Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson House of Mercy

Thomas Nelson House of Mercy

Veterinarian Beth Borzoi is helping her family's ranch ministry stay afloat. But when she accidentally kills a horse, a lawsuit jeopardizes everything. After pleading with God, she finds herself following a wolf on a quest for the only person who can rescue the ranch. But will she be able to heal the man---body and soul? 352 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 1681%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for House of Mercy
Review 1 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Exciting, but a Bit Disappointing

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beth Borzoi just wants to help. She sets out to do just that one night, but one mistake leads to another. Soon her entire plan is thwarted and her life is flipped on end. In the midst of the tailspin, Beth discovers she possesses an unusual ability to heal. If she can figure out how to harness it, she may be able to save everything she stands to lose. First though, she’ll need some help… and an encounter with mercy.
Right away, I liked Beth. Though somewhat misguided at times, she is overall sincere in her desire to do right. The rest of the cast features characters of various kinds, from loveable, to quizzical, to sympathetic. Erin managed to garner my sympathy for even the dislikable character(s.)
The only problem was, I felt that some the characters did odd things that lacked solid motivation. Perhaps that was the point, but I personally prefer more plausible explanations. The medical aspects of the story were well researched, though, making those scenarios feel realistic.
From the start, this was an intriguing story. The mystery, conflict and action continued to build with every page. This was one of those books that kept me up far into the night! Whenever I put it down, I couldn’t wait to run back to it!
I didn’t realize I’d come to the end until I turned the last page. For such an intense plot climax, I’d been expecting more resolution. It wasn’t a terrible ending; it just felt to me like the author realized she’d filled enough pages and stopped abruptly. I wish there had been a few more chapters and a stronger conclusion.
Because of that, I give House of Mercy 3 out of 5 stars.
I received this book from the publisher for free, in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An intricately woven story of family and relying on God for true strength and power.
Bethesda Borzoi is the daughter of a noble rancher, and her world is turned on its end by one horrible mistake with devestating repercussions. As things unravel one by one Beth must lean on her faith to trust her future to God no matter how bleak it seems.
Riveting from the very beginning to the last page, House of Mercy was the kind of book that just sucked me into it's depths. The many well-rounded characters took me on a trip through every emotion, from disgust and heartbreak, to happiness and satisfaction.
I loved how diverse the cast of characters were. There were some that I loathed from the beginning and others who slowly stole my heart. I absolutely loved the character of Wally, the warm-hearted, but forgetful cowhand.
The story was a wonderfullythought provoking read, with emotions going in all directions, switching from one point of view to another. Beth grew in so many ways over the course of the book, spiritually and otherwise. Also, I just loved the theme of relying on God's power and not on your own.
Overall, a different kind of book for me, but I enjoyed it nontheless. The ranch setting was one of the things that I loved most about this book, as I was visiting my cousins on my grandma's ranch at the time I read this book and could relate to many of the descriptions. The characters were so well-built that I felt as if I had met real people, though to be honest some of the "meetings" were not that pleasant! This was a book I thoroughly enjoyed, and I know that I will be reading more from Erin Healy in the future!
I received this book from the publisher through B&B Media in return for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

House of Mercy is moving story of God's Redemption

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
House of Mercy
by Erin Healy
Bethesda(Beth) has made a mistake - a mistake that could cost her everything she holds dear. Beth is determined to put things right but that may not be possible. At 22 you'd think she'd know better and she in fact did, but she just wanted to help. It didn't like such a big thing. No one would miss it.
But one wrong decision leads to another and Beth is caught up in something she never expected and her entire family will pay for it. With no hope of coming up with the projected judgement, Beth hopes for mercy. But when mercy doesn't come and the Borzoi family faces a new crisis, they are soon divided.
Beth is determined to fix what she has ruined, but she doesn't know how to raise the money she needs to in the time the court has given. And how can she face Jacob and confess what she has taken from him?
Throughout House of Mercy Beth keeps seeing a gray wolf, but wolves no longer live in Colorado. Is this her judgement from God or a tool of His mercy sent to guide her? Following the wolf, that she names Mercy, Beth sets out to find the grandfather she never knew. But how can this man whom is dead to her mother possibly help them?
House of Mercy is a story of mercy and of growth. No matter how old we are, we all need to grow in our hearts, our minds, and our souls. Mercy is not a given, it is a gift that must be bestowed. We cannot manipulate mercy nor can we force anyone to grant it and expect it to still be mercy. No mistake is too big for God. There are results of our actions that cannot be altered, but none that are beyond God's forgiveness.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Erin Healy is back with another story that takes twists and turns through the natural and supernatural worlds. This author's books tend to have a strong supernatural thread, and House of Mercy follows in that vein. The book tackles the idea of whether we believe God is good when things don't go the way we expect. It's a question I've wrestled with and imagine many of us have. The story is told through the lens of Beth, an aspiring vet who risks everything her family has worked for in a late night ride on a thoroughbred that goes very wrong. Her family is torn apart and she is determined to make things right. The plot wanders through a lot of ground, telling the story through the voice of several characters. In the end all the stories come back to the concept of mercy. Will we accept it? And will we grant it. The story does not wrap up in a neat package...instead leaving room for a sequel.
This book is for those who like strong characters, don't like endings that are easy to anticipate, and want a story that doesn't fit in a neat box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not sure about the ending...

