Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer

B&H Books Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer

In Whispers of Hope, author Beth Moore addresses how to pray without ceasing and pray effectively by walking readers through an easy to remember and apply method of prayer, coupled with seventy daily devotionals, and followed by prompts to put this prayer method into practice. In turn, readers will better understand how devotional reading and prayer are central to a stronger relationship with God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Review 1 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enhancing Prayer

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Whispers of Hope is a daily devotional about prayer. The author begins by breaking down the parts of prayer; praise, repentance, acknowledgment, intersession, supplication for self, and equipping. She describes these in detail. Then she follows each day’s entry with a listing of those categories headlining a space to write. If you enjoy journal-ling during devotions, you will enjoy this book. The author continues by covering the subjects we might struggle against. For example, one entry studies gossip. Another talks about God’s gentle reality-check when we think we know more than He does. She also reminds us that we can go through storms though we are completely in His will. Whispers of Hope covers ten weeks of daily meditations so I won’t list every subject. Beth Moore is a popular speaker and writer of long standing. Her writing, like her speaking, shows her to be intelligent and articulate. You will find new ways to look at your problems.
I received this book from the author's representative. I have not met the author and I receive no pay for any review. This is my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
I'm a fan of Beth Moore's work. What I appreciate the most about it is that she addresses areas that we all need to work on and continually points us to what the Word says. In Whispers of Hope she addresses the topic of prayer.
If you are like me you tend to do well in your prayer life by fits and starts. Some days I find myself in a continual state of prayer. Other days it is more like a lick and a prayer! My desire would be to become more consistent about my prayer life.
Whispers of Hope lays out a very doable format for going deeper with your prayer life. Each day begins with a Scripture reading followed by a short devotional thought from Beth. Then you are encouraged to spend time in prayer using the P.R.A.I.S.E. format.
Praise - Begin your morning prayer time with praise.
Repentance - After you've spent several minutes in praise and worship, enter a time of confession and repentance.
Acknowledgment - Having praised Him and been purified by Him, you are ready to submit to God's authority. Acknowledge His right to rule and reign in your life every day.
Intercession - Pray for others!
Supplication for self - Now enter into a time of prayer for yourself.
Equipping - Supplications for self helps us KNOW God; this step assists us as we grow in our capacity to SERVE God. Conclude your prayer time by asking Him to equip you in every way for a victorious day.
The book has two pages for each day that is dedicated to an area for you to journal your prayers. In the very back of the book is a section for recording answers to prayers.
This study is designed to be done as an individual or as part of a group. A Group Study Plan is included in the back of the book.
If you are looking to take your prayer life to the next level I would encourage you to get a copy of this book and spend the next ten weeks sinking deep into the type of prayer life that we would all benefit from.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent devotional to starta new year with

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
reborngal84
Location:Oshkosh, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is en excellent tool for getting deeper into God's Word and into prayer. I bought one for myself and one for a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't fall prey to the enemy without prayer!

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At times in my Christian walk I know that the most powerful weapon we have at our disposal is our prayers. Yet far too often we utilize them in a final attempt to a situation we realize is out of our control. But I believe what is missing is why we pray. It isn't just geared for a "wish list" for God's blessings in our life, or as a last minute call to action for our Heavenly Father to intervene in our situations we find ourselves struggling with. Prayer is first and foremost our method of communication with our Father in Heaven. It's more than just asking for Him to help us, it's about praising Him for what He is and what He is doing and what He has done for us. It's about letting go of thinking anything we do in this life we have control over and instead gracefully bowing out and rendering complete control willingly to Him.
In Beth Moore's latest book, Whispers of Hope, a 10 week devotional geared to work on our prayer lives over the next 70 days. She encourages readers to journal their prayers using a PRAISE acronym to remind us what it's all about instead of simply asking for help. Each day of this journey encourages the reader in a devotional to complete a brief Bible reading assignment, a Scripture for the day, and thoughts for the day. A Daily Prayer Guide follows each devotional to record your petitions using the P.R.A.I.S.E. approach to prayer. There is also a place in the book for you to record the answers to your prayers in the Answer Log.
Beth even addresses how to utilize Whispers of Hope in a group setting for Bible or Women's studies. She gives tips on different ways to make the best of the information you discover as you take your journey to enriching your personal prayer lives. No greater priority exists for the believer than knowing Christ through the study of His Word and the intimacy of prayer. Each day's format should allow most people to complete their daily devotions in about 30-40 minutes. This book is offered to help you form a habit of prayer and she hopes that in using this time, you will discover a fresh supply of mercy every morning, but more than that, may you discover the Mercy Giver.
I received Whispers of Hope by Beth Moore compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Icon Media Group for my honest review. I have not received any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. I know for me personally I am loving having a guide to help me set aside some time each day and read about God through the Bible and utilize this time as a personal discovery into understanding more about God. I only hope that each day in using it I will grow stronger in my prayer life, much like anyone who practices their skill in anything only improves the more time they spend doing it. I easily give this prayer devotional a perfect 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. This is perfect for an individual, women's or group Bible Study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you have sit down to pray and find that within minutes your mind has wondered elsewhere? I experience this as well and sometimes it gets so frustrating I just want to get up and get moving. Or thinking there is so much to pray about or people to pray for you wonder where to start? Like you I don’t want to bring a list to God and He doesn’t want you to either. What the Lord wants is us, so we come to Him and with the help of The Holy Spirit we can pray, and without ceasing too!
Beth Moore’s devotional isn’t meant to be used as anything other than an introduction along with practical suggestions as to how we can learn to pray. Pray using the Word, along with journaling just between the individual and the Lord. I am sure we all have requests or burdens we don’t want others to see to come across so we might hesitate to write them out, that’s fine. The main point is to spend time reading the Word, praying the Word and part of prayer is listening which is hard in a society that loves something on all the time. Yet, to sit quietly before the Lord has been one of the most treasured times I have learned to develop. Beth Moore even tells people in the introduction to “individualize” what she presents in the devotional. In other words, go with how the Spirit leads you, if you want to follow step by step what is in the book that is fine. The whole purpose is to teach us, equip us to communicate with the Father.
When I would read her thoughts about a Scripture section, it would stir up within me reminders of something or person I need to pray for or praise Him for answering my requests. I have found the more we relinquish ourselves into His hands, our burdens, thoughts, longings, desires and more, I can then hear him better. If I let go and give it to Him, it is a reminder to me that I trust Him and not myself to bring about a desired result. There is no special format you have to use, though Beth includes one she uses in her time with the Lord.
The one commitment is to make time to read the Word, and then learn how to pray the Word. These two go together, all any of us has to do is read the Gospels to observe Jesus doing both. Which Is a reminder to me that if Jesus felt the need to read the Word and then be alone communing with the Father, how much more do I need to do so? So grab your Bible, a notebook and the devotional go and enjoy the time you are invited to have with the God of heaven and earth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Prayer Devotional

