Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson An Amish Kitchen

Thomas Nelson An Amish Kitchen

Soulful stories from three beloved authors! Eve and her family need A Recipe for Hope while they temporarily live with her Old Order parents. Hannah must look past her stubbornness if she's to find A Spoonful of Love. And Deborah needs A Taste of Grace when it comes to brooding Abram! Includes recipes and a reading group guide. 356 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for An Amish Kitchen
Review 1 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable short stories

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I so enjoyed reading these novellas. They were all so sweet, fun, and entertaining. My favorite was the first story by Kelly Long since the romance was wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Amish Kitchen
This review is fromAn Amish Kitchen - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Amish Read

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jane Watson
Location:Athens,TN.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading about the amish and this book told of their everyday troubles and every day lives and their faith in God to help solve their problems. I am new to reading e-books but i enjoyed this one and plan to continue . All amish christian fiction is enjoyable to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Amish Kitchen
This review is fromAn Amish Kitchen - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish kitchen

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this collection of stories. I am a big fan of Amish stories because of the wholesomeness and purity. I found that the authors were making them a little too modern in their dating because of all the premarital kissing and all that. My favourite story was Recipe of Hope by Beth wiseman. All in all this book was an easy and enjoyable read and I would recommend it to other readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Kitchen

Date:October 15, 2013
A collection of 3 novellas.
A Taste Of Faith by Kelly Long
Fern Zook felt that everyone thought she was a little too plump. She didn’t think a man would want marry to her. Her lifelong neighbor, Abram Fisher had no desire to marry. The farmer in him decided that he would only ever be married to the land; it seemed so much easier that way. When Abram brought his little sister to Fern for an herbal remedy to a burn, Fern saw Abram for what seemed the first time. Out of nowhere Abram also had romantic feelings for Fern that he couldn’t shake. This story is about Fern and Abram trying to deny their attraction to each other. Is there any sense in fighting anything that God has started?
A Spoonful Of Love by Amy Clipston
Hannah King felt she could never please her controlling mother. But she did her best after her father had a stroke and she took over running the family’s Bed-and-Breakfast, Paradise Inn. Stephen Esh was new guest at Paradise Inn. While Hannah was looking toward her future, he was trying to escape his past. Their lives came together in the present and were changed forever.
Stephen was very kind to Hannah’s father. People that knew him for years didn’t treat him as well as Stephen did. I find it touching when others reach out to those who are disabled and treat them like everyone else.
A Recipe For Hope by Beth Wiseman
Eve Bender wasn’t looking forward to staying at her parent’s house while her own home was being repaired. She wasn’t sure she could handle her mother. They didn’t see eye to eye on anything, except cooking. Cooking was neutral territory. As Eve’s stay continued, she began having flashbacks of her childhood. Oddly enough, so was her mother, only her flashbacks were of her own childhood. Eve’s eyes were opened to her mother and why she acted they why she did.
Eve’s mother had a debilitating illness and she refused to seek anything more than herbal help for it. She felt the old ways were the best ways. She is no different that many of us – resisting change even though it can make our lives better.
The kitchen can truly be the heart of a home. Beyond that, what is prepared in the kitchen can bring people together. In their kitchen, Fern and her grandmother grew their healing herbs to help those in their community. Hannah and Stephen spent time getting to know each other in the Bed-And-Breakfast kitchen. Eve and her mother were their closest when they were in the kitchen creating a meal or a treat together.
Fern’s weight always caused her pain. Stephen’s past caused him pain. Eve’s relationship with her mother caused her pain. God sent others and circumstances into their lives to help ease their hurts.
All the women in the stories met every Saturday at a prayer gathering called “Our Daily Bread.” I could imagine the Christian fellowship that they enjoyed as they shared with one another.
The end of the book is packed with recipes from the stories. You’ll want to try them out after reading about them.
Each story can be read quickly but that means it sadly ends too soon. That’s the problem with novellas. You get involved in the lives of the characters and want to learn even more about them but the story has to end. Each story has the characters interwoven into the other so you can at least get a glimpse into their lives as you are missing them.
The kitchen is an important part of any home. It’s where meals are shared and time is spent around the table doing various activities. As you read these novellas, you’ll be brought into the lives and kitchens of the characters and discover their joys and heartaches.
I received a free copy of this book from The Christian Manifesto And Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An Amish Kitchen was an enjoyable read. It is a compilation of three stories written by Kelly Long, Amy Clipston and Beth Wiseman. All are set in the town of Paradise, PA and have characters in common.
In the first story, A Taste of Faith, Abram is left with the care of his younger siblings for a month while his parents have been called away. He finds himself attracted to Deborah, known as Fern, who works as a healer in their district. Abram has negative views about marriage and Fern has been hurt by a man before. They must both overcome their fears if they have a chance together.
The second story, A Spoonful of Love, Hannah runs a bed and breakfast while struggling to feel that she cannot gain her mother's approval. Stephen moves to the area, stays at the bed and breakfast and becomes the handyman. He is running away from some very painful memories and the feeling that he has done too much wrong to be forgiven. Can Hannah help him understand that God's forgiveness is available to all?
In the third story, A Recipe for Hope, Eve stuggles to connect with a mother she only felt close to when they were cooking. Her mother, Rosemary, struggles with change and an illness. There is more turmoil between Eve's children as they must deal with their actions and learn forgiveness.
I liked the stories and found them to be a quick and easy read with good messages of forgiveness and the importance of family. I was provided a copy of An Amish Kitchen by Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short and sweet :)

