Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1

Thomas Nelson Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1

Brielle's a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She's come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can't seem to shake.

Jake's the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what's going to happen.

Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Review 1 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
This review is fromAngel Eyes - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even after her mother's untimely death, Brielle was having a pretty decent life. Living with her dad in the little town of Stratus, Oregon, they share a quiet existence together. When discovered by a talent agent at the age of sixteen, Brielle's life changes dramatically - for the better. As the only daughter of a logger, life as a ballerina in the big city is too tempting an offer to turn away. Two years later she returns home, much changed by her experiences. Death stalks her every breathing moment, and with it a jaded and jarring disappointment in the human race.
Brielle learns there is a world she cannot see, at least not until she sees with Celestial eyes. She can only see with her Terrestrial eyes, and the world that is opened up to her brings her beyond the point of her disbelief and the Maker who controls it all. What will it take to make her see the Truth? Will it take her death before she finally believes?
First, I'm going to say that book was an attention grabber. Secondly, while I feel that it was indeed written primarily for young people, the truths contained in this novel are for everyone. Thirdly, Dittemore's correlation between the Biblical Elisha and her presumably in-the-present setting was intriguing, enthralling, and breathtakingly mysterious all rolled into one. Last but not least, the ending definitely leave you hanging and wanting more, but that's just something you'll have to discover for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even after her mother's untimely death, Brielle was having a pretty decent life. Living with her dad in the little town of Stratus, Oregon, they share a quiet existence together. When discovered by a talent agent at the age of sixteen, Brielle's life changes dramatically - for the better. As the only daughter of a logger, life as a ballerina in the big city is too tempting an offer to turn away. Two years later she returns home, much changed by her experiences. Death stalks her every breathing moment, and with it a jaded and jarring disappointment in the human race.
Brielle learns there is a world she cannot see, at least not until she sees with Celestial eyes. She can only see with her Terrestrial eyes, and the world that is opened up to her brings her beyond the point of her disbelief and the Maker who controls it all. What will it take to make her see the Truth? Will it take her death before she finally believes?
First, I'm going to say that book was an attention grabber. Secondly, while I feel that it was indeed written primarily for young people, the truths contained in this novel are for everyone. Thirdly, Dittemore's correlation between the Biblical Elisha and her presumably in-the-present setting was intriguing, enthralling, and breathtakingly mysterious all rolled into one. Last but not least, the ending definitely leave you hanging and wanting more, but that's just something you'll have to discover for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well executed

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brielle returns to her hometown a different person after a traumatic event that happened in the city.
Brielle meets a mysterious boy named Jake with a unique gift that makes him a target for supernatural forces, in a battle between good and evil.
While this book was well written and executed speculative fiction, I found that this book wasn't particularly my flavor but I still appreciated it's depth and the storytelling elements.
Ms. Dittemore wrote the characters in first-person, present tense so it was easy to understand what the characters were feeling, yet I didn't learn everything right away which kept me in suspenseful ignorance for quite awhile, because I was trying to figure everything out!
I guess the problem I had with it was that with all the angels and demons in the fore-front, God seemed very distant. But overall this book just wasn't my style, though I still very much appreciated the poignancy. A book to read with discernment.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

slow start but great finish

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
ezrafam
Location:Tampa FL
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this book for Christmas. I was hoping for a good read and I was not disappointed. This book had a slow start, but as the writer goes along you want to know how it ends. If you are interested in the spiritual realm of Angels and Demons you will definitely enjoy this book. The ending was quite surprising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Read! So glad I picked this up!