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Erin Healy has a very interesting book on her hands in her latest release, "House of Mercy". I'm not quite sure what to think of it to be honest. It is considered suspense but I almost think spec fiction might be a better category for it. It is very out there, not in a bad way or a good way, just a very unique way. My first impression is that I had a hard time putting it down once I started. The characters were engaging, especially Beth, and I really started feeling what she was going through. The bad are bad, and the confused are in the middle. I cringed along the way as bad decisions were made and consequences happened. I think the reason I say that I'm not sure what to think is that I didn't find the ending very satisfying and I am huge on endings. Interesting premise, strong characters, lots of twists - not sure about the ending.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

House of Mercy

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book I never wanted to end...I felt like I was walking with my hand in Gods. Erin Healy has written a powerful book, and we experience good and evil.
Bethesda Borzios has wanted to be a Vet since she was a little girl, but one night a wrong decision [or was it the right one] changes her life forever. Because of her decision her family is about to loose their home and ranch. Beth is determined to remedy what she has broke, but how.
Does she have enough faith to follow where God is leading her? Can she trust a wolf? She does finally name the persistent wolf Mercy. When her brother Levi tells her he has sold her truck, she goes looking for it on the ranch. This leads to a series of events that eventually brings her to her Grandfather...maybe just in time. Here we meet evil head on, and will have to wonder who will be the winner.
I see there is a sequel to the book coming next year...can't wait!!
I received this book Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing novel about God's mercy!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blazing B was a 6500 acre cattle ranch that was created when Abel Borzoi and Dr. Roy Davis merged their professional passions of ranching and psychiatry and expands Blazing B's purpose. It became and outreach to functional but wounded men who needed a home and a job, like Wally, who had been at the ranch for three years, since a stroke left his body unaffected but struck his brain with a short-term memory disorder. It was called anterograde amnesia, a forgetfulness of experiences but not skills.
Those who know her, call her the horse whisperer, but those who don't know her as Beth Borzoi, Abel's daughter. Now studying to gain her veterinarian's license she works at understanding the spirits of the animals she works with, something her father feels she has a true calling for. It doesn't help that she is still suffering from a crush on her father's partner's son, Jacob who also works on the ranch. He's been the Blazing B's general operations manager for more than 5 years.
While working late doing a favor for a friend, Phil who worked on the Kandinsky's ranch raising thoroughbreds and Morgans, she attempted to work on his horse's inflamed eye. After realizing this infection had gone on too long, she called for the Blazing B's vet. While waiting, she was offered a ride on one of the most prized Thoroughbred, Java, Java, Go Joe! Even though it was late, she knew that the horse could see far better than she did and when she gave him full and complete control of the reins, he raced faster than she ever dreamed possible, until she sensed a change in Joe's demeanor. Beth soon realizes that the horse is now running for his life and just out of the corner of her eye, she spots it, a gray wolf.
Before she knows it the wolf has anticipated her moves and launches at her from the front, knocking her from the horse and taking down the Thoroughbred as well. Luckily for Beth, the horse missed landing on her but her arm is pinned beneath him. Now she awaits for the wolf's final attack on them both.
WOW is all I can say as this novel, House of Mercy by Erin Healy opens up on some exciting action just within the first couple of chapters and already has the reader breathless on the edge of their seat, you just know it's only going to intensify. I love it when a novel engages me so much that I find myself literally holding my breath waiting for the outcome and this one has plenty to suit those who crave suspense and action! But how will this outcome now affect what Beth wanted for her life? Will she be able to continue to pursue her dream of caring for animals as a veterinarian or will the accident claim the life she dreamed of in ways she couldn't imagine?
You'll have to pick up House of Mercy by Erin Healy to find out. I received this novel compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest opinion and LOVED every minute of it. It was engaging and taught the lessons of what happens when God's mercy is poured out on own lives even though we feel we don't deserve it. It also teaches us that no matter how long we find ourselves in the valley of the shadow of death, we will rise to the mountaintop someday and the view will be worth the wait. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "can't put it down" book.

