Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1

B&H Books Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1

Gideon Fisher wants one thing out of life -- to be left alone. This is not the Amish way, but he's devastated after the death of his wife and son to the point of losing his faith. He buys a farm on the outskirts of the district and pulls away from his community. But when a freak spring snowstorm brings a beautiful Englisher to his farm, what choice does Gideon have but to let her in?
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Review 1 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DO NOT MISS THIS ONE!

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I stumbled upon Miss Lillard’s work entirely by accident but boy am I glad I did!
She is a true artist – painting a vivid picture with her words, that gives you the feeling that you could just step right in.
It’s a wonderful read.
I feel it is only fair to warn you that your time may be in danger with this book. Once you pick it up, you will not want to put it down.
The story flows so flawlessly, it rushes by your eyes and you will completely lose track of how long you’ve been reading.
The idea of converting to the Amish faith has become something of a phenomenon among readers and writers alike. And it has become increasingly difficult to present a new take on the idea or a story that doesn’t sound like a mirror image of every other one already out there.
But Amy Lillard has succeeded there. Her story is definitely original. Her characters are individual and her voice is intriguing.
She has an exceptional talent for writing a view of the Amish community through the eyes of a pampered Englisher and writing the view of that same Englisher through the eyes of a somewhat surly Amish man.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story about life, loss and love.
Whether you enjoy Amish fiction or just Christian fiction, this story will appeal because there is enough of both worlds within the pages.
I can’t wait to move on to the next book in the series and I hope we have many more series from Amy Lillard to look forward to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
This review is fromSaving Gideon - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saving Gideon

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From start to finish I LOVED this book. You simply will not want to put it down. This a beautiful story of love, hope and healing. Amy deserves an award for being able to blend the two cultures and get such a perfect balance. I really admired Avery's character. Her selflessness despite being born into wealth. There was nothing spoilt about her but instead she loving embraced everyone in the Amish community. It was with sadness that I came to the end of this wonderful book. A great big WOW! To the author. I highly recommend this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I absolutely LOVE this Book!!!

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this book!!! Saving Gideon is filled with wonderful, spunky, kind, courageous, strong, and lovable characters. Amy has written a story that is simply beautiful. From the depths of guilt and pain to the heights of forgiveness and love, Saving Gideon takes you on a journey that is sweet and satisfying. I really enjoyed the change of events from the livestock to be raised by Gideon to the way Avery takes to the Amish life. There are also two other things I really loved! One is the dictionary in the back. While I have read a lot of Amish books to the point of being able to translate Pen. Dutch enough to not have to use these dictionaries any more; I still love them! They are great when you just aren't sure if a word means what you think it means, and for beginning Amish readers (and very considerate I might add). And secondly I LOVE LOVE LOVE the recipes!!! I have long wanted to try Shoofly Pie and after Saving Gideon I am going to!!! The pace is wonderful, not too slow but not too fast, and the times of faith and humility are lovely. If you are looking for a book that shows the dynamics of the Amish family and community, that teaches you God's ways and knowledge and ours can be something completely different, and that coming back from grief is possible this is the book for you! :) All and all a fabulous Amish read!!! :) I've already started the sequel! ;)
There are many songs that can be wonderfully paired with Saving Gideon. Here are some of the ones I think go: (This one is right out of the book! :))"Shoop Shoop Song (It's In His Kiss) [From Mermaids]" by The Hollywood Session Group,
"Hello (Album Version)" by Lionel Richie,
"Worn" by Tenth Avenue North,
and finally, while the songs above have something to do with this book, there is really just one song that I think fully encompasses all of what Saving Gideon is.
"God gave me you" by Blake Shelton it is an excellent fit!
Exodus 14:14
~ASC
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can Love Prevail?

