Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1

Random House, Inc DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1

Once a slave, Kale is given the unexpected opportunity to become a servant to Paladin. A small band of Paladin's servants rescue Kale from danger but turn her from her destination: The Hall, where she was to be trained. Feeling afraid and unprepared, Kale embarks on a perilous quest to find the dragon egg stolen by the foul Wizard Risto. Great for ages 12 and older
Average Customer Rating:
4.855 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Review 1 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic allegory!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first as to whether I would like Dragonspell or not... based on the cover and the summary I thought it might be a bit weird- but that was before I got the book and started reading! Don’t “judge this book by its cover”! I started reading last night and found myself instantly captured by the book’s well-written plot, memorable characters… and, of course, the baby dragon! :-) Fourteen-year-old Kale, a former slave, is on her way to the great city of Vendela to bring a dragon egg she has found to The Hall and to join Paladin’s followers. On her way, she meets perilous danger. A group of Paladin’s followers rescues her and they her a message- that instead of going to The Hall for her training, she is needed to join them immediately on a crucial quest to find and recover a rare and important meech dragon’s egg, which has been taken by an evil wizard who, unless stopped, will use it for a devastating purpose.
This was a fantastic and well-written book, and I love how it’s a fun and exciting story and also an allegory! This has been one of my absolute favorite books that I’ve gotten through the blogging program- did I mention that I only got the book last night and already finished it?! This book is one I would definitely recommend to others. I loved it!
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for giving me this book free in exchange for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Vividly Imagined Fantasy!

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One dragon egg holds the key to the future.
And one former slave girl holds the ability to find it.
Kale Allerion, unassuming o’rant girl of River Away, is on her way to the Hall to become a servant of Paladin. Instead, she finds herself set off in the middle of a quest for the last remaining meech egg. With her companions, Leetu and Dar, she must face her fears, embrace her talents and race to find the egg before the dark wizard Risto does. Can one slave girl do so much? Or will evil triumph in the search for the dragon egg?
With vivid imagination, Donita K. Paul sweeps out a colorful story with a brilliant backdrop. Dragonspell took me through swamp lands, forests, valleys and castles on the hunt for the dragon egg and the mission from Paladin. The quest started out a little slowly at first, but mid-way through I became truly engaged.
Being the first book in a series, I feared Dragonspell would leave me locked in a dungeon someplace, awaiting for the second part. Fortunately, it wrapped up well enough to stand alone. I give it 3.5 out of 5 stars!
I received this book from the publisher for free, in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dragonspell - A spellbinding book

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crazy RAGs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragonspell by Donita K. Paul is a book filled with magical creatures, characters you will love, and of course a biblical point of view. Set in a land called Amara, a slave girl embarks to the capital city Vendela. Attacked by ogres she is plunged into a quest of urgency, to get back a dragon egg stolen by the evil wizard Risto. She travels with two companions, Dar and Leetu. She learns things about herself and even meets the most important man alive, Paladin.
Kale, still naive to her powers, didn't even know they existed utill one day she found a dragon egg. Kale thought it was just a mistake that she found it but the leaders of her town weren't as convinced. To make sure the dragon egg was properly taken care of the leaders sent Kale to the capital city, Vendela. She was turned off course when two warriors saved her from an attack. Still not knowing anything about her powers, Kale learned fast that it was no mistake she found the dragon eggs. Worried that she would never understand how powers truly worked she was encouraged by her friends. After accidentally triggering her powers Dar, one of her friends and questing partners, encouraged her by saying, "By all the light on the crystal sea, that was brilliant."
I really enjoyed this book. The amount of adventure and fantasy entrapped me. I received this book on a Friday and read three chapters at school, the next day I read four more chapters. By the end of Sunday night I was on chapter thirty-nine. It took me half of Monday morning to finish the rest of the book. I literally could not put it down. My family and I went to a friends house and the first thing I did after they invited us inside was sit on their couch and continue reading. I recommended this book to everyone I know and I think you should read it too. Personally I believe that this could become a movie in the next three or four years.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enchanting!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Val Frania
Location:Wausau, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Dragonspell by Donita K. Paul was a pleasant surprise for me! The book is a fantasy story about a little girl named Kale who strikes out for The Hall after finding a dragon egg. I would have never guessed that I would enjoy a book so much, and would have never chosen one like this if it hadn't been for a review. I read it slowly and deliberately because of the story line. I was so intrigued I didn't want to miss a word.
At every turn the plot and characters would parallel something spiritual and throughout the book we could see how Wulder, the divine entity in the book, was the loving, caring leader that Kale needed to get to know and learn to lean on and follow. We were introduced to characters such as beater frogs, druddums, doneels, and emerlindians. It was a classic tale of good and evil, kinship, friendship, and character tests.
I highly recommend this book for anyone who would like to depart from the usual and enjoy some whimsy and adventure through the eyes of a little o'rant girl.
Blogging for Books provided this book for free to me for an honest review. I will definitely buy Paul's other books in the series and continue the journey with Kale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful fantasy

