Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1

B&H Books Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1

When computer whiz Chloe Humphrey takes a technology job at a college in Ohio's Amish country, she's distinctly out of her element. Loaning her car to a new acquaintance seems like a good idea---until the girl hits a buggy, killing an Amish elder. Was the collision an accident---or an intentional Plain Death?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Review 1 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not have predicted how much I enjoyed it.

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading this, I had no idea how much I would enjoy it… and with the mystery, came the expected guesses of “who done it”.
But this book was a huge surprise! It isn’t like others, where it’s easy to guess who did it… or why… or even who the intended victim might have been!
I don’t want to spoil it for you, so I won’t say any more about the plot, except to say how much I LOVE THIS BOOK !!!
Last night I could not put it down until I finished it. And although I was tempted to pick up the second book in the series, I forced myself to wait…
Actually I did pick it up and began reading – it was that compelling. But common sense won out and I put it back, so I could write my review of the first book.
Read it… it doesn’t matter if you prefer Amish or English characters, this book is full of both, with unexpected twists and turns. And if you read it, you’ll want to read the sequels, too!
I am an avid reader of many genres, and I was pleasantly surprised – something that doesn’t happen often for me. I can’t wait to read other books by Amanda.
I certainly agree with the comment on the back of the book near the bottom… “Pure Enjoyment”.
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this Amish mystery

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky Troyer is walking alone on a country road as she's leaving her Amish home for the English world when some burly men see her and try to get her into their green truck. Along comes Chloe Humphrey in her loaded down car looking for her newly rented house in Appleseed Creek, Ohio and seeing a girl alone, walking along a green truck with a disgusting looking man giving her a bad time, she takes a chance and stops to see if the girl needs help. Becky gets in with Chloe and now Chloe gains a houseguest and soon becomes the target of the two men in the green truck with a murder mystery to follow.
I've been wanting to read this series for a long time but as my 'to be read' list kept getting longer and longer it seemed like I was forgetting about it. For some reason I would think about reading the series, then would pick something else out. Finally I decided this is the time and it was a GREAT book. Now I wish I'd read it sooner, this book keeps you guessing and I wasn't quite sure who the target was or who was after the target. Amanda did a wonderful job!
I read this on my Kindle and I normally only read my Kindle when I'm in a vehicle, waiting in a doctors office, etc., but the closer I got to the end of this book I had to finish it TONIGHT! So, yes, I even read at home, my paperback had to wait! I will be starting the next book, "A Plain Scandal" tomorrow as I wait for my granddaughter to get out of school.
If you like Amish books and you like mysteries, you'll love this book. It's a great combination of Amish, English and a good mystery.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley <http://www.netgalley.com/> book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Death is the first novel in a series that tells the story of a city woman who accepts a computer director position at an Amish college. Chloe is well educated, living in Ohio while her extended family lives on the West coast. Eventually, as readers quickly progress through the story, the author reveals something in Chloe’s past that affects her present situation in Ohio.
Becky is a young woman that Chloe picks up from the side of the road to save her from two men who are bullying her about being Amish. Her older brother, Timothy, has already left the church and is working in carpentry, making a living, having found the truth about what forgiveness really means. Now, one choice begins to change the lives of these three main characters and reveals something lurking in the shadows. What or who is lurking in the shadows that might just bring down a local community? Why is there a death?
There are a couple of antagonists in the novel who just seem to have the attention of the local policewoman, but are never behind bars. Is there someone that is directing their actions, or is there someone who works with Chloe or Becky that has a grip with them? All that can be seen above ground on the fields of farmers is ruined crops, tire tracks and something that shimmers when the sun is bright.
I found Amanda Flower’s novel easy to read as well as captivating. Being able to sit down and enjoy the sense of mystery, romance and faith was refreshing. Before I knew it hours had passed, people had come and gone in the house to go to work, and there I was with my nose in the book. Here is another example of a writer able to put together a tale that includes Amish characters and their lives without losing the interest of the audience.
Now, I am off to read the second novel in the series, A Plain Scandal, which I suspect takes the characters from the first novel through more adventures, but that is just my guess. So take a few hours, sit down with A Plain Death, enjoy it and then perhaps share the story with a couple of friends or family members. You never know just who might enjoy a good novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Mystery? Who Knew???

