Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1

Thomas Nelson Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1

Reece Roth once was able to step into the supernatural world and see things with stunning clarity. But that was decades ago---before the enemy destroyed his family. Now God has chosen four people to change the world and appointed Reece to train them. But will they be able to overcome the evil one's relentless pursuit? 400 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2886%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Review 1 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clean Read

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Has there ever been a time in your life where you wish someone could come inside your soul and fix what's broken? Take away your past regrets and make all things fresh and new? Yes, we've all been there, done that. We've made our mistakes. Sometimes that's what limits our growth today - when we focus on our regrets. Meet Reece Roth. Soul traveler. Soul healer. Teacher. Man with a tragic past. And an awesome destiny. All he has to do? Embrace it and be/do what God created him to do.
This book was well-written and engaging. Is there anything else we would expect from James Rubart? I didn't think so. The author of Rooms, Book of Days, and The Chair, he takes us on another wild ride. One thing I did miss? Romance. I kept wanting the two main characters to get together and, well, I was bummed. Another issue for me was that it seemed that God was kind of portrayed like a puppet. Say a few magic words, say you have tons of faith, and BAM God will give you exactly what you want. That left me a little wanting, I suppose.
Overall, I think it was very good and well written, and I was glad to pick up a book and not have to worry about swearing or inappropriate scenes.
*I was given a copy in exchange for my honest review, and these thoughts are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wild, Refreshing, Dangerous.

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story of Soul's Gate is as wild as a mountain waterfall, as refreshing as the smell of pinon pine and it glows more brightly than a campfire.
This is a story about the soul....
It is as complex as the lives of several individual people: Dana, Brandon, Marcus, Tamera and Reece, who are the fulfillment of an amazing prophecy.
Reece, appointed to be the leader, will train the four in how to enter human souls and wage war through the power of Christ on the evil that kills, steals, and destroys.
Together, these four warriors of the Kingdom will bind up the broken-hearted, set captives free and tear down strongholds. This is spiritual warfare.
I thought this book sounded really unique when Litfuse announced that volume two, Memory's Door would be touring soon. When the awesome Litfuse Group offered *both* books to people who had missed book one, I knew I needed to read them.
Then they came.... and I looked at them and thought "I'm going to read two thick books on spiritual warfare? Yikes!" You know what? Once I started Soul's Gate I didn't want to stop...and I was glad I had the next book waiting for me. This book is written as a novel, featuring main characters whose first reaction to Reece's teaching was much like my first reaction to this book: "I'm really not all that into spiritual warfare, but I sure like Reece's Christianity." They agree that Reece, a big guy who wears his Stetson cowboy hat and knows when to be tough on you and when you need tenderness, is the real deal as far as a follower of Christ.
And it's that sense of genuineness that helps to keep them all from stealing the car and escaping when Reece begins teaching them things that stretch their narrow understanding of "reality." Like Reece explains, *Every now and then we get a break from reality. A glimpse into the other world that is more real than the reality that we live in 99 percent of our days.*
And it all begins at a place that captured my heart as I read, a place that lives through James Rubart's descriptive writing: Well Spring Ranch. This place is beautiful, peaceful, and "The curtain is thinner there." In Dana, Marcus, and Brandon's lives, their transformation and renewal begins at Well Spring.
But it most certainly does not end there. It never will end. The journey of knowing God and living for Him in the power of Christ will not end in this life and will never end in eternity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent novel by James Rubart

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diggs
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again I am blown away by the creativity and story telling of James Rubart. The book is very thought provoking and makes you reflect upon your own life in comparison while you are reading it. It's a must own/read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book - Must read

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tweet
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a must read book!!! I couldn't put it down! It captures you right off the bat and just continues to get better and better! Very insightful to the spiritual warfare that takes place daily in our lives. Makes you want to go deeper with the Lord and begin a whole new journey of your life with Chirst. If you want to get out of your box and go deeper with the Lord then read this book. It will jumpstart your prayer life and cause you to open your heart even more to Jesus and his healing ability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

thought provoking

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second book I have read by this author. Rooms was the first and I loved that book. I have mixed emotions about this book and it is hard to review. While the author made me think a little more about certain scripture was good. I did not like the characters as well as I should have. One character was way too cocky for me. If you were chosen to help people fight for their souls I would think it would be very humbling. It is fiction and certain parts were interesting. I did not like the author using a swear word. He is a good writer and it added nothing to the story. This is one reason I read Christian Fiction, to get away from reading these words. This book did not spiritually move me as it did a lot of other reviewers. I will read more of this author but do not think I will be reading the second book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Singer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very thought provoking and challenging. Lots of suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
JERRY 49
Location:GLENDORA,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very exciting !! I am looking forward to book#2. Great character's with a good pace with little down time...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could have been much better

