Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Unlimited

B&H Books Unlimited

Simon Orwell is trapped in a web of danger and deception. Responding to a call from his former professor who's developed an instrument that can create unlimited energy, he travels across the border--- and learns his mentor has been murdered! Can he discover the secrets to the world-changing device---and the identity of its creator's killers?
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unlimited
Review 1 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling insight into a disturbing situation

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
George
Location:Columbia SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Bunn continues to live up to my expectations with his intriguing plots and twists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unlimited
This review is fromUnlimited: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simon Orwell is a scientific genius and mastermind. Brilliant in his own right, he has come a long way from his humble beginnings and made something of himself. He has risen above his circumstances and made something of him miserable life even when no one expected him to. And he has succeeded against all the odds. But then he makes a mistake. A really big one. It no longer is about him, but the professor that he has betrayed. And the device with unlimited power that could change the life of so many people.
But as soon as Simon crosses the Mexican border, things start to unravel. The professor is dead, and someone is after Simon's life as well. Hiding in a local orphanage that offers him asylum, Simon meets the director, Harold,who has sacrificed a lucrative career and given his life and resources for children who have no one left in the world. And Simon begins to wonder if his life is ruined forever by his choices. Will he be able to redeem himself and protect his new friends at the orphanage? Or is he doomed to a life haunted by the past that refuses to be forgiven?
This was a different sort of story for me. I've never read a book of this caliber, or this genre. But it was most certainly a pleasant change of pace. The characters were not as developed as I would have liked, but Bunn compensates with plenty of snippets of their pasts. The story was exciting, fast paced, and laced with just the right amount of danger. But there was also the undercurrents of faith and redemption that made me re-evaluate my own life and the possibility of second chances.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Limitless Potential

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda B
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simon Orwell has grown accustomed to living in the dust of abandoned dreams. A college dropout from a prestigious university, Simon’s life has turned out much like his last great science project – an unfinished mass of potential, set aside, regarded as an impossible failure. Too broken to accomplish that for which it was created. Settling for the mundane, Simon believes he is unworthy and incapable of fulfilling his greatest dream. That of changing the world.
Summoned to Mexico by his elderly partner on the project that would have literally brought light to those living in darkness, Simon faces the bleakest prospect of a new chance. Perhaps not a chance rejoin the project and rebuild his career as a scientist – that hope has all but faded like the dim light bulbs of the poor Mexican town – but maybe, just maybe, a chance to remedy at least a few of his past wrongs.
Hope becomes an unreachable goal once again when Simon arrives in the tiny town of Ojinaga to the tragic news that his partner is dead. Natural causes of course. The same natural causes that now stalk Simon as a hunter stalks his prey. Simon is thrown from his unassuming life, thrust into a quest for answers as to who is behind the old professor’s death and what clues he left behind for his young protégé.
Now, taking refuge at a struggling orphanage, Simon must accept the help of some of his late partner’s closest friends if he is to find answers. Because maybe, the unthinkable really is possible. Maybe he, like his project, really does have more potential than he thought. Maybe even the ability to light up the world.
Least favorite parts:
The book was slightly predictable in a few spots, but overall that did not detract much from its readability.
Favorite parts:
Despite his own lack of confidence and vision for himself, Simon is enveloped by unmerited encouragement from the orphanage director (and friend to his deceased partner), Harold Finch. Harold pushes the unmotivated Simon to view his life as something more than what he has made it so far. To set goals. To believe in impossible dreams. Probably my favorite line in the book is when Harold tells him, “Son, that’s the power of dreams. If they’re not big, if they’re not impossible, they’re not worth investing your life.” (Unlimited, page 177)
Conclusion:
At a time when I, like Simon, doubted my potential and the gift God has planted within me, Unlimited glimmered into my reading life with a challenge – “be more.” Channel that wasted energy and potential. Believe in the dreams that God has buried in your very soul. Believe in His ability to make the impossible possible. Believe that you are destined to light up the dark.
I believe this book will challenge you as well. Dare you to defy your doubt, to trust that when you allow God to direct your dreams, the results could be … unlimited
I received a complimentary copy of this book from B&H Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting!

