Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Wounds

B&H Books Wounds

A man's lifeless body is found in the fresh soil of San Diego's botanical garden. Cause of death is asphyxiation, an easy call for the medical examiner. More mysterious, however, are the tiny drops of blood on the victim's skin, resulting from hundreds of punctures.

A rabbi leaving his house for work expects a regular day at the synagogue. That quickly changes when he discovers a dead man on his front lawn, clearly beaten to death.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wounds
Review 1 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riviting

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
wonderwheel
Location:Mentor, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wounds is definitely not a disappointment in what you would expect from Alton Gansky. His writing is like no other and this book is proof.
It's riviting from start to finish. It's a suspence novel to the ninth degree, but he innerlaces humor that gives you a little relief from the intenceness of the book.
But it's a powerful read and one that you will want to have on your must read list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Serial Killer, Action, Mystery Thriller

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alton Gansky in his new book, "Wounds" published by B&H Publishing Group brings us into the life of Dr. Ellis Poe.
From the back cover: A crime of passion
A man's lifeless body is found in the fresh soil of San Diego's botanical garden. Cause of death is asphyxiation, an easy call for the medical examiner. More mysterious, however, are the tiny drops of blood on the victim's skin, resulting from hundreds of punctures.
A rabbi leaving his house for work expects a regular day at the synagogue. That quickly changes when he discovers a dead man on his front lawn, clearly beaten to death.
Motorcycle riders racing along the empty streets of an abandoned military base stumble across another man's corpse, its skin revealing long, red-purple marks of a thrashing given with wood dowels.
The numbers mount. Each week another victim and another mysterious clue in a game of mass murder the police don't want to lose. The solution rests with Dr. Ellis Poe, a religious professor who only wishes to be left alone with his books and classes.
But evil must be faced, and the choice is no longer his own.
Get ready for a nail-biting, page-turning thriller. There is a serial killer on the loose in San Diego and the police are hard pressed to discover the killers identity. The bodies are piling up, the M.O.s are different and there, seemingly, is no pattern unless you count the multiple puncture wounds. And what connection does Dr. Ellis Poe have with all of this? Alton Gansky knows how to craft suspense. So much is going on within the pages of "Wounds" and the characters are so real that you care for all of them, well at least the good guys. There is more to the story that I didn't mention but you didn't really expect me to tell you everything did you? Otherwise you might not want to read the book and I wouldn't want you to pass up an opportunity for a terrific read. "Wounds" is a book that you will want to start early otherwise you will be up very late as you will want to finish it. I highly recommend it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B&H Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced police thriller

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s the week before Easter, and a student from San Diego Theological Seminary has just been found murdered in a manner that is both brutal and unique. Carmen Rainmondi is the police detective assigned to the case, along with partner Bob Tock. And one murder with no leads soon turns into two, then …
Ellis Poe is a professor at the Seminary, and is both surprised and worried when Carmen Rainmondi turns up to interview him about the victim. Because he recognises her. She’s the image of her sister, who he saw murdered years ago. Ellis sees that Carmen is still tormented because the murderer was never found—perhaps because he never reported what he saw. Yet it seems that Ellis might hold the key to this case.
This was one of those books that:
a) You shouldn’t read alone in the house;
b) You shouldn’t start just before bedtime.
I didn’t make either of these mistakes, thankfully, because once I started, I just couldn’t put down. Not only is there the mystery over finding the murderer before he strikes again, but there is the elephant in the room of what Ellis hasn’t told Carmen about her sister. Ellis was the archetype of the college professor—intelligent, highly-principled, but a total wimp. He knows what he should do, but he’s afraid to do it.
One thing that was slightly weird was the last line. While it fit the storyline, I don’t think it was a good last line (but it would have made a great last line in a prologue leading into a sequel). That’s another annoying thing—Wounds is published by B&H, who have just cancelled their fiction line, which almost certainly cuts out the possibility of a sequel. A shame.
All in all, Wounds is an exciting thriller, albeit a bit gory in places. It’s not preachy-Christian (although there is a bit of preaching in the funeral service), and of the main characters, only Ellis is a Christian. There is an underlying theme of the sacrifice Jesus made on the cross. It’s so subtle that a non-Christian probably wouldn’t even notice, but it’s there. Recommended for thriller fans who don’t mind a few dead bodies.
Thanks to B&H Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gruesome murders but with a spiritual lesson