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
SarahsReading
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was riveted, captivated and drawn into 'Angel Eyes' more than I have been in a long time.
Okay, I'm honestly not sure how many times I can say OH MY GOODNESS in this review before I lose you. So.... I'll say it once more and be done... OH MY GOODNESS!
I bought 'Angel Eyes' and added it to my 'To Be Read' pile (which is about 40 books deep) and placed it just under the last two book I've reviewed. I always love to read books by people I've had some interaction with. It seems to make the reading of the book even richer!
So, I turn on my Kobo and sit down to delve into this new book. OH MY.... sorry. I mean, WOW! Almost from page one, I was sucked into this amazing story.
Brielle's world has been shattered. She's on the verge of shattering herself. She is just barely keeping it together. She tries to return to normalcy, but the cold and guilt won't go away. Brielle is so human and it resonated in me. She isn't a super hero, she has regular abilities... just like me.
Jake is the new guy. He seems so calm and put together and he somehow he has the ability to warm the deep chill in her spirit. He seems to appear wherever she is.
Brielle is content to push everyone away, but something about Jake keeps drawing her in. Is it just that he's cute? Is it the unexpected, shocking gift? Or is it even more than that?
Forces greater than both of them are in play and if they aren't careful, they will both fall to the enemy.
Shannon has a way of writing that is so personal. I felt as though I was Brielle. I love the first person point of view! (I used to write that way myself and have a fondness for it) I could almost feel the cold when Brielle was describing it. I felt my heart racing at her panic. Shannon has a wonderfully descriptive way of writing. I felt like I was seeing everything in front of my own eyes.
The forces of good and evil in this book held my attention. The point of view from the Angels is magnificent. I felt an almost overwhelming desire and longing to be one of the blessed ones who sit and work in the direct presence of the King. I pitied those who chose to abandon Him.
It was nearly physically painful to put this book down when I didn't know what would happen to Brielle, Jake or their angelic guardians.
I enjoyed this book immensely. There are almost no words for how much I enjoyed 'Angel Eyes'! It is a heart-pounding, jaw dropping read that I will be adding to the rotation of books I re-read once a year (at least!).
Thank-you Shannon for a beautifully written journey into Brielle and Jakes world! I'm sad that I didn't find out about your wonderful book sooner, but I am so glad to know that I don't have to wait long for 'Broken Wings'!! Even two months is going to feel sooooo long!
5/5 stars!! It almost doesn't seem like enough!
~Sarah
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I've read in a long time!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Myheart623
Location:Janesville, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! Angel Eyes is a romantic thriller that brings two teenagers into the world of angels and demons. What I loved most about this book is that the author kept things grounded. A lot of angel/demon books I've read tend to go into too much depth about the Celestial world instead of giving us a great story line. This book focuses more on the relationship between the two protagonists, Brielle and Jake, and how their lives are affected by becoming aware of the Celestial world. This book introduces us to Brielle who has just gone through a tragedy in her life. She meets the new boy in town named Jake who happens to live with an angel as his guardian. There is definitely some mystery surrounding Jake and why he has come to town. He and his angel guardian have been sent to town and Brielle is somehow at the center of the reason. This book is definitely a Christian book and I love the emotion and the true religion that comes through in this book instead of the basic spirituality that some books stay in. Overall this book captivated me from the very beginning and the mystery and romance throughout it took me on an adventure. It will be a book that I will reread in the future and would recomend to anyone. I can't wait until Book 2 comes out! I received this book free from Booksneeze. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angels, Demons and Brielle

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brielle returns home with broken dreams and a heavy heart. Her fear and sorrow is so strong it chills her to the bone. It seems like she will never be warm again. She tries to avoid her friends to no avail and her father is at a loss as how to help his little girl get over her night terrors.
When she returns to school she feels as if she is being shadowed. There is a new boy, Jake in her school and every time she turned around he was there. When he was near it was as if he radiated heat. She not only felt warm when he was near she also felt calm and safe. She soon discovered he was also her new next door neighbor.
The more time Brielle spent with Jake it became clear he was gifted. It is not just a coincidence that he sought her out he there along with others to protect her from unseen evils.
Really! Who and what is Jake? Why does he need to protect Brielle? What evil is it that surrounds her?
Author states."A realm that only angels and demons - and - Brielle can perceive."
This book is not the type of book I would normally read. I know my teen grandkids are going to enjoy reading this book. I have passed many good books on to them in the past so I know there will be a debate as to who gets this book first.
I enjoyed going over the Reading Group Guide after reading the book. I would love to share more but I will let you find out for yourselves.
I highly recommend this book, especially for young adults.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson for a Litfuse PublicityTour review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A decent debut for fantasy lovers.