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This is the third book by James Rubart that I've read, and all of them are impressive and stimulating. The man can write some great stories - and his books are some of the most spiritually challenging and uplifting that you will find.
This book revolves around a prophecy concerning four people that will do great spiritual battle. This is the beginning of a series, but it also stands nicely on its own. While I am not a believer that God gives prophecies anymore (since the completion of the perfect Word of God), the themes and topics covered in the book greatly challenged my thinking concerning the power of prayer and the power of Christ in the Christian life.
So far, all of Rubart's books I've read have a Yoda-type character. This guy is always wiser than you think he is - staying one step ahead of the game. The book is full of redemption, forgiveness, and victory.
But with all that said, there are two big negatives. The author makes use of a cuss word.... Why, WHY do these authors feel it is necessary? Now, I will give him a little slack that a demon was the character who said the word - and the word was "hell", but it was obviously a cuss word and not a reference to the place. Big no-no.
The second was that, at one point, the characters shared champagne in celebration. I am of the conviction that Christians should not drink. Ever. Period.
The characters are real, but not terribly deep. The scenes are powerful, but sometimes predictable. And the dialogue was sometimes a little cheesy. But not a bad book. "Rooms" is still way better.
I received this book free from the publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Mystical Journey through Fantasy and the Spirit

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Selling author James L. Rubart takes his reader deep into the mountains of Colorado in this compelling story of demons, angels, spiritual battle and a quest for freedom.
Rubart is a master at the craft of storytelling. “Soul’s Gate” he is written with clarity revealing his understanding of the spirit realm and spiritual battle. He draws his reader with him as he incorporates his profound insight into the freedom and power available to the follower of Christ through an exciting plot and unforgettable characters.
“Soul’s Gate” is a spellbinding novel of intrigue, mystery, and suspense with a powerful message of the purpose, fulfillment, and healing.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Favorite Book Ever!!!

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
danzingfool
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I balk at the favorite question. What's your favorite song, color, book? Usually my answer is, it depends on my mood. But only one day after finishing it, I'm ready to declare James Rubart's Soul's Gate my favorite novel of all time.
In deciding if I was sure to make this bold declaration, I started mentally scrolling through some of my past favorite novels. Then of my favorites, I narrowed that list down to the truly life-changing ones that I bought multiple copies of and forced my friends and relatives to read: The Passion of Mary-Margaret, Arena, Embrace Me, Rooms, A Stray Drop of Blood, and Havah. Every one of these books was beautifully written and spiritually powerful. I highly recommend all of them. But as I considered Soul's Gate, I realized that it combined the best elements of each of these.
Like The Passion of Mary-Margaret, it illustrated an intimate relationship with God and characters willing to give everything for Christ. Like Arena, it offered an insightful glimpse into the spiritual realm and spiritual warfare. Like Embrace Me it cut through all the b.s. of religion and pierced straight to the true heart of Christianity. Like Rooms, it demonstrated the beauty of inner healing. Like A Stray Drop of Blood, it portrayed the amazing, overwhelming power available in the blood of Christ. And like Havah, it spoke to me right where I was at that moment and transformed my life. Oh sure, there are novels I love because they're beautiful or funny or touching, but these are the ones that have affected me the most. And I can't ignore books like the old Frank Peritti novels or The Shack that impacted me as well, but I feel like Soul's Gate went to a new place for a new time.
As I mentioned, this book was exactly what I needed exactly when I needed it. While I loved Rooms, it mostly dealt with issues I'd already tackled and revelations I'd already received. Book of Days had more impact on me, but this novel went far beyond. I so needed this infusion of faith and power in my life right now. This reminder that the spirit world is more real than the illusory one all around me that presses on my senses day in and day out. And I needed to have my fighting spirit revived. Another wonderful aspect of this book, which I've never found in a novel before, was the direct link between quantum physics, faith, and the spiritual realm. I'm a closet physics geek, so this delighted me to no end.
My husband is halfway through the book as I'm writing this, and I sent a gift copy to my mom. No doubt, I'll soon be buying lots of extra copies and wrangling all my loved ones into reading it. I not only highly recommend this book, I'd say it's a must read for every Christian. I'm sure I will read this one again and again. No matter where you are in your walk with the Lord, I think you'll find something in this book to minister to you. And even for non-Christians, I can't help but think you'd enjoy this peek at what Christianity was truly meant to be.
The novel challenges you to believe what the Bible really says and to tap into the supernatural power available in the Holy Spirit. The author says in the back that his main purpose for the book was to demonstrate freedom in Christ, but there was no way to get there without looking at spiritual warfare as well. From healing, to prophecy and vision, to being transported in the spirit and invisibilty cloaks, this book takes a look at a sort of Christianity few truly believe in. A sort of Christianity that I remember longing for once upon a time with childlike faith. For the sake of the story, it also examines the possibility of going into the souls of others to fight for their freedom. While the author admits that this is probably not precisely true, it does seem to be in many ways a very accurate portrayal of a spiritual reality.
I can't finish this review without mentioning that James Rubart also ranks among my favorite people that I've ever met. It would be hard to imagine anyone else writing this amazing book. He is one of the truest believers and most inspiring people I've ever had the pleasure of spending time with. Everything about him radiates the love of Christ. And may I add, I'm so excited that he has now quit his day job to write for us all full time :)
I sincerely hope and pray this book will be a huge hit and a best-seller! Soul's Gate is the first in a series, and I'll be sure pre-order the sequels just as soon as possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Didn't want to read it...totally LOVED it!

