Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Heart Failure

Thomas Nelson Heart Failure

Dr. Carrie Markham thinks her fiance is perfect---until a drive-by shooting leads him to make a startling confession. Revealing that he was part of a witness protection program, Adam is now on the run and must figure out who is trying to kill him. Can he convince Carrie of his innocence and keep her safe?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heart Failure
Review 1 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I guess I’m just a sucker for a good medical thriller, one that grips you from the start and never lets you go until the very last pages. No one can do that better than Dr. Mabry, and I’m excited to have a new book by him to be able to offer you a review.
Dr. Carrie Markham has had her share of heart ache after the death of her husband several years earlier. She has finally opened herself up to a new relationship with Adam Davidson and has a medical practice that is taking off. In a single conversation, though, her life is turned upside down. As Carrie and Adam are sitting in his car after a movie, shots ring out that shatter the windows of the car, and the tranquility of the night. Adam confesses that he isn’t who she thinks he is, that he has a history that may be responsible for the attack on them. Carrie isn’t sure she wants any part of his life, especially one that could get her killed. As more attacks rain down on both Carrie and Adam, she decides to work with him to decide who is behind the attacks. Can they find the shooter before more serious damage is done? Will Carrie be able to overcome her hurt and forgive Adam? Who is Adam and why are people shooting at him? Your heart won’t fail you if you run and BUY THIS BOOK!
Dr. Mabry has again written a medical thriller that twists and turns from the start and throws so many red herrings at you that you don’t know which way is up until the book is done. You feel for Dr. Markham as you understand the loss that she has endured with the loss of her husband and the feeling of hopelessness that she feels as she and Adam fight against the unknown. You root for Adam as he struggles against trying to find out who the shooter is and keeping Carrie safe and in his life. To me, the mark of a great author is one that can develop characters for you that you become invested in their lives and the outcome of what’s happening during the story. Those are some of the best attributes that will keep Dr. Mabry writing and being read for years to come.
Is this a “Guy’s Book”? It has its moments. There is a mystery to be solved, there are shootings and evasive driving maneuvers, but there is still an element of romance as well. But hey, who doesn’t need a little romance in their life?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Book Nut
Location:Milan, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book. Complex and it holds your interest. I really like this author and the way he writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Highly Exciting Medical Mystery Thriller

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard L. Mabry, M.D. in his new book “Heart Failure” published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Dr. Carrie Markham.
From the back cover: When her fiancé’s dangerous secrets turn her work upside down, a beautiful doctor must choose between her own safety and the man she loves—and thought she knew.
Dr. Carrie Markham’s heart was broken by the death of her husband two years ago. Now, just as her medical practice is taking off, her fresh engagement to paralegal Adam Davidson seems almost too good to be true . . . until a drive-by shooting leaves Carrie on the floor of his car with glass falling around her.
When he confesses that Adam isn’t his real name and that he fled the witness protection program, Carrie is left with an impossible choice: should she abandon the fiancé she isn’t sure she really knows, or accept his claim of innocence and help him fight back against this faceless menace?
While Carrie struggles to decide whether to follow her heart or her head, the threats against them continue to escalate. Her life—as well as Adam’s—depends on making the right choice . . . and the clock is ticking.
Without a doubt Dr. Mabry really knows how to write a thriller that will grab your attention and then keep it until he decides to let go. A witness protection program escapee that just wants his life back. Bad guys that do not want him to have a life at all. And Carrie, a widow, who really thought she was going to have a quiet life with her new fiance. These are the ingredients of “Heart Failure” The reason for the title is that is what it feels we are going to have as we deal with all the action, mystery and suspense as Carrie and Keith do their best to stay alive and bring the bad guys to justice. ”Heart Failure” is a complicated mystery thriller as Carrie and Keith’s lives are in danger practically from page one. Turn off the TV, unplug the computer, put aside the housework you are not going to want to do anything but read this book until the end and enjoy yourself in the process. Dr. Mabry has written another exciting book that most certainly is a huge winner!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Heart Failure

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The title and back blurb was the first that caught my attention about this new Thomas Nelson publishers release. Medical drama/mysteries have become a new genre of choice for me and I wanted to know where the story would take me.
I have to admit I wasn’t as immediately thrilled with this title. Much of the writing felt very “telling” to me and in consequence, I speed read through much of the title, not a lot prompting me to stop and absorb what was happening on the pages.
Now, that isn’t to say I’m trying to be overly harsh or critical of this novel. I thought the overall premise was a commendable one. It had my attention and the plot served to captivate me enough to keep me reading to find out what would happen. Certain twists throughout the story kept the story lively and I wanted to see our two main characters reach their happily ever after.
Some of the emotions on the part of the characters felt “plastic” to me as though they were merely saying their lines on stage, but the story certainly did not lack its share of mystery or medical drama.
While it’s not a book I would necessarily want to read it again, the title is a good, clean medical mystery with a bit of love story.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Booksneeze for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Pounder

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book " Heart Failure" by Richard Mabry didn't stop my heart but had it pounding. first my heart was pounding in anticipation of reading this book. It did not disappoint. My heart was racing throughout.
Richard Mabry has become one of my favorite authors. In this thriller Carrie and her fiancé Adam (is that his real name?) are in trouble. Somebody is out to kill them. Is it because of Adam's past or is it one of Carrie's patients or their family members? Carrie is a medical doctor. Adam had been a lawyer who put his powerful father-in-law in prison for life. There are a few suspects even though the outcome is somewhat predictable.
I recommend this book as a fun read if you like thrillers and mystery. There is plenty of action and intrigue.
I was given this book by BookSneeze as part of their blogger program. I was not required to give a positive review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing HEART FAILURE by Richard L. Mabry, M.D.

