Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books God is Able

B&H Books God is Able

Nothing is impossible with God. Nothing.

Not even that thing. Your thing. The one thing that seems to defy all attempts to defeat it, restore it, heal it, change it, overcome it, undo it, or just to get through it.

If you've lost even an ounce of confidence in the power and loving attention of God--if experience has told you that faith must simply acquiesce to impossibility--it's time somebody told you different.

Bible teacher and best-selling author Priscilla Shirer explores two power-packed verses of Scripture, displacing your doubts and rebuilding your assurance--not in a blind attempt to deny life's adversities and troubles, but to show you that God is always up to great things. Amazing things. He's a God who cares, and a God who CAN!
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God is Able
Review 1 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An awesome Word!

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
C Gurley
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A blessing to read. This little book is thought provoking and encouraging. Recommend for anyone at wits end with any problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margie
Location:Medford, Or.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book to show that God gives more than we could ask for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2013
In her plucky down-to-earth way, Priscilla Shirer takes us through a phrase by phrase journey of Ephesians 3: 20-21. Yes it is only two verses, but those two verses pack a whole lot of truth in them.
I had the privilege of watching a simulcast from Lifeway Women where Priscilla spoke on this topic. It was a powerful presentation so I was especially looking forward to getting my hands on the book. I looked forward to delving deeper into this particular portion of scripture.
Priscilla begins by introducing us to this portion of scripture by reminding us that it was written by Paul when he was in prison. Talk about thinking things seemed hopeless! But of course that wasn't the case for Paul nor is it for us.
Through the use of humorous as well as serious stories Priscilla guides the reader on a journey of understanding that nothing is out of God's reach. No matter what your particular situation, God knows about it and He is able to bring about a result that is best for you. One of my favorite lines from the book is this, "Just because God can doesn't mean He will. But just because He hasn't doesn't mean He won't. The bottom line is that He is able."
I know that I will personally never think about the ability of God in the same way again. I came away from this study with not only a deeper understanding of the scriptures but also an assurance that no matter what, GOD IS ABLE!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nothing is IMpossible for God!

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No matter who you are, however old or young, there's always at least one thing. That thing in your life you can't seem to - you know, escape or fix or solve. It's just...it's ...(Sigh.)
It's always there. Just when you think you've maybe figured out a little piece of it - how you might be able to handle it better, manage it, work around it, or get out ahead of it - it always seems to end up beating you, or at least keeping you awake in the wee hours of the night.
You've tried. (Oh, Lord, how you've tried.) You've prayed. You've asked. You've begged. You've fretted. You've calculated. You've eaten better. You've exercised more.
You've tried being gentler, then firmer. Louder, then more quieter. More assertive, then more submissive. You've admitted where you went wrong and refused to gloat when you were right. You feel like you've done everything you can think of. And honestly, you're starting to seriously wonder now if God can do this, if He can do...It.
You'd still like to think He can. And if you were to spout all your churchy rhetoric, it'd sure sound like you believe He can. But deep down - down where you soul pulses with doubt and uneasiness - you wonder about that circumstance, that life issue, that dilemma you're facing. God may be able to keep the stars in the sky, the earth tilted on its axis, and the heavens hung in glorious array. But can He do this? It?"(pg 1-3)
In her latest book, God Is Able, Priscilla Shirer takes the reader into a look at what God is capable of through a personal look at her own doubts and unbeliefs when she was struggling. That no one has it all together no matter how famous or close to God they appear to be. She shows us that no matter how difficult our situations may be or how caught off guard they may have found you, they can carve out a deep foothold where doubt could settle in. But if you and I don't turn to face these things, we'd never come face to face with Him. And our God's not having any of that. She write is such a way you feel as if you're having a one on one conversation with a close personal friend, something I love when reading non fiction books.
I received God is Able by Priscilla Shirer compliments of B and H Publishers and Icon Media Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are my own. This is such an exciting book because as believers, we all find ourselves struggling to keep our head above the storm waters that threaten to consume us. Yet even in the heart of the storm, Priscilla showcases how God is Able to do the Impossible through her own personal experiences and using the scripture reference of "Now to him who is able to do exceeding abundantly beyond all we ask or think according the power that works within us to Him be the glory" found in Ephesians 3:20-21. She pulls apart those verses to encourage readers to see what God can do in their lives, in their situations to not only answer their prayers if it His will but more importantly to see God in what is happening. This is such a great resource for anyone who has ever struggled and wondered where God was in their life. For that reason I give this a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and this is one I plan on referring to quite a bit whenever doubt tends to creep back into my life about what God is able to do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!!!