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Flowers presents a twist on Amish fiction – a mystery that takes place in Ohio’s Amish country, proving that life among the Amish community is not as peaceful as one assumes.
A Plain Death finds Chloe Humphrey moving into Appleseed Creek. She has just accepted a position as the computer services director at a local college. Her plan is to be there for a few years before taking a promotion elsewhere. On her first day, she saves Becky, a young Amish woman who was being accosted by some “English” men. She left her Amish family and wants to pursue a career in art. Becky moves into Chloe’s house and looks for a job. Her brother Timothy, another former Amish, wants to keep an eye on his sister. He befriends Chloe and helps her make repairs on her house.
When Becky borrows Chloe’s car without permission, she causes an accident, killing an Amish bishop. It is labeled murder when the police discover the car was tampered with. Meanwhile, Chloe discovers that she was hired to fire some of her staff and bring about some other changes. She faces dissension in her work environment. Could one of them be behind the murder? Was Chloe the intended victim? Or was someone targeting the Amish? Chloe needs to find out before the murderer strikes again.
Flower writes a cozy mystery that engages the reader. Her book has interesting characters (Grandfather Zook is a charmer!) and several twists to the plot. A Plain Death ends differently that expected, which is how a mystery should end. Discussion questions are also included. The second book, A Plain Scandal, will be published in February 2013.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm beginning to become a huge fan of Amish murder mysteries and it is always exciting to find a new author who's book can brings the reader into the world they have created. The author blends a very believable story that the Amish, like all human beings, struggle with forgiveness and loss. Several books that I have read recently, portray this group as very a docile group of people. I think that this author made these people very real and likable.
Chloe who is computer whiz comes to Appleseed Creek to work in the local college. She save's a local Amish girl, Becky, from two thugs that are harassing her and the two become roommates at Chloe's new home. When Becky decides to "borrow" Chloe's car she is involved in a tragic auto accident.
I like Chloe. When we first meet her she seem almost fragile. She has lost her foster family and is basically alone in a new town, but when she needs to be a take charge she find her courage. She deals with the "bully" in her department, and starts her own investigation into the auto accident after evidence of sabotage is discovered. It was really fun to watch her character grow.
Becky is a young Amish girl who braves the loss of her family to pursue a career as a artist.
Chloe and Becky seem to hit it off and become fast friends. I thought that the friendship worked well. By the end of the story they seemed to be almost foster sisters.
I enjoyed watching the relationship begin to develop between Chloe and Becky's brother Tim. Tim has left the Amish community because he has found a "new way to worship" God and he and his dog Mabel aid Chloe in her attempt to clear Becky. I found Tim and Chloe's relationship very realistic, even though I have to admit that Tim by himself came off a bit two dimensional, but that didn't really bother me because the story itself was so well done. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain Doesn't Mean Boring

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book I’ve read by this author, the first is Book 2 of this series, A Plain Scandal, which releases in mid-February 2013. I enjoyed that story so much I got the first book. And I’m very glad I did!
I love the contrast of the main characters in this story. Chloe is a computer geek with no real family and Becky is a wayward Amish girl with an extremely loving family. At times I found myself smiling at the differences between these two girls, especially Becky’s naive nature. I also loved the mystery aspect in this story. I thoroughly enjoy trying to figure out “who done it” along with the characters. I thought I had it figured out, but was pleasantly surprised at the twist the author gave us.
The only negative thing I could say about this story is the portrayal of the Amish. I’ve only read a handful of Amish based stories, but in most of them the Amish are shown as very forgiving and docile people. This author shows a darker and angrier side in the Amish of Appleseed Creek.
I would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys Amish based stories as well as those that are checking Amish stories. It is a good mystery as well and just a dash of romance in the story.
Disclaimer
I did receive this copy from the publisher through netgalley.com however I was under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Plain Death

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Denise
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the book. Everything I expected from it and from ChristianBook. I certainly will recommend it to friends and as always, buy from ChristianBook. Always Christian selections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AN ABSOLUTE PLEASURE TO READ!

