Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common Sense Press Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9

Common Sense Press Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9

Kids coming into college and even high school often struggle with their writing skills and ability. Stand against the current with targeted writing exercises that are enjoyable and effective! Wordsmith's creative writing course gives students solid instruction in writing-techniques, emphasizing building strong sentences, description, narrative, dialogue, and revising/proofreading. Humorous examples and integrated practices help kids to remember what they've just leaned and figure out how to apply it. This new Edition of Wordsmith includes more exercises, examples, and explanations, as well as review and practice quizzes. Grades 7-9. Some exercises may be completed in the book, but for others a notebook or additional paper will be necessary. 100 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Review 1 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Teen Choice Awards

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
vtkid
Location:Vermont
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this book for 2 weeks now, but I've got to admit that I do like it. The biggest plus so far is that I don't get the rolled eyes and groans when it's time to pull out Wordsmith, like I did with last year's writing curriculum I chose.
When I asked my 14 year old daughter what she thought of it, her response was:
"Way better than last year, for sure. AND I'm having fun with the thesaurus".
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lissa
Location:Mississippi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this program to all homeschoolers!! It worked wonderfully. My child was not a writer at all. By the end of this book, he was excited to write. Wow!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom5132
Location:Canton, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started this with my 13 y.o. dd who has never written more than a paragragh. I was so surprised when we got to a part that said to ask the student if they wanted to do "more practice". I thought for sure she would say no but to my delight she chose to try the extra practice and is doing her best!! Mrs. Cheaney truly knows how to inspire reluctant writers!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very fun writing curriculum

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
homeschooliscool
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this book for next school year. I believe that we will have a lot of fun with it. I love the quirkiness of the writing. It is informative and fun.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Writing book!

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
asouder
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent for students who want to learn english within the boundaries of writing. It teaches both parts when you are reminded of grammar studies which comes through in the value of writing. Wordsmith integrates both very well. Highly recommended.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product helps a non-writer become a writer.

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patti Carlson
Location:Mishawaka, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this product to help one of our high school aged sons to learn how to express himself with writing. We were pleased to see him go from total frustration and inability to surprising clarity as we took our time going through the book over 1 1/2 years of school. He now uses this writing skill adeptly in his home business as an adult.
We are purchasing another copy to use with our youngest son.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon Heynen
My daughter loves this writing program. We used the WordSmith Apprentice last year and graduated to this one. It is very user friendly and requires very little work from mom. The author speaks directly to the student so she can be completely self-sufficient. I can't say enough good things about this program
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Dewhirst
Had used Wordsmith for so many years that I thought buying the new version would be a good idea. Turns out that, at least in the early lessons, it is almost exactly like the old. Fortunately my copy was well used and the new one is being used by my last of six children so I'm letting him write in the new book. Still a superior product but if you find the old one available used, go for it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wordsmith, New Edition, Grades 7-9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kysha
This book is in a great conversational tone. It really gets your creative juices going. This is like a beginners guide to writing. I think it's great for the reluctant writer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.