Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3

Thomas Nelson Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3

At a rummage sale, Heather, a member of the Fireside Book Club, discovers a turn-of-the-century romantic advice book written by a once-famous Smitten, Vermont, resident. When she shares the precious volume with her friends in the club, they find clues about a hidden treasure rumored to be buried in their tiny town.

As Heather, Abby, Lia, and Molly take turns reading the book, each projects onto it her own literary tastes. Heather sees it as a mystery. Abby discovers delicious dashes of Jane Austen. Lia sees in it the idealism of a bygone day. And Molly just wishes they'd made the book into a movie!

Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Review 1 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun Group to Join the Smitten Book Club

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smitten Book Club
Colleen Coble, Diann Hunt, Denise Hunter, & Kristen Billerbeck
Book Summary: At a rummage sale, Heather, a member of the Fireside Book Club, discovers a turn-of-the-century romantic advice book written by a once-famous Smitten, Vermont, resident. When she shares the precious volume with her friends in the club, they find clues about a hidden treasure rumored to be buried in their tiny town. As Heather, Abby, Lia, and Molly take turns reading the book, each projects onto it her own literary tastes. Heather sees it as a mystery. Abby discovers delicious dashes of Jane Austen. Lia sees in it the idealism of a bygone day. And Molly just wishes they'd made the book into a movie! One by one, each of the women finds romantic love—often in spite of the historic book's advice. And in searching for the legendary gold, the friends discover the best kind of treasure. The kind that brings hope and healing to each of their hearts.
Review: I liked the overall theme that the stories kept of the Treasure hunt through the book historic book of advice. It was fun to watch this time into the stories. I liked most of the characters but did not enjoy Molly’s story as much. I felt sorry for her the book opened with the death of her husband. But for me I could not connect with Molly as easily as I did Lia, Heather and even Abby. I like the male characters in all the stories. I think the changing seasons lent itself to the moving of time that led into Molly’s story. I liked Heather’s story the best overall. Usually if I like the first story I tend to enjoy all of them. Despite not connecting with Molly, I did find her spunk to be a plus by her learning to run the company. I think the most moving part for me is that Diann Hunt is now with the Lord and this is her last story. It is bitter sweet for her friends and family left behind. All that being said the book was worth the read and continues in the periphery the characters that have gone before always a real plus when reading a series style book.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four Friends, Four Romances In Smitten

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter in their new book “Smitten Book Club” Book Three in the Smitten series published by Thomas Nelson takes us back to Smitten, Vermont.
From the back cover: The century-old Gentlewoman’s Guide to Love and Courtship is no ordinary book club choice. But for the little book club in Smitten, Vermont, it might be their best pick yet!
The thick, leathery tome Heather pulled out of the dusty cardboard box was definitely coming home with her. Not only was The Gentlewoman’s Guide to Love and Courtship an appealing curiosity by virtue of its title; it was also written by Smitten, Vermont native Pearl Chambers, a local gentlewoman from three generations back.
Little did Heather know the repercussions this little curiosity would have on her and her friends’ romantic exploits.
When Heather and her fellow book club members begin passing the book around, their respective interpretations are unleashed on their respective love lives . . . for better or for worse. Is it a mystery? An idealist fantasy? An intimation of Jane Austen? As romantic love finds its way to each woman, the Guide proves itself both surprisingly prescient and hilariously irrelevant.
What’s more, a handwritten inscription indicates that the arcane book might hold the only extant clues leading to buried gold—exactly what one of the members needs to keep her house. How could they not go treasure hunting?
In this remarkable collaborative novel, besties Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Denise Hunter, and Diann Hunt tackle the tale of theGentlewoman’s Guide by writing for one book club member apiece. Smitten Book Club is a hopeful, hilarious story of friendship and healing, written by friends for friends.
Once again we fall in love with the town of Smitten and its people and wish there really were such a place to visit. This time the focus is on Heather, Abby, Lia and Molly, four friends who not only are trying to read a book for their book club but, because of this book, are also going on a hunt for lost gold. Technically, “Smitten Book Club” is one story that connects through the lives of the four women. So that means we get four tales of romance as we watch them change and grow. All four authors know how to write characters that come alive off the page. Great storytelling, mystery and romance, what more could you ask for? I know: one more sequel! I recommend this book highly!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What A Fun Book~

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:St Joseph, Mo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun book! This book contains the talent of four authors. There are four different stories written about the ladies in the Smitten Book Club. They find an old book at a rummage sale that had been written by a lady from three generations back.
The book contains old-fashioned advice about love and romance. Although the advice was out dated the group was drawn to the book. They begin to pass it around and they never dreamed it would have such an impact on their lives. Maybe the advice was not so ridiculous after all for it really did seem to work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Is In The Air!

