Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2

Thomas Nelson Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2

With a victory against the Evil One under their belts, the four of the Prophecy have managed to bring even greater adversity their way. Now the four must stand against the Enemy's continued assaults-and try to determine how to prevail. These four have seen amazing things in the spiritual realm. But faith can become even more difficult when it's influenced by sight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Review 1 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why is it so difficult for us to let go of the past? A place we'll never be able to return to and fix what we messed up. Why is it so tempting to focus on the what-might-have-beens rather than the what-I-have-right-nows? Throughout this book, one of the major themes is facing regrets. Mr. Rubart takes his readers on a whirlwind ride and forces them to ask pertinent questions - is God in every circumstance? Does He truly have control over *every* situation - even the ones that take something precious from you? When Christians focus on the things of this life, self-pity, self-righteousness, judging others in comparison to ourselves, we forget that this journey is not about us and we play into the hands of the enemy instead of being used by God.
This book is a prime example of why I love to read Christian fiction. With breathtaking scenes, vivid imagery and great skill, Mr. Rubart will take you on an impossible (?) journey that will challenge you to look at things a little differently and perhaps encourage you to have faith that will move mountains of doubt and worry.
*I received this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required it be positive. I highly recommend this book.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supernatural Battles, A Quest for Freedom

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reese, Brandon, Dana, and Marcus, key characters from the earlier Well Spring Novel, Soul’s Gate, continue in their supernatural battle against the evil forces found in the the realm of the spirit world. They are in a quest for supernatural freedom and on a mission to change the world.
In Memory’s Door, bestselling author, James L. Rubart captivates his readers with subterfuge, suspense, angelic beings, counterfeit spirits, as evil forces attack seeking to destroy the impact of the ministry of the band of Warriors Riding. The introduction of the Wolf leads to another prophetic fulfillment; through the unnerving effect of a stalker in the shadows, an overwhelming career, blindness, and confusion with alternate realities undermine and weaken the cause of and quest for spiritual freedom.
The fictional nature of the novel in no way hinders the forcefulness of Rubart’s message. The novel becomes a platform for his creative gift of storytelling to attract a unique audience with the reality of spiritual warfare and the promise of freedom from its bondage.
In Memory’s Door Rubart warns of the devastating effect of the poison of toxic memories of looking back on the past and past failures and brings a message of hope and freedom from regret.
Rubart’s writing is powerful, his message strong; his previous books are highly endorsed and recommended. Memory’s Door is no exception. Highly recommended.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
This review is fromMemory's Door - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Warrior Riders are back, and they must choose who to free next. Reveling in their previous victory against the Evil One, Reese, Dana, Brandon and Marcus are up for an adventure none of them want to miss. But discerning who is friend and who is foe is going to be harder than any of them realize, and all of them struggle with their own unique problems.
Reese is desperately fighting off the inner voices that taunt him with his loss of vision. Depression weighs him down like a wet blanket, and he seemingly has no hope for a bright future with his blindness. Dana is moving up in the world, but struggles to know if she is on the right path. Brandon's popularity is dropping, and with it, his confidence. And Marcus is still living with the guilt after the death of his son. Can these four of the Prophecy truly fight against the Evil One and win? Or is their fate forever going to be among the Lost?
Rubart's novel really opens your eyes to how the devil blinds us to sin in order to tempt us with the promise of a more self-fulfilled life. Even the strongest believer can fall, and the devil makes it so easy to give in to the flesh and do what we feel is right. It is well written, and despite not having read the first one yet, I was still able to grasp the story line and characters without trouble whatsoever. This story will draw you in and examine the deepest recesses of your heart, and you will not come out of it the same. You will see the spiritual realm in a new light, with fresh eyes and a heaviness for those who are still blinded to the Truth.
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Self-Forgiveness Can Set You Free

