Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook

As Christians, we believe that all sins are considered equal in God's eyes. Yet while evangelicals continue to decry the Big Ones---such as abortion, adultery, and violence---we often overlook more deceptive sins. It seems we've created a sliding scale where gossip, jealousy, and selfishness comfortably exist within the church. In short, some sins have simply become acceptable.

Bridges, bestselling author of The Pursuit of Holiness, believes that just as culture has lost the concept of sin, the church faces the same danger. Jerry writes not from a sense of achievement, but from the trenches of his own personal battles. Drawing from scriptural truth, he sheds light on subtle behaviors that can derail our spiritual growth. Throughout, Jerry encourages a victory over personal sin through the gospel's transforming power, the perfect release for those who desire to thoughtfully examine their lives and discover a deeper walk with God.

Average Customer Rating:
4.815 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3197%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Review 1 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
iluvmesumu
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt convicted by every sin mentioned in every chapter. Book put aside thought "I wish so and so was reading this, they would get so much out of it" because the book speaks directly to you. I like how the author humbled himself to admit that he is still guilt of these sins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
msraiderfan
Location:Maple Springs, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always get great service from CBD and the material is what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Location:Decatur, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The material in Respectable Sins is very concise and well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pathway
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Recovery Ministry and give our the Bibles and Books we order away free. We know they are great books for Recovery and living a Christ-life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very helpful for Christian growth.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dennis
Location:Jefferson City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, Jerry Bridges calls believers to repentance and holiness. Respectable Sins exposes the "little sins" of our lives, the subtle sins that people do not ordinarily notice. We have an everyday constant battle with sin and we are humbled when those sins we tolerate, are brought to our attention. We must deal with our own subtle sins and at the same time we are reminded that it is the power of the transforming grace of God that gives victory over these sins. This book is not only helpful for the individual but can be used very effectively in a group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased.

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using this book in a women's small group at church. Eye opening, convicting, but also brings hope and encouragement. Could be overwhelming for a new believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A convicting read

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book was our bookclub read. I found myself convicted to not only identify those sins that we so quickly excuse, but to be more aware of sins that we often fail to even acknowledge as sin. This is definiality a book that I will return to again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy M
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect condition, arrived when expected, and it's a wonderful book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
yellowtrose
Location:Woodhull, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe the Lord is using this study in our group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Reading

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynwood Mundy
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is good reading for we skeptics on the title.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Woody
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. He hits our little white sins that we brush off and overlook. A easy read for kids in middle school and up to adults. Definitely a book you need to read over and over for a reminder of our sinful lives. So we can be convicted daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shari
Location:El Paso, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is undoubtedly one of the best and most practical books that I have read. (I read a lot.) I have been so convicted in so many areas, yet, the author gives hope and help. I would recommend this to anyone. We are getting a copy for each of four teen children and we will be going through this book in our family devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book has been easy to read and very practical

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark T. De Agostino
Location:Owosso, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am Mark's wife and had him order this book for me to do a Bible study at our church. He is a pastor and I recommended that he read this book also. It will be added to his library.
We have had much thought provoking discussion in our study and it has brought an obvious awareness of how we all have looked at subtle sins as excusable; til we really consider what God's Word says.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good resource for any library

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tpffleming
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had this book years ago, I think we can all stop and take a good look at ourselves in light of what the Word of God says about our conduct in the small things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Centreville, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Book!!! I would recommend this book to everyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stimulates thought.

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Topeka, Ks.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously read the book and was buying an additional copy to use in a Bible study for a small group. I expect it to be one that stimulates good discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Location:Little Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this for our Wednesday night Bible Study and it is really eye opening. It's easy to fall into the complacency of the world and not realize how much sin affects God. This study helps to bring out the hidden, accepted sins to new light so that you can seek God's forgiveness and move forward in your walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Jesus followers and those contemplating!

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greyfeather
Location:Utah
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only just started reading the book (up to chapter 3); but, already I am enjoying the author's writing style. His explanations of sin is very good thus far - even to the point that I have considered having a faith-searching friend read some of this to better understand the concept of sin and why he/she needs the Lord. Needless to say, it is also (thus far!) a good reminder of why I continue to need the Lord and how I can better follow Him by being aware of and turning away from - with His empowerment - my "respectable sins." The workbook, too, is very good thus afr - full of questions which are actually thoughtful and not the standard "repeat what I just said" type of questions. The only reason that I did not rate this a "5" overall is that I have only just started the book/workbook!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nonnie39145
Location:Pelahatchie,Ms
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great book. I still go back and reread parts of it all the time. I even use it as a devotional on occasions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyojoy
Location:Canby MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book in out SS class at Full Gospel Assembly. I rarely re-read a book, except my bibles, but this one I will. This book has a great deal to digest and one can not glean it all at one setting. Thank you Mr. Bridges for following the Holy Spirit's lead in writing this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.