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A PLAIN DEATH by Amanda Flower is an intriguing and interesting inspirational cozy mystery set in Ohio's Amish Country. It is book #1 in "An Appleseed Creek Mystery" which is full of mystery,love,faith,Amish community,attempted murder,Mennonites and full of twists and turns you want see coming. Follow, amateur sleuth, Chloe Humphrey and Timothy,the local carpenter,who was Amish but turned Mennonite as they try to save Timothy's sister,Becky,solve a mystery and find a would be killer. Add a bit of romance,love,faith and you will be thrilled to read "A Plain Death". Written with vivid descriptions and engaging characters,"A Plain Death" does not disappoint. Fast paced and full of twists and turns. An absolute pleasure to read. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media. Details can be found at the author's website,B & H Books, and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/ My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect blend of Amish Fiction with mystery!

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE it when you find a great author that can immediately get you involved as part of her book from the very first page. To me it's a great sign of a talented writer if they can engage you from the beginning and keep you hooked turning pages as fast as you can read them. Success achieved with the latest novel from Amanda Flower, A Plain Death. This is just one of the many that will soon follow in the Appleseed Creek Mystery series and I can't wait for the adventure to continue.
The book introduces us immediately as twenty-four-year old Chloe Humphrey is attempting to find her way to her new home and job in Appleseed Creek, Ohio. As she is getting her bearings thanks to a GPS device that is as lost as she is, she happens upon a young Amish girl, Becky Troyer being harrassed by two English men. Chloe rescues the poor girl and in return Becky kindly guides Chloe to her new location. She learns that Chloe is heading up the new technology department at the local college and soon introduces Chloe to her handy Amish brother, Timothy, who offers to help around Chloe's new home fixing things. But it seems Becky is hiding more than she is willing to let on to Chloe who has become her new hero. When Chloe offers Becky a place to stay with her, she immediately accepts.
Seeing Becky has some issues since leaving her Amish faith, Chloe wants to help her find a new start. She locates a job at a local greenhouse that would be perfect for her. But rather than wait for a ride, Becky "borrows" Chloe's car, even though she doesn't have a license. On her way to the interview, Becky gets into an accident killing the local bishop. It's here that the novel really takes off. It seems that someone has tampered with Chloe's car and that the brake lines had been cut. Who is responsible? Are they after Chloe or Becky? Well to find out, you'll just have to pick up the latest copy of A Plain Death from Amanda Flower!
I received A Plain Death, compliments from B & H Publishing Group and Net Galley for my honest review and I am so glad I picked this one up to review. I love it when a great writer will combine elements from different genre's and create a masterpiece that will grab new readers and make them want even more. Amanda Flowers does that and so much more. I can't wait to pick up the next book in this series, A Plain Scandal, and for those of you that love Christian Amish with a blend of mystery added, then you will LOVE this one. I personally rate it a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME A MUST READ

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A PLAIN DEATH" is fantastic, once you start this book you will not want to put it down, there are a lot of different turns is this book you will just love, and you will feel just like you know all of the character, just like they are you real friends, you will also love Becky and Timothy and of course Chloe. Chloe is a big city girl and moves to a small town for a new jobs, and faces some real interesting events, You will be hooked on the very firs page and you will want to read until the very last page I stayed up till midnight to finish this book, and then I didn't want it to end I wish I had the next book NOW :~)) Thank You Amanda for sharing you talent with us
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great New Series