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
People comes from miles around to the cozy town of Smitten where romance seems to emanate from its quaint and scenic charm. Four young women who have lived in Smitten their entire lives have definitely seen the changes that have come to Smitten over the years. In this compilation of four different stories told by four completely different authors, each of these young women's stories unfolds. Their common bond is the Smitten Book Club where they meet on Friday nights and discuss the book of the week, among other things. Romance appears to be in the air where these young women are concerned, as well as to those who come from far and near to discover the ambiance for which Smitten is known. Is it the charm of Smitten and those who dreamily ride in carriages down the streets through town that affects these young women, or is it destiny that true love eventually blossoms in the hearts of these lifelong residents?
The authors have done a wonderful job of blending the lives of these four women in the town of Smitten. They have obviously worked well together to pull these stories into one amazing novel. Each story is well told with charming detail of both the community and their characters. I feel as if I've been to Smitten through the lives of these young women whose lives have intertwined since childhood, and have seen each other through tough times and happy days. It's a lovely compilation of circumstances and people overcoming somewhat overwhelming obstacles, and helping one another through difficult times to bring one another hope. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the stories told with imagination and romance. I look forward to reading the other books written about Smitten! By all means, pick up a copy and relax with a cup of your favorite beverage, and enjoy!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book through LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Romance In Smitten

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love visiting this town in Vermont, this is my third visit here, and hope for more.
Smitten is now known as the romance capitol, and we are about to embark on four romance adventures, of course, with the help of four writers. Love how they intertwine the stores, and page one seems to end at the end of the last novella.
We start with Abby, and end with Abby, but enjoy the stories of Heather, Molly and Elliana (Lia]. We are reading a side book through out....The Gentlewoman's Guide to Love & Courtship by Pearl Chambers, a long ago author from Smitten. We also, because of this side book, go on a hunt for gold.
I love how there is so much support of each other, and are there whenever there is a need. Whether it be a new dress, or holding one another at a time of grief, or directing another down the right path.
Don't miss this great book, and don't worry if you haven't read the other two, this one is complete by its self. Do yourself a favor and read the other two!
I received this book through Net Galley, and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Close friends on a mission

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friends working together and helping each other. Shows that true friends stick together regardless. Romance was found by all and they looked out for each other. When one was in need someone was always there. When one rejoiced they all rejoiced. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly Recommended for Fans of Sweet Romance!

Date:February 12, 2014
Love by the Book by Colleen Coble
This novella starts the book off well. The town rallies around Molly in her time of need, and I'm interested to see how that story continues to play out later. Heather is a sweetheart of a character, and I loved how giving she was. When Paul comes on the scene, I could see where this story was going, but I enjoyed the journey, quick as it was. Great start to the collection! [4 stars]
Shelved Under Romance by Kristen Billerbeck
Oh, Kristin Billerbeck! I love how her characters are so stereotypical. It definitely adds a bit of humor to the story. :) Abby is the quintessential nerdy, boring librarian who seriously needs a social life. Her friends are so sweet to encourage her to try new things, and Wyatt definitely breaks her out of her comfort zone! The ending is pretty rushed, but I enjoyed Wyatt and Abby's friendship as they learn to look past the obvious to see the true character of the person inside. [3.5 stars]
A New Chapter by Diann Hunt
This novella has so many elements that I love in a story—childhood friends reuniting, kids playing a main role in the story, forgiveness as a major theme! Sigh. As Lia and Joey reconnect, I enjoyed getting to know them and see how their relationship grew out of their friendship as kids. While this was a short story at around 80 pages, it didn't feel short, and I think it has a lot to do with the fact they already knew one another. I also adored Lia's mom and Joey's daughter! Sweet story all the way around. It's hard to choose, but I think this one might be my favorite story in the collection. :) [5 stars]
Happily Ever After by Denise Hunter
After reading a bit about Molly in the previous novellas, I was pleased to finally read her story. I had such empathy for her as she faced one struggle after another. And I loved Gage—a true hero! The final story in this collection is the longest and has the feel of a complete book, though I would have been happy to read about Molly and Gage for much longer than the 120 pages that Denise gave me! [5 stars]
Overall
I've thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in the Smitten series, and Smitten Book Club was no exception! All four authors did a great job including the main characters from the other novellas, and it was fun to continue reading about their stories throughout the other stories. The idea of a book possibly giving clues to a hidden treasure was fun, and I loved the hint of mystery woven throughout the book. With four talented authors contributing to this book, I don't see how anyone could be disappointed! Highly recommended! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2014
This book was penned by four friends and their unique writing styles blend together seamlessly as they write about the lives of Heather, Abby, Lia and Molly. The four novellas go into detail about the love lives of each of these individuals who are friends and part of the same book club. The story begins with Heather picking up a book written by a Smitten native, Pearl Chambers. The book is titled “The Gentlewoman’s Guide to Love and Courtship” and ends up being shared among the main characters. The wisdom that Ms. Chambers provides in her book proves useful to the characters in regards to their prospective love lives. Ms. Chambers also provides hints regarding a hidden treasure that has yet to be found. This treasure, if found, could be life-saving for Molly as she is about to lose everything. Molly’s friends come together to help her search for this hidden treasure that would truly change her life. I invite you to journey along with these four friends to get a glimpse into the lives of four women who are all struggling to find love and a hidden treasure.
I enjoyed reading the third book in this series and look forward to reading more from these authors. I found these stories to be quick reads as each one is a little over eighty pages with the exception of the last story which is over one-hundred pages. Although characters from the previous two books make appearances, this book can be read independently. I would recommend this book if you are looking for a light read with a touch of romance and mystery.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lasting Collection of Romance in Smitten!