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewing HEART FAILURE by Richard L. Mabry M.D.
I had never read a Mabry book before, and so I did not know what to expect with a physician writing a mystery. Well, he kept me interested and trying to figure out the end...remember, no peeking! Being he is so qualified in writing this type of medical story, I was wondering how many look for symptoms of their own as they read his books, and solutions to their own medical problems!
The mystery of the book was captivating, and I really liked her fiance but in a mystery, you never know how it will end. Dr. Mabry did it right..... this is a book to enjoy!
I was given a copy of this book by BOOK SNEEZE to read and review with my own opinion. I would recommend it to others to read; I shall be reading more of his books as well.
IBELIEVE2
Bev K
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review of the book Heart Failure By Richard Mabry

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It was about this girl dr named Carrie who fell in love with this guy named Adam but Adam turns out to be a complete different person then who she fell in love with. He turned out to be a person who was in the witness protection program and had changed lives,professions,etc. And that someone was trying to kill Adam and Carrie because she was close to him. Adam thought it was someone that was close to his step father because Adam sent his step father to jail for stealing/exhorting money. I won't spoil the ending but the killer was a surprise, didn't see it coming and not who I thought it was.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspense and Romance

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I enjoyed this Christian fiction suspense novel. The characters are believable, and the plot is fast-paced. There's just enough connection between Carrie and Adam for those who would choose a romance novel. Suspense kept this reader turning the pages. I finished the book in two days. The ending came as a surprise to me.
The fact that the author is a physician helps the medical parts come alive. I liked learning medical school tidbits like "When you hear hoof beats, think horses, not zebras" (137) when diagnosing a patient. I know that I'm not fully explaining it here, but when you get the book, you'll see for yourself the wisdom in this statement.
The book is almost perfect. The second paragraph on page 114, Carrie has a "d" on the end of her name. A simple mistake, but a jarring one.
Nonetheless, I highly recommend this book. Includes Reading Group Guide.
Thank you to Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson Publishing for my copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Richard Mabry's books.

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Dr. Richard Mabry's books. They are a real treat: enjoyable all the way through each moment of fast paced mysterious adventure. When I'm reading one of his books, I just can't guess what's coming next!
My acquaintance with Dr. Mabry's books began March of 2013 with Stress Test. I knew I would love that book from the moment I encountered the line: "Let's get him in the trunk."
Heart Failure had me from this line: "To begin with, Adam Davidson isn't my real name.... My real name is Keith Branson. I'm on the run. If the wrong people find me, I'm a dead man."
Wow, what a hook to pull you in! Those words were spoken by our main male character to his fiancee, moments after they were nearly killed in a drive-by shooting as they left a the movies after a date.
The lovely Spring dusk that had been so peaceful was shattered by fear, and then their evening was filled with revelation.
Carrie apparently did *not* know all there was to know about the man she loved. Adam, really Keith, was fleeing from the Witness Security Program. All he had wanted was to live a real life, free from both pursuers and protectors... but now he may have endangered the woman who holds his heart.
If you haven't read Stress Test, you can start with Heart Failure.
If you have read Stress Test, then you know why you have to read Heart Failure.
What makes these books so good?
The interpersonal relationships are painted in full color; there is just the right amount of romance; the suspense level is high... I just can't say enough about these stories!
Thank you Booksneeze for sending me my copy of Heart Failure to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and completely engaging!

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard L. Mabry, M.D. takes the reader on an exciting ride in his latest novel, "Heart Failure!" Carrie and Adam are shot at, and secrets come out. However, they do not know if one of them or both of them are being targeted and by whom. I loved this book just as I loved his first novel! Not only is "Heart Failure" filled with suspense, it is also filled with romance and also has a medical aspect to the story. The characters come to live in the pages and I found my heart racing right along with Carrie and Adam's and completely caught up in the drama! Richard L. Mabry, M.D. is not an author to miss if you enjoy suspenseful romance.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Heart Failure By Richard Mabry is awesome. I never thought I could ever enjoy doctor drama novels but I cannot read them fast enough. This is the story of Dr. Carrie and what life has dealt her at this moment in her life. She was enjoying the benefits of being engaged until the fateful incident that will turn her life upside down and test it as well. To have strength requires heart and Carrie may not be a super woman but she can handle all that is being thrown her way like the rest of them. The only question is will she see the right path that is hers to take? And how will she take it? The quick beat action is a real page turner and I could not put this novel down. I am glad I started early in the day with this novel because my Sunday seemed to fly by. Mabry's novels are must reads and I hope the next novel is published soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heart Failure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was very good.

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gertie Pridmore
Location:Lakeland, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another winning novel by Dr. Mabry. It will keep you reading to find out who is trying to kill Dr. Carrie Markham and her fiance Adam Davidson. By the end of the first chapter they have been shot at and Adam tells Carrie that he is not who she thought he was. He is really someone who has left the witness protection program. Can she trust him and can he make it on his own without protection? After someone tries to kill Carrie, they start to wonder which of them is the killer after. The book includes the medical side of the story, as it involves Carrie and the different people who come into her life as a doctor. There are some suspects among the people with whom she works. Who can they trust? Will you be able to figure out the killer? Be sure to read this book. You may be surprised as I was. I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to his next book. I received an advance copy of this book from the author, but was not asked to post a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.