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
chops
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since a book actually kept me from getting my work done. I literally had trouble closing it to carry on with my day. Well written, multi-faceted plot that would not allow me to guess the ending. I have a new favorite author :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for House of Mercy
This review is fromHouse of Mercy - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No plot

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Emily Ruthann
Location:Idaho, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed in the actual character development. . .that is to say, there was none. I felt like Beth was either a heartless person, or the author forgot to write about her feelings.
The story itself might have been interesting if it were put together better... I had a very very hard time putting all of the pieces to gether in the book...I had to read the book twice to actually understand it.
The plot itself -- Beth makes a bad decision and has a gift of healing, wants to be a vet, etc., is not a bad plot, but the story needed a different writer or something.
I would not recommend this book to anyone. It's not worth going through all that trouble to read something you don't understand.
Anyway. I hope this has helped you in your decision to purchase this book, and I hope I have not offended anyone, I'm simply posting my opinion because BookSneeze requires it.
Thanks,
Emily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healy's Best Yet

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"House of Mercy" by Erin Healy is her best book yet! (And I really enjoyed reading the other three.) The cover itself demands the book be read, then, once the chain of events begins to unfold, you’ll just have to know how it masterfully ends. If you choose to read this book, don’t stop at the end. Continue to read Healy’s following author’s note which includes her personal testimony about what was going on in her own life as she wrote the book.
As the story opens, Beth, trying to help someone she cares about, makes one serious error in judgment followed by another even more serious. The consequences of her actions spiral unimaginably out of her control. As she prays for mercy, God promises to give it. Even so, Beth can’t predict or dictate God’s means of answering her prayers for healing and restoration for her family. She can only trust that God will do, in His own way, what is best for all.
Thomas Nelson Publishers sent a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. I’m happy to recommend it to fans of supernatural thrillers full of mystery, emotion, and intrigue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top-notch supernatural suspense

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
House of Mercy is one of those books where I became so absorbed in the character's lives, so worked up over the unjust treatment Beth received (especially from her brother), that I could barely sit still while reading it due to my desire to reach down into its pages and make people behave! Erin Healy is a fabulous author, seeming to effortlessly combine a unique, fast-paced plot with suspense and elements of the supernatural. She excels at creating characters who pulse with life, who are set down in situations that immediately draw upon your sympathies and have you rooting for them to succeed. Beth is a character who broke my heart after she finds herself in dire circumstances, suffering from a horrible mistake with far-reaching consequences. However, not only was Beth a well-developed character, but the rest of the cast of characters who star in this novel were equally well-fleshed out (and I must say that the villain is ever so creepy, mostly due to her normal and respectable exterior caging the mind of a delusional killer!). What I loved most about this story is Erin's portrayal of God's mercy, and the profound truth that God is good. I love where Beth is asked "Why do you follow such a God?" and answers "because I believe he is good. Not because he gives me what I want, but just because he is. He doesn't owe me any other explanation". That, indeed, is truth to live by. The conclusion is true-to-life, providing resolution while reminding that in reality not everything works out perfectly, and while the story doesn't leave you hanging per se, I for one would love to see Beth return in a future novel.
There's so much to like here, from the excellent characters and the enjoyable plot, to the miracles and the unique role of the wolf, to the faith that has been woven into the book's pages. I award this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and Rick Roberson of B & B Media Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loving God for who He is, not His gifts