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a good police detective novel and this is a good one.
Carmen is a homicide detective with the San Diego Police Department. Twenty eight years ago she was planning on med school and becoming a doctor. But then her sister was murdered. That changed Carmen's life. She went into law enforcement and everyday she thought about getting the person who killed her sister.
It appears that a serial murder is plaguing the city. Horribly tortured men are left in unusual locations. One of the men was a student at a seminary. When Carmen interviews one of the professors, Dr. Poe, she has no idea the two of them are linked by the tragic death of her sister. Dr. Poe sees a possible connection between the gruesome murders and Carmen elicits his help. The suspense builds as the murderer sets his sights on Carmen.
This is a unique Christian murder mystery. At first I had a bit of trouble with the gruesomeness of the murders. Reading this book is not for the weak stomached. However, I was amazed when Poe made the spiritual connection as to why the victims were tortured as they were and why their bodies were placed in precise locations in the city. Then it all made sense. And I was amazed that there was a spiritual lesson about the gospel in a murder mystery.
So, the novel is a bit gruesome. But when you finish the book, you'll understand exactly why it had to be that way. Gansky has woven a unique and spiritually enlightening murder mystery. He's on my reading list for future novels for sure.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A man’s lifeless body is found in the fresh soil of San Diego’s botanical garden. Cause of death is asphyxiation, an easy call for the medical examiner. More mysterious, however, are the tiny drops of blood on the victim’s skin, resulting from hundreds of punctures.
A rabbi leaving his house for work expects a regular day at the synagogue. That quickly changes when he discovers a dead man on his front lawn, clearly beaten to death.
Motorcycle riders racing along the empty streets of an abandoned military base stumble across another man’s corpse, its skin revealing long, red-purple marks of a thrashing given with wood dowels.
The numbers mount. Each week another victim and another mysterious clue in a game of mass murder the police don’t want to lose. The solution rests with Dr. Ellis Poe, a religious professor who only wishes to be left alone with his books and classes.
But evil must be faced, and the choice is no longer his own.
I have been reading novels by Alton Gansky for many years. I would venture to say that he is ranked as one of my favorite authors (Harry Lee Kraus is the best!). What makes Alton Gansky so appealing to me is just the fact that he can write fantastic books in so many different sub-genres. He has done war books, light mysteries, world adventure and more. You never know what you will get when you pick up an Alton Gansky novel, but you know that you won’t be disappointed.
Detective Carmen Rainmondi has her own ghosts to battle. One of them is the cold case that involves her sister from many years ago. Today, though, she is battling a new serial killer that is leaving bodies all of San Diego. None of the victims seem to have anything in common, except for the gruesome wounds that were inflicted on them prior to their death. Ellis Poe is a local seminary professor and new the first victim. When he is questioned by Det. Rainmondi, he is instantly transported back to his high school days when he may have seen information that could lead to finding her sister’s killer. Frozen by fear, Dr. Poe still doesn’t come forward with the information. As the bodies continue to mount, Dr. Poe notices a pattern and provides his insight to Det. Rainmondi. Can they find a connection between these horrible deaths? What is the motive behind these senseless killings? Will Dr. Poe ever right his conscience by telling Det. Rainmondi what he knows about her sister’s death? Spend some money to find these answers by BUYING THE BOOK!
Alton Gansky lays the groundwork for this spectacular novel from the very beginning. I will tell you that the descriptions used of the bodies are not for the faint at heart, but they add to the realism of the book. His methodical crescendo of clues and information in this book builds to a very satisfying ending. His characters are fully developed, yet they show their flaws and their demons openly.
Is this a "guy's book"? This book ranks right up there with some of the highest rated TV Shows lately, “CSI”, “NCIS” and “Law & Order”. While the content is not necessarily ripped from today’s headlines, it is filled with relevant items that make it fresh. Men will appreciate the detail the author used when describing the murders and will enjoy the hunt of deciphering just what all of the murders mean and how they are linked together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great suspense thriller!