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:New Mexico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taking a line from James L. Rubart's latest novel, "That was a ride on the far side of extreme." Memory's Door had me pinned to my seat as I flew through the novel.
The sequel to Soul's Gate, Memory's Door is a journey into battling the spirit of religion that reigns in today's society. But that isn't where it ends. Underneath is the story of forgiveness. And this is the part that touched me the deepest.
I'm a self-proclaimed perfectionist. I like to do things right. I like it when others do things right. And I grit my teeth when I make mistakes or fail. When my sin nature rules, my flesh strong and spirit weak. Which brings me to my personal struggle with forgiving. Sure, I can easily forgive another. It's myself I have the hard time forgiving. Because I know I could have done it better. Because I know the hurt or inconvenience my mistakes have caused others. Because I want to be better than I am. I don't want to accept my human flaws. I want to be more like Jesus.
Page 300 of Memory's Door is my favorite.
"It didn't make sense. Why wasn't Jesus showing him? There was nothing to see. Nothing to see. Nothing."
Marcus is realizing that God wipes away our sin. Forgiven. Nothing remains. Only Jesus. I cried as I read this on an airplane, stuck between two passengers. Nowhere to hide as I wiped my cheeks with the cuff of my sweatshirt sleeve. It takes a good writer to make me cry while I'm reading a book. I think this is only the second time it's happened to me.
Memory's Door isn't just a novel. It's a call to live free. Free from the condemnation of the enemy, who would have us bound tight and unable to fight for the kingdom of God if he could. It's a call to free ourselves from the mistakes of our past, to have no regrets, and to learn to forgive ourselves as Jesus Christ has forgiven us.
I highly recommend Jim's novels. Every one of them has something significant to say about our spiritual well-being, about the choices we make every day. Memory's Door is now my second favorite. Please read it. It won't disappoint you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dibble
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good read and very thought provoking great story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Becomes interim novel, but has periodic suspense.

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Noah Arsenault
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading the first novel to this series, I was immediately interested in reading Memory's Door. Speculative fiction, unusual circumstances, and the like are often favorite reads. These strange events happened on two levels. One: extending the main theme of the novels, and the second: providing a bit of variety with alternate realities. To be fair, the second didn't extend far enough to have much variety, but instead accomplished the same goal as the main theme: restoration. (restoration and a deeper relationship with the Spirit was the theme in the first novel, and likely will be for the series as a whole)
Partly because of this, I feel as if I'd read Soul's Gate over again. Another reason is that the characters don't seem to have progressed far beyond their state at the end of the first novel. Most problems were both introduced and remedied in this book alone. The cast had a developed base, but didn't register easily this time.
There were a few scenes where the suspense was fairly heavy, and I didn't expect much suspense in Memory's Door, so props to Rubart for that.
Overall, I didn't find much that hadn't been explored in the first book, apart from the suspense. Here's hoping that this was largely an interim novel, and that the next shows us more variety.
*This book was provided free by the author. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions expressed here are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian Fantasy Done Right

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JeanW
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I happen to really enjoy Christian fantasy, as I call this style of writing, thus I was drawn to James Rubart's novels. I also thoroughly enjoy a fast pace with twists and turns and high stakes. Memory's Door delivered in every area to the point I was literally exhausted at times by the end of a chapter. Unfortunately for me, his hooks are so excellent that I had to do battle with myself as to whether or not I really could spare the time to keep reading.
I had read the first book in the series, Soul's Gate, so I was eager to read the sequel and discover not only what happens to the four main characters, but also, what theme Rubart would address in this novel. Freedom in Christ continues to be Rubart's battle cry (yeah!) but Freedom from Regret also rings loud and clear (Amen!).
Regret is a formidable opponent in most people's lives. How Rubart handled this theme is fantastic: alternate realities (clever), tragic disappointments (tremendous stumbling block for so many), the possibility of future regrets if... (doesn't that plague so many of us?), and being completely blind to future regrets by the lure of today...("all that glitters isn't gold" isn't a popular phrase for nothing.) If you're sensing that this novel is not one-dimensional, you're right!
I've read some reviews that address their concerns about doctrine. I believe the key here is that this is Christian fantasy, not biblical teaching on exactly how the spiritual world works. Just as Christ told parables that were not actual historical events but were designed to give biblical instruction, you should enjoy this novel for its message of freedom from regret through freedom in Christ, not as a teaching on biblical doctrine on the spirit world. James Rubart is a solid Christ Follower who challenges his readers to trust Christ more, while making us hang on to the edge of our seat.
I'm a big fan of Rubart's writing: how he paints a scene, brings in tension, hooks you around every turn, and can make you laugh even at unexpected moments. He made me cheer for the heroes and hate the villains. His character Simon is classic!!! Simon adds much, including the following line, which made me laugh out loud because in my family, this would be a serious crisis: "Did you know in some realities they don't have crème brûlée creamer? How crazy is that? Very challenging to deal with."
To Rubart's credit, this novel is filled with challenging thoughts beyond crème brûlée creamer, such as: "Reece, I do have a few thoughts. While we must be aware of the enemy's schemes, do not let your full concentration be on him. He is not the goal. He is not our focus. Do not give him more power than he has. Jesus is setting captives free, and those captives are stepping out of their chains. That is what we will celebrate and keep at the forefront of our minds."
Bottom line...if you like Christian fantasy with a powerful message, this is a home run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