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This definitely is a 5 star book and that is just what it is getting from me. This in not your typical Amish fiction book. I am sure once you read this book you will agree with me.
I loved the main characters Gideon Fisher and Avery Ann Hamilton. God's timing leads Avery to the simple life that she needs and to a hurting Amish man who has no reason to go on living. Gideon just wants to be left alone. The spunky Avery isn't about to let that happen.
There is more to this book than just a great entertaining read. The reader sees that God's hand is on both Gideon and Avery. Will Gideon learn to live again? Can he trust and forgive God? Can he forgive himself and learn to have faith again? Will Avery find peace and happiness in this Amish community? Will she discover the love God has for her?
I have found a new author to add to my list. I might add that I am happy that I did. I am looking forward to Amy Lillard's next book, Katie's Choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
LizD1
Location:AL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Saving Gideon" is an awesome book... First thing I can say about it is WOW . It is a very good read. "Saving Gideon" is a beautiful Amish romance story of bringing two difference characters of two difference worlds together and learning to trust God .
Avery Ann Hamilton is a rich socialite from Dallas. She left one night and decided to surprise her fiancé by telling him she would marry him right away. She got to this back woods country of Clover Ridge Oklahoma where he was staying in this motel. She opens the door, finds him with another woman and enough to know he only loved her for her money. Poor little rich girl. Avery leaves the motel and drives in this spring snowstorm. She can't see anything. She runs off the road into a field and the car flips over and over. She lays her head over on the steering wheel and the car horn blows...
Gideon Fisher is an Amish farmer who has lost his wife and son in an accident about a year ago . He has lost the will to live ,love again, and to serve his God. Gideon just wants to be left alone.One night he was outside and heard a car horn blowing.looking around and sees a car out in his field. He finds a beautiful woman in nearly nothing laying over the steering wheel . What was he to do?? To far to go for help.. Gideon gets Avery and her Louie V. sweet little Yorkie back to his house.
Avery is in no hurry to go anywhere . She has no car and she just want to hide out from everyone for a while. There is some feeling beginning between the two. Gideon thinking now what will the Elders do if they hear of an Englisher woman staying with him?? Annie is the name Gideon starts to call her, is not ready to leave this simple life.. Annie is beginning to care for Gideon, but she has been hurt so many times before .. Can she trust another man . Will Annie help or hurt Gideon ? Can she help him to see his way back to God ? Can a rich girl from Dallas that is use to the rich life ever live a simple life? Gideon knows he should let Annie go..Will they both listen to God to find the right way. Can the two from difference worlds find their way? You will absolutely love this book as I did. If you love Amish and romance books you will love this book with The Amish and Englisher .Don't forget Katie's Choice book 2 in The Clover ridge novel series will release May 1, 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book! This is the first book in the Clover Ridge series and in it we are introduced to two characters from extremely opposite ends of the spectrum of society. Gideon is an Amish man who suffered a horrible loss when his wife and son died. He is struggling with his faith, withdrawing away from his family and Amish support and basically waiting to die so that he can join those he loved and lost. Avery is a rich socialite, stuck in a world of trying to please her father and has yet to find someone who will love her for herself, not her money. At the beginning of the book, we learn that Avery caught her fiancé cheating on her and realized that he was also just after her father's money. She wrecks her car in a snowstorm and Gideon rescues her. This is how they meet. It is just the beginning in a very captivating story. I had trouble putting it down. Both characters change and the love they begin to feel for each other is sweet. Amy Lillard develops the characters so well. I enjoyed watching them grow to love each other and wondered how it could all work out in the end. But it did, and was an extremely enjoyable journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Anything is possible

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read from Amy Lillard and I enjoyed it greatly. The first thing I have to say is, I was amazed there are Amish in Oklahoma. I love it! Love that someone has written a story about it. Secondly I want to say I really liked this book, Amy Lillard is very skilled at storytelling. One thing that I noticed is that the setting is a new setting for an Amish story, and I mean more than just being in Oklahoma. I cannot remember reading an Amish story where a wealthy Englischer ends up staying with an Amish widower. While it seems a bit implausible, I am finding that the Amish are as different as we are, so anything is possible. A great story, and I look forward to the next book in this series. 4 stars! This book was provided for review purposes only and no payment was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accidental Changes!

