Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2

B&H Books A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2

There's a killer loose in the Amish village of Appleseed Creek, and computer specialist Chloe Humphrey is determined to find him. When a buggy accident turns out to be murder, the town panics. Then Chloe discovers the body of an Amish man whose beard has been cut. Can she discover the assailant before he strikes again?
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Review 1 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I stayed up reading until I finished the book!

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hoping the sequel would be as interesting as the first book, and I was NOT disappointed!
I don’t want to spoil it for you, so I won’t say much about the plot, except to assure you that there are plenty of surprises here!
Amanda does a wonderful job with the characters; I especially got a big laugh when Chloe gets railroaded into riding on a parade float.
I was exhausted this morning since I stayed up reading until I finished the book!
Yes, it’s easier reading novels you can pick up and put down at will… but not nearly as fun as those you can’t put down because they’ve “caught you”!
Read it… Find out how Chloe and her friends find themselves in the middle of yet another mystery.
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Scandal by Amanda Flower is a wonderful story of Amish life in the town of Appleseed Creek, Ohio. Chloe Humphrey is not Amish but she has chosen to live in Appleseed Creek where she works at the local college as a computer specialist. A buggy accident that turned out to be murder has been solved but now the people in the community are living in fear for someone is going around cutting the hair of Amish women and the beards of Amish men. Chloe has helped the local police solve other crimes and when she finds a local man stabbed in the back with his beard cut off, she decides that it is her responsibility to help solve the murder and bring peace back to the community. To add to Chloe’s problems, she and her roommate Becky are having problems with their new landlord who is becoming more of a jerk with every passing day. Becky and Timothy, sister and brother, have left the Amish way of life and are comfortable with their relationship with God and living as Englisch. The romance between Chloe and Timothy continues to develop in spite of all the chaos going on in the community. Also, the new Bishop and the Deacon are ruling the Amish community with an iron hand and are warning everyone to have no association with Chloe, Becky, and Timothy.
The author did an excellent job in the writing of this story and with every element of the story. There was suspense woven throughout the story and it kept me guessing from page to page. Every character was expertly developed and I felt as if I were living right there in the community of Appleseed Creek and was friends with all the characters. Well there were a few that were not friend material but the author gave reasons to dislike them. All the scenes were so well described that I could see myself taking part in whatever was going on. The plot had several twists and turns but everything was brought together for a satisfactory ending.
I very highly recommend this book to everyone that likes a great Amish story that also contains a good deal of suspense.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from B & H Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amanda pulled me in again, a must read