James Rubart has written another masterpiece!!!

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome and amazing novel!!! James Rubart does it again!! This is the sequel to Soul's Gate. This book had me on the edge of my seat the whole time! The Warrior's riding team is at it again trying to free the soul's of those who are hurting. It really makes you think about the choices that you make daily and the effects that they will have on you and your loved ones. It shows you how powerful the evil spirits are when fighting against you and how they can deceive you so easily. This book will help you to grow emotionally and spiritually and it will help you free your soul of the many hurts and hangups you may have. James Rubart is an amazing author who has written another gem!! I definitely can't wait for the next novel to come out in the spring!!! Way to go James!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic story

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Memory’s Door was another incredible story by James L. Rubart! I thought this continuation of the Well Spring saga was just as brilliant as Soul’s Gate. By now, I was very familiar with the main characters of the story, having bonded with them and their quest in Soul’s Gate. Although several individual storylines are interwoven, I was so impressed that I never felt lost or missed any details. James L. Rubart did a masterful job of keeping every episode with every character firmly anchored to his main plot, which is not an easy task. It is so easy to become thoroughly engrossed in the world of Reese, Dana, Marcus, and Brandon that it will begin to feel like your world.
This whole theme of fighting to obtain total freedom from bondage and regret is very near and dear to my heart, and as Soul’s Gate opened the door to a whole realm of reality that I had never stopped to really consider, Memory’s Door just took me deeper inside. I am stirred by the thought that, even though the spiritual reality is invisible to our natural eyes, in truth it is even more real than the physical realm. Through reading this great story, I began to focus more intentionally on what was happening in and around me in the spiritual realm at various moments throughout the day, much more aware of subtle attacks and deception that would come my way, and taking care that I responded appropriately instead of ignoring them. Not only that, but I also saw how the enemy tries to convince us to play the game by his rules, where unfortunately, he doesn’t play fair and will always win. Just like Marcus discovers, we think we must choose one of the options he presents because that is all we can see at the moment. The truth is that we are called to live at a higher level with the authority and perspective that God has given us. We don’t have to play by the enemy’s rules or choose a lesser path—we are positioned for overwhelming triumph, and it’s a beautiful thing to discover that God’s choice for us is Win-Win! The story of Memory’s Door is not only a captivating one that will keep you turning the pages until you lose track of time, but it is also a lesson of broken hearts being healed, enslaved souls set free, and greater purpose being discovered. Many great novels have touched my mind, but Memory’s Door has the coveted accomplishment of touching my heart. I am sure it will do the same for every reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Memory's Door

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
BettieB
Location:Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Memory's Door is compelling, suspenseful, a little bit of "Twilight Zone" .. but with a deep spiritual message. The further you read the better is gets and almost impossible to put down."
I can't wait for his next book now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 2 in My New Favorite Series

