Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover

B&H Books What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover

Whether you are just beginning your faith journey, or have been a believer for decades, What Every Christian Ought to Know will establish you in the core Truths of the Bible, equip you to confidently articulate your faith, and empower you to live a dynamic Christian life. In his refreshingly relatable style, Dr. Rogers covers essential topics such as salvation, eternal security, prayer, the Holy Spirit, resisting temptation, and finding God's will, and unpacks their practical application for your every day Christian walk.

One of Adrian Rogers' most popular books, this new edition includes an introduction from Steve Rogers, president of the Adrian Rogers Pastor Training Institute, plus discussion questions for personal reflection or group study.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Review 1 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly Awesome!

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:West Point, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to read and understand. Should be given to all new Believers as a primer in a new members class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
savedsoul
Location:British Columbia , Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book and all of the information it presents about Christianity and the Bible. It gives you great ammo for discussions. I have recommended this book to many people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent primer for new members

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ozarkman
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adrian Rogers did a great job on nailing down the basic doctrines we all need to know in our walk with Christ. It requires little additional material to present it to a group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adrian Rogers was the best

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mr Jim
Location:Fairborn, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr Rogers puts all his books in common everyday language that anyone can understand. Every statement he makes is Biblically based. Every book is for everyone believers as well as non-believers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for understanding the basic foundation

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's ironic that for many who practice the Christian faith, knowing just the simple basic foundations of being a Christian and the Bible, is often missing.
Filled with study questions to not only reinforce the most basic understanding of the foundations of Christianity, but also to serve for either personal or group study, "What Ever Christian Ought to Know" seeks to help new, maturing, or "I didn't know that" Christians (and non-Christians) understand the basic foundations that play a part in the Christian faith.
This is not an in depth book that is going to cover everything under the sun and the moon and the stars, but I like how it does approach the basic of the basics, with scriptural backing and enough coverage to provide anyone with a starting point to go from, particularly with many churches, these days not teaching really, the foundation of the Christian faith.
Not, "preachy" or dry, "What Ever Christian Ought to Know" is filled with personal anecdotal stories that bring a personal tough to understanding the basic Christian doctrines and as the epilogue shares with the reader, its about growing in the faith, not just or about knowing about the Christian faith.
Twelve chapters long and covering key points, friendly, interesting, the book doesn't cover the "hot topics" if that is what the reader is looking for, instead this is a book about encouraging and taking the time to understand what the Bible is about, what following Christ is all about and not about hitting the hot topics that are prevalent these days and in conversations that people will and might encounter in their daily lives.
Looking for down points, it would have been nice if there was an appendix outlining the topics with related scripture or even an index, however, given this is a primer that is created for easy reading, yet with deep meaning, arguably this is a book that I would recommend to new, maturing or maybe even just those who are curious about the Christian faith, due to the book not being too heavy that it would lose a person's interest.
I would't recommend this book if the reader was looking for a book with deeper discussions, but for myself, I felt this was a very good "layman" for the Christian faith to have on one's bookshelf and to engage in personal or group study.
The writing is easy and conversational and with the scriptural references, many will find this to be a great starting point to understanding more about the essential truths needed for a growing faith that does need to be grounded in God's truth.
As someone who is personally busy and often find myself short on time amid juggling schedules and priorities, this is a wonderful book, i that allows time during those busy moments, to understand better the essential truths that make up the Christian faith and developing that strong foundation that is needed as a Christian.
"What Every Christian Ought to Know" truly reaches its goal of ensuring that every Christian can start their faith, understanding the basic essentials needed and in the process be empowered in their Christian growth and life.
***Thank you to TBB Media for the opportunity to read and review this book in exchange for my personal opinion. ***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical Teaching to Provide A Foundation In Faith

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adrian Rogers with Steve Rogers in their new book, “What Every Christian Ought to Know” published by B&H Publishing Group gives us Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith.
From the Back Cover: Let your faith take root
Whether you are just beginning your faith journey, or have been a believer for decades, “What Every Christian Ought to Know” will establish you in the core Truths of the Bible, equip you to confidently articulate your faith and empower you to live a dynamic Christian life. In his refreshingly relatable style, Dr. Rogers covers topics such as Salvation, Eternal Security, Prayer, The Holy Spirit, Resisting Temptation and Finding God’s Will, and unpacks their practical application for your every day Christian walk.
One of Adrian Rogers’s most popular books, this new edition includes an introduction from Steve Rogers, president of the Adrian Rogers Pastor Training Institute, plus discussion questions for personal reflection or group study.
I first learned of Dr. Rogers through the radio. Every morning on my way to work I would listen to his broadcast and I would learn valuable truth from the Bible. Then I graduated to Television and continue to learn while watching him. It was a very sad day when I learned he passed away. However truth lives on and “What Every Christian Ought to Know” is loaded with Bible truth as only Dr. Rogers could present it. Clear, concise, precise these twelve chapters give the reader a Biblical foundation for their faith. The teachings ground the reader with a fresh perspective that will last for a lifetime. This is a book that you will want to give to family and friends that, perhaps, don’t have a strong Bible foundation. They will always remember your gift and thank you for it. “What Every Christian Ought to Know” is a keeper and I recommend it highly!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B&B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Christian should have this book

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Whether your just beginning your walk as a christian or perhaps your looking for a book that will refresh and remind you of the basics of faith, look no further than this book.
Whenever I look for a book that will help me grow in my christian walk the first thing I want is something that is easy to read and understand, and that's just what I found in "What Every Christian Ought To Know."It's a book that deals with basic truths that every christian needs to gain a closer spiritual walk with God. There are twelve chapters each touching on topics such as the assurance of salvation, how to handle temptation, and what to do if we sin. Each chapter opens with a scripture, then goes into a discussion of the topic being discussed and then there are study questions to wrap up the chapter. I found each chapter had sufficient scripture reference to allow for further reading.
Overall, I thought the title of the epilogue really said it best, It's Not What You Know, It's How Much You Grow, and if your looking to grow your spiritual knowledge then this book is for you. I really think this book would be great for group study. I also feel as if it would be a great gift for a new christian.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Every Christian Ought to Know: Solid Grounding for a Growing Faith, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

essentials of the faith for new and old believers

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some truths every Christian ought to know. We should know what we believe and why we believe it.
The material in this book was originally used in a new believers/new members class in the late Dr. Rogers' church. But long time believers were excited to finally understand why they believed what they did. The book was originally published in 2005 in hardcover but is now available in paperback.
This book contains the essentials of the faith. Rogers starts with the Word of God, giving lots of arguments for the Bible's accuracy and supernatural characteristics. Next is assurance of salvation. Every Christian should know beyond a shadow of a doubt that he or she is saved.
Rogers shows how the saved person can know that the salvation cannot be lost and why that is important. He also lets us know what happens when we sin and what we are to do about it. He tells us how to handle temptation, about baptism, how to discern the will of God, all about faith and how to have it, how to be filled with the Holy Spirit, how to discover your spiritual gift, how to pray, and lastly, how to understand the Bible.
1 Peter 3:15 admonishes that believers should always be ready to give a defense for the reason they have hope. This book will help you form your defense for the biblical truths you believe. There are great discussion questions at the end of each chapter so this book could be used in a group setting.
Rogers has added stories to make the topics more interesting. He also added some humor, sometimes a little corny. Nonetheless, this would be an excellent book for a new or long time believer on the essentials of the Christian faith.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from The B&B Media Group for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.