Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Leafwood The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom

Leafwood The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom

In Cathy Messecar's The Stained Glass Pickup discover God waiting for you in unpredictable places. A denim-clad rancher, an orphan train adoptee, and a wedding dress become road signs pointing to God's wisdom. Encounter the Almighty in a Houston theater, a cross, and a "grace shaker."

Through poignant stories, Cathy points you to the One who created you---the One who is waiting for you in the details and chaos of everyday life. With 52 inspiring chapters, this makes a wonderful gift book.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Review 1 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah Cavitt
Cathy Messecar catches a stained glass view of every day life in Gods creations. Her insight is shown in short, two-page stories, which enlighten us to look at the world with awe and wonderment. I had planned to read this 127-page book in one evening yet the stories capture your heart, soul, and mind. They make you think using parts of your brain never tapped until now. You must take time to ponder about the cowboy in his stained glass pickup and his prayer for his daughter, or the grandpas worn and frayed work coat, or the trust of a four year old and her parents. Kathy Messecar ties these every day happenings, which most of us take for granted, with the passages of the Bible with such ease. Each story ends with a prayer to remind us He is our provider, our strength, and our creator. Thanks Cathy for writing a book that inspires us to be His in every way every day a blessing in His Name.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lois V. Chapman
Ms Messecar's insights are awesome. That she sees the Lord's hand in our lives and takes the time to put her awareness into print for others is praise-worthy to the Lord. God has given her such bounty, and she uses it to His credit! Praise God! Lois V. Chapman, Councilor-at-Large, The Poetry Society of Texas. Brownwood, TX
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2006
The cover photo with a small traditional church and an old pickup truck resting in a harvested grain field drew me in.These short devotionals are full of wise observations and advice.Its hard to pick a favorite; one is Making Room for Essentials which reminded me of how unimportant my trinkets and all my earthly treasures are. When a daughter admired a Prussian princess figurine of her moms, and said she would love to have the figurine one day, the author wisely said She hasnt traveled in a while. Take her now.I highly treasure my copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Trish Berg
Don't let the small size of this amazing book mislead you. It might be small in package, put it packs a big punch of faith.Messecar is able to take the smallest of moments of everyday life and see the big picture, find glimpses of God. And she shares her hope and faith with readers in great little short devotions you can read in less than five minutes each.For busy moms like me, it's the perfect daily devotional.Trish Berg, Author and Speaker
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Karen Robbins
In the easy comfortable style reminiscent of a ride through the country in a pickup truck, Cathy Messecar shares stories of inspiration and messages of God's care and love for us. It is a beautiful gift book for any occasion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Brenda Nixon
I sat on my deck in the summer sun and read several of these pithy devotionals. Cathy has the art of painting colorful word pictures, drawing spiritual lessons from earthly experiences, and polishing it with a summary prayer. I can't say which is my favorite, but I especially enjoyed "Making Room for Essentials," "Leaning on Jesus," and "A Whole Bunch on Nothing." This 128-page "pocket" book would be an excellent resource for discussion-starters, an opening devotion for a group meeting, or personal inspiration or given as a gift to Moms, Dads, Grads and others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mary E. Wacaster
Cathy has taken the shattered pieces of life's "stained glass" and grinding the edges softly, puts them together with silver came from God's word to give us a beautiful window through which we can see the colorful warmth of God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Stained Glass Pickup: Glimpses of God's Uncommon Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Melody
Cathy Mescar has a way of weaving her words with common elements we use everyday making her writing become 3-D enabling us to see God in unexpected places. I highly recommend this book for personal devotional and gift giving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.