Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2

B&H Books In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2

Stumbling upon a captivating letter in the wreckage of a stage coach, Irish immigrant Seamus embarks on a harrowing journey in search of the woman who wrote it. But when he arrives in San Francisco, the city's being consumed by the fire of 1849! Will he find Ashlyn---and the love he's desperately searching for?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Review 1 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Golden Splendor kept me captivated from page one. No doubt a real page turner all of the way up to the last page. I really loved following the adventures of Seamus in the second installment of the Heirs of Ireland #2. I also loved to be able to keep up with what's going on with Clare, as well. I'm ready to dive straight into Book #3 to see what happens. In Golden Splendor is one of my favorites I have read of all time. Michael K Reynolds definitely is a true storyteller of Irish American history.
I highly highly recommend this book!
5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like Being Drawn Into an IMAX Movie!Big, Beautiful

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
LifeDance
Location:WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a copy from the publisher for an honest review.
(Ok...ok, I jumped on the opportunity to read this one because I had read the 1st and couldn't wait to dive into the 2nd book that continues Seamus' journey. I'm a sucker for redemption stories!)
My interest in this book: 1) It's the 2nd in the series 2) The author is AMAZING at casting history 3) I couldn't wait to find out more about the lives of these characters that I've already spent so much time invested in.
Ideas expressed/message/plot: You are worthy to be used by God. Listening to and confidently resting in the whispered words, "Trust Me."
Favorite Characters, quotes/lines: Seamus was the driving force behind this story as was expected (and desired). I loved watching his journey! One of my favorite lines: "God-man."
Often in a story there will be one scene that remains in my memory; this book has multiple; scenes that came to life, that meant something to both the character and the reader. THAT is the ultimate in experiencing a book. Well done, MKR!
When I finished this book I felt: *sigh* That was a GOOD read. It was like being drawn into an IMAX movie. So huge, so real, so beautiful. It was solid through and through, lacking nothing. I am intrigued on where the 3rd book will take us!
Overall: I would recommend this book to any historical fiction fans, teen+.
5 stars and definitely bookshelf worthy (but don't let it be lonely! Be sure to have [[ASIN:1433678195 Flight of the Earls: An Heirs of Ireland Novel]] right
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Characters shine like gold!

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BookLoverKaren
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Golden Splendor is a compelling read laced with lush historical detail. Reynolds has a gift for creating a cast of characters that remind me of a Charles Dickens novel--even the most minor characters catch your attention, like flakes of gold hiding in the dirt.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from B&H Fiction for the purpose of review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ANOTHER IRISH-AMERICAN ADVENTURE FROM REYNOLDS

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
SCATHERINEHS
Location:San Diego CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply read the prologue from "In Golden Splendor" from author Michael K. Reynolds and you are hooked. Then, this beautifully written tale grips you until the last page.
Descriptions of characters and scenes are breathtakingly real.
You will fall in love with Seamus, Clare, Davin and Ashlyn and admire their faith and courage in oppression. You will cry and you will cheer.
For those of us who are history bluffs, Michael K. Reynolds continues to educate us with additional facts.
"In Golden Splendor" brings us Michael K. Reynolds at the top of his form.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Epic Journey To Help A Stranger In Need