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two very different worlds collide when an accident catapults Avery Ann Hamilton into Gideon Fisher's world. Avery has lived her entire life in a world of wealth and high society. After discovering her fiance in the arms of another woman, Avery became lost in a blizzard. Unable to see the road in front of her, she lost control of her car and crashed into a field in Amish country. Gideon has suffered unthinkable loss, the accidental drowning of his wife and young son. Leaving the farm he shared with his beloved family Gideon has sequestered himself from his Amish community, waiting and hoping for death to take him too. The sound of a car horn honking alerted him to the discovery of Avery, unconscious and slumped over her steering wheel. Gideon carefully removed her and her little dog from the wreckage, and brought them to the safety of his farm.
What will the Amish community think when they discover Gideon's young Englische house guest? Gideon is still consumed with grief and guilt, unable to move forward with his life. As Avery recuperates she has numerous questions regarding the Amish and their simple lifestyle, and begins to appreciate the peace and quiet of the farm. Can two very different people find peace and harmony with so many overwhelming differences?
Amy Lillard takes a very different approach in her Amish fiction novel, "Saving Gideon." Her characters are from opposite ends of the spectrum, one extreme to the other. Avery is transformed from a minimal faith life to a yearning for the love of God, and through the German bible, develops a strong faith. These charming characters are lovable and personable, yet stubborn and one is particularly resistant to change. The unlikely blending of an Amish man with a very Englische woman is questionable, but as the story develops, Avery begins to take part in the Amish ways and Gideon tries to ignore what he can, and tolerates what he can't. I loved the story of Avery and Gideon, and highly recommend it! I'm looking forward to the sequel to see what is in store for Gideon's family!
Disclaimer: For the purposes of FTC compliance, I hereby state that I have no vested financial interest in this book, and I have received no monetary compensation from the author or publisher. I received a copy of this book from the author for the purpose of my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CAPTIVATING STORY OF FAITH,FAMILY AND LOVE!

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
SAVING GIDEON by Amy Lillard is an interesting inspirational romance set in Oklahoma Amish country. A Debut author and the first in the "Clover Ridge" series. And what a beginning "Saving Gideon" is,with engaging characters and a well written,interesting plot. Follow Gideon Fisher and Avery Ann Hamilton on a journey of healing,forgiveness,faith and love. With a difference in social status,faith status,a blossoming romance,will they find their second chance in love? Gideon has lost everything with the death of his wife and son. Avery has a broken heart. A captivating, story of family,faith and love. While, the plot is a little different,it is a wonderful read,one I would recommend if you enjoy Amish,Englischers,second chances and a life with turmoil and tragedy. An author to watch. I look forward to the next installment in the "Clover Ridge" series. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn LLC.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review: Saving Gideon

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Saving Gideon" by Amy Lillard is the first book in an Amish romance series set in the fictional town of Clover Ridge, Oklahoma. Ms. Lillard takes lead characters from two seemingly incompatible worlds - Old Order Amish and the English world of a Dallas socialite - on a journey of self discovery and healing.
Description:
"Gideon Fisher wants one thing out of life -- to be left alone. This is not the Amish way, but he’s devastated after the death of his wife and son to the point of losing his faith. He buys a farm on the outskirts of the district and pulls away from his community. But when a freak spring snowstorm brings a beautiful Englisher to his farm, Gideon has no choice but to let her in."
I found "Saving Gideon" to be a thoroughly enjoyable story. Gideon, burdened with grief and guilt over the deaths of his wife and son, withdraws from the Amish community. Avery, upset over the betrayal of her boyfriend, has an accident during a spring snowstorm and is rescued by Gideon. Thus begins a journey of self discovery and healing for both.
I don't always find the "Englisher-becoming-Amish" storyline enjoyable, especially when the Englisher is wealthy or has no Amish background, but this book was an exception. The tender romance between Gideon and Avery was developed slowly and with subtle humor. A cute theme was Gideon's growing fondness for Avery's pedigreed Yorkie, Louie V, described by Gideon as "punier than a barn cat."
The faith journey theme was also developed slowly and realistically. Avery felt that "Faith was believing that God would take care of the problems they faced. . . . Gideon still had faith. It had been trampled on and nearly taken from him in his grief, but it was still there, shimmering below the surface, just waiting to be rediscovered."
Some may find the romance between Gideon and Avery unrealistic, but that didn't make the book any less enjoyable for me. Anyone who enjoys inspirational Amish fiction should like "Saving Gideon." There were several interesting secondary characters, such as Gideon's parents and his brother's family, and I hope they will be featured later in the series. Book number two, "Katie's Choice," will be published in May 2013.
To learn more about Amy Lillard and her novels, visit her website:
http://amywritesromance.com/
This book was provided by B&H Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Warm, Sweet Romance