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Girl Thursday
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DragonSpell is the first novel in a 5 book series by Donita K. Paul called the "Dragonkeeper Chronicles". It is a Christian allegorical fantasy in the tradition of C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien and introduces you to a world rich with characters that will soon feel like old-friends. In a timeless tale of good vs. evil, adventure, self-discovery and eternal truths DragonSpell is destined to be a classic read and beloved by the whole family.
DragonSpell is the story of Kale, a young o'rant slave girl, who orphaned at an early age has lived among a village of marione's where the only things expected of her are obedience and hard work. Her life is changed drastically when she is drawn by forces beyond her control to a dragon egg. Kale is sent to deliver the egg to The Hall in Vendela and there she is also to be trained for service to Paladin.
"Are ye sure ye won't ride all the way into the city?"
That one question is the pivot point upon which Kale's new life in Vendela is diverted into a quest to rescue a precious meech dragon egg from the evil Wizard Risto. Afraid and with feelings of inadequacy and unworthiness Kale embarks on a journey to self-discovery, faith, and acceptance. A journey filled with untold danger, fainting dragons, teasing doneels, and an absentminded old wizard, Kale discovers she is not just a slave and that being in service to Paladin is more than being a servant.
I was surprised and delighted by DragonSpell. The story is rich in detail, full of subtle humor, adversity to overcome, lessons to learn and characters I didn't want to leave behind when the book was finished. I will definitely be putting DragonSpell on my "to keep" list and will be adding the rest of the series to my library as soon as I can.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group does not require a positive review. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christian Fantasy Classic

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’ve read lots of good novels. Lots of good fantasy novels, even. And it’s hard to say what makes one certain novel a classic while other novels, perhaps equally good, somehow lack the ability to endure. But I feel confident in saying that Donita K. Paul’s novel Dragonspell possesses that staying power, that mysterious spark that makes a book a classic.
The cover touts it as “A fantastic journey of discovery for all ages” and it’s no exaggeration. I have known twelve-year-olds and twenty-somethings who enjoyed the book equally.
Dragonspell is the story of Kale, a village slave who finds a dragon egg and is consequentially thrust into a world of adventure she never dreamed of. Encountering grawligs, kimens, wizards (good and evil), a tumanhoeffer librarian, mordakleeps, and of course, dragons.
The action of the story is intense and exciting, but there is no gore or excessive violence, making it appropriate for younger readers. The characters are colorful, loveable, and their interactions with each other are heartwarming and hilarious. Donita K. Paul has created a fantasy world full of strange creatures, geography that begs exploration, and stories waiting to happen.
Dragonspell would make an excellent choice for family reading, book reports, or just personal reading for fun, no matter what age you are. If you want an exciting adventure, a delightful cast of characters, based on a Christian foundation, read Dragonspell.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I received this book free of charge from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review. A favorable review is not required; Waterbrook is committed to gathering honest opinions about the books they publish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Christian Allegory

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragonspell is a fascinating Christian allegory by Donita K. Paul and it follows the adventures of a former slave girl turned reluctant heroine. Kale found a dragon egg and the elders of her village have decided that she must present herself and the egg to the great wizards in the city of Vendela. She expects to become a servant of Paladin who is the earthly representative of Wulder, supreme being of Amara. Instead she gets captured by ogres, rescued by warriors riding large dragons, and sent on a quest to find an extrememly dangerous and rare egg.
Dragonspell is a fast-paced fantasy story with plenty of adventure and suspense. It is a well written story with a believable heroine. Paul describes the various scenes with great skill, and all the characters seem like they could actually live. The author uses too many discriptive words for my taste, but other than that it seems a great story.
I got this book free from Mutlnomah Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookwormMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this series of books! The characters are extremely well developed, and the setting is well thought out making this imaginary world very believable. I appreciated that while the conflicts were detailed enough to hold my interest, the author avoided unnecessary gore and violence. I hope that when my sons are a little older that they will enjoy this series as much as I do! The concept of major and minor dragons as well as the people using their special gifts to glorify their Creator was a great reminder of God's special plan for each of us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully crafted book