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michael K. Reynolds in his new book, "In Golden Splendor" Book Two in the Heirs of Ireland series published by B&H Publishing Group takes us into the life of Seamus Hanley.
From the back cover: Was this a fortuitous moment, the one that had evaded him all of his life?
In 1849, Irish immigrant Seamus Hanley is a lost soul, haunted by his past as a U.S. Army deserter and living alone in the wilderness of the Rocky Mountains. After witnessing a deadly stagecoach crash, he finds purpose in the scattered wreckage -- a letter with a picture of a beautiful and captivating woman named Ashlyn living in San Francisco at the height of the Gold Rush.
Moved by her written plea for help, he sets out on an epic journey across the wild and picturesque American frontier. Pursued by those who want to hang him, Seamus encounters fascinating characters, one of them willing to make the ultimate sacrifice in helping Seamus to cross the snowy Yosemite Valley.
Battered but changed for the better, Seamus reaches San Francisco on Christmas Eve as the city burns in the tragic fire. But there is little time for rest, as an even greater, more harrowing adventure involving Ashlyn is about to begin.
Irish ancestry, the history of immigration to America and America in 1849, get ready for an epic that will draw you into its pages and never let you go. This time the focus is on Seamus, who came over to America with his sister, Clare, in 1846. Now, three years later, Seamus is in hiding but an event draws him out and he discovers an urgent letter and a photograph asking for help. So Seamus sets off from the Rockies to San Francisco to find this woman who needs help and help her. There are those who would like to kill Seamus and the journey is treacherous but God provides support along the journey so that Seamus makes it just in time to see San Francisco burn. Michael K. Reynolds writes vividly! He presents scenes that are so rich in detail and color you feel as though you are there. "In Golden Splendor" is all about family. An Irish family. While the focus is on Seamus, Clare's story continues as well. "In Golden Splendor" is first class adventure as Seamus not only battles his environment but the pain within him that makes him withdraw. This second book of the series continues to be filled with great characters that we come to love and root for. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series which brings us into The Civil War.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B & B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prejudice

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a captivating read, from the moment you turn the cover you are in a page turner. There is action around every corner, whether it is beauty of the country side, or murder by known or unknown assailants.
We get a glimpse of the Irish Countryside, but more of the majestic western part of the United States.
We follow Seamus Hanley throughout the book, from his beginnings in Ireland to the California Gold Rush. From his rescue of a trapped horse, to the fantasizing over the picture of a woman he has never met.
We find Gods Hand over Seamus, I wanted to cry when the Indian Boy Shila made the ultimate sacrifice. God's Grace was every where, he answered prayers right and left, ones in a way that was never expected.
This book in long, but you won't mind it, in fact, I wanted it to be longer, routing for good over evil. There are even a few chuckles to be had.
I hope you take the opportunity to also enjoy the fabulous read. I am so glad I didn't let the size of this book intimidate me.
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engrossing epic adventure, excellent sequel

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Golden Splendor by Michael K. Reynolds is book 2 in the Heirs of Ireland series. This epic adventure is a wonderful sequel that continues the story of the Hanley family, who immigrated from Ireland in the 1840s. Dramatic settings range from the beautiful Rocky Mountains and Sierra Mountains to San Francisco's Barbary Coast. We see the blending of many cultures in America's West during the Gold Rush, along with racial prejudice and greed. This novel captures the indelible hope and spirit of the Irish people in a way that both entertains and inspires.
Michael has a wonderful gift in being able to create a riveting story and memorable characters woven around historical events and settings that the reader can almost physically see and feel. His descriptions are so vivid that these settings become major characters. Clare and Andrew from the first novel, Flight of the Earls, play a part in this story, but the main focus is on Clare's brother, Seamus.
After a tragic accident back in Ireland, Seamus heard his father say, "You took my last chance to have a son I could be proud of," and he spent many years proving his father right. When the story opens, Seamus is living as a frontiersman in the Rocky Mountains, hiding from shadows of his past, haunted by his own foolish choices and shallow pursuits. But God has plans for a Seamus who is looking for something to fill the emptiness in his soul, and we see a slow but steady journey of spiritual awakening toward redemption and transformation. Michael injects some great humor here, for no one who has read the first book will believe the vocation into which Seamus is drawn, yet it really isn't surprising as the reader gets to know him better.
The publisher created a cover image that beautifully incorporates all that this story is about - from the picture of Ashlyn that drives Seamus to help, to the ghost ships in the bay, which hauntingly depict the greed for wealth. "From all over the world, they come here to this place. Stepping up to the shores, dripping wet with their desires. . . . Harsh was a community where most of its citizenry stayed only as long as it took to get off the ship, provision up, and head for the hills."
While the title, In Golden Splendor, certainly refers to the Gold Rush, there is a second and deeper meaning that refers to that which is true gold. As Seamus studies the Bible and comes to realize that there is power in God's words, Reverend Sanders says to him: "God comes to us in golden splendor and His radiance in our lives far outshines any other treasure, any other accomplishment, and our lives become richer the more we understand this."
In Golden Splendor can certainly stand alone, but I highly recommend reading Flight of the Earls first, as the characters' backgrounds are so important in fully understanding this story. This series is a gem in the Christian fiction genre, and I highly recommend it to all readers. I hope we will see much more from Michael in the future.
The third story in this series, Songs of the Shenandoah, releases in January 2014.
This book was provided by FIRST Wild Card Tour and B&H Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