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book fairly quickly considering all that I have to do every day. There were some things I really liked about it, and some I didn't "get" as much as other fantasy readers might. There were some cool spiritual analogies, like the one about fear spreading like sticky black tar that's hard to get off, and it spreads rapidly.
While some of the spiritual warfare examples were insightful, some of it was a stretch of the imagination. Then again, this was a fantasy story, so imagination is part of the intrigue. I liked how the halo had a purpose, though it seemed odd to me that she would get spiritual insight before she had the "spirit" if you know what I mean. Nevertheless, the story kept me reading.
The "angel eyes" title fit the story well, and every time someone's eyes glowed white in the celestial dimension, the intrigue kicked up a notch for me. I loved the sacrificial theme and the romantic relationship developing between Jake and Brielle. That was tender and sweet, and I couldn't help wanting them to be togehter forever. Jake was a true hero if there ever was one.
What I didn't get was the extreme guilt and grief she experienced over the loss of her friend. I can see becoming emotional and having a hard time talking about it, and even random weeping, but maybe the writing was too visceral in the beginning because I had a harder time identifying with her because of the emotion during the first third of the story. The trafficking toward the end seemed a bit random, too. You think those thugs would have guarded that kind of "merchandise" a lot more closely.
The angels and demons fighting in the heavens was...meh, I could take it or leave it. Honestly, I skimmed those parts. Maybe because the scenes didn't feel as real to me as other parts of the story. I was surprised the evil forces didn't use the natural temptation a male and female (like Jake and Brielle) would feel when they were alone together, but that may not have been a weak spot for Jake. Also, I couldn't help wondering where her dad was during the last part of the book.
I did like how the story ended because it opened the door for another book in the series. I would probably read that as well. All in all, this was a cool story, and I enjoyed reading it even though fantasy isn't my preferred genre. The fact that I read it quickly and it held my interest says a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You won't want to put this down!

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brielle moved to the city to chase after her dreams and returned to the small town of Stratus, Oregon cold and numb and drowning in her own guilt and sorrow. is cold and numb, living inside her own grief and guilt after tragedy strikes Brielle does not know how to continue back at her old high school in her old town she is searching for a way to get warm again.
There is a new kid in school and he radiates the heat that Brielle has been searching for, there is something about Jake that draws Brielle to him; however, there is something lurking in the shadows and it has its eyes on Jake and Brielle.
Shannon Dittemore's new book Angel Eyes will be the next big Young Adult story! Once you start this book you will not want to put it down and wait in anticipation for the release of book 2. Dittemore has created strong characters that you can connect with and that invest you into the storyline. Brielle's story of self discovery is relatable to those of all ages. We've all seen the books about Angels and Demons but this story is nothing like them! I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it, I love seeing a book that Young Adults can enjoy that is well thought out and not just another love story. Angel Eyes is a story of good vs. evil, right vs. wrong, a reminder of the choices we make on a daily basis and that following Christ is a choice each of us will have to make.
I received this book complimentary from Thomas Nelson Publishing through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Supernatural Read for Teens

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is a book that my daughter inhaled. While she devours most books, I wasn't sure she'd like this one because of it's strong supernatural tones. Instead, she loved it precisely for those reasons. This book strikes me as a teenage version of This Present Darkness, a book I loved as a teen because it stretched my imagination and thoughts regarding the struggles that are largely unseen.
The story pulled my daughter in. From the opening pages filled with a tragedy that propels Brielle home to her new gift that allows her to see things others can't. There's also a romance, but one with a twist. It's hard to say too much more without giving the plot away. Let's just say that this book illustrates the concept that our struggle is not against flesh and blood. And my daughter can't wait to read the next installment!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of What's Unseen