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy Lillard in her new book, “Saving Gideon” Book One in the Clover Ridge series published by B&H Publishing Group takes us into the lives of Gideon Fisher and Avery Ann Hamilton.
From the back cover: “Are you all right? You had a wreck.” “My whole life is a wreck. Where am I?”
Gideon Fisher wants one thing out of life — to be left alone. That is not the Amish way, but he’s devastated after the death of his wife and son to the point of losing his faith. He has pulled away from the community. But when a sudden spring snowstorm brings a beautiful Englisher to his remote farm, what choice does Gideon have but to let her in?
The Amish farmer who pulls her out of the snow and into his austere lifestyle intrigues Dallas socialite Avery Ann Hamilton. Poor little rich girl, she has just gone through another bad breakup. Every man she meets only really wants her father’s money. All she has ever wanted is to be loved for who she is. Avery soon discovers the Oklahoma Amish country is the perfect place to hide out and heal her broken heart.
But there’s a peace in those back roads that she’s never felt before. Now her life has purpose and meaning as she connects with God and those around her. Yet there’s something more as she begins to care for this man who needs both love and forgiveness.
Gideon never wanted to live again much less fall in love, but Avery finds her way into his heart, showing him the beauty of life and spirit. As feelings between the two grow, can they overcome their sheer differences, or will those differences pull them apart?
“Saving Gideon” is a gentle romance of two individuals who need each other but do not know it at first. Both Gideon and Avery have their unique issues of pain and loss and it is difficult to trust and try again when you have been through what they have been through. Ms. Lillard gave us a rare treat to experience how the two of them come to realize their need of each other and start their healing. This book is a wonderful adventure filled with great characters that we have come to love and root for. “Saving Gideon” is a beautiful story about never-ending hope and faith in God that He can work out everything. I liked this book I think you will as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Wynn-Wynn Media. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Avery had planned to surprise her fiancé and show up at his hotel ready to elope but what she finds is him with another woman. She is trying to get back to the airport but finds herself in the middle of a spring snowstorm in the back country of Oklahoma and ends up in an accident and hurt. Amish man Gideon finds her and brings her back to his house to heal. Gideon is dealing with the death of his wife and child and has been living almost as a hermit has he grieves. Avery is able to help him start living again but will his community allow her to remain or will she end up back in her high profile life with only the memory of Gideon and his people?
This book was different. I have never read anything quite like this so it was a unique storyline for sure.
What I liked: I liked the characters. My heart broke for Gideon as he was still grieving his wife and son. Avery just wanted to live her life her way and she felt trapped by her dad and she felt like her life had no meaning. I also liked Gideon’s family.
What I did not like: I am going to be honest and say even though I liked this book and how well written it was I just don’t see this being at all realistic and that took some of the enjoyment out of this book for me. The idea of a very rich girl falling for an Amish man just seems to far fetched.. Yes it could happen but how likely? Also the community was very understanding of the situation and I am not sure they would have been that understanding.
Over all I enjoyed this book and look forward to the rest of the series where we will learn more about this family. It may be a little far fetched but it’s a good read and I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect blend of two genres in one!