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems like there's a serial killer on the loose in the city of San Diego and it's going to take a team effort to find out who it is before they claim their next victim. The only problem is that each of these cases seem to be completely different from one another. The only thing that is the same is bodies are being left for the police to find but each of them is murdered in completely different ways. Is it the work of a team of serial killers or simply the work of one person who is bent on keeping the police on edge?
In the suspense novel, Wounds by Alton Gansky, the game of cat and mouse is about to get really interesting. Homicide detectives Carmen Rainmondi and Bud Tock are finding that bodies are turning up quicker than they can interview potential witnesses. What's more interesting is that it seems as if the crimes are linked and it's up to Carmen and Bud to find out what the missing link is before another body turns up on someone else's doorstep. Is it possible that the detectives are involved somehow? That something in their past is about to come full circle in a completely different way? Whatever is happening, it seems as if the killer has time to plan and carry out their crime and even holds some knowledge about the victim before he winds up killing them.
For those that love a great murder mystery that will have you with a pen and paper in hand just to keep up with the clues, then this is a must read for you. Author Alton Gansky is the Angel Award and Carol Award-winning, Christy Award-nomiated author of more than three dozen books and director of the premier Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writers conference and hold two degrees in Bible Studies. This is one novel that isn't overly religious and feels as if you're reading a contemporary suspense thriller like James Patterson or Charles Todd. The writing style is engaging and moves the reader forward at roller coaster pace to see just what lies in the next chapter. Will it be another body or are the detectives catching up? What role does a religious professor Dr. Ellis Poe have to do with anything. He simply wants to be left alone to teach his classes, but when one of his students winds up as a victim, things are about to get interesting.
I received Wounds by Alton Gansky compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have not received any monetary compensation for a favorable review. I love television series like Criminal Minds and Numbers, so this novel fell right in line with my expectations. Being one who loves to solve the crime before the end, I was captivated in the storyline until the end. A true sign of a great novel in my opinion. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and will be adding Alton Gansky to my watch list for upcoming novels. The crime element is pretty detailed at times and may not suit all reader types.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action Packed from Start to Finish

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I just have to say WOW! From the opening pages this book grabbed me and didn't let go until the very end. The author does a masterful job of painting this story. As he describes each crime scene you can easily picture the victim and the injuries.
The primary characters, Dr. Ellis Poe and Detective Carmen Rainmondi, are excellent. They both have some serious baggage that I think a lot of readers will be able to relate with them. Also, I enjoyed the interaction between Carmen and her partner, Bud. I actually enjoyed Bud's character almost as much as I did the primary characters.
The only potential negative with this book is the author does a very good job of describing the crime scenes, this could be a turn off for some readers. It reminded me of Steven James' book The Pawn, where I could visualize the crime scenes in living color. However, there is a critical line by the medical examiner that really drives home an important truth and may explain why the author chose to describe the murders so vividly. I don't want to tell you this line as it would give away too much of the story. I would encourage you to read this book it will remind you how much God loves us.
The ending of this book left me wanting more, much more featuring these characters. I can find no indication whether or not this will be a series, I hope so.
Disclaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher, but was under no obligation to give anything but my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wounds
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wounds

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellis Poe is a shy and timid man. He also has a terrible secret that he has kept for almost 30 years. When one of his students is a murder victim Ellis is thrown back 30 years when the detective that comes to question him brings back all of the memories of one fateful night when he was just 17.
Carmen Rainmondi is no stranger to murder. It is her job to find out who this latest killer is. Carmen has been working her sister’s murder for years. She is determined that someday she will find out who killed her sister and make him pay.
When murdered victims start turning up Ellis and Carmen’s paths cross. Carmen and her team are baffled by what makes this killer tick. What are his motives for the bizarre killings? When Ellis, a professor at a local seminary, happens to see the murder board in an investigation room he is able to provide a fresh perspective on the killings. But will Ellis have the courage to confess to Carmen his part in her sister’s death or will he once again take flight?
I think WOUNDS was a great murder mystery! It kept me turning the pages to the final outcome. If a person is squeamish about blood and guts this is probably not the book for you. Each of the murders was gruesome in some way, shape or form and graphically portrayed to the point that I almost felt like I was seeing it for myself. I thought the ending was a bit abrupt and left me a little disappointed, but for the most part WOUNDS was a solid read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.