Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Covenant Child, repackaged

Thomas Nelson Covenant Child, repackaged

Amanda Holloway didn't know her rich husband would die so soon. When a legal technicality tears her twin stepdaughters away, she vows to find them. Raised in squalor by greedy grandparents, Kara and Lizzie are adults before Amanda tracks them down. Can she overcome their cynicism and prove her love is genuine? Includes reader's guide. 336 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Covenant Child, repackaged
Review 1 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Much better than expected; not for younger audienc

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
jackiekaulitz
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for an edifying Christian fiction book that will magnify your love of God, you've come to the right place. Living up to her reputation as a leader Christian fiction author, Teri Blackstock's writing skills are far superior than other authors. Blackstone weaves a very enjoyable and captivating story about family and love in this re-telling of the the prodigal son story. This book leaves readers with a lingering though: "Wow, how beautiful is this story of a savior and an inheritance that sounds too good to be true." This is a story about grace and an inheritance that is free.
Readers should know that this book does not focus directly on Christianity, Jesus or God, as the main characters are not Christian or shown praying or coming to believe in Christ. I wouldn't have expected to recommend a book where the main characters don't become Christian, but the thing I loved about this book is that by the end, I believe most readers will see God through this story in a stronger way than all those Christian fiction books that portray Christian main characters.
The story is about redemption and a savior who loves unconditionally. The story shows the main characters come to believe their "savior" (a mother in this fiction story) has good intentions towards them and is not "too good to be true" and not "seeking to use them" and when they finally realize this life with their mother/savior is the thing they want the most, their mother/savior is standing with open arms, welcoming them home. Her love for them is unconditional and she freely forgives their rejection and hatred of her. The only thing missing from this story is relating the mother/savior to Jesus Christ. The reader must ponder the story afterwards to see the deeper meaning.
Readers should be aware that this book may not be appropriate for younger audiences: underage girls are sleeping around without any remorse or regret or repentance, molestation from father, child abuse from parents, alcoholism, gambling, drug abuse, one severe beating, deaths, abortion with no lasting/deep consequences and very difficult life situations.
My disclaimer - I received this book from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review. I always give brutally honest reviews and attempt to critically point out parts of the book that may not agree with the Bible and so not appeal to others. I want you readers to be able to confidently choose a book based on the stars I give it, because I know you have limited money, time and energy to read. So let's make the most of our lives and discern and choose the very best books wisely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!!!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gripping me from the first page, this book would have been devoured in one sitting if I had not had to tear myself away for other obligations. I just could not put it down! Terri Blackstock is a true master of storytelling and will keep the reader captivated from beginning to end. She had me gasping more than once at the realism of the abuse that Kara and Lizzie suffered - heartrendingly done by their own grandparents!
This novel has such a wonderful story line of unconditional love and forgiveness, although not apparent at first. As it unfolds, there is such a powerful message of unending love and faith. This book is going to be with me for a long, long time and comes highly recommended. This is one novel that should be on everyone's TBR list!
I received this book through the Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review, but instead, one that gives my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will change your life!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long been a reader of all things Terri Blackstock. She is one of those writers I have to read when I see she has a new book out. Except I just found out the book I thought was new, isn’t. It’s a repackaged book. Well it’s still new to me.
Paul Holbrooke is a billionaire many times over. His son, Jack, is a pilot and has asked to be left out of Paul’s will and instead to donate the estate and Jack’s inheritance to Christian charities. Jack’s wife dies weeks after giving birth to their twin daughters, Lizzie and Kara. When the twins are three, Jack remarries Amanda. Within six months Paul, his wife (who I believe is unnamed) are being flown by Jack to a wedding. Only they never arrive. Their plane crashes killing all of them.
Paul’s will leaves everything to Jack and since Jack does not die until hours after his parents, he inherits it. He leaves everything to Amanda and has asked that she take care of his children. Of course she agrees.
Only the day of the funeral, Eloise and Deke, Jack’s first wife’s parents, show up expecting to take the girls home with them as their closest living blood relative. Amanda battles it out, the adoption has been put in motion but had not yet been completed. Ultimately she loses the girls who spend the next fifteen years living as poverty stricken, abused children when they are heiresses to a vast fortune.
The spiritual implications in this book are staggering. I couldn’t help but think over and over, “Man! I live just like they do! I have a vast inheritance and I’m choosing to live the lie.”
This book was for me a fresh smack between my eyes with a 2×4. The book smacks of God‘s forgiveness, grace, mercy and great love for all of us. Even when we refuse to believe Him, even when we say we want nothing to do with Him. Even when we willfully choose our own path. He is there when we come to our senses and come back to Him. He showers us with more goodness, more of Himself and everything that is ours by right.
Honestly, dear readers, you MUST read this book. It’s Covenant Child by Terri Blackstock. It is a novel but it will change your life. I guarantee you that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her very best work!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Boyle
Location:Palm Harbor, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of Terri Blackstock and I believe this to be her very best work to date! Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loose Modern Retelling of The Prodigal Son

