Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook

We aren't born to stay the way we are. But how many times have we looked around us in dismay at the lack of spiritual maturity in fellow believers? It is evident in the rising rate of divorces among Christian couples. We find it in the high percentages of Christians, even pastors, who regularly view pornography. And we face it each time a well-known leader in the Christian community is found in sexual sin or handling finances dishonestly. Perhaps you have struggled with your own character issues for years, even decades, to little avail. There is good news. In Renovation of the Heart best-selling author Dallas Willard calls it "the transformation of the spirit" - a divine process that "brings every element in our being, working from inside out, into harmony with the will of God or the kingdom of God." In the transformation of our spirits, we become apprentices of Jesus Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Review 1 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not just Truth, but Understanding of Truth

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
FollowThatGuy
Location:Seattle
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Christian, pastor, leader, teacher, human interested in Jesus and following him should read this book. It should be standard reading in The Church, seminaries, etc.
I don't know if it's just the stage of seeking that I personally am in right now, but anything I read or listen to by Dallas Willard is packed full of "Oh!" or "Yes!" or "Wow." Definitely a lot to chew on. I was born and raised in the Christian religion, even spent a semester in seminary, so I am relatively knowledgable of biblical and theological truth. So while Willard does bring a lot of new truth to me, much of it I kinda knew but never really understood. "Renovation of the Heart" has given me a vision of what it means to follow Jesus with all my heart, mind, strength etc. His understandings and guidance are relevant and practical; he is not one to give "steps" that will produce the same "results"--God doesn't, so why should Dallas Willard? But Willard combines his insight into history, philosophy through the ages, the human condition, cultural issues today, and most of all his long apprenticeship with Jesus to share with us what this Christian (Christlike) thing is supposed to be like. And he inspires me to trust Jesus (really!) along the way for the means.
I would recommend studying more of Willard's books, as well as exploring the articles and audio resources at his website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent book; I don't yet like e-book format.

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:Lakeland, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author does a fine job of outlining how to grow in Christ and become a fully-functioning disciple of Jesus.
His logic is excellent, his progression through the book understandable, and he displays a sensible, caring approach to people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jolene Gates
This book is packed full of powerful information. Reads a lot like a text book, but if you can get past that it is worth buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Curtis Turner
"Renovation of the Heart: Putting on the Character of Christ" is a book that should excite the desire of every believer to realize in his own life the exquisite potential for the good God has in all of us. Having read Christian holiness literature, I come back to the truths which Willard touches on with a sense of reality that strikes me as good and great in God's order of things. In the past, tempted to believe a perfectionist paradigm of what Christian perfection or virtue is, there is a sense of it as being all too perfect and unattainable to be real. Willard brings it all into focus with great clarity and meaning by introducing the simple acrostic VIM: Vision, Intention and Means.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Robert W. Kellemen
Dallas Willard's "Renovation of the Heart" continues his insightful and practical presentation of spiritual growth begun with "The Spirit of the Disciplines" and "The Divine Conspiracy." His sub-title explains his focus: "Putting on the Character of Christ." Many Christian approaches to spirituality fail to address human psychological makeup. Not Willard. Versed as he is in philosophy, psychology, and theology, Willard explores the route to Christlikeness by examining six psychological capacities: soul (spiritual), social (relational), thoughts (rational), choices (volitional), feelings (emotional), and the body (physical). Rarely does one find such a holistic approach. Willard first outlines his biblical understanding of spiritual formation, or Christlikeness. He then uses his philosophical and theological training to probe the depths of the heart. This foundation poured, he then provides the practical meat of his book--specific chapters on each of the six human "faculties" (as the Puritans called them). These six chapters are some of the most profound materials written on the spiritual life in the past two hundred years. Willard concludes by moving beyond the individual to the Church and the world. In doing so, he follows the Scriptures and the Reformers in insisting that personal spirituality is ultimately for God's glory, through the Church, to the world. Read it slow. Savor it. Use the well-written study guide. Apply it. Share it. It could renovate many hearts. Reviewer: Dr. Robert W. Kellemen is the author of "Soul Physicians" and "Spiritual Friends." He is also a licensed professional clinical counselor and a seminary professor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2002
Customer Avatar
Bill Heatley
Dallas Willard changed my life with his book Divine Conspiracy and his guidance in Renovation of the Heart has drawn me ever closer in my relationship to Jesus Christ. Dr. Willard's thoughtful style and incredible insight into the heart and soul of human beings has helped me to see where I have kept myself from being a true disciple of Jesus.When asked if they are Christians, many people cite their denominational affiliation. The true question is one of the heart or spirit. Can we, through an inner transformation of our heart, mind, soul, and being, betransformed into Christlikeness? Can we heed his call and follow in his footsteps?In Renovation of the Heart, Dr. Willard explains that "we must never forget that the indispensable first step in caring for the soul is to place it underGod.... Spiritual formation for the Christian basically refers to the Spirit-driven process of forming the inner world of the human self in such a way that it becomes like the inner being of Christ himself." Moreover, "Ourwalk with Christ, well learned, is a burden only as wings are to a bird or the engines are to an airplane". Dr. Willard speaks to those seeking a betterunderstanding of their spirit and how it can be radically transformed into Christlikeness.If you truly intend to love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength, if you truly want to see your life made new, if you desire to have the kingdom of God be a right-here-and-right-now experience, then this book is a must read and I'm sure that you will be as passionate about it as I am.One word of caution; reading Renovation of the Heart and embracing the concepts and ideas held inside will radically change your life (just as Jesus intended).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kurt Reitinger
Willards latest work provides invaluable insight into a new understanding of integrity: the alignment of thoughts, feelings, will, body, social relationships, and soul with the will of God. Beginning with a discussion of these elements of human nature, Willard highlights how all six facets of our being have been hijacked by our culture. The result is that professing Christians automatically act according to their ingrained sin-nature rather than according to a Christ-like nature. Willard then provides practical guidance in the form of spiritual disciplines to enable transformation of the six components from the inside out (in an integrated fashion, with Gods grace) into Christ-likeness. I have found that the advice in Renovation of the Heart works, so I strongly recommend it to any believer seeking life to the full.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Renovation of the Heart: Putting On the Character of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2002
Willard offers some excellent ideas in this latest work. His presentation however, is lacking in readability and relevance. His intention is to describe how God works to transform persons into disciples of Christ.The author throughout this volume elaborates on the six human dimensions in which God brings change: thought, feeling, will, body, social context, and soul. His insights are very helpful, especially to Christian leaders and pastors. He stresses that discipleship is not an option for the follower of Christ, but is the essence of what it means to be a follower of Christ.Willard undoubtedly is a gifted thinker and devout believer. If his writing style were not so bland and even boring at times, he would minister to a much wider audience. As it is, I can recommend this book only to professional Christian leaders who have the time and the motivation to mine the nuggets of truth found here.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.