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
RamblingsMom
Location:Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Amish fiction, so I was excited to read and review An Amish Kitchen.
These stories are fairly short, making them good for a busy mom.
I found them perhaps a bit rushed at the end – moreso in the 1st story – but they flowed well overall.
Relationships are so important in our lives, and they are often nurtured in the kitchen. The first 2 stories focus on a romantic relationship (a nice, rated G one!) and the 3rd book tells of a mother and daughter who are trying to mend a strained relationship.
I enjoyed the stories and would recommend the book. They were an easy read and easy to follow. They had simple but wholesome messages within.
These stories remind us that God’s plan doesn’t always make sense to us and we may have no clue why certain things in life are happening — or not happening — but He does indeed have a plan for us that will come about in His perfect timing.
There is also a reading group discussion guide included, as well as 45 Old Order Amish Recipes. Nice!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Was as Good as I Thought it Would Be

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish Kitchen
Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston & Kelly Long
Book Description: The Amish Kitchen is the Heart of the Home – and the Ideal Setting for Stories of Love and Hope. Fall in Paradise, Pennsylvania, always brings a brisk change in the weather. This season also ushers in unexpected visitors, new love, and renewed hope for three women. Fern has a green thumb for growing healing herbs, but longs for love to bloom in her life. Then the next-door neighbor’s oldest son, Abram, comes running into Fern’s kitchen seeking help for his little sister. The crisis soon leads to a promise of romance—until mistrust threatens to end the growing attraction. Nearby, Hannah runs her parents’ bed and breakfast, Paradise Inn—but her life feels nothing like Paradise. She longs for a man of integrity to enter her life, but never expected him to knock on the front door looking for a room. Will she be able trust Stephen with her future once she discovers his mysterious past? When a storm blows a tree onto Eve’s farmhouse, she has little choice but to temporarily move her family into her parents’ home. Outside of cooking together in the kitchen, Eve and her mother can’t agree on anything. But this may be just the recipe for hope in healing old wounds.
Review: This was a fun trilogy. The stories stayed with me even when I went on to my next book. I was getting these stories confused with what I was currently reading, which is the mark of good storytelling. Fern’s story was a lot of fun. It reminds me that even when one thinks there time for marriage is gone and are surprised to find that not to be true. I cried, laughed and rejoiced with all these characters. They truly were their own stories and yet they overlapped with just the right amount of blending to make it believable. Hannah’s story was exciting to see how these two unique characters were going to get along. Hannah’s parents were enjoyable and provided for a cute side story. I liked Eve and felt a bit of connection to her challenges at home. I would recommend this book to anyone.
I would like to thank Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of faith, friendship, love and family!

