Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Review 1 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
pilgrim
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible, biblical insight into a problem that is hurting many in our society. This message needs to be heard and understood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful guidebook

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
true
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sexually abused by my father. This book helped me through a very difficult time, when, I as an adult was sick of living with the mess inside of me. The author says that it will be a hard journey, but one worth taking. I finished the book and workbook (suggest you buy that, too) a few years back. It has made a world of difference!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This writer really knows what he's talking about!

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Precious
Location:Bronx, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to write this review to encourage others who were sexually abused to PLEASE read "The Wounded Heart"-it has clarified and confirmed much of what the Holy Spirit has been revealing to me over the years. We deserve to be happy and to walk in the freedom for which Christ Jesus has set us free.-It's content is so true, it's liberating: its a recommended powerful tool for a small group Healing ministry, and for the matured & skilled counselors/Pastors to use in Pastoral Care & Counseling of those who experienced childhood sexual abuse, and ready to overcome its harmful effect in their adult life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author provides an understandable and excellent resource for anyone dealing with the messy issue of sexual abuse. This is a must read for counselors and anyone wanting to understand the abuse and find ways to minister the healing love of God with the victims.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A blessing to have

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miffle28
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to read this book. Thank you, Dr. Allender, for your tender-heartedness tempered by firmness, rooted soundly in biblical principles. I would say the heart of this book is one that every person leaning on being a child of God ought to read and absorb. It is that foundational. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
bumblebee
Location:Amarillo, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was easy to read and understand. I believe the Author able to communicate his experience with sexual abuse victims as compassionate and guiding. I'm excited to begin the workbook. And when the Lord opens a door for me to share my experience with these books I will recommed this Author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
DONNA
Location:London Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was exactly how a counselee looks at herself. She felt the book could have been her writing the information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous. Life-changing. Freeing.

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jomomma
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very helpful. It really opened some doors for me to understand myself better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our adult son recently told us that his brother, our other son, had molested him 10 years ago. As parents, we are trying to gain understanding of this very difficult news. This book has, so far, been very helpful and points the way to Christ, our ultimate Healer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Location:NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very informative book, highly recommend! It covers a broad span of issues an abused person has to deal with day to day including relationships and gives answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has excellent and prevelant points

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ricky Marie
Location:McPherson, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew when I first read some of the excerpts online about this book, that this was the book the Lord was leading me too...and it was finally time for me to begin the rest of my healing from abuse. I will say, the author is sometimes pretty frank about some of the issues, and they are not always the easiest to read, but really needed. Do not just sit down with this book and read it...let God heal you while you read, cause you are going to need Him while going through the healing process. Make sure you are staying in the Word and keeping all your insecurities ever before Him while going through this process. If you truly want healing and freedom for good, allow the Spirit to get close, and dive in without hesitation..it won't always be pretty, but I am already looking forward to the outcome. God Bless you as you go through this book, cause I know He will.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I have read on the subject

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have survived child hood sexual abuse and read everything I could get my hands on regarding the subject. This book is simply THE BEST book I have ever read regarding sexual abuse and I have read it over 5-6 times; at least once a year, and I have never failed to get something new from the book when I re-read it. Written with compassion and a biblical world view, this book touches on the pain and the steps to healing with clarity and empathy. This may not be a good book for unbelievers, but as a Christian, this is simply the BEST book I have used in my own journey through healing. I would recommend this to anyone who has experienced sexual abuse or knows someone who has been through it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracey King
I have hardly begun using this book, and am already astounded at the depth of the challenges that are presented! No matter what level you are on in your healing process, if you have the desire to stop hurting and stop being the victim over and over again, then this book, in combination with the reading book, will take you farther than you have ever gone! Even if it takes you years to complete these two books, and I pray it doesn't, it is worth every effort, no matter how great or small, you put in to it! Let's face it! We all have our times when we hit a block in the road, have high hurdles we are not prepared to jump, or sometimes just need to take times to stop pushing ourselves and rest! This book will still be there when you are ready, or when God is ready to move you forward. God NEVER gives us more than we can handle WITH HIM! I never thought I could heal as much as I have or be bold enough to reach out to others who are just like me, a victim of child sexual abuse. I am growing, healing and moving forward. I believe it's because Dr. Allender followed God's calling by writing these two books, which has done so much for me, that in the midst of constant physical challenges, I am endeavoring to start a support group based upon what I have learned and am learning in "The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse. " It encompasses the whole being - body, mind, soul and spirit. It touches base with every possible human emotion we face - anger, hurt, shame, depression, ambivelence, etc. I can't possibly cover all the benefits of this book in one review. All I can say is, don't think about it, just buy it. God will recognize the desire to heal and will take it from there, on His timing!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Casey
It has been over a year since I read this book, but I remember it enough to know it deserves 5 stars. I've recommended it numerous. I read it after Toxic Parents by Susan Forward. While Forward's book was wonderfully pragmatic with strong psychology for the healing process, she had nothing for a struggling Christain. Stupid words coming from religious folks can also add to the struggles. I found this book wonderful as a committed Christain because it was strong with scripture and deep spiritually. I tend to avoid women's devotions because they are just too superficial for my level of hurt. Two things I remember: Allender discussing foregiveness being a process for this level of abuse. He said a person can't expect to completely foregive over night as churchy people want. Allender talks about responsibility for poor decisions that victims make because of the abuse. How could a victim possibly make sound decisions about sex and love early in their adult life before they've started the healing process? Yes, some of that responsibility lays on the abuser, just like the Bible said. I followed this up with RC Sproul's The Holiness of God and recommend it for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Murphy
This book perfectly balances the Doctors years of direct experence with victims and the biblical perspective. You cant read 3 pages without the conection to the creator God being shown to be at the heart of the problem and soulution.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patsy Cowan
I read this book but not in it's entirity until after I did the workbook. And I'm thankful for that. Before the workbook, I was angry and disturbed at some of the things mentioned. The workbook does not do the chapters in the same order as the book. I was 54 when I went through the class in the fall of 2007. I was wanting to help teach the class and thought I did not need healing. I have a wonderful family and have led a productive life. If only I had known of something like this or sought something like this before, what a more productive and happy-spiritual life I would have lived and my family would have benefitted greatly. After you go through the workbook and receive healing, you are better equipped to read the book as a whole. I have gone on to another church where I have introduced this book and workbook. We have had 2 classes and 6 more healings. My goal is to help younger people get healing before they have lived most of their lives. God is great.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
William Breach
Although the psychology is excellent, the theology is awful. I would never give this book to a hurting person.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Clay
Really focuses on true Biblical healing. Christ wants us to cast our cares on Him and this allowed me to do just that. I am a much more peaceful person able to deal with the world and not let the world shake the very essence of my being.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Clay
Difficult subject, but dealt with in a manner that brings true healing. So thankful that the author bluntly dealt with this heart-wrenching issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Wounded Heart: Hope for Adult Victims of Childhood Sexual Abuse - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Scott Holt
So far the book has been helpful to me. It is allowing me to look at some things in my past in a new light. I look forward to finishing the book and allowing God to work through it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.