Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3

B&H Books Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3

Rachel Yoder has two choices: marry Gabriel Fisher or move to Ohio. As an orphan, Rachel doesn't have much to offer; any match she can make will be a good one. She just didn't plan on Gabriel with his big hands and permanent frown.As a widower Gabriel needs help caring for the farm and his six children. But he never thought he'd marry a slip of a girl who barely reaches his chin.

Yet as time passes, Gabriel finds himself thinking about a real marriage. They have spoken vows to God and each other, but can he risk his heart with Rachel?

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Review 1 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best in the series!

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you read the intro to Gabriel’s Bride, you’ll see right away that it was written at a particularly difficult time for Amy Lillard.
Instead of letting the events she was dealing with at the time deter her, she made the brave decision to forge ahead and, while she did not allow the sadness to make this book depressing, she did allow her feelings to fuel a deeply emotional story that is the best of this series – at least in my humble opinion.
Amy Lillard is a truly gifted author.
This is a book that everyone should read, whether they enjoy Amish fiction or not.
It is a story of loss, yes – but it is also a story about redemption and the amazing wonder of life and love.
I don’t know what Amy has planned for her next book but I really hope she plans to write more about this series, these people.
And I know her website says this book is the last in the Clover Ridge series but Clover Ridge has become a favorite place of mine and I hope Amy finds a way to share more with us in some way or another about the wonderful community of Clover Ridge.
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Convenience Sake!

Date:March 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabriel Fisher has been widowed for six years, and has his hands full with five sons and a large farm to manage. His daughter recently left home during her rumspringa in order to continue her education, and his sister is planning for her upcoming wedding. With no alternative, his only option was to hire someone to manage his household and monitor the children.
Sadly, Rachel Yoder's aunt passed away leaving her homeless and alone, aside from distant cousins in Ohio. In order to remain in her Amish community in Oklahoma she takes the job as housekeeper for Gabriel in lieu of moving to Ohio to live with relative strangers. Gabriel agreed to allow her to bring her goats to his farm, an option that she was not allowed if she were to move to Ohio. Not considering the repercussions involved in the Amish community, Gabriel agreed for Rachel to live in his daughter's vacant room at the farm. The bishop of their district has other ideas when he discovers that Gabriel has an unmarried housekeeper living in his home.
A quick marriage arrangement takes place out of convenience for both Gabriel and Rachel. Gabriel's children don't take kindly to the idea as they still hold their mother close in their hearts, and the new housekeeper turned wife becomes easily distracted from her chores and has a penchant for burning nearly everything she cooks! Six-year-old Samuel is the exception to the rule. A Down syndrome child with learning disabilities, Samuel loves everything about Rachel, and becomes very attached to her. Rachel loves his sweet and affectionate nature and can't imagine her life without him. So begins a journey of joy and sadness, fun and games, mishaps and adventures, disappointment and desolation.
Returning to Clover Ridge, Oklahoma in the third installment of this series is pure delight, with moments of hilarity and occasions of emotional upheaval and heartbreak. Amy Lillard has written another wonderful Amish novel of love, tenderness, humor and despair, all rolled into a wonderful and emotional read. Amy is very talented in painting a pictorial representation of the locale, the Amish farms and surrounding area. I was impressed by that quality from "Saving Gideon" as well, the first book in this series. The characters throughout this book are very personalized and colorful, with traits that make you love them, and in some cases, dislike them, but in getting to know them personally this is a very enjoyable part of the story. I highly recommend Gabriel's Bride. This is a far different viewpoint from many Amish fiction stories, one that I particularly enjoyed. The books in this series can also be read as stand alone stories, but I recommend the entire series for your reading pleasure!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from B&H Publishing Groups in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Addition to the Clover Ridge series.