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fern’s life is comfortable learning about herbs and treating her neighbors’ ailments with her Grandmother, that is until Abram Fisher comes into her life with a series of medical needs for his younger siblings.
Hannah wishes her mother would allow her to run their Bed and Breakfast without assuming her brother needs to handle every minor mishap or repair. He has his own family and farm. Then a single Amish man looking for a room appears at the door.
Eve’s life is running smoothly until a tree crashes into her kitchen during a winter storm and forces her family with 3 teenage boys to temporarily move back in with her parents. Can three generations live under one roof? Usually it is the Amish way but not for Eve. Or so she thinks.
I liked the “realness” of these stories. It is everyday family happenings.
These were three great stories about faith, friendship, love and family. I really enjoyed reading this book. A special thanks to Book Sneeze for allowing me to review this book for them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

less than expected

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
sally89
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The stories appeared to have been written quickly. There was little character development. I found myself skimming through the pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Kitchen
This is a book with 3 different stories by 3 different authors. I have enjoyed previous books that Beth Wiseman has joined in with to write short stories. These stories are all very uplifting by reading and getting to know the characters in the story. One thing that I really enjoy about these books are how they are intertwined even though the authors are different, you will at least see the names of the people from the previous stories, as these stories take place in the same town. There is also 45 recipes at the end of the book. I loved the first story on how Fran used nature’s herbs for remedies for small illnesses. It reminds me of what our great grandparents used to use. Each story in the end shows how God has all things in his hands and plans we don’t understand always works out for our best. I would recommend anyone to read this book. Each story is easy to stay interested in! This book was provided to me by the Booksneeze program & Thomas Nelson for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A STORY SET IN THE HEART OF THE HOME-THE KITCHEN..

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
AN AMISH KITCHEN by Beth Wiseman,Amy Clipston and Kelly Long is a wonderful inspirational Amish Romance set in Paradise, Pennsylvania. For a glimpse of hope,delicious Old Order Amish recipes,family,faith,and love follow three women on a journey of forgiveness and healing. Fern,Hannah and Eve will bring a joy to your heart as each struggle for hope,second chances and another chance at love.Written by three powerful and talented authors comes three compelling and endearing novellas of faith,courage,and love. A story set in the heart of the home-the kitchen. A must read for Amish readers as well as romance readers. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: April, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge fan of Amish fiction, I love reading about and learning about the simple life they lead and their strong reliance on God. Also I was beyond excited to see that there were 45 different recipes in the back of this book!! The only thing I love more than reading about the Amish, is learning to cook like them!
I found this book quite sweet, the stories were short, but so well written, that you don't feel like you were shorted in any way! I've read a number of Beth Wiseman's books, so I knew I was going to be reading a pretty great book already! (and I am a bit familiar with Both Kelly Long and Amy Clipston, and have enjoyed some of their short stories in the past). I wasn't surprised by this book, and enjoyed it so much!
Each story, (From Fern's slowly blooming love and trust, to Eve's struggle to build a relationship with her mother once again) had a really great heartwarming overtone to them. They were strongly Christian stories, but not in an overtly preachy way, so I would be very comfortable and highly recommend them to both Christian and non-Christian readers alike!
Excellent book, fantastic stories, and a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a fun book!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my stars ~there is not a thing better than a good Amish book in January. An Amish Kitchen is a collection of three stories with a common thread running through each story to tie them together.
There is nothing better than an Amish kitchen. Well except~ the yummy food prepared there. This book features 45 Old Order Amish recipes and remedies. I have already tried a few~ fantastic recipes!
The first story is about Fern ~ who happens to have a green thumb and uses her herbs and remedies they produce for healing. Fern's neighbor is watching his younger siblings while their parents are out of town. Fern is much needed to patch them up on more than one occasion. Romance blossoms from the crisis~ but it does not all work out so well.
The second story takes place just down the road where Hannah is managing her parent's Bed and Breakfast. An Amish man named~ Stephen shows up from another community to find a place to stay and needing work. He seems to be running from something but Hannah is happy to have a new friend and help around the Inn. Only her mother and the Bishop are not so excited about a single young woman and man living under the same roof.
The third story is about the neighbor named Eve~ who just happens to have to move back to her parent's home with her husband and three boys. A recent storm has landed a tree right through their roof. She dreads returning back home to her unloving mother. Her mother believes she is way to lenient with her boys~ letting them test too much of the world's devices. How will she survive until she is able to return to her home?
What a fun book~ I loved it! I liked how each story was short enough to finish in one setting. Yet~ the next story tied into the last story. I rate this book 5 stars. I am just a little sad it had to come to an end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Heart of An Amish Home, The Kitchen

