Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook

Sixteen-year-old Katie Parker's life just keeps going downhill. Her dad has been long since gone, her mother is in jail, and Katie has just been made a ward of the state of Texas. She thinks she's found a home in the Sunny Haven Home for Girls, but learns that she is to be shipped out to foster parents in In Between, Texas. Once she decides that she would rather stay at Sunny Haven rather than be shipped around from foster family to foster family, the action starts picking up. Katie does her best to terrorize her foster family, which is headed by the senior pastor of In Between Community Church, she falls into the wrong crowd in her high school, is blamed for vandalism, and has to deal with the antics of her foster mom's mother, Mad Maxine. But with the help and persistence of her new family, Katie might learn to open her heart and her life to God's will, as well as teach her family a few new life lessons.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Review 1 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peppy27
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book so many times I about have it memorized but i don't have it all cause it seems every tome I read it something new happens ! Read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very good true to life story

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paulus
Location:South Africa, Gauteng
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book it made me laugh then sad, the author has really accomplish to express herself through the characters. some times very witty sayings that i enjoyed, then other times very close to the bone truth of every day life especially a teen ager in a system without family love. Also peer presure was address and overcome with the truth of the word and real family that cares. Looking forward to read the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ebook In Between = Excellent

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
tenayshus
Location:Twin Cities Metro, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really good read. My 10yo daughter and I read it aloud together, and it gave us insight into how teens think, how it feels to have a broken family, and how God uses things in life to grow us AND uses us in the lives of others. There's a wide range of characters with interesting bio's. We want to read more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Story about a Growing Character