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When considering Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore, think “Ted Dekker novel for teenage girls.” It’s the story of Brielle, a promising ballerina brought home from the opportunity of her dreams by tragedy, the murder of her best friend. As she reacquaints herself with her hometown, she repeatedly encounters Jake, the mysterious new boy in town. He warns her that other strangers in town pose threats and urges her to exercise caution. Threats grow when the alleged murderer escapes from jail and seeks Brielle, bringing new information and greater mysteries. Soon everything Brielle has been taught to believe is challenged as forces of the celestial realm literally fight over her life.
The story is unique and fascinating. I love the way Dittemore shows the spiritual world interacting both seen and unseen, angels protecting and preserving behind the scenes—demons seeking to destroy. And woven throughout are some truly deep spiritual truths about God’s love for His creation. For example, He is able to do anything all on His own, yet, like a good father, chooses to let His children help. He has a perfect will, yet lets His children choose it or not. He is constantly at work drawing all people to Himself.
I enjoyed this book and am happy to recommend it. I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending me an eCopy for this honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exciting Debut Novel

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel Eyes is an exciting debut novel by Shannon Dittemore that will leave readers eagerly anticipating the sequel. You definitely don't have to be a young adult reader to enjoy the characters, plot, and message. Like popular mainstream fantasy novels, Angel Eyes transcends age boundaries with an action-packed plot and appealing characters. Dittemore blends these elements with a strong Christian message that is unique and thought-provoking without being preachy. Vampires and wizards are replaced by angels and demons in the classic, but very real battle, of good versus evil.
Although I am typically drawn to historical fiction novels, I do enjoy fantasy novels like Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. Angel Eyes certainly ranks with those books, and I was drawn into the plot from the beginning. There are plenty of danger and action-sequences to keep the story moving along, but there are also introspective moments that provide dimension to the plot and its characters. Dittemore tells the story from the perspectives of two teens, Brielle and Jake, as well as an angel and a demon. Each character offers different insights into the "Terrestrial" world and the "Celestial" world. The demon's perspective was the most disturbing and slightly graphic of the four, but clearly illustrated the poisons of greed, hatred, and fear.
Dittmore's depiction of fear is particularly relevant to readers since it is something that most of us deal with to some extent daily. Whether or not events in the Celestial realm play out like they do in Angel Eyes, the novel provides an illustration of how our human weaknesses can be turned into instruments of evil. Just like Jake and Brielle, we engage in battles of good versus evil daily whether mentally, emotionally, or physically. Reading Angel Eyes, opened my eyes to the fact that something as ordinary as fear can spread, multiply, and lead us down the wrong path. This message is important for young adults facing the pressures of growing up, but it is equally important for adults.
Angel Eyes is a story about faith, wrapped in a covering of a fantasy-action novel. The beginnings of a love story also flow throughout the plot, providing a respite from the fighting and danger. But it is all of the elements together that make me ready for the second and third novels.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from LitFuse through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

spiritual warfare in young adult fiction

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brielle is back home again in a rural town in Oregon to finish her senior year of high school. Her mom having died when Brielle was a child, she lives with her father, a logger. She is a talented dancer and two years earlier had been spotted and taken to the big city. Rather than finding a glorious potential career, Brielle found tragedy when her good friend is murdered.
Brielle returns to her old high school chilled, always chilled. She meets a new guy, Jake. Jake is friendly and his gentle touch is warm.
So begins this novel that reminded me so much of Peretti's first two. It is not long before we enter into the world of angels and demons. Along with Brielle, who is given the ability to look into the celestial realm, we see the forces others are unaware of. There are strong, protective angels watching over their charges, receiving their instruction from the very throne of God. We see hideous, evil demons bent on destroying what God has set in motion. We see fear, like black tar, flowing from terrified children.
The descriptions and scenes are captivating. I felt like I was being allowed to see behind the curtain, watching the spiritual forces of good and evil battle as events play out on earth. The plot was, perhaps, a little complex. The start of the novel was a little rough. I was a bit confused at the opening. I felt the background, the reason Brielle was back from the city, could have been laid out a little clearer. If you get into the novel around 50 pages or so, it becomes clear and the plot takes off.
This is a great novel for teens. They will be introduced to the spirit realm and the battles going on there. They will also see Brielle struggle with her concept of God. How can she believe in God when He allowed her mother to die way too early and her good friend be murdered? They will also see the necessity of being a part of the spiritual battle for their friend's lives. As Jake says, “Eventually evil everywhere will burn, but until it does, the kingdom of light, God's kingdom needs warriors.”
I received a complimentary egalley of this novel from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Spiritual Battle is unleashed!