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three wonderful Amish stories to draw you in:
A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long
A Spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston
A Recipe For Hope by Beth Wiseman
The first by Kelly Long, is about a girl who is very talented with healing, but very little self esteem. She has been put down by others, and feels she is to ugly and fat to ever have a husband.
The second by Amy Cliptson is about forgiveness. A sin is a sin, God forgives us. We just need to ask, but the hardest part is forgiving ourselves. This one is about a man who feels he let his fiancé down, when she was killed in a buggy accident. He comes to Paradise and comes to the Kings B&B. A sweet story of returning to God and finding forgiveness.
The third is by Beth Wiseman
The last is also a story of forgiveness. Eve and Ben move into her parents home while there home is being repaired, a tree fell on it during a storm. There are the five of them going to live with her parents...there is a love triangle, and some old child abuse.
Will this family be able to get rid of old and new hurts, and have a good relationship?
These are three really good stories, and a very fast afternoon read.
Then there are the mouth watering recipes at the end...several going on my list!
I received this book through the Booksneeze Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gary
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great to have the opportunity to read different authors to determine if you like their style of writing. All the stories were very interesting. The book was read very fast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Amish Kitchen

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally read novellaa but Beth Wiseman, Kelly Long and Amy Clipston are an exception. My only complaint - novellas are too short. When I come to the end I'm wanting a novel to complete the story. Just wasn't ready to stop reading. The characters are Amish, they have problems and flaws like anyone else. I had trouble putting the book down and read all three novellas in less than 48 hrs. Beth, Kelly and Amy are terrific authors and I've enjoyed each book I have read by them. You can always expect a good story line, they show how the characters grow in their faith and like all of us, have to learn to lean on God. If you haven't read any of their books, then this is a good one to see a very good sample of their writing styles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Food, Family, and Love

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trio of novellas by Kelly Long, Amy Clipston, and Beth Wiseman is an enjoyable quick read for fans of Amish fiction. A Taste of Faith, A Spoonful of Love, and A Recipe for Hope are all set in Paradise, Pennsylvania, and share an overlapping cast of characters. Each story focuses on one Amish lady and her love and family relationships. The authors do a great job of weaving their stories and styles into a nice collection that flows together very well. These short stories lack the depth and plot development that each of these authors does so well in her full-length novels, but readers can still get involved in the characters' lives and loves.
An extra bonus is the large collection of recipes at the end of the book. I'm looking forward to trying shoofly cupcakes, Rosemary's apple crumb pie, sour cream pancakes, and . . .
Thanks to the BookSneeze blogging program for providing this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the meaning of family

