Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook

Far from being legalistic, restrictive, or binding, as they are often perceived, the spiritual disciplines are actually the means to unparalleled spiritual liberty. So if you'd like to embark on a lifelong quest for godliness, Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life will help you on your way. Based on the rich heritage left us by the early church fathers, the Puritan writers, and Jesus Christ Himself, Whitney takes you through a carefully selected array of disciplines that includes Scripture reading, prayer, worship, Scripture meditation, evangelism, serving, stewardship, Scripture application, fasting, silence and solitude, journaling, and learning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Review 1 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read it Multiple Times

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ziggy
Location:Somers, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted a guide to the spiritual disciplines for a while and the other texts left me wanting. This book is based upon the ideas of the Puritan thinkers which may sound stodgy at first, but once you start reading, you will find much practical advice, enlightenment and wisdom. The only reason I gave it "good" for value is because I see an updated version is coming out and I would have liked to had the most up to date. But, I highly recommend this text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and important read.

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:East Bay, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't miss out on this book. Use and review it monthy. I've taken my pastors advice and keep it on my night stand. One bit of warning is that the ebook app is (as far as I found not well developed) difficult to navigate. There are no page #'s as far as I could find. And to turn the page u swipe backwards so left to right rather than right to left like other readers. Sorry to be picky but when the bible study leader says flip to page 73... and there is no page marker... wow thats a tricky deal to stay up with the class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
BJEAN
Location:LOS ANGELES
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS BOOK AND WORKBOOK IS GREAT FOR EVERYONE. I ESPECIALLY RECOMMEND THIS TO NEW BELIEVERS AND FOR THOSE WHO NEED TO BRUSH UP ON THEIR KNOWLEDGE.
THANK YOU FOR THE BOOKS. I GAVE THE WORKBOOK TO FRIENDS FOR UPDATING THEIR KNOWLEDGE.
BJEAN
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent supplement to evidence transformation

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
NLITEME 2013
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must for spiritual growth beginning with new member’s orientation to the well seasoned student. It serves as a powerful supplement in the transformation process using relevant analogies and practical apps. When applied this concise study enables Christians to immediately advance in Godliness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great. Each chapter is incredibly well-written and the wisdom is overflowing. You cannot avoid growing in grace if you choose to read this book and commit yourself to growing in grace by "disciplin[ing] yourself for the sake of Godliness."
He reminds us, discipline without direction is drudgery. Godliness is our aim, and so discipline is an entirely different thing from what we thought.
Read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent content and well written. This book has inspired me into a closer relationship with the Lord and has targeted some areas of my walk that were lacking. If anyone is truly serious about their Christian life I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best book on the Disciplines

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a number of books on the disciplines of the Christian life and this is by far the best. This is one of those books I have resolved to be reading through every year.
Highly recommended
God bless
Kali
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practice of Disciplines results in Freedom

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hesbone
Location:Khartoum, Sudan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
This book is based on real life experiences. It's practical, easy to read and apply both for individuals and groups. Whitney rises above nominal Christian dogmas to effectively provide insight into the Biblical foundations of the disciplines. He also shows how to practice the disciplines in a systematic way that results to a deeper knowledge of, and connection to, Christ. The result of this is, the reader interacts with scriptures cited therein so much so that they become highly vulnerable to opening up their hearts, minds and bodies for the Holy Spirit to work in them to cause the change that God desires for them. Ultimately, they get spiritual freedom and live victorious lives. I recommend this book to any Christian who desires to live fulfiled lives in this fast changing world.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Much better than I thought

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
pilgrimjack
Location:Tioga County, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read many books on spiritual formation and I would rank this among the best. Though I question his order of subjects, I found his insight and illustrations to be very clear and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone interested in learning more of the spiritual disciplines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding product

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
ZMIJ
Location:West Frankfort, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Christian should study this book. It is biblically based and much needed in the church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terri Murphy
This book was recommended by my Pastor - he is doing a series on spiritual disciplines for our Bible study group. I learned so much from this book. I have been saved for a little over a year now and reading this book gave me new direction in my own quest for godliness. I would highly recommend this to new and especially to mature Christians who may find their faith has become lukewarm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Wilson
this is by far the greatest book for new christians. I use it as my new members class lesson. this is a very good book for stidy and application of biblical principles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Mattson
I have the audiobook of this, and the book should be read and re-read by Christians who wish to live a disciplined Christian life. The accompanying workbook adds depth to this wonderful resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael McDonald
This book was used in a study by my church. I thought that it was a great book. It outlines some of the most common disciplines of a Christian life. This book will be very helpful for me to refocus my life for God now and in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Nagelkirk
Product description was accurate and the book arrived timely (a day early actually). The book is basic but helpful for those who desire to exercise the spiritual disciplines in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Maddocks
For those who desire to grow in grace and knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ, whether new in the faith or having walked with the Lord for many years, Spiritual Disciplines for The Christian Life speaks to every area of personal growth in the Christian's life. I have know the Lord for 29 years and I have experienced renewal and person challenges to areas neglected or left unexamined in my spiritual life. I am grateful for Whitney's teaching and instruction. It is refreshing and inspiring. I recommend it for every Christian who desires to grow personally and continue joining God is His work of change in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley Tait
This book is excellentno Christian should be without it! This is a keeper and will be in my reference library for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Louise
Keep it on your bookshelf and refer to it often.. should be required reading in a new-believers class. More than a 'recipe' for a spiritual life pleasing to God, it's a reference manual, to be used when we lose our way. This is how we walk...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Victor Cosme
It truly is an amazing book! it gives you the disciplines in a way I've never seen before! God bless Don Whitney! One aspect of the Christian life i never expected was journaling! to my surprise it helps, sooo much! this book is a blessing to all who read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bobby Lawson
When we started plans to teach a spiritual disciplines class for this community of believers, we began a search for a book to provide for each student. Donald Whitney's was the book we chose, not just for it's affordability, but because it is a very readable book that is right on target. Our spiritual disciplines course has evolved into a four month course in which the students practice the disciplines as we read and discuss them. Constantly those who take this class are remarking how this book is opening their eyes to a new way of experiencing God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>