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got this book, I wasn't too sure what to expect but I did have a fair idea that I would enjoy it and I loved it and read it in one sitting.
Covenant Child by Terri Blackstock is a loose modern retelling of the Parable of The Prodigal Son. In the beginning we meet twins Kara and Lizzie , their father Jack and Stepmother Amanda. They lived as a happy family, away from the spotlight of Jack's billionaire father. All was well until tragedy struck and not only did Jack's parents die but also Jack himself in a tragic plane accident. Soon Amanda is left as heiress to the fortune and stepmother to the two little twins. The news of the money though gets out and out from the woodwork appears Sherry's parents - the girls grandparents from their mother's side wanting custody of the girls and their money. Amanda not having a leg to stand on, loses out and soon begins the journey and story of two little rich girls who were deprived of what really should have been theirs all along. On their eighteenth birthday, Amanda strikes out to the girls and is received with mixed emotions- Lizzie is happy to see her and moves in with Amanda but Kara - believing the lies that she has been told and out to think that Amanda robbed them of her fortune takes a stroll down the opposite path , a path of destruction,lies and eventually pain and hurt. Can Lizzie and Amanda convince Kara, that this is the way for her or will it have to take another tragedy to occur for Kara- the prodigal daughter to find her way home ?
Covenant Child is a book that you won't be able to put down and a story that will tug at your heartstrings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Covenant Child is a modern day prodigal son story!

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Spring Lake
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Covenant Child can best be described as a modern day prodigal son story.
This book is an easy read and I found myself eagerly turning pages this week!
I liked Terri's writing as it was raw in some parts. It wasn't always pretty and sweet like many Christian fiction books tend to be. The life of the main characters was rough and hard and she portrayed that in an honest and real way.
In reading this book you find out that one twin returns home upon her 18th birthday leaving to claim the fortune that was promised her. The other is more stubborn and doesn't like the idea that if she goes 'home' she will need to finish school, live by the rules of someone else, etc. Her stubbornness leads her to try to find a way to sue her step mother for what she believes is rightfully hers. Despite knowing that all along she could have it if she would just come 'home'.
This illustration reminds me of a toddler who constantly says "I can do it"!
Too often toddlers are learning how to be independent and don't realize that others hold knowledge and experience far greater than they can comprehend.
So we let the toddler try and try and try again until either they get it or they ask for help.
In this situation the rebellious twin has a hard time learning that she won't get her way....that she must give up her pride.
It isn't until she is to her lowest point that she finally decides to ask for help.
The story is so much a reflection of God's love for us.
He gave us free will and the ability to choose how we live our lives.
He will not interfere or force himself on us, but he loves us unconditionally and he hopes that we choose the route that leads to him.
Far too often we must be brought to our knees before we realize it's time to ask for his guidance and help.
I enjoyed reading this book and encourage everyone to read it.
Especially if you have ever doubted God's love or promises.
"For no matter how many promises God has made, they are "Yes" in Christ. And so through him the "Amen" is spoken by us to the glory of God". ~2 Corinthians 1:20.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covenant Child introduces us to twin girls Kara and Lizzie. Upon the untimely death of their billionaire father, the girls are placed in custody of their grandparents who unfortantely do not have the girls best interest at heart. After a long court battle their step-mother Amanda arrives at their doorstep with their inheritance and an amazing offer of love the girls have a difficult choice to make. For years they have been lied to, cheated and deprived. Will they accept their step-mothers gracious offer or choose to go another way?
Terri Blackstock lays out an amazing analogy in this book, with the girls representing the human race where they either accept God's free gift of love and salvation or not, Amanda representing God coming to them with unconditional love and the grandparents as the enemies of God doing everything they can to prevent the girls from discovering the truth. This is a book with a powerful message about God's love of His children and the lengths He will go to to bring them home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covenant Child, by Terri Blackstock, is an excellent book! It is the story of a broken family whose only hope is the faith and persistence of one member. It reminds us that God is bigger than our circumstances and in control if we allow Him to be.
Amanda and Jack Holbrooke marry when his twin daughters are just three-years-old. But when he and his parents die in a plane crash soon after, the girls’ maternal grandparents appear and are awarded custody of them. The grandparents squander the generous allowance that the court awards for the girls, but Amanda is awarded the rest of the Holbrooke estate. She continues to build it and keep it safe for the girls, contacting them as possible as they grow up. When they turn eighteen, she invites them to live with her and learn to take over their inheritance. Lizzie accepts immediately, but Kara is skeptical and fights the idea.
I found myself getting involved with the story as I read. The characters are very realistic, each with attitudes and problems that one finds in people daily. I found Amanda’s faith and loyalty to the girls and to the Lord very inspiring. I would most definitely recommend this book!
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating. Period.