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It hasn't been long and there is another mystery in Appleseed Creek, girls are getting attacked and their hair is being cut, men's beards are being cut and now there is even a murder. Chloe Humphrey along with Timothy Troyer and the authorities are investigating to see if they are all connected and why. There are several suspects, both English and Amish suspects. Some people are beginning to call Chloe the 'Amish Whisperer'.
Another good read by Amanda and yet again I found myself putting my paperback book aside and reading my Kindle at home! As I was finishing the book I kept thinking in the back of my mind about how much I enjoyed reading Trixie Belden, Bobbsey Twins and Nancy Drew mysteries when I was younger. I am so looking forward to getting the third book "A Plain Disappearance", I guess I should have asked for that for Christmas, darn, maybe I can ask for it as a New Year's gift.
If you like mysteries and Amish stories you will love this series, I can't say enough about Amanda's writing, it is great and really pulls you into the story. She has just enough suspects that you don't get confused but it's still hard to solve the crime until you get very close to the end.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really continued to enjoy the developing characters in this novel that started in A Plain Death. The romance continues to slowly bloom between Chloe, who is a city girl, and Timothy, a former Amish participant. Chloe came to the small town in Ohio to be the director of the computer systems department at a local college. Since moving there, Chloe has had more adventure in a short period of time than ever before! On top of that, the new Bishop and Deacon of the community continue to lay the towns’ or personal emergencies at her feet.
It seems the biology professor at the same college where Chloe works is the new owner of the rental home Chloe is living in with Timothy’s sister. Two delinquents who had been in prison are back out and have returned to the area. Shortly before the local holidays begin a murder happens and somehow Chloe is once again bent on figuring out who the culprit is. While she seems to be in the middle of a budding romance, Chloe also happens to be finding out more about how the local Amish families live. The trouble really begins to brew as her English ways heighten the tension between Amish characters, leaders and the community though not quite everyone is afraid to do what is right even if the Deacon has been dispensing a heavy hand of discipline.
As I was reading, I knew a mystery was afoot, but what I didn’t see were the threads that tied it all together at the conclusion. There were surprises, twists and turns in the story line that kept my glued to the book till late at night. I am glad I read the whole thing…what an adventure! Slowly, the author begins to reveal other parts of the backgrounds and personalities of the community where Chloe lives. What was fun for me was trying to figure out how and if the newest additions of a few characters were going to throw a kink the story.
One character that still seems to be somewhat of an enigma in both novels is the dean of the college. He is kind of a pop in and out type of character. I wonder if the author is going to bring him out more in the next novel in the series, A Plain Disappearance. Dean Klink is somewhat of a comical character with the way he interacts with others at the college, especially Chloe. Let me know what you think of the novels and this character once you read them for yourself. Amanda Flower is truly a wonderful storyteller, which I am glad to add to my personal library. I hope you discover the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
penny
Location:Alberta,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the book right from the start.It was really hard to put down.The author is really good writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of times I find that the middle book in a series is often the weakest one in the series, but no so with A Plain Scandal.
It was written as well as the first book, A Plain Death.
The second book picks up not long after the first book is finished so we don't have a big time frame that needs to be filled in, which is nice.
The plot was inspired by a true life incident that happened in 2011 when several Amish were attacked and the women had their hair cut off while the Amish men had their beards cut off.
In A Plain Scandal the Amish community is shaken when several teenage girls are attacked and have their hair cut off as well a one elderly man that has his beard cut off. So when Chloe finds a dead Amish man with his beard cut off on a construction site that her boyfriend Timothy is working on, she can't help but wonder if there is a connection and she begins to investigate. Meanwhile her rental home is sold to her boss Dylan who begins to show up at all hours wanting to do renovations to the property. When Chloe confronts him about his behavior, a different side of Dylan begins to emerge.
Throughout this book we get a deeper look at Timothy and Chloe's growing relationship. I like the fact that they are taking things so slowly and are unsure of the next step. To me this is romance that could grow into true love.
Even Becky, Chloe's roommate didn't bother me. I was glad to see that given what she had to deal with in the first book, she grew up and was more responsible.
There are several plot twists that make you wonder if this person or that incident is part of the plot or just a decoy. I was almost to the end before I began to put all the pieces together, and even then there were loose ends that the writer had to tie up for me.
This was a fun, fast paced, well written book that will get you hooked until the very end and one I think that anyone who enjoys the Amish and mystery genres will love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hate Crimes, The Amish and A Murder

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Flower in her new book, "A Plain Scandal" Book Two in the Appleseed Creek Mystery Series published by B&H Publishing Group reunites us with Chloe Humphrey and Appleseed Creek, Ohio.
From the Back Cover: The people of Appleseed Creek in the heart of Ohio's Amish Country are under attack. Soon after the dust has settled on a buggy accident that turned out to be murder, an unknown assailant begins cutting off the long hair of Amish women and the beards of Amish men.
New to the area, computer specialist Chloe Humphrey may not share their customs, but she is certainly alarmed over these crimes against the Amish and worries how such events will impact her growing number of friends who are more connected to that way of life.
In this small community, when Chloe discovers the body of an Amish businessman who was stabbed in the back and whose beard was cut off, she knows that finding the murderer and restoring peace to Appleseed Creek is as much her responsibility as anyone else's.
At the end of a hard day I like to sit down with a good murder mystery. It takes my mind of the events of the day and I enter into a new environment, in this case Appleseed Creek, Ohio. Amish women never cut their hair and only Amish married men wear beards, that is part of the Amish religious beliefs. So by cutting off the men's beards and the women's hair the attacker has made it a hate crime. Then he also commits murder. Chloe is having a hard time gathering evidence against this person because the new Bishop wants to shun her. Chloe is in for a real hard time trying to stop the attacks and another murder. Ms. Flower has crafted a real puzzler of a mystery. "A Plain Scandal" keeps you guessing and I defy you to figure out who really did it. Add to the pot a cast of characters that are just wonderful, some good, some bad and Ms. Flower has given us a great setting Appleseed Creek with Appleseed Creek. If you enjoy a good murder mystery like I do then this book is for you. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next one.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from The Suspense Zone for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Plain Scandal

