:-) Love the extra stories from all the southern gospel singers. What testimonies and teachings they all provide. I would recommend this Bible to anyone. I prefer NKJV and really like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesusLover
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, my "forever" Bible! There is not one thing I'd change about this Bible. I so appreciate everyone's input, and am thrilled the Gaithers finally put out a devotional Bible for all us Southern Gospel lovers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to purchase this item at an incredible price. It is everything I thought it would be. I love the words of hymns and little stories from Homecoming performers intertwined.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gaither Homecoming Bible

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaMa
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are both Southern Gospel fans, and when I first saw Homecoming Bible I knew my husband would love it. The real life commentaries are by people involved in Southern Gospel Music, which makes it very meaningful to us. I originally bought one for my husband and realized the color was too feminine. So, I ordered another one in brown and kept the burgundy for myself. We both love this Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gaither Homecoing Bible is Amazing!

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Berea, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gaither Homecoming Bible: Inspiring Hope through Scripture, Song, and Story was sent to me for a review. Lately I have been getting mostly eBooks to review as I get them quicker; however when this Bible came up for review I wanted to see what it was all about.
I have always loved the Gaither’s music and video’s so I figured I would like the extras in the Homecoming Bible as well. I was more than correct in my thoughts. Included in the text are many features that I loved.
The first thing I loved was that there were scriptures that pertain to music that are highlighted throughout. As a sound man and also just a guy who loves music this is a cool feature when reading the Word.
The second thing that I loved was that they put in lyrics to some of the old Hymns and the storied behind them. It is always good to look back into the history of why and how the Hymns were written, and what the meaning is behind them. Learning the struggles and stories of those who have come before us will allow us to grow and to, maybe even, write new songs that will inspire those who come after us.
The third thing that I loved was that many of the Gaither Homecoming Friends have written little stories that appear throughout the scriptures. These stories share their lives with us and show how the word speaks to them. These stories or insights help to show that singers and writers are ordinary people who have ordinary lives.
The Bible is the New King James Version and is in a nice larger print. I would recommend this Bible to anyone who wants to add a nice looking Bible their collection.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional Bible

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BettyD
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had it a short time, but so far, I really like this special Bible. It is really great as a devotional Bible; different from a Life Application Bible or a Study Bible, this helps you sit, meditate, worship and sometimes sing with the hymns that intersperse with the scriptures and comments. Being a Gaither fan, the insights from the Gaithers and the Homecoming Artists are especially meaningful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abbey
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the Bible very much especially all the extras-song,poem,life stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Bible! A Must Have!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
ministerdoc
Location:Mooresboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gaither Homecoming Bible By Edited by Gloria Gaither and Bill Gaither
I must confess first thing .That I’m a bible addict. Being a minister I have an extensive collection of bibles with different translations and such,and each one serves a purpose in my life,but this bible here.The Gaither Homecoming Bible is a well put together bible.Everything from good narratives to translation.The one thing that i really like is the songs.You could actually say it’s an hymnal too with all the hymns inside it ,and the excerpts from a lot of famous people in christian music today makes it even more informative.This bible i must say is a real gem.I would recommend this to anyone.Makes a great gift too.Wonderful Bible!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful.

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
lynray
Location:Ia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a special Bible to add to my others. I am thoroughly enjoying it in every way. It is beautiful page by page. I love the added extras. Most of all... it is God's Word. What's not to like? I bought one for a friend and she is as excited about it as I am.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

all around great Bible!

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Kelley
Location:Fallon Nevada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bible arrived safely packaged. I like the "Gaither" extras Text usual NKJV the extras are about various singers from the Gaither Homecoming group. GREAT!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gaither Homecoming Bible is a beautiful devotional Bible edited by Bill and Gloria Gaither. It includes many devotions and articles written by Homecoming friends. Also in this Bible are the words to several old hymns along with interesting information and "devotional" type messages related to the hymn.
Personally, I think this Bible is beautifully put together. The font is easy to read, the layout is well done, and the dust cover is beautiful (I know, kind of shallow there). I do think it would be better suited to the older crowd because the older audience is more likely to know who the Gaithers are and also they are more likely to know the hymns! Would it be good for younger people? Yes, because the insights in a lot of the stories and devotions are things that everyone can learn from.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Devotional Bible - Not A Study Bible

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not sure what I was expecting; but given the size of this Bible, I did expect something more substantial than what I found. The book is clearly a devotional Bible, not a study Bible. Devotions are prepared by many members of the Gaither Homecoming "family". The history and sources of about one hundred sacred songs (hymns and more contemporary tunes) are included. I would have loved to have a DVD or an on-line resource to access mp3 versions of the many songs. It would have added some value to the book. As one reviewer said, if you are a fan of the Gaithers, you will enjoy this Bible edition. Others may find the book to be of less value - though reading the scriptures, in whatever format, is of great value.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Gaither Homecoming Bible, Bonded leather, black indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful Bible!

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill and Gloria Gaither are a couple whom many have enjoyed listening to over the years and now they share their love of music in "The Gaither Homecoming Bible."
Book Description from the publisher:
The Gaither Homecoming Bible will make the Bible come alive for those seeking truth in the twenty-first century, even for those who think they already know it. For years, Bill and Gloria Gaither have reached millions of people across generations with the Good News of Jesus Christ. Their music of joy, thanksgiving, and praise ushers people into the presence of God so that He can do His wondrous work in their lives. Featuring inspirational and insightful Scripture devotions by the Gaithers and other favorite Homecoming artists; articles on beloved hymns, gospel songs, and Gaither classics and the inspiration behind them; original poetry by Gloria Gaither to enlighten and inspire; and quotes by greats of the faith, reflecting on the importance of music in the life of believers, this beautiful Bible featuring the New King James Version® (NKJV) is one that readers will treasure for years to come.
My Review:
This Bible is a beatufiul edition. Written in the New King James Version it is a commonly used version. It is a hardcover edition filled with beautiful backgrounds and borders on many of the pages. Interspersed among the scriptures are poems, songs and devotionals that any fan of the Gaithers will enjoy as well as anyone who loves Gospel music. This Bible would make an excellent gift for anyone who appreciates Gospel music or who has been a fan of the Gaithers.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.