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost all of Davis Bunn's book that I have read have been good. Unlimited was no exception. The criminal was rather obvious, though. This book was based on a movie. As I was reading, I kept wondering what it would be like as a movie.
This book had a very unique plot; I have read many books before but none quite like this one. The only problem was that the invention and the physics involved with it got just a little bit confusing. Other than that, it was a good book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unlimited
This review is fromUnlimited: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

predictable

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love reading this author. His words flow and his characters are so real. When someone walks across a dusty compound you can actually see it. My negative was the story was very predictable and it was so easy to see who the bad guy was immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I want to read more books by Davis Bunn!

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the beginning I was hooked! “Simon crawled away from his burning car, amazed that he was still alive.” (xi) Why was his car burning? Does someone want him dead? Davis Bunn captured my attention and held it throughout the book.
Simon traveled to Mexico to meet with a professor that he knew only to find the professor dead, and someone wanted to kill him, too. Simon was there with technology that would harness wasted energy, however, someone wanted that device. Davis Bunn did an excellent job of developing Simon’s character and the other characters in the book. I grew attached to Harold Finch, the orphanage director, and I really liked Pedro who had grown up at the orphanage and now wanted to continue the work. Over the course of the book, Simon grew as a person, and I found this growth satisfying. When I finished the book, I wanted to know about his future.
Unlimited the movie is about to be released. It will be just as exciting and engaging as the book!
The mystery and intrigue of Simon Orwell’s trip to Mexico made me want to read more, and I look forward to reading Bunn’s other books – this was my first but not my last.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from B&H Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Davis Bunn does it again

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Swanlady
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn is one of my favorite authors. I have read all his books and some of them twice. I found this book
Unlimited is part science fiction, and part inspirational. Having lived close to the Mexican border, ot also paints a true picture
of how drugs affect those living in Mexico. This book is filled with suspense, betrayal, and it is also beautifully protrays Hope, and daring to believe, and not giving up.
Unlimitred started slowly for me but soon became a book I couldn't read fast enough and was sorry when it ended. Unlimited was written from the movie "Unlimited" which Davis Bunn had a part in the screenplay.
I am so glad I had the opportunity to be part of the launch team for this book. I received this book from the publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a demanding read!

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
GGlmore48
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn did not disappoint me in his newest book Unlimited. The opening page immediately thrust me into a thrill sequence with clues of "why?" still to be discovered. Throughout the book, the clues kept coming, and the characters kept developing. Rushing along to a very heightened climax, Unlimited left me with a better understanding of the political situation in Mexico, a new quest for ways to love and protect orphans, and a great satisfaction with the book as a whole. I highly recommend this book to any reader, get ready for a great thrill ride!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cool plot twists and turns but villain is apparent

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlimited, a Novel
Davis Bunn © 2013
B & H Publishing Group
ISBN 978-1-4336-7946-7
Ppk. 305 pp.
Dr. Velasquez longs to help the poor people of his native Ojinga, Mexico and especially the orphans. He’s nearly perfected, with the help of brilliant, formerly unpredictable Simon Orwell, a way to produce free electricity.
Simon brings the device to Ojinga for promised funding from the city council, only to learn Dr. Velasquez is dead, supposedly of a heart attack. The city council refuses funds, Simon intends to return at once to the USA, but someone tries to kill him.
He’s rescued by Pedro Marin, assistant town manager who hides him in the orphanage run by Dr. Harold Finch. Dr. Finch desperately needs money to keep the orphanage going.
Sophia Marin, Pedro’s sister and Dr. Finch’s assistant, hates Simon. She fears his presence in the orphanage will endanger the children.
The ‘good guy’ in the story is SO good, readers will quickly guess he’s the worst villain in the end. And anticipate how he will be revealed and caught. Readers also will know that vilified Dr. Clara isn’t the enemy she seems.
Simon is seeking forgiveness for his past. Sofia doesn’t want to love him. The plot twists and surprises will keep readers intrigued and satisfied with the ending.
I was given a copy of this book in return for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Read from Davis Bunn