Date:May 1, 2013
Englisher Chloe Humphrey was determined to discover who was committing crimes against the Amish in Appleseed Creek. She had several friends in the Amish community and wanted to help. Someone was cutting off beards of Amish men and hair off the Amish women.
Chloe worked at the local college in the computer department. But during her free time she played amateur detective, finding clues to the recent crime spree. She had the help of her friends, Ex-Amish brother and sister, Becky and Timothy. These three main characters were introduced in the beginning, and then the characters kept coming. In the beginning I had a little trouble keeping everyone straight. It was also hard to tell at first, who was Amish, Mennonite, or English. I didn’t read A Plain Death, the first book in this series, which may have helped with my confusion.
I was about three quarters of the way finished and I still couldn’t figure out who committed the crimes. I was surprised to discover the culprit although I did figure out part of the mystery. This is a fast moving story, beginning to end. I read it in a day. I look forward to reading the next book in this series. I may even read the first book to see all the goings on from it that are mentioned in A Plain Scandal.
Other story lines that were interconnected to each other were happening while Chloe was looking for the perpetrator. This is what made it hard to figure out who was committing the crimes. Just when I thought it was one person, I began to question if it might be someone else. Amanda did a good job of keeping me guessing. One unbelievable part of the story was that the police told Chloe details of the crimes. I don’t see that really happening. Overall, I enjoyed reading the story. It kept my interest more than enough to get through it one day and want to read the rest of the books in the series. I would have given it 4 1/2 stars if I could.
Appleseed Creek Mystery Series
A Plain Death
A Plain Scandal
A Plain Disappearance (to be released in September 2013)
I received a free copy of this book from the Christian Manifesto and B & H Publishing in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The mystery continues . . .

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Scandal (An Appleseed Mystery, 2) / Amanda Flower
Adult Rating: 5
Amanda Flowers presents her second novel in the Appleseed Mystery series, featuring Chloe Humphrey, a young single computer professional, living in Amish country.
In A Plain Scandal, Chloe finds herself once again involved in a mystery as the Amish are victims of an unknown assailant. Cutting off men’s beards and cutting the women’s long hair is a scandal to the Amish. A local businessman is killed and his beard is cut off, and four young women are attacked and their hair cut short. Chloe is concerned for her neighbors and friends. Even Grandfather Zook (Becky and Timothy’s grandfather) is a victim when his beard cut off during an attack. Becky and Timothy, former Amish with family still living in the area, help her to look for the murderer before he strikes again. Although the police are on the trail, they value Chloe‘s input due to her relationships within the Amish community.
Meanwhile, one of Chloe’s colleagues at the college where she works, becomes her new landlord, causing problems for Becky and Chloe as he tries renovating their house. Chloe discovers that another one of her colleagues is connected to the attacks. Chloe’s friendship with Timothy begins to develop into something more, but it moves at a slow rate as the book unfolds.
Flower engages the readers with cosy mystery and her interesting (and likeable) characters, making it the perfect book to read for sheer enjoyment. A Plain Scandal is both plot and character–driven. There are several twists and turns, as one would expect from a good mystery. The author introduces bits and pieces of Amish culture without letting it overpower the story.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!!! A MUST READ

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A PLAIN SCANDAL is a book once you start you will not want to put it down until the very last page then you are going to want more, Amanda makes you feel like you are right there in the book, I recommend this book to everyone, it is a Amish Mystery and you will love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A PLAIN SCANDAL by Amanda Flower is another great inspirational suspense/mystery set in Appleseed Creek,Ohio. #2 in the "Appleseed Creek Mystery" series,but can be read as a stand alone. Although, not necessary, I would recommend reading "A Plain Death" for a great read and feel for some the characters. An Amish mystery you don't want to miss,filled with mystery,suspense,the Amish community,hope,faith and love. We take a trip to Appleseed Creek in time for another mystery, follow Chloe Humphrey,who is new to the community and her friends as they try to solve the mystery of who is cutting off Amish men beard's and the women's hair,why and a murder. Humorous at times. Ms. Flower has mixed inspirational and suspense together in a thought provoking storyline with a plot to die for,oh wait,shush don't tell anyone that part. Ms. Flower's stories are well thought out,with engaging characters and a community who lives simply and which others are fascinated with their lifestyle. A must read for anyone who enjoys a great suspense,mystery,and the Amish community. I enjoyed "A Plain Scandal" and would highly recommend to any readers who enjoy not only inspirational,mystery,and suspense,but who also enjoys a great,fast paced read. While, this is an inspirational read it is not "preachy". I am looking forward to the next installment of the "Appleseed Creek Mystery". Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews/My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great mix of cozy mystery in an Amish setting