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The rain turned slowly into snow. The change happened so gradually that Avery Ann Hampton hardly noticed the slushy drops had built up on the blades of her windshield wipers.
Great. Just great.
As if being in this backwoods part of Oklahoma weren't enough. First the rain...and now she had to deal with snow.
And slick roads.
And...heartbreak.
She should have stayed in Dallas, but no. Instead, she had wanted to surprise her fiance' by showing up in the Sooner State where he was scoping out land for on-location shoots. She would surprise him and tell him that he had won. She'd caved. He begged her to elope to Vegas with him, but she had been holding out for the big wedding: long, white dress; horse-drawn carriage; and doves released at sunset.
She parked next to her Mercedes - loaned to Jack for this trip - sitting off to one side. She stepped up to the unlocked motel room door, pulled it open, and saw...
Enough.
Enough to know that Jack had used her. Enough to know that he had never really loved her, and enough to know that he - like everyone else - had used her for her father's money.
As she continued to drive listening to the turn by turn directions from her GPS, she noticed the weather was getting worse and it was becoming more difficult to see. As she jumped at the sound of the GPS voice, and pulled the wheel to the left, she found herself hydroplaning in the mud and slush and flipping over and over again until she passed out while her car horn blared through the snowy night.
Gideon Fisher bolted upright. He body trembled. Sweat poured off him. He'd had the dream again. How many times in the last eleven months had he had that dream? More than he could count. More than he wanted to count. Even with his eyes open, he saw them still, his family, Jaime and Miriam. Every night he dreamed he could save them. Every night he failed.
As he shuffled into the kitchen and stoked the fire, a far-off wail captured his attention. It sounded like...well, it sounded like a car horn. He shook his head. His nearest Englisch neighbor was a two-mile walk through the pasture. They were good neighbors. They never gave him strange looks or tried to take his picture. And they never blew their car horn at this time of night.
Someone was in trouble. No one made a racket like that in the middle of the night without there being something wrong. He headed off down the road. Probably some irresponsible Englisch teenager with more money than sense. Most likely took the corner too fast for the weather and veered off the road. Gideon shook those thoughts aside as he drew nearer to the car. The clear light from the lantern flashed off the shiny silver paint - and even shinier chrome of a crumpled-up fender. He was no expert on Englisch automobiles, but he could tell this one was very costly and very damaged.
He wasn't sure what he would find, but it surely wasn't this wisp of a woman slumped over the steering wheel, her forehead pressed against the horn. As Gideon gently removed her from the car, and totted her small dog in his bag, he carried them both back to his house before they both froze to death in this weather. He could only hope she wasn't hurt internally, and that by moving her he hadn't sealed her death. He couldn't stand another life on his conscience." (pg 2-7).
In the latest novel from Amy Lillard, Saving Gideon, takes the reader into the lives of Avery Hampton, a wealthy Dallas socialite whose been struggling with finding a man who can truly love her despite her father's wealth, and that of Gideon Fisher, an Oklahoma Amish farmer whose been looking to find a way to restore his faith in people once again and begin to live a life without the loneliness that has been plaguing him. As feelings between the two grow, can they overcome their sheer differences, or will those differences pull them apart.
I received Saving Gideon by Amy Lillard compliments of B & H Publishing Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance book tours for my honest review. I simply love it when an author combines some of my favorite genres together to make a perfect blend of something new, in this case, Amish romance and contemporary romance. In fact, I often wondered what might happen if an English woman were to fall in love with an Amish man. How would they work through their differences? Would they be able to find common ground and still keep part of their former lives, or would it require a complete sacrifice on the behalf of one or the other? To find out what happens, you'll have to pick up a copy of Saving Gideon for yourself. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saving Gideon, Clover Ridge Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Author Does Fantastic!

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book is fantastic. I love Annie and how she ends up in Amish country. You will learn to really care about the characters in this one. Gideon comes back to life after losing his wife and son in an accident. Avery...annie in amish country...evolves as well from a very rich pampered girl to a plain living girl and loving it. She finds herself among the amish family she is thrown into. THis is a real sweet story and I cant wait for Mrs. Lillard to write another book. I really enjoyed this one and Im sure you will too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.