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the book Soul’s Gate by James Rubart to review. To be brutally honest I would have never checked this out from the library or likely even glanced at it on a shelf. It leans towards a sci-fi theme and I am NOT into that at all. That being said, I was blown away by this book. As in, literally could not sleep because I had to finish it and then when I did finish it….well then I could not sleep because I was wondering if any of it could be real. This book is fiction but delves deep into the world of spiritual warfare. This book of fiction makes references to Bible verses that I have read hundreds of times. The conclusions drawn from these verses blew me away. They seemed so accurate. I actually looked them up several times to make sure they were quoted correctly and they were. Anyways, this book leaves me with many questions that only a deeper relationship with God can answer. Did I like the book? Yes! I loved it! It draws you in from the first word and leaves you wanting so much more. It is a series and more books are coming soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be alert to demonic activity

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was not able to personally review this book. However, a friend, Willie, was willing to share her thoughts on Mr. Rubart’s book, Soul’s Gate.
Sensitively written and therapeutic in the journey, this book opens your mind to the depths of the soul’s journey within your past and then for the Spiritual journey within. You cannot begin one without the other. We cannot heal others without healing one’s self and we can only go to God for that and listen to that still small voice.
Rubart does a good job blending the fantasy of entering another person’s soul for healing purposes with characters that each have a personal story that requires Truth to replace the enemies lies. The plot might be too predictable, but it a quick read that stirs up emotions, opens us up to the reality of another dimension of reality, and shows the heart of our struggle to protect ourselves from emotional pain, which causes real Spiritual bondage and greater pain and loss.
The author does not appear to realize the full extent of how real the astral plane is and how God has set limits for us as followers of Christ, because it is where the enemy dwells. God can move us into any plane He wants, but it’s God’s choice, not our own. We must follow wherever He leads and humble ourselves before Him.
This book was provided free by Amy Lathrop and Christen Krumm of the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest review (though this one was done by a friend on my behalf.) No monetary compensations was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed reading this book!

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul's Gate by James L. Rubart is about four people who can enter people's souls to battle the spiritual evils that are within them and help them find healing from past wounds. Some spirits, who would like to keep healing from happening, are watching and acting to keep the four out and will do their best to sway them away from their calling. Not only will each of the four battle in others' souls, but will have to face their own battles and will need each other to defeat the enemy.
The story is gripping, fast-paced, entertaining, and thought provoking. Thinking about what happens in the spiritual realms and how angels and demons work is not something thought about by most, including myself. This story, although fiction, does make one wonder about what is truly going on in the spiritual realms and what battles are being fought, if any at all in this present time. I highly enjoyed reading this book and will recommend it to others.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Rubart book since Rooms

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not since Rooms has a Rubart book captivated me the way this one did. From the beginning I began to relate with the characters, especially Dana. She is carrying a lot of baggage from her past and has put up strong walls in an effort to protect herself. I also related well with Brandon, Christian musician going through the motions. I loved Reece as the mentor. His wisdom and wit add so much to the story.
As Jim mentioned in the interview this is a story of freedom and healing, especially of broken hearts. For me, this story reminded me of the power of God and the reality of the spiritual world. Not that I believe that some of the things that happen in the story can happen (be sure to read Jim’s comments at the end of the story to know what I mean). However, I think as Christians in America our intellect limits what God can and wants to do in the lives of His people. This story also reminded me of the power of prayer.
I think one of the things that excited me about this book was the premise from Acts 8. I remember a pastor I had growing up saying he believed that God would do that again for His people.
I would recommend this story for those who enjoy Frank Peretti books, especially the “Darkness” books. Also if you enjoy a creative story about freedom that will stretch the imagination this is a great choice. I’m looking forward to what is coming next in this series.
Disclaimer: I would like to thank Thomas Nelson for the opportunity to read and review this book, I was under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Motivating Suspense by James L. Rubart