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Russ in Arlington
Location:Arlington, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn never fails to draw me into his stories, and his latest release “Unlimited” is no exception. The author has a talent for engaging his readers and making is characters and their settings come alive for his readers. The pacing of this story kept me actively interested and eager to keep reading right to the end. I also liked the way he mixes action, adventure and “believable” romance together with an unexpected plot twist that is skillfully crafted. Buy this book if you are looking for a fun, entertaining and uplifting story from a master story teller. If you enjoy this, be sure to check out Davis Bunn’s other books.
The story opens as Simon Orwell, a young genius who has led a troubled life, arrives in Mexico to meet his former professor, who wants him to help complete the research they had started at MIT before Simon was dismissed and the professor was fired. They had been working on an energy recapture device that would enable them to recapture energy wasted in the electrical transmission process and transform it into useable electricity. The professor wanted to use the device to provide unlimited energy to help the poor in Mexico, where electricity was scarce and expensive, but the Mexican cartel had other plans.
Simon discovers that his professor is dead and is he is being targeted by shadowy characters who, for unknown reasons, are trying to kill him. What follows is an action packed story that should certainly be made into a movie. Oh wait! It is a movie, starring Fred Thompson and Robert Amaya which will be in theaters on October 16th. I will be sure to see it. Davis Bunn was involved in writing the screen play and then wrote the book.
I received my copy of the book from the B&H Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say, Davis Bunn is beginning to grow on me. I’m not a real big fan of his earlier work just based on the genre that it was written in (Not many guys like that whole Regency Romance period that I know of). But I will say that his latest works have been welcomed additions to my church library. That continues, then, with his latest release, “Unlimited”.
Simon his headed to Mexico to meet up with his old professor as they continue to work out kinks in a machine that they have developed that could potentially create an unlimited source of energy. They are testing this in Mexico because of the huge need for energy because the power sources there are controlled by the drug cartels and dirty politicians. Upon his arrival, though, he finds out that his friend has died of a heart attack and the device is worthless. After Simon leaves a meeting with the local council, he’s attacked and so begins this whirlwind adventure. Sofia and her brother, Pedro, assist at the local orphanage where they grew up. When Simon shows up there, Sofia only wants him gone so as not to endanger the kids. Simon is sure that he can get the device to work, but he needs to find his mentors notes. As Simon continues to search for the notes, the noose around his neck gets tighter and tighter. Who’s behind the attacks on Simon’s life? What do the local politicians want with Simon and his device? Does Simon put the lives of the children in the orphanage in danger? Does he ever get the device to work properly? You will get the “energy” to know those answers when you BUY THE BOOK!
From the moment you open this book, Davis Bunn draws you into the intense hunt that has already started. He continues to turn up the heat on the characters until it doesn’t seem as if they can take anymore. And then he turns it up again. He provides you with some humorous dialogue between his characters that makes them feel realistic, not like cardboard figures. Characters that make you want to cheer for them, that you want to pick up your phone and text them to get their advice. I appreciate when I read books like this that not only do I get entertained, but I get to see moral issues resolved in Christ-like fashion.
Is this a "Guys Book"? Right from the start you see that this is filled with danger and intrigue. Throw in corrupt politicians, the drug cartels and an unlimited supply of power and you have just the right book to be read by any guy.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2013
There are a couple of elements that I really appreciate about Davis Bunn's work. The first is that the story doesn't need a build up. From the first page of the prologue you are immediately dropped into the middle of the action. No need for tedious background information, you get to experience the revelations as they happen right along with the characters.
Another thing I like about them are the timeliness of the subject. With this account in particular you feel like you could pick up a paper and the story would be in the headlines. We've all watched as the drug cartel has gained a stranglehold on Mexico.
In Unlimited there seems to be a small haven of peace in the little town of Ojinaga. The mayor of the town, Enrique Morales, is touted as the conquering hero for eradicating the cartel from the area. But as is the case with many things, you can't always believe what you see.
This is a great story about the power of Truth over a lie. It is a story of good and evil. It is suspense mixed in with tender compassion. The spiritual and physical maturing of the main character Simon will leave you wanting to continue his story after the final page.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passionate and compelling story of our times.