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just how far would you go for the ones that you love? Would you be willing to lay down your life for theirs? How about if you just met? How long would it take and just what is the value of a life?
Brielle Matthews is about to find out when she returns home after the death of her best friend, Ali and the ongoing investigation into her death in which Brielle feels personally responsible for. She feels this is a death she could have prevented. She had seen the signs, the fear, the long-moments in between visits and phone calls and of course the bruises all over her body. Not to mention the fact that her new boyfriend, Marco seemed to like to keep her all for himself lately. Now it's too late but how can Brielle expect to find a way to move forward in her life when fear and despair are keeping her captive.
Jake is the new kid in school this year and Brielle finds every single girl in school wants to meet him. Fortunately she has him in two of her classes and he seems to have a special interest in Brielle. Maybe it's that smoldering look in his eyes or perhaps it the incredible heat that comes off him whenever they are near one another especially in the middle of winter and somehow she is drawn to him in a way she can't explain. She soon finds herself confiding in him with her issues and spends her free time getting to know him. It turns out he is an only child and is being raised by his guardian, Canaan after a tragic childhood himself. It seems that Jake and Brielle are destined to be together and soon he will tell her just why he has come into her life.
In the darkness, evil waits in the town of Stratus, Oregon. An evil that wants nothing more than to control and rule, but since humans are hard to find with special gifts, Damien searches for a way to satisfy his hunger. When he learns that Jake has the gift of healing, he soon plots for a way to kidnap him and lure him away from God and into what he has been planning. Only his guardian angel stands guard to protect him at all costs and soon the battle lines will be drawn and both human and angels will be called to war.
In the debut novel, Angel Eyes, by Shannon Dittmore, the reader is immersed in the story of two different worlds, one seen and one not seen. The world of humans and how angels and demons can work between them. In this story we are given a rare glimpse into the roles angels play in the lives of Brielle and Jake and how the demons will stop at nothing to kill either of them. What purpose Jake and Brielle have in coming together is explained in this wonderful new series that enables them to use a special gift from God to help battle against the enemy. For those of you that love This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness, then I know you will love this new series of books.
I received Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittmore compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and can't wait to read the sequel Broken Wings coming out soon. I love stories that combine spiritual warfare in the unseen world parallel with our own human world and this one does an outstanding job at drawing the reader in. This is both a love story and an action adventure from a Christian perspective. The writing is astounding, poetic and lyrical in how she describes the unseen world from God's eyes. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and now have another new favorite Christian author whose writing speaks to my parched soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Six stars!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a tragedy shatters her life, Brielle comes home to the tiny town of Stratus, Oregon. And even though her father and all her old friends are there, nothing is the same. An icy cold fear grips her at all times. She connects with a new student named Jake. With his dark skin, he looks as out of place as Brielle feels. But he is warm—unhumanly so. Somehow, they are continually thrown together, become friends, and a gift from an angel unleashes hidden powers in Jake and Brielle that draw them into a realm where angles and demons wage war.
If I could, I would give this book six stars. I was that taken with it. I’m totally serious. This is a powerful, entertaining story that stays true to scripture where angels and demons are concerned. I loved how the author did this. It’s like Peretti’s This Present Darkness meets a Melody Carlson novel or something. So very cool. And I loved the way she wrote how angels can see human fear. Whenever I’m afraid in my life, I will forever remember the image the angels see.
Brielle’s story was strong and compelling. There was an ongoing mystery, a gentle romance that didn’t overwhelm the story, and I’ve since learned that this is the first book in a trilogy, though the story stands alone on its own too. This book rocks! Very, super-duper highly recommended for teen and adult readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shannon, Keep them coming!