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Find a comfortable chair and a hot cup of tea and curl up with three heartwarming novellas from three wonderful Amish writers! As in any home, the kitchen is the heart of the home. Even in my shotgun kitchen, up to ten people have come together to share life, love, and faith. Although all three stories are written by different authors, the characters are intertwined. Not only do they live in the same community, but also share a women's prayer group.
My rating: 4 out of 5 stars
An Amish Love, also from Beth Wiseman, is another terrific novella with three stories of faith and love. Co-written with Kelly Long and Kathleen Fuller.
I received a complimentary e-book of An Amish Kitchen from BookSneeze.com and Thomas Nelson Publisher for my honest review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 beautiful stories plus Amish recipes

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are three beautiful stories in this book, A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long, A Spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston and A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman. Each story is about a different family in Paradise, Pennsylvania, they are all friends with the ladies meeting on Saturday afternoons at The Daily Bread for a time of fellowship and prayer.
A Taste of Faith is the story of Fern, single and living with her grandmother who raised her after her parents died. She is the one everyone goes to for treatments when they are ill or injured rather than go to an English doctor. Her grandmother was always trying to find her someone to marry but Fern had no desire for a husband, she was satisfied with her garden.
A Recipe for Hope has Hannah running her parents' bed and breakfast since her father had his first stroke. Stephen decides he has to move from his hometown, after his fiancee is killed in an accident which he blames himself for, and finds himself staying at Paradise Inn. Stephen tries to find a job with no luck so needing to keep busy he starts doing repairs around the Inn. Hannah's parents don't like the idea of a single man renting a room where their single daughter lives, even though there are always other guests there. Her parents get so upset that they even bring the Bishop in on the situation.
A Recipe for Hope finds Eve's house damaged by a storm that blew a tree onto it. She finds her family moving back to her parents house temporarily, she has never felt close to her mother and is not looking forward to living under her roof again, even for a couple of months. She knows her mother has Parkinson's Disease, but didn't realize how bad until she's living with her again, but her Mother won't go to an English doctor, she only wants to use Fern's treatments.
I was so excited to get this book and I was not disappointed. They were all wonderful stories but, Beth's contribution, A Recipe for Hope, really pulled at my heartstrings. My mother had alzheimers and some of the things Eve's mother is going through really touched home with me. All of the stories were wonderfully written.
At the back of the book there are Recipes for Herbal Medicinal Treatments, 45 Old Order Amish Recipes and A Reading Group Guide. Anyone that likes Amish stories or any of these authors really should get this and read it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®(dot)com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for An Amish Kitchen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was pleasantly surprised...

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
KairynLisa
Location:Southern Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently read An Amish Kitchen, three stories in one book by authors Beth Wiseman, Kelly Long and Amy Clipston. I am not familiar with any of these authors but have read many other Amish fiction, and quite honestly wasn’t sure if there stories would hold my interest. I was pleasantly surprised with each one! “A Taste of Faith” by Kelly Long enchanted me from the start with the mischievous antics of the children next door to Fern and her gradual, yet realistic attraction to Abram. The romance in “A Spoonful of Love” was slower and longer to bloom, but the story was just as engaging. I had my doubts about the last story, “A Recipe for Hope”, but I think it turned out to be my favorite of the three. It brought tears to my eyes several times!
All of the stories are a short, fast read; they kept me interested in the characters and their circumstances. I would recommend this books to fans of Amish fiction, as well as to fans of romance. There are many Amish words and phrases scattered liberally through the stories, and the list of definitions at the beginning of the book is helpful… but sometimes I found the Amish term distracting. If you’ve read a lot of Amish fiction, many of the words will be familiar to you, but some won’t and it was these that I had to keep turning to the front for.
Lastly, I am excited to use the recipes at the end of the book – especially the soft pretzel recipe from “A Spoonful of Love”! – These are my honest opinions, I am not paid by Thomas Nelson (the publisher of this book) but have been provided with the book at no charge (through BookSneeze.com) expressly for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>