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whispers of Hope is a devotional with brief bible reading, a scripture for the day, and a devotional. There is ample space for recording the prayers. This book helps facilitate journaling each day using the P.R.A.I.S.E. format. The prayer time is begun with Praise, then Repentance, Acknowledgment, Intercession, Supplication and lastly, Equipping . This is a great devotional to help you build the habit of an active prayer life.
If prayer is something you struggle with (and is an area I think we all can grow in), this is a great resource to work through either by yourself or in a bible study setting. I recommend Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer by Beth Moore, it is a book you can not walk away from unchanged.
FTC Disclosure: Special thanks to Caylen Kyle of Caylen Kyle for sending me a review copy. The review are my own words though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for establishing a prayer habit

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prayer. We are to pray without ceasing. Do you have a good habit of prayer? “No greater priority exists for the believer than knowing Christ through the study of His Word and the intimacy of prayer,” Beth writes. She has written this book to help us establish the habit of prayer. In reading it, we commit to seventy days of consistent prayer.
Each day features a devotional with a brief Bible reading assignment, a Scripture for the day, and a devotional. Following that is a prayer format for recording our petitions. It is a guide for journaling each day using the P.R.A.I.S.E. format. The prayer time is begun with Praise (perhaps repeating His attributes, singing a hymn or worship song), then Repentance (confessing daily). Next is Acknowledgment (lordship, submitting to His authority, acknowledging His right to rule and reign), then Intercession (pray for others). Supplication for self follows (bringing our innermost thoughts, fears, desires, weaknesses), and finally, Equipping (asking Him to equip you in every way for the day ahead). Two pages are given each day on which to journal. The six parts of the format are listed with plenty of space for writing.
Beth has provided a Group Study Plan at the back of the book. She emphasizes the advantage of meeting weekly with a group of prayer warriors. She outlines how group members can encourage each other to develop the discipline of daily prayer. She also gives suggestions for leading the group, whether it be a content-centered group, a format-centered group, or an application-centered group.
This book is a great encouragement for establishing a daily prayer habit. Beth's devotionals are practical for anchoring our prayer life in the Word. She shares her own experiences and teaches from biblical examples and passages in the devotionals.
If you have been struggling with consistent prayer, I recommend this book. The devotions are excellent and the prayer format is easy to remember and follow. I think it will change your prayer life.
I received a complimentary copy of this book through the Icon Media Group for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whispers of Hope: 10 Weeks of Devotional Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional on prayer

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Moore is a favorite Bible teacher. She is open, honest and genuine in her love of God. Her way with words, her knowledge of the Bible and her perspective are well-known and well-loved. Her in-depth Bible studies have influenced thousands of women and helped them grow in their walk with the Lord.
It is not surprising that Moore would prepare a devotional on prayer. Nor is it surprising that it would be empowering, moving and encouraging. ”Whispers of Hope” is a ten-week devotional which teaches the concept of prayer. Using the P.R.A.I.S.E. method, Moore leads us on a journey to praying with power. For 70 days, we are treated to Moore’s wise words, relevant personal experiences and prompts to pray. The P.R.A.I.S.E. method is an acronym for praise, repentance, acknowledgement, intercession, supplication for self and equipping.
The Bible tells us to pray without ceasing. It is a powerful part of our Christian life which is why we need to know where and how to start. There is no one correct method. You may have another way that works well for you, but Moore’s guide will help women who are just beginning their own prayer time a way to get started. It will also help those who need consistency in their prayer time. We don’t necessarily need someone to tell us about prayer or to go into a lot of detail, however, having a guide to get us started may be the jumpstart we need to be more effective and consistent in our prayer time.
“Whispers of Hope” will encourage you in your quiet time. The devotional will start a habit that will continue long past the 70 days. A great gift idea that offers a foundation upon which a prayer life can grow. If you want to spend some quality time in prayer, “Whispers of Hope” is a great tool to help you get started.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B&H Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.