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There’s something about reading a book that you have been anticipating for so long that is extra special. That is how I feel about Gabriel’s Bride. From the moment I “met” Gabriel in the first book of this series, Saving Gideon, I wanted to find out how his story would turn out. I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, I will go on to say that it was even better than I could have imagined. I have enjoyed every book in the Clover Ridge series and if you are a fan of Amish fiction, this is a series that you should consider reading.
The premise of the book is that Rachel Yoder and Gabriel Fisher choose to enter into a marriage of convenience. For Rachel, it is an opportunity to stay in the Clover Ridge community. For Gabriel, it means that he will have the housekeeper that he needs. Both, of course, feel that they will be able to honor the agreement, but we, the readers, know that there will be so much more to the story than just that.
All of the characters in this book are so well-written. Even the side characters and the children have distinct personalities and make for a well-rounded story. Rachel is so sweet and the trouble she has running the household makes her dear to my heart. She is kind and loving to all and just trying to make things work in her new role of “wife” while managing her changing feelings. Gabriel is such a solid, good man. He loves his children, he loves his late wife, and he is working hard to honor God with his position in the community. What Gabriel is not good at is expressing his true feelings. Fear of how the other will react greatly influences many decisions made by Gabriel and Rachel and makes for a truly satisfying read.
The author has done a lovely job with the whole series and this book is a wonderful addition. I hope to someday read the stories of some of the other characters from Clover Ridge, such as John Paul or Mary Elizabeth. If ever these stories are written, I know they will be well worth the wait.
I received a complimentary copy of Gabriel’s Bride from the author in exchange for an honest review, which I have given. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Fantastic Book

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Yoder has two choices: marry Gabriel Fisher or move to Ohio and as an orphan, she doesn't have much to offer. As a widower Gabriel needs help caring for his farm and six children. Will this marriage of convenience work and could it ever become real love?
Gabriel's Bride is the third book in the Clover Ridge Series. It's a fantastic book showing happiness and joy can come from sadness and uncertainty when you open your heart. The storyline stays true to the Amish beliefs and values, but also shows how life can be painful and have many blessings. I love the author's style of writing. Keeps your attention from the beginning to the end. Amy Lillard is a marvelous author and I highly recommend reading Gabriel's Bride. Also, I recommend reading Book #1 "Saving Gideon" and Book #2 "Katie's Choice" of the Clover Ridge Series, if you haven't read these books. You would be missing some fantastic reading.
I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. This review is one hundred percent my opinion and no monetary compensation was received for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ending!

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dali
Location:SB, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely loved Gabriel's Bride, which is book 3 of Amy Lillard's A Clover Ridge Novel series! It begins with Rachel Yoder's aunt having just passed away and Rachel's world getting turned upside down in more ways than one. Not only has she just lost her surrogate parent, but she also finds out that she cannot stay living in her aunt's house. Her only choice is to move to Ohio with relatives that she barely knows, which would also mean leaving behind her precious goats and abandoning her cheese making business.
Gabriel Fisher is a widower raising six children. The oldest, Mary Elizabeth, has left unexpectedly, to pursue an education in the English world, leaving Gabriel alone with his five boys, the youngest of which has Down Syndrome. Gabriel decides the best solution to his problem is to hire a live in housekeeper, which works out all good and well until......
Well, the rest of the story, written in total Amy Lillard fashion, works through Rachel and Gabriel's relationship, loaded with ups and downs, sadness and joy, as well as romance and comedy that combined together make for a great ending to a wonderful series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an AWESOME read.