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shari Bradley
Location:Vista, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn’s “Unlimited” leads you into the hearts and lives of the vulnerable and the lost, the tragic and dirty truth of the border drug wars, the thrill of invention, the passion of those who are called to serve, and the grace and forgiveness only experienced through a loving Savior. An exciting read, always anticipated and always enjoyed by this gifted author. I am ready for the sequel. There is much yet to know about these compelling characters. The battle against the darkness continues.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from B&H Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring and suspenseful companion to the movie

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Unlimited by Davis Bunn, companion novel to the soon-to-be-released movie by the same name, is a stand-alone suspense novel set in the Mexican border area around the town of Ojinaga.
Unlimited is a different type novel from what I usually read, and I found it very interesting. While it borders somewhat on science fiction, it's not all that far removed from the realm of possibility. The narrative focuses on two themes: 1) a device that would be able to harness wasted energy, turning it into cheap energy for the Mexican poor, and 2) the people who invest themselves in the children in the local orphanage, inspiring them to reach their God-given potential.
The novel is inspired by the life of Harold L. Finch, who walked away from his career as a NASA space scientist and dedicated himself to the children at the orphanage. I loved this character's wisdom, faith, courage, and love for the children. "The world sees these Mexican orphans as hopeless cases. Born into violence, left without family, lost. But God has planted hope in them. Hope and gifts and a boiling desire to grow beyond where they are. My aim is to help them achieve this." He was also accepting and forgiving of Simon, who initially seemed to be in it for the money and fame.
Davis Bunn did a good job conveying a feel for situations that we often hear about in the news: the US/Mexican border, poverty, drug cartels, and political corruption. They may have been slightly understated in this story, but the reality still came through.
Sometimes novelizations of movies don't work well as a novel, but the suspense, romance, and spiritual elements in Unlimited make for an entertaining read overall. I believe suspense fans will greatly enjoy this novel.
The movie version starring Fred Thompson releases October 11, 2013.
This book was provided by B&B Media and B&H Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simon Orwell is a scientific genius and mastermind. Brilliant in his own right, he has come a long way from his humble beginnings and made something of himself. He has risen above his circumstances and made something of him miserable life even when no one expected him to. And he has succeeded against all the odds. But then he makes a mistake. A really big one. It no longer is about him, but the professor that he has betrayed. And the device with unlimited power that could change the life of so many people.
But as soon as Simon crosses the Mexican border, things start to unravel. The professor is dead, and someone is after Simon's life as well. Hiding in a local orphanage that offers him asylum, Simon meets the director, Harold,who has sacrificed a lucrative career and given his life and resources for children who have no one left in the world. And Simon begins to wonder if his life is ruined forever by his choices. Will he be able to redeem himself and protect his new friends at the orphanage? Or is he doomed to a life haunted by the past that refuses to be forgiven?
This was a different sort of story for me. I've never read a book of this caliber, or this genre. But it was most certainly a pleasant change of pace. The characters were not as developed as I would have liked, but Bunn compensates with plenty of snippets of their pasts. The story was exciting, fast paced, and laced with just the right amount of danger. But there was also the undercurrents of faith and redemption that made me re-evaluate my own life and the possibility of second chances.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best stories of the year!