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
danzingfool
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Early this year I decided "Soul's Gate" by James Rubart is my new favorite novel. Now that I've read Memory's Door, Book 2 in the Wellspring series, I can say that the series is now my favorite as well. What would be very hard would be choosing between these books. Book 1 struck me as brilliant, largely because it was so different than anything I've ever read before--closest I could describe it would be the Frank Peretti books but with a fresh, contemporary twist--but book two stands on its own and has powerful and unique qualities as well. It is an incredible follow-up to book 1, but can also be enjoyed as a stand alone novel.
One might consider this book a spiritual allegory, but I think it would be better to explain it as a book that takes spiritual realities and puts them into words and pictures that we can understand with our limited human senses. As a person who is open to spiritual experiences, I would say that many of the descriptions accurately capture, as best as one can with our limited vocabulary, aspects of the spiritual realm.
Jim's passion is bringing people to freedom. Book 1 in this series focused on inner healing and growing in awareness of the spiritual dimension, but book 2 takes a closer look at two specific areas: freedom from regrets and from religiosity. The religiosity aspect especially tickled me. I feel like I have found freedom in this area, and yet it still tries to sneak up on me at times, not to mention, we can all become more free in this area. Jim's depiction of religiosity actually made me giggle in delight at times, because it was such an affirmation of what I should leave behind and what it truly means to be a believer. And let me mention without spoiling anything, that I absolutely loved who "the wolf"' turned out to be.
Jim's writing is fresh and clean and keeps you quickly turning pages. Then, when you least expect it, he hits you with a gorgeous description or unique perspective that truly causes the book to shine. This is a perfect example of what some are calling "life-changing" or "transformational" fiction. It is sure to touch your heart and effect you in a significant way. Little wonder book one took the 2013 Christy Award for visionary fiction. I can't wait for the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait for the final installment!!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diggs
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the first novel "Soul's Gate" I couldn't wait to read "Memory's Door" and see if it was as good as the first. It was!! James Rubart's way of story telling makes you think and look at your own life in comparison while you are reading this book. The battles that take place between good and evil are well thought out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great sequel with important message

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James Rubart has a new book out: Memory's Door, the second installment in the Well Springs series. All the characters I came to love in the first book, Soul's Gate are back...this time with even more challenges as they press into God. The crux of this book is an allegory about how Satan will disguise himself as the angel of light and trick us into believing there are certain parts of us or our past too dangerous to bring into the light. If we just stuff them deep enough, we'll be okay. But if they ever come out...our lives as we know them are over.
Memory's Door is a great sequel, but it does not stand alone. This is a series that should be read in order and with a heart open to the idea of having the box we place God in stretched. My husband and I both really enjoy this series and Jim's writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as good as the first

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
hanni2
Location:Deland, Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first book in this series, Soul's Gate. It rocked my world, gave me all kinds of new things to think about and started me down a path of examining my identity and my beliefs about the power I have in Christ. In short, I loved every page. So, when I saw that the next book in the series, Memory's Door was available to be reviewed, I was excited. I have to admit, though, that I was also cautious with my expectations. I have, many times, gotten hooked on the first book in a series, only to be sorely disappointed by the sequel. Well, that was certainly not the case this time!
Memory's Door is every bit as action packed, fast paced and well written as Soul's Gate. It is a continuation of the story of Soul's Gate where Reece Roth leads the prophesied four warriors into their destiny, one of entering people's souls and setting them free from the inside out. These four are continuing to learn how to believe how powerful they truly are in the midst of their battles for others' freedom.
In this book, I saw so clearly how the enemy deceives us with his lies. Through the situations in the story, Rubart gives relevant examples of the ways satan takes facts of our circumstances and weaves them into deceptions that look like absolute reality. They actually are only his deceptions, but they convince us of the "what ifs" as though they've already occurred. He also painted a picture of just how powerless the enemy is, until we agree with his deception and give life to his suggestions.
I loved this book as much as I loved the first, and I can't wait for the next one. Definitely one I would recommend.
I received this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Regrets, Spiritual Warfare and Healing

