Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red

HarperOne 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red

The Book of Common Prayer (1979) provides the order of the worship for all worship services and ceremonies utilized by the Episcopal Church in the USA. Because of its thoroughness, its structure and its beautifully written prayers, it is often used by other denominations as well. The Book of Common Prayer includes: The Daily Office--worship services for various times of day; The Daily Office Lectionary--daily Scripture reading schedule for every day of the year; The Collects--prayers that "collect" themes from Scripture appropriate to particular days, holidays, and seasons; Liturgies and Ceremonies for Celebration of the Eucharist, Ash Wednesday, Holy Week, Baptism, Marriage, Burial, etc; The Lectionary--a three-year cycle of Scripture reading for Sunday worship, and more. 8 point font.
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Review 1 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The text is there, the quality is not.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelley
Location:Roanoke, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small with very thin pages and rough cut edges. Nonetheless, the text is there and with the BCP the text is the important part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Invaluable Tool for a Strong Prayer Life

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Chilton
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a pastor, prayer is critical to my life as well as to my ministry. It is as crucial as gasoline is to a race car driver. I have found this little prayer book to be an invaluable tool in giving structure to my prayer life. Whether you are a liturgical or non-liturgical Christian, you will benefit from the structured prayers and especially the Bible study program given in this little book. Two thumbs way up from me for this Book of Common Prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect personal size!

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol H
Location:Reading, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted this personal size prayer book to carry with me and use at meetings and services. It is perfect for that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Imitation leather cover is more like textured card

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
teci
Location:Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have purchased many of these types of books for children who have received communion or have been confirmed. This product seemed much more cheaply made than others. There was not book mark that has been in all other books of common prayer I purchased. The cover is not very sturdy. I feel I will be replacing this book soon with a better made one. I will probably not buy on line again so that I can see the product before purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
bjohnnyson
Location:Pikeville Tn
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased and others are impressed that it has my initials, so it is personal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn White
I was very disappointed in the quality of this book. I was expecting the quality of the prayerbook that I own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn White
I was very dissappointed in the quality of this book. It is very cheaply made. I only wish that I had ordered one that was not personalized so that I had not wasted my money on these. I don't even feel that I can give them as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
We are delighted with the quality of these prayer books which will be given to our graduates. The shipment was packaged well, arrived quickly, and at a great price! Thank you so much!St. Alban's Episcopal Church
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rick Williamson
This small "pocket size" edition of the Book of Common Prayer is a rich treasury for those who lead in worship and for personal spiritual development. Though the size is small the font is clear and easily read. The soft cover requires some careful handling. An attractive and daily useful part of my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Hernandez
I love it!!! I added my name to the cover and it is marvelous. My sister inthe Daughters of the KIng all want one. it fits rightin mypurse and is not heavy so i can carry it with me.i would definitly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jane Webb
This prayer book was not at all what I expected. It is really nothing more than a paperback book with an attractive cover. I knew there was no bookmark ribbon but I figured I could sew my own on but that is impossible because of the way the cover is attached. Although it will serve my need, I am very disappointed with what it turned out to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diocese Of Western Michigan
Nice economy book, light weight for travel on an airplane and a great gift for the Bishop of Western Michigan to distribute at the Lambeth Conference this week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Payne
It was not exactly what I had expected but very nice & the engraved initials set it off beautifully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Luse
Love the Book but wished it had the ribbon markers.One Book I got did have them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
James Anagnos
Excellent prayer book; just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1979 Book of Common Prayer, Personal Edition, Imitation Leather, Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Hall
The print is small. I wish I had checked the size of the book before I ordered it. It is a good size for travel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.