Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook

Have you bought into the lie that you're worthy of God's love only when your life is going well? If so, when life begins to fall apart and embarrassing sins threaten to reveal your less-than-perfect identity, the inclination is to scramble to keep up a good front, to cower and hide until the mask of perfection can be slipped back into place.

All this time, though, God is calling you to take your mask off and come openly to Him. God longs for you to know in the depths of your being that He loves you and accepts you as you are. In Abba's Child, you'll be encouraged to let go of the impostor lifestyle and freely accept your belovedness as a child of God your Father. In Him there is life, passion is rekindled, and your union with Him is His greatest pleasure.

This revised and expanded edition includes a new preface and a discussion guide written by Manning himself.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Review 1 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing book

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Counselor
Location:State College PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book came to me at a time in my life when I needed it. For years I had put God in a box that suited me. Manning helped to dismantle that box and provided a real look at God's love for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insights into a loving relationship with God

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frank
Location:Tipp City, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Brennan Manning understands what it means to be in a REAL relationship with God our father, or "Abba", through Jesus Christ. I wish that he had attended my church, or was my next door neighbor, so that I could have learned from him about this wonderful acceptance from God when I was younger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love2read
Location:Sherwood,OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't reread many books. But this is a keeper! For anyone who struggle with accepting God's love and others love. Or just needs a reminder!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
De Anna Waldrop
To the heart of the matter. This book speaks directly to you as it does for me. I've just started reading it. Enjoy doesn't seem to be the right word. Confronting? Yes. But that's good. Our true selves need to be illuminated. I would definitely recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leila Beckedahl
Too much of the author's own personal stories as a father or monk. I wanted more about God's love toward sinners.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark Eckels
This is not a book that one can hurry through. It is not an *easy read*. It is thought provoking;slow, comtemplative. One cannot come away from reading without an appreciation of this incredible relationship that we have - as Abba's child!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chrystalla Vasiliou
It's a lovely book! Touched my life in a deep way!!! Gave me peace and inside, so much that I was surprised at times. For people who feel sometimes lost in their spiritual path with God, with church, with themselves. It's deep:-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
Allen W. Jerkins
This book has been very helpful to me over the last 8 or 9 years since my first reading. Brennan's account of one who hid from God, trying to be perfect and earn love and approval, resonates with me deeply. It is almost too difficult to believe in this God who loves us regardless of performance. Brennan does a great job of describing the signposts along this journey of faith toward him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Abba's Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2003
Customer Avatar
Callie
This book is AMAZING!!! Brennan Manning has the courage and insight to address spiritual issues of identity and where we find our worth with an honesty that cut me to the core. It's all about finding our worth in being God's beloved -- nothing else. I want to buy one for everyone I know. :) He said so many things I needed to hear, it really changed my life. Praise God for His great love for us!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.