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
kherbrand
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book 2 in the Appleseed Creek Mystery Series but it reads well as a stand alone. They give you some information from the first book, so if you don't like spoilers, I would recommend that you read them in order.
Chloe is very likable as a young woman trying to find her place in the community. Being new, she has made a few friends, many of them Amish, or Amish who have left the Church. Actually, her roommate Becky is one of the "formerly" Amish as is Becky's brother Timothy. Chloe is sweet on Timothy and suspects he feels the same way, but the differences in their backgrounds has left Chloe wondering how, or even if, to pursue him.
The three of them had been in the center of the buggy accident from the summer before and they once again find themselves in the center of the mystery surrounding who is cutting the Amishs' hair and beards. Curt and Brock, the two who had been sent to prison for the accident have been released and they are back to harrassing Chloe. So far they haven't crossed any lines, but Chloe wonders if they are involved in the recent crimes.
When she doesn't think her life can get any more messed up, she finds that the house she and Becky are renting has a new landlord. He is intent on restoring it to it's original style and doesn't seem to care that it might disrupt Chloe and Becky's lives.
I liked the chemistry between Timothy and Chloe and look forward to seeing how that develops in future books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect blend of romance and mystery!!!

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I don't know how you've been able to worm your way into the affections of the Troyer family, but rest assured that's the only family you will lead from the Amish way!"
Once again those harsh words rung in the ears of Chloe Humphrey, an Englischer who has gained the affections of Timothy and Becky Troyer who have left the Amish faith in favor of an English lifestyle. But no matter how often Chloe and Timothy try to convince the new Bishop Hooley and Deacon Sutter, they remain convince that unless Chloe stays away from the Troyer family, the rest of the Amish community will be forced to shun them.
Despite all her protests, someone else is after the Amish community. Someone is cutting off the beards of Amish men and the hair from the Amish women against their will. This is considered a hate crime by the local sheriff because the Amish women never cut their hair. It's against their religious beliefs and the Amish married men are the only ones wearing beards and now they seem to also be the target of someone's hatred for the Amish. However when an Amish man is found murdered along with his beard being cut off, the risks for the entire community Amish and English have just risen.
However Chloe believes there is a single connection to all the crimes if she can only interview the victims. But with the new Bishop and Deacon controlling the Amish community and advising all to avoid dealing with Chloe, she isn't about to gain much cooperation. Will she be able to solve this latest string of crimes that have found there way into the heart of Appleseed Creek or will she be cast aside by the friends and family she has come to hold dear to her heart?
In the latest novel, A Plain Scandal by Amanda Flower, we are once more gifted with a blend of Amish fiction coupled with a murder mystery in the second book in the Appleseed Creek mystery series. I received this book compliments of B & H Publishing Group and Shelton Interactive for my honest review and once again feel in love with the two different types of people living together in the heart of Ohio's Amish Country and admire the friendship that Chloe shares for the Amish people's beliefs. She tries to respect their personal beliefs even if she doesn't understand the harsh reality of being shunned personally. She wants to do whatever she can to help but faces barriers when the Amish refuse to help much in talking with her. I think Amanda Flower did an exceptional job at keeping the pace of the novel engaging but moving forward always keeping you guessing until the final pages of the book for the reveal. For those of you that love Amish fiction and a great murder mystery, trust me and pick up this series! You don't need to read the first book in the series to gain an appreciation for the residents of Apple Creek, but I know you'll be as hooked as I was and will want to pick up A Plain Death too, the first book in the series. This one rates a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Plain Enjoyable Story