continuing story of Irish immigrants

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second in the Heirs of Ireland series. If you want to get the full benefit of this book, you must read the first one. There was nothing in the promotion material inviting me to review this book indicating it was a sequel. There is nothing on the book, front or back, indicating this is a sequel. But sequel it is and much of the story line in this book is based on action from the first one, which I have not read. So my review may reflect a bit of disgruntlement.
Apparently in the fist novel, Irish immigrants travel to America in the 1840s. As this novel opens, the siblings are separated. Some are in New York City. This novel centers on Seamus, a brother who was apparently in the U. S. Army during the Mexican/American War, then went over to the Mexican side. He is now living in the Rocky Mountains, avoiding possible capture as a deserter. He sees a stagecoach crash ans finds a letter with a beautiful woman's photo inside. Seamus is immediately taken by the photo and decides to go to San Francisco, where the letter indicates the woman resides.
Seamus reaches San Francisco on Christmas Eve, 1849, so we read about the tragic fire of that day. We learn a bit about the gold rush too, seeing the drive to find the gold and the lengths to which some would go in their search. There is interesting interplay between cultures, the Irish, Chinese, African-American and Indian. That part was very interesting. Important in the novel was understanding the action of God as he provided opportunities for Seamus to show his good character.
Lacking the background material from the first novel, I had a difficult time getting emotionally involved in this novel. I did not feel the emotional impact of Seamus' deserter status, not having read the account in the first novel. An “Uncle Thomas” plays a large part in the end of this novel. His unseemly character must originate in the first novel. Not having read it, his impact seemed a bit out of the blue for me.
If you like historical novels, you'll like this one. It did hold my interest but not as well as if I'd read the first one.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Journey to the heart

Date:July 16, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was first drawn to this book because of the Irish hero, of course, because I am married to my own Irish hero So I was excited to read this book.
This is one of those books that took me a couple of chapters before really getting into it. But by the fourth chapter I was hooked.
What a great adventure this book is, somewhat of an epic tale. And of course there is romance. Once you are caught up in the story you really can’t help reading it faster because you can’t wait to see what will happen next or who Seamus will meet.
I would’ve liked to have seen more motivation for why Seamus had to find the woman in the picture, I felt that lacking a bit and that made that part of the story hard to believe.
Overall, a great read for those who love historicals with adventure and romance.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this long awaited sequel to Flight of the Earls, In Golden Splendor is the story of Clare’s brother Seamus who came to America with her from Ireland. I believe this to be a very well written, excellent and exciting story. To top it all off when I turned the very last page I read the next novel is due to be released in January 2014 titled Songs of the Shenandoah. The author did a top notch job of writing a very intriguing story of Seamus’ precarious journeys from being an ex-soldier to something the reader doesn’t probably expect him to become.
Like all of us, Seamus’ character is one who is seeking nothing but solace after leaving civilization due to the shame of his past actions and consequences. While he knows Clare wants to hear from him and loves him, Seamus can’t stand to be whom he is and sees no hope in his future. Until one day in the high mountains, he opens a letter than draws him back into civilization as he travels to the west coast.
Seamus’ many encounters with different types of people teach him much about himself, that he longs to be shed of. It isn’t until he reaches California and seeks out the woman whose picture he has carried with him all along the way that he knows in his heart that she needs to be rescued; however, he isn’t sure from what or whom. On top of this, Davin has been shanghaied because he longs to find his brother Seamus and longs for adventure that living with his older sister and her family doesn’t bring. Let me tell you these are just a few of the nuggets I can give to you, the reader, because if I reveal too much more, it would ruin your own enjoyment of the story.
Michael K. Reynolds is quickly becoming quite an acclaimed author as far as I am concerned. These novels focus on the history of Irish-Americans in the early to mid-1800s, along with other history occurring. My emotions ran the whole gamut with each page turned and chapter read. I awaited with eagerness the twists and turns of the plot. There is murder, mystery, suspense, gold digging and above all the love of God becoming a reality for someone who felt too far removed to receive it. As you read, you might be surprised to see that many characters also for various reasons felt they were beyond God’s redeeming powers or love.
I think many today struggle with the truth that none of us are beyond redemption as long as we draw breath. The actions of laying down one’s life for a friend drove home the reality of God’s love for a couple of players in the pages, so don’t be surprised if you can relate to them. In Golden Splendor will hold your heart captive until the end, and then you may look up and discover that you too will have a different perspective about many things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great storyteller! Easy-to-read style!