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In Between" is the first of three books that tell the story of 16-year-old Katie Parker. As readers meet Katie, she is on her way to her first foster home. Her single-parent mother has been incarcerated for dealing drugs, leaving Katie a ward of the state. Katie is nervous about foster care, fearing rumors she’s heard may be true. She’s certain this will be a temporary situation, so she determines to do all she can to hurry her transition back to the Sunny Haven Home for Girls along. When Katie learns that her foster father not only works at a church, but is the senior pastor, she decides extreme measures are in order.
I loved this story and plan to read the next two. (Book One is self-contained. Readers don’t have to go on to read the next two books—I just want to.) Katie’s character is sassy and sarcastic, but not in a hurtful way. She cares about people, but she fears them, so she’s protecting herself. Gradually Katie comes to see that her perceptions of others and of God need to change, just as she longs for what she assumes are others’ perceptions of her to change, too.
Katie’s foster grandmother, Mad Maxine, is a great supporting character—along with Frances and her family, Sam, Rocky, and more. I recommend this book for teenage girls and not-so-teenage girls alike. Thank you, NavPress, for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Samantha
Location:PA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixteen year old Katie Parker, is being sent from the Sunny Haven Home for Girls, to yet another foster home. Katie's not sure this is a good idea. She's sure she'll be sent back to the state owned girls home before she even has a chance to feel 'at home'. She's unsure of a lot of things: her new foster parents (James & Millie Scott), her new town (In Between), her new school (In Between High - home of the Fighting Chihuahua's), her new friends (Angel, who turns out to not really be a friend, and Frances Vega, who seems to be everything that Katie is not), church and God, but most of all her new foster grandmother (Mad Maxine). Katie does fall in with some questionable kids at school, which causes some heart-ache for her. As she tries to make amends for her error, she and Frances do start hanging out together more. Katie's introduced to the church's Target Teen youth group, which while still unsure of her beliefs, she does find many of the things Youth Pastor Mike talks about hit her mind and heart...for the good. After spending more time with Mad Maxine, things really begin to change for Katie. This was my first time reading anything by Jenny B. Jones, but it will by no means be my last. Bravo, Jenny B. Jones, well done!
I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colleen Leftwich
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my 13 and 15 year old daughters for Christmas. It was on their wishlist. The first time they read these books was in 2009 when they borrowed them from the library. The would return them and check them out again a couple of months later. They think this book is funny and has a good story. There are 3 books in this series, they have read all of them, and have enjoyed each one immensely!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
JP
I SO admire this writer! These books are awesome! I have a hard time getting my sister to read, but she is falling all over In Between. And I love them too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna La Komy
The Katie Parker books are a great read. Excellent for teens. Adults will also enjoy this series. Make sure you purchase all three books and read them in order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vanessa
I love this book! It's absolutely hilarious, and I cannot put it down! I recommend all the books in this series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
I havent laughed so hard from reading a book ever. Jenny B. Jones debut novel, In Between, is a hysterical read. Katie Parkers mom is in prison, and Katie is shipped off to live with pretend-o-parents, James and Millie Scott in the small town of In Between, Texas . When Katie discovers her new foster dad is a pastor, she dresses Goth for the first day of school, certain Millie wont let her out of the house. Her plans backfire and Katie is not only forced to go to school with black fingernails, but ends up sitting at the Goth table at lunch, seeing as thats where she looks to fit in. Unfortunately, a couple of her new friends are not the best influence, and Katie unknowingly is recruited for a midnight vandalism jaunt to the local vintage theater. Katie is the only teen nabbed by the coppers, who take her down to the station and inform her that the Scotts are the owners of the theater. Humiliated, Katie waits for her foster parents to send her packing. They dont, however, and Katie experiences some awesome tough love for the first time in her life. Katie struggles to adapt to her new, strange world, which includes church, smart friends, a massive dog, and a crazy foster grandma who rides a bicycle built for two. She tries out for the school play and falls for a cute and troublesome senior guy. Her new friend doesnt approve, foster granny doesnt approve, but Katies of the opinion that what the Scotts dont know wont hurt them. Its a good thing God is watching out for Katie Parker, even though she doesnt have a clue. Its one comical situation after another with Katie Parker, whose fun, sarcastic voice keeps you turning the pages so fast they catch fire. This is a must read for teen girlsand girls of any age! Looking forward to book two. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story is incredible! It took me nearly a year to find this book in my pile and now I'm asking myself why I didn't search for it sooner. This story is addicting and funny and a total delight to read. Loaded with laugh-out-loud moments on nearly every page, In Between also has a lot of depth and tenderness within it's pages. I've rarely seen fiction this interesting and well-done. For an author to capture the mind of a teen foster child and package it so precisely is amazing by itself, but then to create the right mix of characters and believeable situations to bring out the best in this girl is nothing short of sheer genius. That psycho grandma is so hilarious! And Katie's personality and inner "voice" are a scream. As far as craft goes, inner dialogue does NOT get any better than this. Sweet and sarcastic, Katie managed to grab my heart from the first chapter because she was so genuine and so lost. But this book is not a downer at all. It choked me up at the end, but also made my heart soar. This is what Christian fiction should be...real enough to make you "get it" and insightful enough to change your heart. And the character arc of this teenager who didn't know anything about church or Jesus was so believeable and well done that it is probably the best thing about this book. That, and the psycho grandma. As for me, I am now officially a Jenny B. Jones fanatic. This is one author I will not miss. I plan to read everything she writes. Not kidding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Loved this book. Jenny has done a great job, she was able to relate the book to both young and old. Mad Maxine + Katie = a bundle of laughter. Can't wait for ON THE LOOSE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leigh DeLozier
Katie Parker is someone every girl (and even her mom) can relate to -- her view of life as a 16-year-old trying to fit in (in a new town as a foster kid, no less) is sometimes funny, sometimes serious. But there are some great messages there even in all the crazy happenings. Katie deals with making new friends, trying to find her way around school, going to church for the first time, forgiveness, and paying the price for getting caught in the middle of something. She learns some lessons we all need to know about trust, faith and problems. Katie's a very real kind of girl, which made me cheer for her from the very beginning. I highly recommend it for any middle or high school girls, and can't wait to read the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
John Bowen
Can a soon-to-be senior adult like a book written for teen girls? Before I read In Between the answer would have been a resounding "NO!!!" I don't like In Between, I LOVE In Between. The love affair started when I listened to my wife chuckle every time she turned the page of the book. She told me to try the book. Out of curiosity I started reading and could not put it down. It is a laugh-out-loud, serious book with a message for all ages. Jenny is an outstanding writer. Bring on Book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2007
I really enjoyed reading this book. I couldn't put it down, the character of Katie was very likable and you really felt for her. High school is always painful and even more so when you're the new kid and you're an outsider trying to fit in. The Scotts were really nice and I was glad to read that there were some messy secrets in their past, so as to not make them look too perfect. I also liked their church, their youth group sounds really cool. I got angry at first at how Katie was treated after the vandalism. No one seemed to believe that she had been tricked simply because she was a foster kid. It felt like none of the adults had ever been in that same situation about peer pressure and wanting to fit in. But it was good to see Katie grow and learn to accept her new family and friends. I liked Frances and her family, although I could see how someone like Katie would be intimidated at first by her. At first Maxine's character really annoyed me, just like she did to Katie. I mean she was rude, abrupt, not considerate of other's feelings and very direct and to the point. I didn't like especially how after Katie spied for her and fell out of the tree and got hurt, that she did nothing for her. But I did like how their relationship grew and the secret romance bit was a hoot. This book gave plenty of laughs, some downright hilarious. I liked how the ending didn't tie up everything, leaving enough room for a story for the next book. I would have been disappointed to see a tearful reunion with everyone crying, it would not have been realistic. I would highly recommended this book for teens. Older readers will enjoy it too but I think that teens will highly relate to Katie and therefore enjoy the book. Looking forward to the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Sixteen years old Katie understands that she is an orphan of sorts as she has never met her dead beat dad and now her mom is a guest of the State of Texas; for that matter Katie is also a guest of the Lone Star State as she is a ward of the Texas government living in the apropos named Sunny Haven Home for Girls until she was dumped on some foster parents in aptly named In Between, Texas.<br /><br />Her foster parents James and Millie Scott treat her nicely, but Katie has an issue with them. She needs to know their motive for taking someone like her into their home especially since his full name is senior Pastor James of the In Between Community Church. However, she refuses to ask as she knows from the whispered warnings of her bunk mates at Sunny Haven that she will not stay here very long; the foster home system stores undesirables for short times. However, as Katie works on fulfilling the prophecy, the Scotts continue to nurture her as if she is an angel not a devil. Katie begins to accept the shocker that they genuinely care about her while the Scots realize that their ward is teaching them about life amongst the forgotten downtrodden.<br /><br />This often amusing, but always poignant contemporary tale makes a strong case that it takes dedicated caring villagers to raise a child. The cast is strong as readers will empathize with Katies understanding of her world as defined by her throwaway peers and the need for the Scotts to help her. The support characters enhance this fine story as the audience along with these secondary players and the Scotts learn how a foster child follows the money while doing the parenting shuffle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessica Epps
In Between was my favorite book to read this year! It was an easy read & hard to put down. This author is EXTREMELY witty. I laughed out loud while reading. A great book for any age!! I can't wait to read the rest of the series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In Between: A Katie Parker Production (Act I) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
This was an amazing YA book! A great summer read that you will not be able to put down until you are finished with the book. I just can't wait for the next one in the series to find out what happens next with Katie Parker!Jenny B. Jones is my new favorite author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.