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I enjoyed it so much I went back and read book 1, A Plain Death.
I loved the characters in this story, especially the contrast between Chloe and Becky. Chloe, the tech savvy director of computer services at the local college, and Becky, the former Amish girl, currently on probation for driving without a license. I loved watching them as they grew as friends and understanding each other's worlds.
This story includes a mystery that the reader is allowed to solve alongside Chloe that was interesting and different. There is romance as well as in the developing relationship between Chloe and Timothy. You also see the return of characters from the first book and some interesting developments with them.
The author's style is easy to follow and it was a fast easy to follow storyline. Although this is a book two I didn't feel lost from not reading the first one. In this case, book two made me want to go back and read book one. I've not read a lot of Amish fiction and the ones I have generally show the Amish as a forgiving and open community. This series shows a more closed, judgmental Amish community with controlling leadership.
I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a nice mystery with romance in the setting of Amish community.
Disclosure
I did receive this book through the netgalley.com program, but was under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Sequel

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Appleseed Creek Mystery, following A Plain Death, in which Chloe Humphrey investigated the death of the local Amish bishop, developed a crush in the handsome Timothy Troyer, and gained a new housemate, Becky, Timothy's sister.
In this sequel, the Amish of Appleseed Creek, Ohio, have appointed a new, stricter, bishop, the two hooligans who caused the trouble that led to the first bishop's death are in the area again, and four Amish girls have been attacked and had their long braids cut off, a potential religious hate crime but one the local police can do nothing about, because the Amish 'want to settle the case within the district'.
Chloe has a new landlord, a professor from the college where she works, who has plans to renovate and sell the period house and who disproves of the free maintenance Timothy has been doing. There is also conflict between the Troyer family and the new Bishop, partly because of their friendship with Becky, which causes her some anguish as she doesn’t want her new friends to be rejected because of her.
A Plain Scandal was very good. It is a solid murder mystery, with intelligent and realistic characters (not something I can say about many Amish novels), a couple of red herrings, a twist, and all the loose ends tied up by the last page, and some nice progress in the romance between Becky and Timothy. I will certainly be looking forward to reading the next Appleseed Creek mystery.
Thanks to B&H Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great storyline with humor

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
Location:Denver, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and couldn't put it down. The heroine is smart, gutsy and oh so funny. This is a delighful book. The first in the series was excellent but I think Amanda Flower has out done herself in this followup with a brand new story. I loved, loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent suspense read!

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Schnellenj
Location:Stow, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed with the second installment in the Appleseed Creek series. It far exceeded my expectations! A great suspense story without the harshness of police or military suspense. I couldn't put it down! Try it and see for yourself....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Plain Scandal isn't your typical Amish Fiction. There's a murder mystery with lots of suspense. I even enjoyed some of the author's humor in the story. I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder Mystery with a Romantic Twist

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chloe Humphrey moved from the city to Appleseed Creek to take a position as the head of the computer department at a small college and life certainly has not been boring. Now someone is running around town cutting off braids and beards from members of the Amish community, When Chloe stumbles onto a dead body, she realizes it is time for some detecting, and the attraction she feels to a certain member of the community only adds to the excitement.
This is second installment in this series, and since I enjoyed the first in the series so much, I could not wait to get this one. The story is fun and the relationships serve to make it interesting. The book grabs your attention and makes it seem like just a quick fun trip to catch up with a friend. I would recommend this to readers who enjoy reading about the Amish lifestyle, but do not appreciate the overpowering sweetness that some writers portray. It is a fun mystery with lots of humor thrown in.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Plain Scandal, Appleseed Creek Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Winner

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Dawn
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cast from A Plain Death is back and trouble is on the horizon. When I say trouble, I mean trouble paired with a heaping helping of mystery to devour. A good book in my opinion should reel you in like the catch of the day. A Plain Scandal does just that….hook, line and sinker. Amanda Flower has written a smart, clever, and very entertaining book. To say I enjoyed reading this book would be an understatement! I will just say that I personally think it may be even better than A Plain Death and I thought that book was awesome. Her characters are becoming fast favorites of mine. The kind of characters written to entertain you and will keep you wondering what they are up to after the story ends. I love reading a book when the main characters seem like people you know. Chloe reminds me of my husband……she knows her way around a gadget or two.
I like all aspects of A Plain Scandal. The fast moving plot, the intriguing townspeople of Appleseed Creek and most importantly the mystery…..ah yes “the mystery”. Who done it…..who would commit such crimes against the Amish? You will be guessing right up to the end. In closing, if I had to choose one word to sum up A Plain Scandal, it would be captivating which means: Attract and hold the interest and attention of; charm. Yes, captivating is the perfect word and you surely will be.
This book was provided to me from B&H Publishing via NetGalley for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>