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
College-aged Beth aspires to being a veterinarian. She seems to knows intuitively how to help hurting animals. And sometimes she has a special gift as she sees a healing that goes beyond what is naturally possible. Beth anticipates returning to her family farm, a cattle ranch in southern Colorado that has been in the family for five generations.
But she makes a devastating mistake that might cause her family to lose the farm altogether. Her actions alienate her from her older brother and even her mother. Her father sticks by her, until the unthinkable happens.
There might be a way for Beth to prevent further destruction for her family. She must find the one man who might be able to help. When Beth's brother claims he sold her truck, Beth sets out to find him - on horseback, across treacherous mountains.
On her journey she again encounters the mysterious wolf – the wolf who was at the center of her devastating mistake. As she follows the leading of that wolf, she finds much more than she was looking for.
Erin has once again created an intriguing novel. As is her style, there is a theme of the supernatural that follows parallel to the plot. And she has portrayed Beth well as she struggles with the concept of miracles, why they sometimes happen and sometimes don't. There is also the strong theme of forgiveness and reconciliation as Beth's family must deal with decisions made long ago.
The strength of the book, I think, is how it deals with trusting in God when He does not always do what we think He should. Beth encounters people who have not been healed. One character, feeling she has been wronged by God because He has not healed her, asks Beth, “Why do you follow such a God?” Beth answers swiftly. “Because I believe he is good. Not because he gives me what I want, but just because he is. He doesn't owe me any other explanation.” (325)
This novel will challenge you to follow God because He is. Beth finds out that God does not always give us what we want. She learns that He has something much better for us in His plans.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
House of Mercy, by Erin Healy, teaches the reader to extend mercy to those around them, even if it is undeserved, just as God extends mercy toward us when we do not deserve it.
Beth Borzoi begins the story with a huge mistake, stealing a valuable saddle. She has good intentions, thinking the saddle could be sold to aid some friends, but she complicates matters by taking a joy ride on a horse that does not belong to her, a horse that must be put down when she has an accident on it. With her family’s land in jeopardy due to a law suit, her father’s death in the middle of it all, her mother’s and brother’s anger, Beth sets off on horseback to find her grandfather, a man she has never met. She follows a wolf, Mercy, toward her grandfather’s home, going through several hazardous situations in the process.
This story was difficult for me in the beginning. As I continued to read, however, the myriad of story lines began to come together to make more sense. I was never quite sure of the role of the wolf, if he was real or spiritual, and felt like everything was left hanging at the end.
All in all, I enjoyed this book. It was well-written, and I would recommend it to those that have enjoyed Erin Healy’s books in the past.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for House of Mercy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

House of Mercy

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
House of Mercy is Erin Healy's latest book and it is very unique!. I have read all of her books and each one is so different. She is truly a gifted storyteller and this book fits into that category.
The story centers around Beth who has a gift of healing and she wants to be a vet. She lives on a cattle ranch with her family and they have a haven for men needing a second chance. All is going well until:
she decides to steal a saddle, ride a thoroughbred (not hers) and the horse is injured. Life starts to spiral downward when the owner of the horse wants to sue her, her father dies, college hopes are shattered,possible farm loss and a grandfather she does not know. She finds out that he is wealthy and sets out on horseback to find him. She is guided by a wolf-is he real or not?
This is just a snippet of the storyline. How will Beth find mercy and will she ever find peace?
This one line in the story just stuck out and I pondered for quite a while on it.
"You did what you had the opportunity to do. And the One who orders the world worked through you. We do what we can with the resources God gives us, Bethesda. We should try to do no more than that"
If you have not read any of Erin Healy's book-please do-she has a way of telling stories that stay with you long after the last page has been turned.
Thank you Thomas Nelson for this free book just for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for House of Mercy
This review is fromHouse of Mercy - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rocknb61
Location:Chocowinity, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Book Review, "House of Mercy," by Erin Healy
Beth Borzoi is standing on the edge and her world is falling apart. She has the gift of healing and wants to be a vet. But, in one night she makes one bad decision and the repercussions are unbearable - a lawsuit, a death, a divided family, and her dreams are lost.
This appeared to be the kind of book that I most enjoy, but I have to say it did not produce. The sub-plots are many and disconnected. I really had a hard time keeping tract of all that was going on. Also, I can't really say that I like Beth too much. She appeared to be without emotions. On top of which, there really was no resolution to the bad decision she made. The theme of the book is mercy and I get that, but I think it took too many side trips.
At this point in time I would probably try another book by Erin Healy and I would hope I would enjoy it more.
I received this ebook free from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for House of Mercy
This review is fromHouse of Mercy - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

mythical and supernatural meets Christian fiction

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liked the mythical parts of the book. Loved that a Christian book could also include a little magic and mythical aspects. Beth was attacked by a wolf and gained healing powers. She was able to heal animals. I loved this part of book, this was the main part of the book I enjoyed the most.
While this book might not be for some. If you like supernatural, mythical books with a christian flair this is for you! Thanks for making a book from this genre also a christian book.
thank you booksneeze for allowing me to review House of Mercy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.