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlimited is one of the all around best stories I've read in 2013, and I believe that the film that complements this book is sure to be stellar as well.
The characters in this book spark off of the page with real spirit and then shines in your memory after you finish.
Juan, a fourteen year old boy who lives so that the atmosphere around him bursts with joy, and his joy seeps into the people he cares about.
Juan is one of many orphans at Three Keys Orphanage.... a place where the Scriptures guide daily life and the Person of Christ is revealed as the source of the love and peace that are given in this place.
Harold Finch... who had a career in NASA and now runs Three Keys. This man has deep roots of faith that draw from the richness of God's Word, worn hands from working hard and giving to others, and a humble dignity about him that lets him speak wisdom and gentle rebuke without elevating himself.
Sofia. Raised at Three Keys, she stays and serves here because she loves the children and she loves Harold, the man who became father and mother to her.
A woman of fierce and beautiful intelligence, Sofia is engaged to Enrique, the mayor of their town of Ojinaga. Sofia and Enrique together could be a very powerful couple... his commitment to helping the Mexican people has never been seen to waver, and her dedication to the same goal is evident to all.
Pedro, Sofia's brother. Theses characters share an excellent bond... not just blood family but chosen friends too. Pedro is a great character... he possesses a cheerful spirit and genuine faith.
In the film, Robert Amaya (who played Javier Martinez in Courageous) has been cast as Pedro. That made me smile... he was excellent as Javier and is going to be so good as Pedro. My family is definitely looking forward to seeing him in that role! :-)
Simon... what can I say about Simon? Perhaps the most succinct thing I could say is that a very godly and brilliant man, Professor Armando Vasquez, believed that Simon would be greatly used by the Lord, and that Simon was the one who should be trusted to finish the professors last invention and the fact that Professor Vasquez never gave up on Simon means that we have to pay close attention to this young man.
The plot of this book is full of action and tension, and it highlights the culture of a place that has known a lot of tragedy and still has strength: Mexico.
And this book ends with hope... because the Gospel brings hope.
Thank you B&H Publishing for blessing me with a copy of this book through The B&B Media Group!
And now, the trailer for the film.
Unlimited: The Film is at the top of my watch list now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

book parallels movie of same name

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This novel rose out of a vision to produce a movie called Unlimited. Bunn became involved in the project and crafting a novel tied to the film's release became part of the vision.
The novel opens as Simon Orwell has crossed over into Mexico to deliver his part of a project to his old professor. He is attacked by what appears to be a drug cartel. He manages to hide the scientific device he has with him and escape with his life. He is shocked to find out that his professor is dead. But something is not right. He had been receiving emails from the man recently – after he supposedly died.
Simon realizes his life is in danger and takes refuge in an orphanage. The man who founded the orphanage, Harold Finch, is a man who walked away from a lucrative career with NASA and consulting Fortune 500 companies to serve a higher cause. Harold takes Simon under his care, helping to find out who killed the professor and why. Simon tries to put together the devise the professor was working on – a device that would provide power that could hardly be imagined.
I did not know about the film association when I read this book so read it entirely for its entertainment value. It is a good story about a fellow who made some terrible mistakes in his life, including harming the professor he admired so much. But the professor never gave up on him. He had forgiven Simon and wanted him to succeed. And Simon comes to the point where he realizes his own spiritual need too.
There is some whiz bang physics in this novel after the likes of Tesla. The idea of the machine capturing energy otherwise dissipated is paralleled with the theme of inspiring young people in the orphanage to be all they can be. That “unlimited” theme, “you can be anything you want to be” encouragement came across in the movie promos better than I remember in the book.
As someone with a physics degree (though from over forty years ago), the titles of the book and movie bother me. The power the machine might produce is not “unlimited.” There would be lots of energy and it would otherwise be unusable, but the machine would not produce an unlimited supply.
I received a complimentary copy of this book through a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read!

