Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Visitation

Thomas Nelson The Visitation

A weeping crucifix heals a crippled man. Worshipers see a vision of Christ in the clouds. Is God speaking to his people in the last days? When a small farming town is turned upside down by supernatural occurrences, it's up to a burned-out pastor to determine whether these miracles are from heaven---or straight from hell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Visitation
Review 1 for The Visitation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow at first.

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teebo
Location:Roswell, New Mexico
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is well written but starts a little slow but picks up as you continue to read
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
rgsjr
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another good book from Frank Peretti. The e-book format makes it a lot more convenient to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz Gross
My two favorite authors are Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker. I loved the book, Vistation right along with the movie, I hope that whoever reads it will understand the message and realize that there is real evil out there and to be aware of it's tricks and won't be sucked into it. I would encourge everyone to read this book and watch the movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deanna
I absolutely loved this book, I could not put it down, read the entire thing in 2 days...AND I DON'T EVEN LIKE FICTION!!!! But I loved this!!! Highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
DeLacie
Excellent! I definitely think this is Frank Peretti's best book so far. It is very involved plot-wise, which is always great. It includes little side-stories from the protagonist's past which give interesting points of view on different issues in the church. It also touches on various emotions so that you can truly experience the story, and at the same time the rigorous plot keeps your knuckles white and clutching the book! A great supernatural thriller. I'm a teenager, and I recommend this book for teens as well as adults. The only thing is that the book may offend people of certain Christian denominations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
J.C.
I read this book a while back and have come to the conclusion that it is not the best of Peretti's work.But it was still a good book. I mean the Bible says that in the last days there will come people claiming to be Christ,and we need to be aware of that.We need to understand that if someone just showed up in town and said "Hey ,I'm Jesus " that we wouldn't fall for it like they did in the book. The flashbacks in the main character's life were long and drawn out and had no relativity to the main plot. And the pace of the book didn't really pick up until you we're about two-thirds of the way through it.I'll have to admit some of Peretti's previous works were better ,But the climatic ending was more of what I was expecting from him.I haven't seen the Movie yet ,but I hope it portrays it a little better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin
Whoa.That was all I could say after reading this book.Whoa.This book was so amazing! I don't think I saw one single flaw in this book! One of the most amazing books ever! You HAVE to read this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jabarri Robertson
I believe that it was an excellent book, but I believe that he left you hanging a bit on the story line of Travis' life. I am a Peretti fan and this one was awesome, not on the same level as the Darkness series but still awesome. I had to question my own relationship with the Lord at some points of the book. I believe you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2005
What an amazing book! Mr. Perettis writing is superb. There were parts if this book that made me laugh out loud and others that made me really stop and think. The plot was gripping and thought provoking while the characters were memorable and extremely well developed. Mr. Peretti does an excellent job of illustrating the various conflicts that exist between different denominations that really shouldnt and the fact that being religious and having a relationship with Jesus Christ are not always the same thing. Spiritual warfare is a huge theme in The Visitation. There were a few flashbacks in the book that dragged slightly, but they seemed necessary in order to fully develop the main character. If youre looking for a suspenseful, unpredictable, well-written, Christian book, this book is for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Visitation
This review is fromThe Visitation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2004
Customer Avatar
Dan Blankenship - author of THE RUNNING GIRL
The Visitation is Frank Peretti's best work. This novel manages to address so many issues concerning faith that it almost accomplishes too much for one book to handle. Mr. Peretti tells the story in the first and third person extraordinarily well. The synopsis could never do the actual finished work justice. Deadline by Randy Alcorn is the only Christian fiction novel that surpasses this Peretti creation. Anyone who has struggled with their faith (I believe most have) will find this book stimulating. I have experienced many of the things the main character, Travis Jordan, has experienced. It was easy to understand and empathize with Travis and his struggle to fight for the truth without alienating the children of God he so needed to befriend and lead. Brandon Nichols is one of the most memorable characters of any book I have ever read. Is he Jesus, come back for his flock? That is for the reader to figure out. That is also for the characters in the novel to decide - and decide they do. The Visitation is a novel that makes one delve into the heart of faith, especially his or her own heart of faith. I, and most likely you, can relate to all of the characteristics and debates of the Christian faith: once saved, always saved, speaking in tongues, baptism, tolerance, etc.. If you haven't read The Visitation, you should. Even if you don't consider yourself a Christian, this is a novel anyone can enjoy. The characters are so real you'll find yourself comparing most of them to people you know - more so than with any other novel (especially with this large amount of characters). The Visitation has plenty of twists and suspenseful moments, excellent dialogue, and a plot that is second to none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.