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! What a ride this book was! I cannot stop talking about it!
Soul's Gate centers around four individuals who are called together for a greater purpose. Reese Roth teaches the other three to embrace the true power of the Holy Spirit. They open their eyes to the realities of the spiritual realm in many way, and they begin to use His power to intercede for each other, replace lies, tear down strongholds, fight the enemy, and find freedom. The imagery of bondage and freedom in this book led me to tears multiple times.
The plot is fast-paced and unique with relationships, spiritual warfare, action, and suspense. The characters come to life on the page, especially as you glimpse into their souls. The author's notes at the end of the book discuss the reality versus fiction of the story. Most importantly, the theme and impact are powerful. True freedom is beautiful! That freedom is only found through Jesus and his Holy Spirit in us. The Holy Spirit is alive and powerful. He can erase the lies that we tell ourselves, and He replaces those lies with Truth...the truth that sets us free. Once we are free we can do all that He has planned for us.
I have to say again, "WOW!" This book inspired me to want to know Him more and to serve Him in a powerful way. He wants to use us and bless us in amazing ways, and I want to be used by Him. I highly recommend this book, and I am so thrilled that I received a free e-copy in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brought Together by a Prophecy

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirty years ago, Reece Roth was given a prophecy: “there will come a day when you will train them—they will be four. The song, the teacher, the leader, the temple.” That day has now come, and Reece, along with Marcus Amber, Dana Raine, Brandon Scott, and Tamera Miller, are scheduled to go on a retreat together. Before they leave, Reece instructs the four to read the gospels and the book of Acts, and watch a movie - The Matrix.
Once on their retreat, Reese shares with the others some of the things he has learnt on his Christian walk. This is heavy, serious, spiritual stuff that threatens to break the four out of their everyday Christianity as they work together to get to know each other and break down spiritual barriers.
Jim Rubart is the award-winning author of Rooms, Book of Days and The Chair, and from reading Soul’s Gate, I can see why. Soul’s Gate is a story of freedom in Christ, with a strong emphasis on the spiritual battles that sometimes must be fought for that freedom. While Soul's Gate finishes the story, the ending makes it equally clear that this is only the start of the journey for the four warriors, just as this is the first book in what I hope is planned to be a series.
This is not comfortable Christian fiction. The reader of Amish romance who occasionally branches out into a Western romance or a Love Inspired title is not going to enjoy Soul's Gate. But the reader who wants something a bit more challenging and who can deal with a bit of the "woo-woo demons and angels" stuff while find this book worth reading, if only to debate which aspects are fiction and which just might be true. Recommended.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and Netgalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I’ll be honest with you and tell you this review will already be a little biased. Every since Mr. Rubart burst onto the Christian Fiction scene with his first book, “Rooms”, I have been hooked. His books have become that proverbial “no brainer” when I see a new one pop up on my local Christian bookstore’s shelf.
Reece Roth is a man of few words, but deep thoughts. Reece has been taught how to enter a person’s soul and fight for their freedom. Unfortunately, this has come at a personal price to Reece. Early in his soul fighting days, Reece entered a soul without permission and the result was catastrophic for his wife and child. That was 30 years ago. Today, Reece is being called forth by God to teach a group of new students on the art of battling for the soul, a move that Reece isn’t sure he’s ready to tackle. The four recruits (Marcus, Brandon, Tamera and Dana) are from various backgrounds, but they have been identified by Him for the job. Reece has been quietly cultivating their relationships and been told that now is the time for all of them to meet. Almost immediately, the demons begin their attack on the new recruits. Distractions come at them from all angles as the demons attempt to thwart their impending training. One of the new recruits changes her mind at the last minute, which gives a win to the demons. Reece gathers the remaining recruits at the Well Spring Ranch to begin their training. As Reece trains them in various facets of entering a person’s soul, he also explains the rules and dangers that go with this power. As their understanding of his teachings grow, Marcus asks that they enter his soul. What secrets will they uncover inside? Can they really do battle inside a person’s soul? Who is next to have their soul freed? Those are all great questions and wonderful reasons for you to BUY THE BOOK!
I only speak one language, but there are plenty of words for me to use to describe this “Soul’s Gate”. Awesome and thought-provoking are two that come immediately to mind. Mr. Rubart has written a book that strikes deep to the core of basic Christianity. As his character points out, “The Bible is about a world of demons and angels and great evil and even greater glory”. We read about the miracles performed in the bible, about the Holy Spirit and all that was done in His name. We’ve lost that. We’ve let the world into our souls and pushed Him further into the background. Yes, I’m still saved, but sometime I feel like I’m just going through the motions. The Bible is ALIVE! The Holy Spirit is within us all just waiting to be freed. I won’t guarantee that you’ll have the same experience that I had with this book, but I will tell you that this book will put you in the right frame of mind. Mr. Rubart has some fascinating ideas throughout the training of these recruits, but for each one he has a scripture ready to explain his line of thinking. That right there was more than enough for me. I found myself savoring the interactions that he had with his recruits as they prayed for open eyes to the Spirit. As each attack came from the demons, these prayer warriors showed who had the real strength.
Is this a man’s book? This is so much more than a man’s book, but I loved how the main character, Reece, was a quiet rock of strength. We men need to give up on the notion that religion is weak, because after reading this book and experiencing what I did while I was reading it, there is no one stronger than my Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book quite interesting as well as entertaining. It definitely kept my attention. It dealt with the spiritual forces that we battle against. This is the first of a series so this book does a good job of establishing each of the main characters. They were all extremely different and likeable. They each have their own struggles that they are battling and I loved how they helped each other with their struggles. The whole battling inside someone's soul was strange but well done. I am glad that the author made a point in the end to say he doesn't believe that someone can actually enter someone else's soul. If you like reading fantasy, adventure and the spiritual realm, then you will enjoy this. I really enjoyed the book and I look forward to reading the others in the series.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