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
LizD1
Location:AL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabriel's Bride
by Amy Lillard
Gabriel's Bride is the third novel in The Clover Ridge Series and it is awesome. I am a big fan of Amy Lillard and I love her books. They are good clean books and when you start reading one you do not want to put it down. Rachel Yoder is an orphan and a young Amish woman who lives in Clover Ridge, Oklahoma. She is being forced to move and she has an offer to move to Ohio. Now if she does move to Ohio she can't carry her goats ,which she really loves. There would be a lot of changes for her. She meets Gabriel Fisher and thinks that he is so big and he has this awful frown all the time. Gabriel Fisher is a widow and is having a hard time taking care of his five boys at home. His oldest daughter, Mary Elizabeth left home to further her schooling. These five boys is a hand full. He can't take care of all their needs and work his farm. He needs help. Gabriel comes up with the idea of hiring a housekeeper to help out. Who could he get, he don't know of anyone that has the time to help him. One day he runs into Rachel Yoder. He decides to ask her if she would want the job since she is going to have to move anyway. Now Rachel has two choices , she can move to Ohio or move in and be housekeep for Gabriel and his five boys. Now The Bishop does not like this arrangement and he has other ideas . He tells them Rachel has to move or they have to get married. Get married ,neither one of them wants to do that. Gabriel and Rachel agrees this would be a marriage of convenience since both were having their problems. Rachel would still be a housekeeper. Would this work out? I will stop before I give to much away.
I was given a copy of this book from B and H Publishing Group for my honest review and I have given it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Rachel Yoder has two choices: marry Gabriel Fisher or move to Ohio. As an orphan, Rachel doesn’t have much to offer; any match she can make will be a good one. She just didn’t plan on Gabriel with his big hands and permanent frown.
As a widower Gabriel needs help caring for the farm and his six children. But he never thought he’d marry a slip of a girl who barely reaches his chin.
Yet as time passes, Gabriel finds himself thinking about a real marriage. They have spoken vows to God and each other, but can he risk his heart with Rachel?
About the Author:
Amy Lillard is an award-winning writer who loves reading romance novels from contemporary to Amish. Born and bred in Mississippi, she now lives with her husband and son in Oklahoma.
My Review:
Rachel Yoder knew her life was not the typical Amish way of life for a young girl of marrying age but she was happy and content nonetheless. She was content that is until the death of her precious Aunt Katherine. Shortly after Aunt Katherine's death Rachel soon learns of the status of her estate and that the bank actually owns her house and the property. So Rachel is faced with a dilemma. She has to come up with a different plan because before long she will no longer have a place to live.
Gabriel Fisher finds himself alone raising 6 children several years after his wife's death. It has been very difficult for him trying to run a household, a farm, and raise his children. So its not long before he gives the advice old Deacon Esh some serious thought and starts to realize that he is indeed spread too thin. Trying to take care of his children and get the planting done has started to take its toll.
Rachel has an offer from a relative to move away and she has an offer from Gabriel, but what does the Lord want her to do that is her only concern, as well it should. Will these two God fearing people be able to come together and give these children a family once again and experience love together as God intended? Or will it turn out to be a big disaster?
**Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge for my honest review from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Once again we are in Clover Ridge, I love these stories because most generally I can picture the are, because I have been through there before, having had friends live in the Pryor area. Gabriel and his children have always pulled at my heart strings through-out this series, so I was happy to read his story. I chuckled and laughed at the stunts the boys pulled, but was grieved and cried as they faced their fears of loosing the memories of their mom. Amy is a great story-teller and this book does not disappoint. A great story that you do NOT want to miss. 5 stars from this reviewer, who looks forward to the next Amy Lillard book!
Many thanks to B&H Publishing for sending this book for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looking For A Great Book To Read? This Is It!

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabriel’s Bride is the third book in this series. I want to add, if you haven’t read Saving Gideon and Katie’s Choice I strongly suggest you do before reading this one. This could be read alone I suppose but you don’t want to miss out on knowing the characters from the previous books.
Goodness, where shall I begin. Author Amy Lillard made this book come to life for me. I immediately fell in love with Rachel Yoder; perhaps it is because she reminds me of what I have been through and I can sympathize with her.
Gabriel Fisher, he frustrated me through-out most of this book. I must say that Rachel did too at times. They could not see what was right there in front of them. Have you ever talked to characters in a book before? I most certainly was trying to talk some sense into both of them!
One character that captured my heart and held it during this story was Samuel Fisher. Oh the innocence of little children. I know you will agree with me when you find out what I am talking about. No spoilers here!!
Being stubborn, lack of faith, being afraid of unknown circumstances, and being afraid to step out of our comfort zone was evidenced in this book. Being a Christian I loved how my beloved characters learned how to put their faith and trust in God through Bible scriptures and prayer.
Amy Lillard, I loved this whole series but Gabriel’s Bride is my favorite. Thank you and B&H Publishing Group for graciously giving me a copy of this book to read and review. I loved it and I am giving it a 5 star rating!
The opinions written in this review are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Visit Back in Oklahoma

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful story, and a refreshing visit with some old friends. I loved being back in the Oklahoma community.
This is the third book in this series, and although you don't have to read the first to to read this one, I would recommend you do.
Come along with people who really live their faith. Rather than go against their beliefs, they form a marriage of convenience. I cannot really imagine myself doing this, but it was at the time the only option available. Or was it? Was this the will of God?
I loved the interaction between Rachael and Samuel, you could see their bond and love grow. The other boys were little devils, messing with the house and her cooking! Then their are the jumping amphibians and grasshoppers, can you imagine the mess in the house. We also the joy that is brought forth by being a family.
Come a long for a sweet visit, once you start you won't want to leave.
I received this book Net Galley, and the Publisher B & H Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gabriel's Bride, Clover Ridge Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am hooked on this series, YES, it's that great!