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COVENANT CHILD by Terri Blackstock is a work of fiction which depicts the concept of Biblical covenant, showing in a dramatic yet poignant way the undying love and grace of the Heavenly Father in His pursuit of man. A captivating story, I must say.
Having given that basic review line, let me say that I LOVE THIS BOOK!! If a scale of 1 to 100 was being used I would without hesitation give it 100+. But since it is only a 1 to 5 scale I'm forced to give it a 5. Do you get my drift?
I was captivated upon reading the very first line: "There's a question that haunts me in the blackest hours of night...". Not since I read my Dad's own autobiographical book have I encountered a more gripping, captivating story. Honest. This is the first time I have read one of Terri Blackstock's book and, for sure, it will not be the last. I intend to look for more of hers. That she is a gifted writer is quite the understatement!
This story of twin girls who were born into riches, lost it and had to struggle to regain it is a captivating story (have I mentioned the word "captivating" yet?). Although it is fiction, I often had to adjust my brain to remember that this was not a true story...maybe even an autobiography since it is written in the first person.
May the Lord greatly bless and use this book to reach, or help His children to reach, the many people around us who are floundering in their search for true happiness only to be found in Christ.
(I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sad but engaging story

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Covenant Child" is a Christian general fiction with an underlying allegory to it. The characters were realistic, complex people acting in realistic ways, but sometimes the dialogue wasn't completely natural because of the allegory. Still, I enjoyed the story, and I had a hard time putting down this quick read. The details about the people, their interactions, and the setting brought the story vividly alive in my imagination. I really enjoyed the story for itself and for the underlying allegory.
There was no graphic sex. There was a very minor amount of fake or "he cursed" style of bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this engaging novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very touching story!

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covenant Child by Terri Blackstock
A great story that keeps you on the edge of your seat and tears at the heart of a mother! Two children that belong to such a special family until tragedy strikes and are thrown into a life that no child deserves. It broke my heart as it reminds us that there are children that face this sort of life daily! Maybe it will open our eyes more so someone of us have the opportunity to help these children. Then after they turn 18 and are offered the choices of their life, it is a great example of Christ’s love for us and how we are all given a chance for forgiveness, freedom, and a wonderful life – all we have to do is follow him. I love how this heart wrenching story gives such a great example of this! It is a great book for all, but I know it is especially special for parents. It will make you want to hug on to your babies a minute longer every day! We all have our stories, we all have had heartaches of growing up, but we all have the chance to follow Jesus and to accept the wonderful life he has just WAITING for us! Sometimes we do have to face trials and delays before we receive our peace and inheritance, but he is there with us! I love how this story brings all this to life! “The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance” (2 Peter 3:9)
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson and the booksneeze program for my honest review! Thank you to both of them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Covenant Child, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Covenant Child

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
a walk through the pages
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I missed this novel by Terri Blackstock when it was first published in 2002. It was a fun read that tugged at my heart strings.
Kara and Lizzie were dearly loved by their father, Jack, after their mother passes away shorly after their birth. These red-headed twins gain a new stepmother, Amanda, when they are 3 years old.
Their picture-perfect world is destroyed when they are torn away from Amanda after Jack and his parents suddenly die in a plane crash. Amanda had promised Jack that she would care for the girls if anything ever happened to him. The courts made this impossible when the maternal grandparents arrive on the scene. The girls are heiresses to a billion-dollar fortune and their grandparents want to get their hands on it.
You will see and experience Amanda's unconditional love for these girls as you follow their journey on a path their father never wanted for them.
I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.