Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook

What does holiness look like? For starters, it doesn't look anything like perfection. And it doesn't necessarily look like victory. Mostly, it consists of effort, prayer, grace, and obedience. "Scripture speaks of both a holiness we have in Christ before God, and a holiness we are to strive after," writes Bridges. We can ignore neither Christ's role nor our own if we are to successfully pursue holiness. It is as simple as refusing to smudge the truth on a tax return or as complicated as forgiving the person who has most viciously hurt us.

Bridges takes holiness out of the realm of the impossible and brings it into the real world of your daily life and decisions. Whether you're continuing your pursuit of holiness or just beginning, the principles and guidelines in The Pursuit of Holiness will challenge you to obey God's command of holiness.

Average Customer Rating:
4.915 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
Review 1 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book on holiness.

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book on holiness to be completely Bible-based and asolutely easy to understand. For anyone who is not sure what living holy means, The Pursuit of Holiness is a book worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A timeless must-read for all Christians

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janis
Location:Saint Andrews, NB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is as relevant today as it was when it was written in the 70s--maybe more so. A misunderstanding of what grace means has led to a North American church that doesn't want to hear about holiness, much less hear about sin. This well-written, easy-to-read, extremely biblical work makes its case in orderly, logical fashion, and should be part of every true believer's library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging book

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debi Graham
Location:Blairsden CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're content with the status quo of your walk with Christ this book might not be for you. You will be challenged to a deeper relationship and to be more Christ-like in your everyday life. If you're looking for a change instead of the status quo, this book is a "must read!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These books are inspiring and Biblically correct!!

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Ma.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These books are inspiring, Biblically correct and enriching to those who study together. The author, Jerry Bridges, makes clear that God is clarifying the scriptures for us and revealing himself to us in new ways through the helps in this study on "The Pursuit of Holiness." Wonderfully Inspiring, and I would recommend it to all serious Christians pursuing holiness!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Christian classic!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tamara Dayton
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why did I not read this when it came out in the 1970's? Convicting and challenging. It does more than inspire - It provides practical advice for a Christian who aspires to grow in holiness, obedience and righteousness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book I read it every day and reread it along with my Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rich material for our small group. Effectively challenges individuals to grow in the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Studying the Word
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent book for explaining how we can all act according to God's will. The author lays out a structured plan on how to be more Holy. I like it when authors encourage daily scripture readings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
collee
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very informative study on how holy God is, and gives good insight on how to to pursue holiness in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diegored
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
As with all Jerry bridges books, this is an excellent read. Our church is going to do a study through this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julia George
Location:Lynn, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these for Christmas gifts. The price for such a great book is unbelievable. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read for every christian believer!

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kne Mitchell
Location:Munford, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book years ago and I picked it up again recently to read it again and found out while at our church bible study that we were fixing to do a study with this book. I was happy and excited too because I know what's in store for all who haven't read this book. It's full of scripture references and in my opinion sound biblical teaching. This is one of my favorite books and I believe it will be very beneficial to every reader who applies the information between it's covers to their lives. This book helped me to see my christian journey in a new light and gave me a clearer understanding of holiness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
rockyford58
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the simplicity of finding and downloading a book from the CBD website. The library that is built is what opens up first, so no hassle of navigating through a market website. It's your library that you want to start with, and that's what CBD has done. Brilliant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holiness isn't easy

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:East Rutherford, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Otherwise everyone would be holy! Still, I found this book to be too academic and full of jargon that us normal people here on Main Street wouldn't understand. But I couldn't resist the price! CBD always makes it so easy to buy things, even when I'm not sure if I have the money! I wish they would carry more regular books instead of all these technical books though. Oh well, I'll read the Holiness again and see how it goes. Thanks a lot! God bless you every body!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
tucker
Location:Arkport NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book I find that the book has cause me to take a look atmy life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shawn
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are serious about your walk with Christ then this book will inspire you without a doubt. It is very useful for daily life as it reveals and presents how to be victorious over sin and live a holy life with the promise of eternal life as well as joy in this life. This is definitely one of the above average books. Great Author and an easy read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very powerful book! Great learning lessons for the soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is really good. I think everyone needs to reed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Jerry Bridges’ The Pursuit of Holiness challenges readers to obey God’s command of holiness and obedience. We cannot simply pray and passively wait for our sinful habits to disappear. Self-discipline and responsibility is a major part of holiness. Bridges uses a metaphor of farming to illustrate this idea. He explains that a farmer cannot simply pray for prosperous crops. He must prepare the ground, plant seeds, and thoroughly care for them. Similarly, we must put sincere effort into overcoming our own sins.
Bridges makes many compelling points in his book. He shows how no sin is small enough that it can be overlooked or accepted. For example, a person with an obsession for playing and watching tennis may not want to categorize her activity as sinful. However, allowing a seemingly harmless activity to dominate one’s life is a huge sin according to Biblical teachings. More obvious, movies, music, and television shows that evoke impure thoughts are also sinful.
The Pursuit of Holiness provides a quick quiz to determine if a certain activity is productive or an example of disobedience. When unsure, one should ask the following questions about the activity: 1) Is it helpful—physically, spiritually, and mentally? 2) Does it bring me under its power? 3) Does it hurt others? 4) Does it glorify God?
One of the most powerful messages in the book for me, concerns overcoming jealousy and envious thoughts. Instead of desiring what someone else has, we should ask God to bless that person “even more and give you a spirit of contentment so that you will not continue to envy” (102). We should be motivated by holiness instead of envy and materialism.
Overall, the messages found in this book are vital for anyone struggling with sin. Whether it is overeating, lust, hatred, or any other sin, this book will show readers how to overcome it so we can lead holy lives and attain salvation. The message is straightforward and communicated in only 154 pages. Bridges does not waste time with unimportant details that may push readers away. I highly recommend this quick but powerful book to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Pursuit of Holiness - eBook
This review is fromThe Pursuit of Holiness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspiring book

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Run in such a way as to get the prize.” 1 Cor. 9:24—This verse is on the cover of The Pursuit of Holiness, by Jerry Bridges. Indeed, I think that captures the essence of the pursuit of holiness in our lives. God calls us to live holy lives. But what does that mean? What does “holy” mean? How can anyone other than God be holy? How does the concept of being made holy through Jesus contrast with personal holiness? How can we begin to break our habits of sin?
The Pursuit of Holiness addresses these topics and more. I felt that the book was both theologically sound and effective in inspiring me to holiness in my personal life. I found that each chapter left me with thoughts and concepts to “chew on.” I think that this book would serve well as a daily devotional. Each 6-10 page chapter begins with a verse that would be good for either meditation or memorization and addresses a different aspect of holiness. This is a book that I will be sure to keep and re-read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.