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Choices, choices? But which is the right path to take? If only she had a definitive answer. Will God answer her prayers? Rachel Yoder is still dealing with the death of her only family member, her Aunt Katherine, she is now faced with finding a new place to live. Unlike most Amish families, her Aunt Katherine took out a reverse mortgage on her home and land. Now that she has passed away, the bank now owns the property and despite all of Rachel's pleas to make the payments, she has no other choice but to find somewhere else to move.
It seems her only option is moving to Ohio where her Katherine had some cousins that could definitely use her help raising eleven children. His wife has been ill lately and could use the help around the house if she is willing to come. But what other choice does she have? She can only pray that they might be willing to take her goats as well since she has been making a living with their milk and cheese. But Ohio? So far away.
"There is no one here that would take her in. No one who would help without needing something in return. For her to care for their children or cook their meals. No one who would understand how important it was for her to keep her goats and make her cheese. To understand how important it was for her to make her own way. Once again she was adrift. Alone in the world. Except this time she was twenty-six, not ten. This time she was an adult, though she still felt like a frightened child who had come here all the way from Florida to live with a maiden aunt after her parents had died in that awful accident.
"The district will have to choose a new deacon, and I'm putting your name in."
A dozen conflicting emotions swamped Gabriel. He wasn't worthy. He was a widower. He didn't need the responsibility while he was alone now and struggling to raise his children.
"I'll say that I'd rather you didn't." Being a deacon, or any of the chosen leaders, was no easy job. Aside from feeling like he wasn't worthy, he simply wasn't up for it.
""It'll do you good son."
Gabriel took a deep breath, slowing the mad thump of his heart. Just because his name went into the lot wouldn't mean he would be chosen. Only God knew the outcome.
"Course'n it'd be better if you were married."
He had no intention of getting married again. He'd been so blessed before, marrying a woman he loved with all his heart. Then the Lord had seen fit to take her home at the same time He gave them Samuel. Gabriel would never love like that again. Having experienced it once before, it wasn't fair to ask another to enter into a relationship that was not was wondrous. Oh, he knew that he'd had something so special with Rebecca, he couldn't settle for less. He's make do in his life, knowing that once he had held the world in his arms.
But the little voice whispered in his head. He no longer had a woman partner, someone - anyone - to help with chores and teaching the boys the ways of women. Katie Rose was getting ready to get married and Mary Elizabeth was gone, her love of animals and desire for an education pushing her into the Englisch world. His mother was doing well after her cancer treatments a couple of years back, but she was not as strong as she used to be. Gideon's Annie was going to deliver their first child soon. No, all the women in his life were busy living their own lives. Oh, they would help if he asked, but he didnt' feel that was fair, nor was getting married again. He'd just have to manage.
"I don't think - "
Esh shushed him with a wave of one hand. "You just be open to whatever God has in store for you."
There was no way to argue with that. "Jah, Deacon. I will at that." (Excerpt pg 13-14).
Welcome to Gabriel's Bride, the third book by Amy Lillard in her Clover Ridge series that has completed captivated my heart and soul! Both Rachel and Gabriel have pressing matters in which a marriage of convenience would work well for, but even though it seems like the perfect arrangement, neither of them are prepared for what lies in store for them. For Rachel she has to contend with trying to find a way to cook and clean when she appears to not be able to manage anything without burning or scorching something in the process. Gabriel has to battle the feelings that he finds stirring in his heart now that Rachel is living under his roof even though they have agreed to keep things platonic between them. It's the perfect recipe for romance and a whole lot of laughs along the way.
I received Gabriel's Bride by Amy Lillard compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. I have been completely charmed by this series because Amy creates a delightful cast of characters that keeps you coming back for more just to know what is happening in their lives. It's hard to believe that your simply reading a great novel and these characters only exist on the pages of this book and not in real life. They aren't perfect but have their own set of flaws much like we all do. I believe that is what makes readers sit up and take notice. Congratulations Amy Lillard, you've hooked me and created such a craving for this series, I am officially addicted. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and it even includes a discussion guide that is great for book clubs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.