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy G.
Location:East Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm SO excited because Davis Bunn has written another novel! Davis Bunn writes a fantastic novel in Unlimited. It's includes the drug cartel and lots and lots of adventure!!
We meet Simon Orwell. Poor Simon his whole life seems nothing but an endless stream of wrong choices. But just when Simon is about to give up on his dreams, his old professor calls him about a device he has discovered and he needs Simon's help. Simon has no idea what this device that creates unlimited energy is worth or that there are those who will seek for it.
Of course, Simon wants to help but is this more than Simon bargained for?!? Simon is nearly killed by whom he guesses is the drug cartel. Battered and bruised Simon seeks help and Harold Finch is the only one who seems to want to help poor Simon. Harold Finch runs the local orphanage along with his beautiful sister, Sophie. Simon learns that Harold has given up quite a career to serve God.
Simon can trust few people and there are more secrets than a basketful of weevils. But Simon perseveres because he is determined to find the killer and he wants to know the "why of it all."
The "why of it all" is quite interesting!
An excellent read! Well, honestly, this is probably the best book I've read this summer!
*This book was provided for review by B & B Media*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unlimited
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Science Fiction story with a new twist!

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Think of the possibilities of wasted energy being able to be collected and harnessed in such a way that it would provide unlimited energy with minimal costs. In fact such wasted energy does exist in the world of quantum physics as Simon Orwell has discovered while attending college at MIT and working with a colleague and fellow Professor Vasquez to uncover how to tap into that with an electronic device that would generate unlimited power. When Simon receives an urgent email from Professor Vasquez from Mexico, he only agrees to go in hopes of apologizing in person for something he has carried with him for years. Something that can only be done in person and Simon won't be set free from his internal prison until he comes face to face with Professor Vasquez.
Only once Simon crosses the Mexican border, things are about to take an unexpected turn for the worse. He is soon hunted by what he believes are drug cartels who are looking for the device that Simon has with him. While attempting to flee, he runs over a spike strip in the middle of an isolated road, that cripples his car and leaves Simon on foot to make a run for it. Now if he can only hide the black canvas bag with all his critical data in it along with a now damaged device somewhere in the middle of nowhere before he is found.
In the latest science fiction suspense novel from best selling author Davis Bunn, he takes the reader on an unexpected journey like never before. Soon to be released on the big screen, the novel sets the stage for a new war in Mexico, one that will not only involve gangs and drugs but a new source of revenue, power in the form of electricity. The cost per kilowatt in Mexico is now the highest in the world and new political enemies want their hands on Simon's device. He's not even sure that with the right funding that the device will even work as Professor Vasquez and himself believe it can. If they can only discover how to tap into the frequencies and particles to make them work in harmony.
Simon's only safe haven is an orphanage being funded through private donations and a pension from owner Harold Finch, who walked away from a lucrative career with NASA and consulting Fortune 500 companies to serve a higher cause. He has offered Simon a place to find more than safety here and in doing so many in fact put the children who live there in danger unless Simon can find a way to make the device work as planned. In due time, he will discover secrets to both the world-changing device and his own unlimited potential.
I received Unlimited by Davis Bunn compliments of B and B Media Group and B and H Publishing Group for my honest review. This one honestly took me awhile to get into the story. It takes its time establishing the background before the reader understands just what is being sought after and what the potential is. However like all great books perseverance ultimately pays off. For those that love a good science fiction with a suspenseful twist, then you will definitely want to check this one out. I'd rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unlimited
This review is fromUnlimited: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Unlimited", the exciting suspenseful book

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
joyfulreaderandlistener
Location:CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am excitedly looking forward to the movie, UNLIMITED after reading Davis Bunn's new high energy suspense called, "Unlimited".
As with each new Davis Bunn book, here in his book called, "Unlimited" I have once again met new people, that I quickly learned to care about; faced new impossible challenges; visited a new environment and culture,; have been challenged to care more deeply for others.. And to believe God for the impossible.
One of my favorite lines: "a good goal is one worth investing that most precious of gifts .. Your life. And it needs to be impossible. "
The characters seem real, the villains are dastardly. The pace of the action is just right.
How much more can you ask from an author and a book. Thanks, Mr and Mrs Bunn. You're the greatest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.