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elijah Duval
Location:Marion, Iowa
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a work of art. Donita Paul is an amazing author who knows how to weave a story of personal characters, and vivid worlds. Two thumbs up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Selina Gonzalez
A fun, beautifully told fantasy tale. Mrs. Paul does a superb job of crafting her fantasy world, from the creatures to the people, from the landscape to a great twist on dragons. Her characters are amusing, lovable, and deep. The story is engaging and ingrained with truth. A wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew
I found DragonSpell at a school book sale and decided to try it out. I loved it! Kale was a very interesting character to go on a quest with, and I particularly enjoyed learning about the minor dragons, Gymn and Metta. The seven high races all had certain aspects about them that added depth to the story and formed an interesting world to read about. I particularly liked the uhroms and kimens. The only reason I didn't give this book five stars was that a certain character seemed to disappear in the middle of the book, then reappear later. Also, there is no battle at the end, which usually does it for me, but there was an amazing rescue instead. I would strongly suggest this book to any lover of fantasy and adventure books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Nippard
As a youth pastor and an avid reader of fantasy, I would recommend every parent to get a set for their teen and every pastor to get a set for her/his library. Reading it brought me back to the first time I read Chronicles of Narnia when I was in Junior High. It has all of the whimsy, movement and theological relevance of Lewis' classics. Paul is a talented writer. She has created a world that is unique from anything I am aware of in popular fiction, and I am looking forward to seeing how she develops her characters and themes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
One of my sons is extremely dyslexic and hated reading ... until this book. He says he fell in love with reading when he read Dragonspell. The whole series is excellent; but this one will always be my favorite because of my son. Dragonspell is a delightful read for all ages; it is full of humor, adventure, imagination, and the love of God. Thanks Donita K. Paul!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
I enjoyed this book a lot. Though I still can't quite figure out what half of the creatures/characters are. :)It's written very well and an enjoyable book. So you should read it and see what you think!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Dragonspell is an enchanting beginning to a spellbinding series. It is the story of the likeable reluctant heroine Kale, the dragon keeper. released from slavery and struggling to overcome her fears and find her place in the world. She is whisked off on a sudden rescue mission with the help of her new friends; the sweet, wise Granny Noon; flamboyant doneel Dar; and serious, book loving warrior Lettu Bends. When Leetu is taken captive, Kale and Dar join forces with the grat dragon Celisse, speedy kimens, eccentric Wizard Fenworth and his grumpy librarian Librettowit and so many more to rescue Leetu and the meech egg from the clutches of the enemy. This book is filled with wonderful spiritual truths too. Buy it! You won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
After a lifetime of slavery, fourteen-year-old Kale is set free. She travels to The Hall in Vendela where she will receive her training as a servant. Before she can reach her destination, ogres attack her. She escapes into a cave where she finds seven small dragon eggs. When she comes back outside, she is rescued by Paladin servants. They inform her that Paladin has given her a gift, the ability to find dragon eggs, and persuade her to leave her journey to The Hall for another quest: find a missing meech dragon egg and fulfill her destiny as a dragonkeeper. Donita K. Paul crafts a wonderful adventure into an amazing fantasy world. Its no wonder why this book won a Christy award. I found the characters marvelous, my favorites being Gymn and Metta, two dragons so tiny they often ride on Kales shoulders. I highly recommend his novel for boys and girls of all ages. Looking forward to book two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brooke Brown
This Book and the other books in this series are amazing. They have helped me understand a little bit more about how God provides for us and I love how the author took truths from the bible and made them principles. This series is great for believers and non-believers alike. I fully intend to encourage my friends and family to buy these books and read them, they are a great tool for witnessing to people as well. I'm sure God is going to use these books in a huge way. I can't wait to find out what Donita K. Paul will bring to us next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daughter of Thigocia
DragonSpell by Donita K. Paul hooked me from the very beginning. I love Kale and all of the amazing characters! When Kale find a dragon egg and her masters turn her over to go to The Hall, where she is to be trained, her life is changed by Dar, a doneel, and Leetu, an emerlindian save her from a murderous band of grawligs (creepy trolls) she find that her course and life are changed. She learns that she has special powers, but is still afraid and wary of questing. Along with her comrades, she goes of to rescue a dragon egg from the evil Wizard Risto.This is a book I highly recommend to readers of all ages! It has a great Christian message, with colorful creatures, and a wonderful quest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Dick
Kale, the village slave for River Away, is nobody specialor so she believes. After discovering a minor dragon egg, the village elders send her to The Hall for training. But Paladins servants send her on a different quest: to recover the meech egg Wizard Risto stole from Wizard Fenworth. One of the best aspects of this book was how the sentient races differ from the traditional elves, dwarves, etc. The doneels and kimens are particularly original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for DragonSpell, DragonKeeper Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
PaisCharos
Open this book and you'll enter into Kale's world. A world of dragons, dragons that come in all sizes, colors, and gifts. A world of emerlindians, o'rants, mariones, and many more races! Discover Wulder, the God of this world, and learn his precepts as you set out on this journey with Kale, the Dragon Keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.