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James L. Rubart in his new book, “Memory’s Door” Book Two in the Well Spring series published by Thomas Nelson gives us another adventure with the four members of Warriors Riding.
From the back cover: The prophecy brought them together. But the Wolf has risen, and now their greatest battle begins.
The four members of Warriors Riding have learned to wage war in the supernatural, to send their spirits inside people’s souls, to battle demonic forces, and to bring deep healing to those around them.
But their leader Reece is struggling with the loss of his sight. Brandon is being stalked at his concerts by a man in the shadows. Dana’s career is threatening to bury her. And Marcus questions his sanity as he seems to be slipping in and out of alternate realities.
And now the second part of the prophecy has come true. The Wolf is hunting them and has set his trap. He circles, feeding on his supernatural hate of all they stand for. And he won’t stop until he brings utter destruction to their bodies . . . and their souls.
This means war! The battle is on! The battle for souls is the hardest and most vicious ever imagined and James L. Rubart has given us a story that shows just how hard and vicious it is. Mr. Rubart gives us the warriors, those that fight for men’s souls. They are aided by the angelic host. Opposed to them, of course, are the demonic host. The reason why they are after the warriors is that if you take out those that do the fighting then the ones they are fighting for are lost and the demons win. Let us define “regret” as those things that are holding us prisoners to decisions and actions of the past. Each one of the four Warriors Riding has an issue with regret and each one of them is individually attacked from a demon because of that regret. These “regrets” keep us from enjoying the life that God has planned for us. Before the Warriors Riding can really fulfill their purpose they need God to heal them of these regrets. ”Memory’s Door” is a very exciting book. One that will keep you flipping pages trying to find out what will happen next just as fast as you can read and flip. Everything is Biblical and Mr. Rubart is at the top of his game with his writing. “Memory’s Door” will keep you asking questions, once you get the answer to one question it leads you to another and then another. This is an adrenaline laced adventure story. The characters are extraordinary and well written and you get involved with every one of them. This is a just plain fun, exciting story that entertains as well as makes us think. Mr. Rubart has batted in a winner and I recommend this book highly. I am so looking forward to book three in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Books are a wonderful invention that can lead the reader into worlds filled with action and adventure. While it is true some readers enjoy the electronic versions available, I love the feel of book in my hands with the sound of pages turning. I enjoy seeing the personal library of books being shelved and shared with my family that one day will pass on to the next generation.
There are many genres, authors, publishers, editors and such. Each can bring something to the reader that can be relaxing, engaging, emotional, thought provoking or unfortunately once in awhile a book that has to be thrown out. Gladly, I can state this one novel, a sequel to Soul’s Gate, is one to share and repeatedly read. As I started the story, it took me a few chapters before my mind remembered where the plot had left off from the first book. It wasn’t long before the pages were turning faster and my eyes were just racing to see what was coming next.
James L. Rubart has written a series of novels that probe the heart, mind and soul of readers. Scripture is shared liberally through the pages, which helps the imagination picture the characters engaged in battle. Though the battle is mainly spiritual, it is more. Plus, the writing reminds me of how John wrote the book of Revelation. We cannot fully comprehend or see what yet lies ahead in future, whether it is the next day or years from now; however, we can know within our hearts the One who holds all things together with a word!
A warrior is an apt description placed upon the characters that face the evil that is bent on destruction, not temporary but permanent. It reminds those who continue in the adventure throughout this work of fiction that there really is a battle that cannot be seen with the eyes of flesh. A spiritual battle rages around the characters in Memory’s Door, but it also is true in reality. The author shares words of encouragement from the heart at the end that will help stir people beyond just enjoying the writing. His desire is that we all come to know the Truth so that we can be free to live as He has meant us to live.
While I haven’t told you much of the plot, themes or other information most reviews tell you, I do hope it has stirred you to grab book one, Soul’s Gate, then its sequel, Memory’s Door. Though what the author shares is purely fiction, it is a challenge to know the Truth of the Word of God, who we are in Him, who we battle and how we are to fight. Are you ready to engage yourself into a work that is very different than perhaps something else you have read? I sure hope so because you will never regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I thougt

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tweet
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first book was great and very realistic. However, this book went in a different direction. The characters are great, but the spiritual realm did not seem as real as the first book. It is a good read, but not a page turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the adventure of spiritual warfare continues

