Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Skinny: A Novel - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Skinny: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read for those who question their body image

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good read for young people who are struggling with eating disorders at several different levels. The inclusion and diagnosis of the doctor regarding obsessive/compulsive disorder was excellent and well done.
As a counselor who dealt almost exclusively with eating disorders for years, I see great value in this book. It is written in such a way that a young person would not be put off by the main character's thoughts, reactions and prayers. It is gentle in approach and that is usually needed when first recognizing the symptoms of an eating disorder.
My only caution would be that many times those who are toying with such thoughts will mimic what they learn from others as to weight loss. Talking through the book would be a good followup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amelia
Location:Douglasville, GA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! It really opened my eyes that God just wants us to take care of our bodies that He gave us and not destroy them. I was really considering the fact to go anorexic becaus ei felt fat and ugly, but i saw that this book was free and I decided to read it..I have no idea why, but inp did. Afterwards, I figured out why I picked this book...it as because God wanted to show me that 105 pounds is not obese and that I was very pretty. It was also very interesting and I liked the romance that the author included in it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
shaila
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very good especially if you look at your self with judging eyes. God has made you in His image and you should not let anyone or thing let you forget that. I have a friend who is not happy with the perfect body God gave her so I am giving her this book, maybe this will open up her eyes. Even if you are proud of the way you look you should read this book it is going to change how you look at your self in the mirror and how you look at people who have an eating disorder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paigeyloohoo
"Skinny was a really AMASING book. It was sad at some points, but amasing in others. It's definetly a touching book. I lved it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
Laura L. Smith writes a truthful picture of a shifted focus that has effected many teenage girls. Her young adult novel centers around Melissa Rollins, a freshman striving to be on the leadership of her dance team. With school and practice and the up and down social life she begins to use food, and the lack of it, to control her world. There are tons of books out there for and about teens and their struggles with eating disorders and weight related concerns. Skinny stands out from the crowd in that it addresses a disorder that many other books ignore. O.C.D. or obsessive compulsive disorder is often the core root of eating disorders. Its like focus on steroids. Try as she might she cant ever seem to escape the agonizing thoughts that always center around the same issue. These overactive thoughts quickly morph into behaviors that become habitual and more dangerous as time progresses. Its not always a desire to be thin or derived from media images of Hollywood twigs. Sometimes its just a control strategy for teens and adults who feel off balance and crave some power over themselves, even if it is counterproductive.Skinny doesnt glamorize the choices Melissa is making in the story. With Anorexia and Bulimia such a buzz topic in teen circles, some teenagers will read these types of books like a manual for how to do it better. Lisa L. Smith focuses on the thoughts going on in Melissas head and what is driving her to make these dangerous choices, rather than focusing on the action itself and the methods of accomplishing it.Melissa loves God very much, but her understanding is clouded. She journals her prayers and reads the Word. She goes to church and shes on her way to heaven, but this struggle is warring inside of her. Who cant relate to that battle, right?Skinny is a quick read and a worthy book that I would happily recommend to teenagers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie
This is a great little book. It is intended for young adults and I am slightly older than the target audience but I still like it. The main character struggles with her weighting, thinking she needs to be thinner to fit in. This is a thought every woman has had in the past. This book is super easy to read, it is easy to identify with the main character, a freshman in high school. The author, Laura Smith, wrote a real story. The author really gets into the mind of Melissa. It is really aimed at 14-16 year olds but it would help an adult see into the minds of young adults. The build up of the eating disorder seemed very realistic, the thought process was clear and easily displayed through the text. The recovery process seemed very quick. I would have liked the see the book continue for another week in Melissa's life. I think better understanding the treatment process would be beneficial for teenage women. I really enjoyed the Christian aspect of the novel. It is important to show that even Christians struggle with things like eating disorders. Melissa took a verse out of the bible completely out of context to support her eating disorder as many people do. It was great to see that resolved through truth!Overall it's a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
It's frustrating to read about girls who have eating disorders. You want to tell them, you don't need to lose weight, you're fine just the way you are. It pains you to see someone hurt themselves. However as uncomfortable as this topic can be, it's a serious issue that needs to be brought into the open. This book perfectly captures the life of a teenage girl with an eating disorder. Melissa is your average teenage girl who just wants to fit in during her high school years. I liked how the author made her likable and modern without being too trendy. The dialogue between the teens was realistic and perfectly captured what life is like for the average teen girl. However as the story progresses, the reader soon learns that Melissa is facing a battle with herself and her body. What I thought was most interesting about Melissa's situation is that she doesn't try to lose weight because of a boy. Her real reasons were more with trying to maintain control in her life, and this was the only way that she could. Side effects of eating disorders are shown to be very painful and unpleasant so hopefully girls who read this book will get the impression that extreme dieting is not the way to go. My only qualm with the book is that I felt Melissa's recovery happened much too quickly. She goes from barely eating anything to being able to choke down a whole piece of pizza. From reading other accounts of recovering anorexics and bulimics, it would have taken her a long time to adjust to eating food again and keeping everything down. I just felt that it seemed a little rushed and not that realistic. However the book is a really great read. I, myself, couldn't put it down. The writing is engaging, entertaining, and realistic. It may be a short read but it packs quite a punch. Any teen girl who's even thought about considering that not eating would be a good idea, needs to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Skinny: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I read Skinny from start to finish while on the plane to New York. It's an easy read and geared toward young teens, which the "voice" definitely fits. It's a bit young for me, but I can see young teens loving it. The stress young teens face is very well reflected in the theme and emotion of the story. I had a cousin and several friends with eating disorders and the author portrays a realistic scenario with this story. However, the character in the book actually recovered fairly quickly and usually that is not the case. But God can do amazing things when people are willing. I was surprised that main characters had such a warped perspective regarding food, dieting, and the Bible, but then again it made sense that she would see things through that twisted lens. Sometimes young people learn bad behavior from reading these types of books, but I don't see this book as promoting unhealthy eating, but doing just the opposite. I applaud the author for communicating that well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.