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel Eyes is Shannon Dittemore’s first novel, and the first of a series, according to her webpage. And what a novel it is!
What would you do if your best friend died while you both were out reaching for the stars and living your dream only to return to the home you’d never thought you’d return to? Brielle finds herself in such a place only to discover that the new neighbors are not quite as ordinary as they might seem. Brielle’s faith, or lack thereof, due to the death of her mother when she was a little girl coupled by the death of her dear friend is challenged as she discovers there is an unseen world battling for the souls of each individual around her every day.
This is a great young adult fiction book for those who enjoy action amid a tasteful romance encompassed by Spiritual truths. This may not be the best analogy, but I liken it to Twilight (the two worlds battling over the same person amid a love story) meets This Present Darkness (the angels and demons at work). Mrs. Dittemore delivers a fantastically enjoyable read in a style which keeps the reader turning the page! I don't give 5 stars very often, but this one required it! Keep them coming, Shannon!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book for teen lit or fantasy readers

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the kinda teen fantasy books about angels and such, huge fan of Hush Hush and this is along those lines with a Christian twist. I liked how this was a Christian fiction book I was beginning to think that there would never be any teen fantasy angel books out there with in the christian fiction market.
Angel Eyes doesn't disappoint. Brielle has had a hard life with tragedy and moves back home. Just when she thinks she is all alone in the world and her unwavering feeling that something isn't right. Could Jake be the answer to all her questions? Or is he just as bewildered as her about what is going on? Can the 2 angels stand by and protect Jake and Brielle while not fully knowing what is going on too?
So many questions that you will just have to read this entertaining book but a great author! I hope she comes out with more books so I can read them! I have added her to my favorite authors/must read list!
thanks so much booksneeze for allowing me to review Angel Eyes! I enjoyed it very much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very exciting! Kept me on the edge of my seat!

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I L*O*V*E*D this book! If you like Frank Peretti you will like this one too. Brielle is a young girl who has suffered a lot of loss in her young life. She has returned home from a school of arts after losing her very dear friend to murder. Coming home she meets a new boy in town and things begin to change in her life.
This books takes us into the unseen realm. Where Angels are standing guard and protecting us from demons, or the Fallen, as they are referred to in this book. Brielle gets the great privilege of seeing into this realm, or is it a privilege? If we could see the demons that have attached themselves to the people around us we would probably have more compassion for them. Brielle is terrified by what she sees and amazed on the other hand.
Without being a spoiler of the story I can’t tell you too much other than Brielle doesn’t have the constant chill that she once had. She has the warmth that the Father gives. The peace that passes understanding. Brielle is on a journey from a home that curses God for taking her mother at a young age to a believer in the God who loves us. And of course the Gospel message is shared in this book! It ended with me anxiously awaiting the next one that will be out next year!
I don’t think you have to have a great understanding of the spiritual world to read this book but it does help to have some. I did not take all the details as truth as it is fiction but the author has a very vivid imagination as to what the spirit realm looks like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angels are among us

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story really brings to life the scripture, "For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places..."
This was the first time for me to read a story by this author and it was a great book mixed with drama, love, heartbreak, and mainly opening my eyes to the things unseen. We hear that there is always a battle b/t angels and the demons and how the demons fight for us.... How often do we think about that during the day as we busy ourselves. Many times we don't think of how we affect a bigger story for the Almighty and winning souls for him. It also shows how some of our hurts and heartaches might be used for that bigger purpose. Also we never know when there are Angels Amoung us!
The story is intense but I love how Brielle learns about the "hot" guy and how the angelic nature brings her instant peace. I do like the description of Fear....
I would recommend this book for others to read. It is an eye opening experience.
This book was provided by the booksneeze program and Thomas Nelson Publishing for my honest review. Thank you! I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angel Eyes

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that this book is geared to teens as its main characters are high school seniors. Brielle has just come back from city life to her small hometown…not by choice. Enduring hardships would be an accurate statement without giving a spoiler. Jake is the new guy in town. Let’s just say he is one “hot” guy…not just figuratively.
This is a dark story one that can be considered very heavy reading. Some of the topics included throughout the story are, Angels and Demons, sword fighting, guns, death, and child trafficking.
I found this to be a very intriguing story and was hooked by the first chapter. This is also the first book that I have read on a kindle.
I am pleased to give this book a five star rating.
I received this book free from the publisher through BookSneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>