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Death
Amanda Flower
Book Summary: Welcome to Appleseed Creek, the heart of Ohio’s Amish Country, where life is not as serene as it seems. While her Cleveland friends relocated to Southern California and Italy, 24-year-old computer whiz Chloe Humphrey moves with some uncertainty to Appleseed Creek to direct technology services at a nearby college. Her first acquaintance is Becky, an ex-Amish teenager looking for a new home. While driving Chloe’s car, Becky collides with a buggy, killing an Amish elder. But what looks like an accident is soon labeled murder when police discover the car’s cut brake line. Now, Chloe must take on the role of amateur sleuth to discover who the real intended victim was before the murderer makes a second attempt. Becky’s handsome Amish-turned-Mennonite brother, Timothy, a local carpenter, comes in handy along the way. With God’s help, they’ll solve the mystery that’s rocking this small community.
Review: I enjoyed this book very much. It was a great debut series by this author. It was a good introduction to the characters and gave enough information to keep me going throughout the book about the main character. I found the story to be well developed and it had a little surprise at the end the story which was welcomed. I think the extra characters were diverse. They were made more real by their flaws and that is not always visible in characters. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
I would like to thank Net Galley and B & H Publishing Group for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, fun mystery

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chloe Humphrey, a big city girl, moved to Appleseed Creek to take over the IT department at the local college. On her drive to the town she notices a young Amish girl being hassled by two scary looking men, so she gives her a ride. This act of generosity opens the door to other Amish friends, dangers, and problems. When her new roommate, the young Amish girl, borrows her car and kills an Amish Bishop, she decides to get involved to try to save her young friends.
I totally enjoyed this book, and will definitely read the next in the series. I couldn’t put this down and really enjoyed the characters. This is not a typical Amish fiction book, it is just based in Amish country, and the Amish play background roles. The mystery has enough twists and turns to hold interest, and the characters have the depth that makes them friends. I would definitely recommend this for readers who are looking for a fun read that is not too simple.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder, Interesting Characters, Mystery & Romance

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Flower in her new book, “A Plain Death” Book One in the Appleseed Creek Mystery Series published by B&H Publishing Group introduces us to Chloe Humphrey and Appleseed Creek, Ohio.
From the Back Cover: Welcome to Appleseed Creek, the heart of Ohio’s Amish Country, where life is not as serene as it seems.
While her Cleveland friends relocated to Southern California and Italy, 24-year-old computer whiz Chloe Humphrey moves with some uncertainty to Appleseed Creek to direct technology services at a nearby college. Her first acquaintance is Becky, an ex-Amish teenager looking for a new home.
While driving Chloe’s car, Becky collides with a buggy, killing an Amish elder. But what looks like an accident is soon labeled murder when police discover the car’s cut brake line.
Now, Chloe must take on the role of amateur sleuth to discover who the real intended victim was before the murderer makes a second attempt. Becky’s handsome Amish-turned-Mennonite brother, Timothy, a local carpenter, comes in handy along the way. With God’s help, they’ll solve the mystery that’s rocking this small community.
At the end of a hard day I like to sit down with a good murder mystery. It takes my mind of the events of the day and I enter into a new environment, in this case Appleseed Creek, Ohio. Tampering with Chloe’s car meant someone wanted to kill her. It is just accidental that Becky was driving at the time the brakes went. However, Chloe is new in town so who and why would someone want to kill her? M. Flower has crafted a real puzzler of a mystery. ”A Plain Death” keeps you guessing and I defy you to figure out who really did it. Add to the pot a cast of characters that are just wonderful, some good, some bad and Ms. Flower has given us a great setting for what looks like a terrific series. If you enjoy a good murder mystery like I do then this book is for you. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next one.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved This Book!!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Dawn
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a new author on my radar and I am not about to let her out of my sight! Amanda Flower has written a fantastic book! I must say I simply adored this book. It follows Chloe Humphrey, a twenty-four year old computer techy, who takes a job in the small quaint town of Appleseed Creek, Ohio. Right from the start Chloe realizes this small town may not be so small after all. As she is driving along a rural road she sees a young girl in distress. The girl is being accosted by two men who seem to want to do harm. Chloe intercedes and scares the men away. And so it begins…. Chloe finds out that the girl is Becky Troyer, who is Amish and is leaving home. Becky asks to stay with her and Chloe agrees for a few days. She seems harmless and Chloe likes her from the get go. Besides, she knows no one in town so this is a start. Becky promises to find a job and she is determined to do so. She gets an interview at a local greenhouse and decides to borrow Chloe’s car without her knowledge to get there. Never mind that she has no license, she wants this job! On the way to the interview tragedy occurs. The brakes go out on the car, and Becky is unable to stop going down a hill and slams into a horse and buggy killing the beloved Bishop Glick. Shocked and horrified Becky manages to only receive a broken arm. Becky is in a heap of trouble. Chloe and Timothy Troyer, who is Becky’s brother, rush to her defense. Chloe knows her car was in proper driving condition so what happened? After some investigation, it’s discovered that the brake line was cut. Who would do such a thing? As the mystery deepens and I was drawn into the investigation, I quickly realized everything was not what it seemed…..
A Plain Death has it all- mystery, intrigue, and a cast of characters that you will think about long after the last page is turned. Throw in Timothy, a handsome suitor for Chloe, and you have a recipe for a prize winning book. Amanda Flower has cooked up a real winner and I can’t wait for seconds!
This book was provided to me from B&H Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Cozy Mystery in Amish Ohio