spiritual warfare like you've never seen before

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing novel. Every once and a while one comes along that just takes your breath away. This is one of those novels.
What would it be like if we Christians lived today with the same strength and power we read the early Christians had? What if we entered into spiritual warfare, if we lived in a spiritual realm we generally ignore?
That is what Rubart writes about in this novel.
Reece Roth is a veteran at spiritual warfare. He was a warrior thirty years ago, but then stepped away from battle when he faced personal tragedy. Now he is back in the war and is to train others in the ways of battle. The danger is immediate. There are evil beings who are out to stop Reece and his friends. These demons have destroyed before and now set their sights on Reece.
This novel brings to our attention the seriousness of spiritual warfare and battling for the soul of another. Reece trains his friends to travel in the Spirit, to sense the spirit realm, and to enter into another's soul to do battle. Rubart admits at the end of the novel that he does not believe entering into another's soul is actually possible (this is fiction, after all).
But the rest – such as paying attention to the spiritual realm so we can sense what is happening in others... Is that the level of Christianity we can and should be living?
This novel is very thought provoking. I was glad to see an extensive Reading Group Guide because this novel would make for lively discussion.
I highly recommend this book. Read it and then discuss it with a friend.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Soul's Gate, Well Spring Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soul's Gate

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Docmeister7
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Not afraid, for His armor is the best
But even soldiers need a quiet place to rest.”
Twila Paris
In James L. Rubart’s new book, Soul’s Gate, spiritual warfare has taken on dimensions of Biblical proportion. Which is as it should be. The quote in the fly-leaf of the book is one which Christians ought to take to heart:
“There are two equal and opposite errors into which our race can fall about the devils. One is to disbelieve in their existence. The other is to believe, and to feel an excessive and unhealthy interest in them. They themselves are equally pleased by both errors.”
C.S. Lewis
In Soul’s Gate, Rubart contemplates what it would look like if a person could travel inside the soul of another human being, and wage war on their behalf “against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places” (Ephesians 6:12).
Reese Roth could tell you, speaking from first-hand experience. That was his life, until tragedy struck and seemingly ended his destiny. But God is the God of the second chance, and Reese is being called upon to train four new warriors to carry on the work. Teach them to see the spirit world. Train them to enter the spirit world. And survive.
Keep in mind . . . every war has TWO sides, and this is no exception. While the warriors train and prepare to carry the fight to the enemy in a way that even Reese has yet to fathom, the enemy is not twiddling his thumbs. He’s determined to stop these young warriors. At any cost.
Soul's Gate was a real eye-opener for me, as it reminded me that we really are in a spiritual battle, and Satan takes no prisoners. Fast-paced, grittily real, Soul's Gate has very engaging characters and a solid plot, as well as what I believe to be a sound spiritual foundation.
5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>