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
jojosutiscorner
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! What a powerful, soul-stirring, inspiring book!
Priscilla Shirer’s “God Is Able” will have readers confidently facing-down life’s impossible, helpless situations with new hope.
This book takes an up-close look at Ephesians 3:20-21 and presents it in classic Shirer-style!
If you desire to have more confidence in God,
If you’re tired of fighting your battles on your own,
If you want to know how to stop allowing your circumstances to control you,
If you wish you believed that God really IS able….do not miss Priscilla Shirer’s GOD IS ABLE!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As I was reading this book, one characteristic that I was blessed by was the transparent way Priscilla shared about what she believes, and in some cases, what she believes for others who are struggling or need to hear a truth. She shares in one chapter that it took awhile for her to be captured by the truth. What the author shares is about Who God is and not that He will give us all we want. Do you know why? If God gave us all we want, not only would we be spoiled, but we would be putting ourselves in a mess. Like those who have help raise kids, taught kids or whatever, we all know that giving in to them isn’t the best for them.
God is able to do for us more than we can ever imagine. He wants more for us than we can ever comprehend. I am not talking about material things, but what matters most…the spiritual part of us. Priscilla shares about perspective, especially those long nights where answers haven’t come yet and sleep hasn’t either or how about a long season in your life that is causing you to be weary and just putting one foot in front of the other takes a great amount of concentration?
Wherever you are right now in life, whether good times or bad, physically okay or not, none of these things stops God from working. The whole idea of God is Able is to remind us that when we can’t, that’s okay because God can. Yet, if we remember that God can do above and beyond all that we ask or think, He will do it in ways that will surprise the socks off of you or maybe humble you. I, too, experience the Wow moments of God working and the humble reminder that I was never meant to live dependent on my flesh or anyone else, just God.
Read God is Able and consider encouraging someone with a copy this holiday season!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will open your eyes

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you believe that? I mean, really believe that God is able?
This book might challenge what you know and believe about God's ability in your life.
This book was a pleasant surprise for me. Priscilla takes one verse and dissects it every possible way to help us understand the fullness and the vastness of God's ability. The verse is Ephesians 3:20-21. A verse that many are familiar with but likely have never had it broken down quite like this. Each chapter takes a word or section of words from the verse and kneads it through until there is no mistaking what the intentions of those words are, and the power intended behind them.
Now don't go judging this as "I've heard all about that verse before." Because Priscilla has an amazing gift of peeling back YOUR layers and digging deep into YOUR heart to tell an new story about this verse. You won't be disappointed.
The book has a very easy flow and is easy to digest in small parts. It also is short enough to read over a couple of days. Her light-hearted but get-to-the-point style of engaging the reader is refreshing and perfectly suited for this topic of opening our hearts to the greatest that God is able to do in and through us.
An excellent read and an excellent gift for someone you love who is struggling through that impossible situation.
Thanks to B&H Publishing for my free copy to review. The above comments are my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great encouragement to believe God is able

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You are in a tough spot and you cry out to God. You wonder if God can actually do it. Oh, you believe in the power of God – theoretically – when it's someone else's problem. But what about when it is you who needs the power of God? Do you have faith in God's ability/willingness to take care of you?
Priscilla takes us through Ephesians 3:20-21 phrase by phrase. She tells some pretty amazing stories about what God has done in her life and the lives of others. But she is quick to note that God has not always answered her prayers the way she requested. She's been disappointed, confused, unsure.
Priscilla handles well this issue of God not answering our prayers the way we want. Paraphrasing her, whether God chooses to do something is a question of His sovereignty, not His ability. Whether or not He will do it is His business. Believing that He can is our business.
God has not always changed her circumstances but He has changed her. “Sometimes His best work is not what He does for us but what He does inside us,” she writes. She has confidence that God is able. Because He is able, because He is love, we can be secure in any situation.
This is a very practical book. It is short and very powerful. Priscilla's writing style is so contagious, you'll be encouraged as I was. In fact, why don't you go read Ephesians 3:20-21 right now and start believing.
I received a complimentary copy of this book through a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Came Away Encouraged

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God is Able studies Ephesians 3:20-21:
Now to Him who is able to do exceeding abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.
Paul wrote Ephesians 3:20-21 when he was imprisoned, it seems more likely that he would write a litany of his suffering as David did in many Psalms. Instead, Paul found hope in God apart from his circumstances.
I reviewed a book by author Priscilla Shirer several years ago, published by Moody Press--publisher of learned treatises on Christian truth. I found that book, though valuable and useful, a little dry.
But Moody editors must have removed her personality. God Is Able gives a glimpse of an attractive woman who lives her faith. She writes as she probably speaks.The reader will find no dryness here.
She understands discouragement and trouble, but has come through it more in love with Christ than in all her life as a preacher‘s daughter. God is Able is not self-help. If you follow these five steps it will all be fixed. There isn’t a single step to follow (unless you count turning your life completely over to God).
I came away from God Is Able encouraged, and determined to pray bigger to a bigger God than any of us can imagine.
One point of disagreement; it has become fashionable to stick the title in the middle of the page with no other decoration and call it a cover. I miss the days of beautiful covers. There is no reason to choose this book in a bookstore.
Priscilla Shirer is the daughter of Dr. Tony Evans and a busy writer and speaker in her own right.
I received this book from the author's representative. I have not met the author and I receive no pay for any review. This is my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God is Able
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nothing is impossible with God

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using Ephesians 3:20-21 (Now to him who is able to do exceeding abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.), Priscilla Shirer breaks down the verses to show that God is up to great things in our lives. Whatever it is that you need to bring to God is the very thing that God is able to do beyond what we ask of Him.
In "God is Able", Shirer testifies to God's ability by sharing her own personal experiences openly and honestly. God is always able to perform great things in our lives by using our adversities and troubles. We often look for God to rid us of our troubles, but instead He uses them to strengthen our faith and our character.
Shirer offers us confidence and hope in "God is Able", a powerful book filled with life-changing wisdom for those who will hear and receive. God's miracles don't always make headlines. Sometimes they are our own personal testimony that God cares about you and is able to do great things in your life.
I appreciate Shirer's honesty and openness. Even though some of her stories have been used in previous books, I found them encouraging.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B&H Publishing, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.