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chloe Humphrey is a twenty-four-year old Masters graduate, a computer geek with a pet cat called Gigabyte and counts two suitcases full of obsolete computer parts among her most precious possessions. She is moving from Cleveland to Appleseed Creek, Ohio, to take a two-year job as Director of Computer Services at the local college. As she is driving to her new home, she picks up an Amish woman who is being harassed by two men. Nineteen-year-old Becky has recently left home, following an argument over her artistic desires, and Chloe finds herself with an unexpected boarder who places her in the middle of a family argument.
Things get even more untidy when Becky borrows Chloe’s car without permission, and has an accident which kills the Amish Bishop. But what appears at first to be a simple car accident turns into a murder investigation, and Chloe works with Becky’s handsome older brother, Timothy, to determine who the likely victim was, investigate who could possibly want to kill them. Timothy has left the Amish faith, and is now working at the college as a carpenter. Meanwhile, Chloe has been asked to make budget cuts in her new role, which will mean making one of her staff redundant, which is not a decision she wants to make.
I really enjoyed A Plain Death. It is a cozy mystery set in an area with significant Amish and Mennonite populations, and involves both Plain and Englisher characters, which I find more interesting than a story centred around the Amish. It also has an intelligent and likeable heroine working closely with a strong, good-looking hero to solve a mystery, with a good level of suspense and a little romance thrown in. All that was missing was… um, no. That would be a spoiler. I look forward to reading more about Chloe, Timothy and Appleseed Creek in future books.
Thanks to B&H Books and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Death, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice and entertaining

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merce
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really liked the premise of this book, and for the most part, it delivered. It is nicely written, very simple but, nevertheless, nice. The main characters —Chloe, Timothy and Becky— were ok. It has a very good pace; never felt dragged or too slow or boring. The mystery is a good one; you form your ideas here and there, you try to piece it all together and you kind of know, but then you're not so sure, so you go back and then you're pretty sure and the author changes it up a bit once you get to the climatic scene. So it keeps you interested.
That said, I had a few problems with this novel:
1. The romance is very lacking. I was expecting something more romantic or substantial to happen between the romantic leads, but no. It left me hanging, waiting, expecting until it was over.
2. The climatic scene was just too bland and rushed. It left a few questions unanswered but I'm not going to get into them because I don't want to spoil it for the rest of you.
3. The hero. Yes, it is someone unexpected, but the reason this person gave for being there is laughable, it made no sense.
4. Finally, the portrayal of the Amish left much to be desired. I will not get into the details, but suffice it to say that in this novel the Amish who stayed Amish were presented in a very bad light and those who left the Amish were great, the good guys, with the exception of the Troyer family and Aaron.
In the end, I had a nice time reading this novel; it is entertaining and kept my interest, but I wish and hoped it was better. It ended with a few loose ends, so I'm thinking there will be more to come.
*I received a copy of this book from B&H Publishing Group through NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.