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is Michael Reynold's second book in his Heirs of Ireland series. Book 2 continues the story of Seamus Hanley, who left to serve in the Mexican/American War during book 1, Flight of the Earls. It is helpful to read book one, so you have the proper understanding of a few of the characters...but, In Golden Splendor can certainly stand on its own.
Michael crams quite a bit into the book! Everything from horse thievery to St. Patty's Day steamboat races to gold mining...and even pirates – sorta!
Although I thought a few spots in the book felt a bit slow and it seemed a few editorial mistakes were overlooked, overall, Michael is a great storyteller! I enjoyed the book and am looking forward to the next book following the determined Irish American Hanley family.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In Golden Splendor, Heirs of Ireland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A look at finding love in the wilderness!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the most wonderful opportunity to review an incredible new series, The Heirs of Ireland by Michael K. Reynolds. I haven't read the first book in the series, but picked up In Golden Splendor which is the second novel he just completed and it's simply a compelling historical story that you can't put down. This takes you into the heart of the Gold Rush days where people were literally coming from all over the world to get their stack at a claim in California in hopes of striking it rich.
We are introduced to Irish immigrant Seamus Hanley who finds himself trying to survive as a mountain man in the harsh winter but is failing miserably at trying to hunt game and also sell the furs for money. He happens upon a wagon accident that claims the life of the driver but leaves one horse alive. Seamus sees that the horse and contents belong to the U.S. Army and it's a mail delivery wagon. Taking the horse would automatically be grounds for hanging taking military property, but he knows if he leaves the horse behind, it won't survive. Thinking God's providence is upon him, he takes the horse and a letter on which Open Immediately is scrawled across the front. Inside Seamus finds a heartfelt letter and a photograph of a woman named Ashlyn who is pleading for help in finding her father.
Seamus believes it is he duty to aid this beautiful woman even though the letter was not addressed to him. It seems that the recipient of the letter has not be faithful in returning his response even though it appears that there is a relationship between them. Ashlyn needs to locate her father who has gone off searching for gold in hopes of providing an income to support her while she waits behind in San Francisco. But in order for Seamus to find Ashlyn he must find a way to get through the brutal mountain pass in the Rocky Mountains as winter is approaching. With little to go on in the ways of supplies, he believes God is calling him to answer Ashlyn's pleas for help and will trust God for a way to make that happen.
I received In Golden Splendor by Michael K. Reynolds compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. This is my first novel by Michael K. Reynolds and the reviews from other authors inspired me to pick this one up. I am always a fan of historical fiction and think Mr. Reynolds did an exceptional job at transporting the reader in the heart and soul of Seamus Hanley who found himself a U.S. Army deserter and has been branded physically for such action. It's the ultimate game of hide and seek for Seamus to make his way through circumstances that quite literally have you holding your breath. I would have never made it as far as he did. Along the way we learn that both Seamus and Ashlyn have deep secrets that need to be resolved for past mistakes that they feel are holding them back believing the lot in life they have found is a good as it will get. However God has bigger plans that we see slow unveil during this novel. I am now a huge fan of Michael's and will be picking up the next book, Song's of the Shenandoah due out in January 2014. If you want to begin this series, you'll want to pick up Flight of the Earls first before reading this one to make the journey even more unforgettable. For me, this one rates a 5 out of 5 stars and I look forward to pick up the first novel in the series to see just how the Irish family came to America.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.