Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Review 1 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eh

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Twodeda
Location:Haven, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think this product is rather opening minds to sex than teaching to stay away from it. I have never heard of a rainbow party until I read this book I mean hello? Who wants their kids to learn about painting intimate parts on a guy? It basically revolves around who's having it who's not. Who's a good virgin who's not. I wouldn't recommend this book to someone I really cared about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A window on the pressures of our youth

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reisi
Location:Johnstown, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book before possibly downloading it for my 16 year old. This is a message that teens need to hear but I think that some will not be ready for the locker room talk that is dealt with in this book. I'm in my forties and don't remember this sort of thing being discussed and even though I'm married I learned some things in the pages of 'Torch Red'. I would mostly recommend this book for girls that attend public school and are exposed to this sort of 'thing' week in and week out. A more sheltered teen would probably find this too much to handle. Although I don't agree with the author on every point I AM glad that someone is trying to reach our teens- I really had my eyes opened to some of the things they have to deal with. God help us to pray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
I had read the reviews for this book and was a little bit skeptical at first because the comments talked about it being a bit much as far as sex goes. But my thoughts were: it was Melody Carlson, how bad could it be. Now that I've read the book I get what the reviewers meant. This is a book that had a good message in the end, but the beginning was a bit gross and the main character's friends came out as being a little bit skanky. With that, take warning. If you don't like to read about sex or those issues then I would not recommend this book. It is informative though, as far as the consequences of sex, which is realistic. I would recommend this for an older teen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Melody is an author that can hit a hard topic head out and not be to "preachy". This is a serious topic and it needs to be addressed in a godly way with every teenage girl. It is a great book! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tori Johnson
What the other reviewers are saying about this book being overly graphic, is ridiculous. Sure, if you're sheltered and don't really know very much it would be a little confusing and surprising at times. But in no way is this book overly graphic. You see more watching TV. Seriously, and I wouldn't recommend you watching it on TV. That's awful! But this book is great. I really enjoyed it, and like all of Melody Carlson's books, the girl comes to God in the end and its great. Great book, I'd read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Taylor
My teenager is working on reading and collecting this series and was excited to see this in her Christmas gifts this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna
This book was great. The fact that it is considered "too detailed" surprises me. It was open and honest, revealing no more than what teens are confronted with in their daily lives. I think every teenager should read this book, and actually emphasize the importance of younger teens reading it, BEFORE they are exposed to it in a setting where they do not know what to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kiersten
Wow, this book went way too far into the idea of sex. I was almost embarrassed to be reading this book. Maybe you should be older to read it or something, but I'm 15 and my older sister who is 23 thought it went way too far into the idea, too. I wouldn't be seen with this book on my shelf!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Crossroads Community Church
This series of books is a wonderful collection for Christian girls, to help them keep the faith and be encouraged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
abbi
I think that every teen girl should read this book. It helped me to see sex in a different perspective than others told me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Wanda Schlecht
This whole series is great for my teen-age daughter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
christchick
yeah, i think dat this book is well....ummm...well...its good, but well....it gives alot of details and just puts it right there in front of your face. but its good for teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Allison
I think this was an absolutely terrific book! It really shows the life of a teen and all the emmotions that run through their heads. I cannot wait to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
swtchk
I picked this book up in the library and read it in one night I enjoyed it so much! I then recommended it to my sister and she read it in one night too. I have told three other friends about it and they have all enjoyed it a lot. We are now all going through the other color me series books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Heather
Good in most aspects, but mentions waymore information than is needed. I, as an adult, learned things I didn't know, and decided to pull this one from my daughter's collection, as I also did of Color Me Confused. The rest have been great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Starr
I really enjoyed this book. I enjoy all of the color series books. I just think this was my farvorite of all the ones I have already read. Now I'm reading Deep Green and eventually will be moving on the Dark Blue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Torch Red: Color Me Torn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2005
This book is very straight forward about the struggles that teen girls face in their lives today. A good read, but not for someone who would prefer not to hear about this topic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.