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second novel in the Well Spring series, sequel to Soul's Gate. The four, called Warriors Riding, continue to battle the enemy for the freedom and well being of believers. (You'll want to read the first book to receive the full impact of this one.)
The spiritual warfare in this novel concentrates on a few fronts. One is memories. Marcus is tormented by the memory of when he distractedly allowed his young son to ride his bicycle with others to a store down the street and out of his sight. Soon he heard sirens and found that his son was dead – struck by a car. Marcus must make the right choice at memory's door if he and his family are to be freed from the guilt of the past.
Another front is the spirit of religion in the form of legalism. It is personified in the person of a popular Christian talk show host. He attacks the Warriors Riding, accusing them of occult practices with their spirit travel, etc.
Brandon and Dana both face the issues of success. For Dana, it is the distraction of getting a promotion. She must choose whether her success is more important than her spiritual calling. And for Brandon, he is confronted with the possibility of his career being in decline.
As in the first of the series, Rubart imagines scenes portraying spiritual growth and warfare. We might think of spiritual warfare as, for example, interceding for another. Rubart visualizes that spiritual battle as one entering into the soul of another and experiencing demonic confrontation and the ensuing battle. My understanding is that Rubart is not promoting the possibility of astral projection or anything like that, but is merely giving us an opportunity to visually imagine the spirit realm.
There are a couple aspects of the book that really impressed me. One was how deceiving the enemy can be. At one point even Reese is deceived by a demon masquerading as the Lord. At another point Marcus experiences a similar kind of deception concerning possible futures (even though the past was forgiven). Wow. Those were very powerful scenes.
Another section that impressed me was a discussion over a card trick. It was one of those tricks where you choose a card, shuffle, and the dealer picks it out. It was a simple card trick, the fellow said. The lesson it taught was the important thing: “[God] doesn't play fair and every choice is his choice, no matter how much it seems like it is yours.” (236) Again, wow. I have read essays on “free will” and the sovereignty of God yet have never seen it so simply explained as in that statement about a card trick.
There is plenty of action in this novel. The battle between Christians and demons never slows down. If you would like your imagination stimulated by a visual representation of what spiritual warfare might look like, read this book. It is entertaining and challenges your spiritual thinking. There is a discussion guide included and I can almost imagine the lively discussions reading groups will have.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh sweet day! Another novel by Jim Rubart. And not just any novel, this is the continuation of the great “Well Spring” novels. Hang onto your hats, we’re going in!
The members of the Warriors Riding are back and preparing for an even bigger battle this time. Reese is still struggling with the loss of his vision and how that will affect the warring that is taking shape against The Wolf. Brandon’s singing career continues to skyrocket, but an injury to his vocal chords may spell trouble for his future. Dana is enjoying a rise in her employment status at the radio station and Marcus is battling with personal issues at home with his teenage daughter and a new boyfriend. If all of this isn’t enough, the group comes under fire from a charismatic radio personality bent on outing the Warriors Riding for the malicious group that they are. When will the prophecy foretell Reese will get his vision back? Can Brandon get his career back on track? Will Dana continue to climb the corporate ladder? Are Marcus’ personal issues an attack from The Wolf and can they be overcome? Questions, questions and more questions that can all be answered when you BUY THE BOOK!
There’s nothing more exciting to me than to be able to read a book that causes me to do research. As he did in “Soul’s Gate”, Jim Rubart opens my eyes to possibilities that I’ve never considered. I love the descriptions that he uses as the Warriors enter a soul, such vivid details that paint such a realistic picture of what those battles would look like. The battles that rage in this book showcase the battles that we face each day in our walk, but battles that are important to who we become. The introduction of Carson as “the mainstream Christian”, sure brings a lot of great discussions to the table. One of the main themes through this book is “regret” and how we need to release those things that are holding us prisoners to decisions and actions of the past. These “regrets” keep us from enjoying the life that He has planned for us. Once again, Jim Rubart has another great hit on his hands!
Is this a man’s book? This book is definitely a man’s book. Not only for the action and pace of the book, but because it also has a message that we all need to hear loud and clear!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Memory's Door, Well Spring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Warrior Riders are back, and they must choose who to free next. Reveling in their previous victory against the Evil One, Reese, Dana, Brandon and Marcus are up for an adventure none of them want to miss. But discerning who is friend and who is foe is going t be harder than any of them realize, and all of them struggle with their own unique problems.
Reese is desperately fighting off the inner voices with his loss of vision. Depression weighs him down like a wet blanket, and he seemingly has no hope for a future with his blindness. Dana is moving up in the world, but struggles to know if she is on the right path. Brandon's popularity is dropping, and with it, his confidence. And Marcus is still living with the guilt after the death of his son. Can these four of the Prophecy truly fight against the Evil One and win? Or is their fate forever going to be among the Lost?
Rubart's novel really opens your eyes to how the devil blinds us to sin in order to tempt us with the promise of a more self-fulfilled life. Even the strongest believer can fall, and the devil makes it so easy to give in to the flesh and do what we feel is right. It is well written, and despite not having read the first one yet, I was still able to grasp the story line and characters without trouble whatsoever. This story will draw you in and examine the deepest recesses of your heart, and you will not come out of it the same. You will see the spiritual realm in a new light, with fresh eyes and a heaviness for those who are still blinded to the Truth.
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>