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What happens when you combine authentic friendship and the love of writing together? You find warmth, love and the best of Christian Romance with the amazing talents of Colleen Coble, Denise Hunter, Diann Hunt and Kristin Billerbeck in their latest novel Smitten Book Club. Welcome to the town of Smitten, Vermont, now a designated small town romance capital where love abounds where you least expect it! The town has all pulled together to help one of their own, a widow Molly Moore who lost her firefighter husband when a building collapsed on him during a fire. Now struggling to make ends meet, the town rallies around her to lend a hand to a book sale fund raiser at the library to cover the funeral costs. Her friends and fellow book club members Heather DeMeritt, Abby Gray, and Elliana Burton discover a rare treasure buried in the piles of books, The Gentlewoman's Guide to Love and Courtship by long-time town resident Pearl Chambers. The ladies discover a true treasure inside when clues seem to point the way to a undiscovered gold mine which could really bring life changing financial relief to Molly if they can find it. This is where the journey begins as each well-renown author takes a spin at working with each book club member and carries the story through to the end.
Colleen Coble picks up with her story, Love By The Book which picks up with Heather DeMeritt, who discovers the man she loved and lost has returned to Smitten as part of a more permanent move. Heather has been assigned working with Paul Mansfield to develop a plot of land the town has donated as an organic farm. Along the way, Heather is able to interest Paul in helping her discover what she believes may in fact be the entrance to the gold mine on the vacant property. But will the two be able to put their past differences behind them into order to see what the future has in store for love?
Kristin Billerbeck picks up the novel with her addition, Shelved Under Romance, takes Abby Gray out of her comfort zone as the town's librarian. Since the death of her father, she has now taken over the care of her elderly mother and along the way, has lost her true identity buried beneath the layers of sweater seats, oversized clothing and comfortable shoes. But is she willing to take a leap of faith with sports extremist Wyatt Tanner as they continue to unravel clues to the buried treasure and discover love where she least expected it?
Diann Hunt captivates the reader with her addition, A New Chapter in which Elliana Burton who has a fear of doctors suddenly finds herself in need of a dentist when she loses a filling. She never dreams that romance could be hiding beneath the white coat of dentist Joey Oliver, the man she had given her heart to in grade school and had never gotten it back. Will she discover that there is more to life than Anne of Green Gables could predict?
Finally when Denise Hunter concludes with Happily Ever After with Molly Moore realizing that after all this time, the secrets she uncovers about her marriage with Curtis will lead to a very different path than she ever dreamed possible. But will she be willing to let her business competitor Gage Turner help provide the sound business advice she needs before Smitten Expeditions goes under for good?
I received Smitten Book Club by Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions are strictly my own. The best thing about The Smitten Book Club is getting a taste of four different romance writers in one novel. The stories flow so seamlessly you don't realize your making the move from one characters story into another one. The treasure hunt continues as each of the ladies finds more of the clues as they each take turns with the old book of dating and love advice from Pearl Chambers that showcases each new chapter within the short stories. You'll find yourself wondering just how true this really are to current day romance tips and along the way you'll find yourself charmed by the residents of Smitten who show us all what the real meaning of unconditional love really means. I personally give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. This is the third book in the Smitten series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Feel Good Book

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What happens when four of the best novelists out there get together and write an anthology? A wonderful, full-length novel you're sure to enjoy for years to come emerges.
Each author, writing in her own style and voice, writes life into each distinctly different character and shows the reader her respective talent. This is the way I prefer to be introduced to a new-to-me author. I've read books by Colleen Coble and Denise Hunter, so I knew I'd like this novel. Throw in new to me authors Kristen Billerbeck and Diann Hunt and wild horses couldn't have stopped me from grabbing a copy.
Love by the Book - Single mom Heather, written by Colleen Coble, is beautiful, bright, and loving, but she has past regrets she wishes she could erase from her memory. Not the least of which involves handsome Paul. Will she allow her past mistakes ruin something that perhaps was meant to be after all? Or is she doomed to live a life of a single mom raising a son?
Shelved Under Romance - Librarian Abby, written by Kristen Billerbeck, is shy, timid, and definitely NOT the adventurous type. But good-looking Wyatt wants to prove that she's more than she thinks she is and he's willing to take every single trick he's got to show her how special she truly is.
A New Chapter - Elliana's story touched my heart. When the man she's loved since childhood comes back to Smitten, she realizes that he may never grow to love her in return. How true to life is that?! Come on, remember that first crush you had? Just think, what would happen if he suddenly returned and wanted to regain that friendship? Would it be easy for you, or would you have reservations about losing your heart all over again with the possibility that things would never come of it? Yeah. Me too.
The best for last. In Happily Ever After, written by Denise Hunter, we are introduced to spunky, plucky Molly who is recovering from the loss of her husband Curtis. Juggling being a single mother and trying to get Curtis's dream business up and running, she runs into problem after problem. And one of those problems is the handsome and charming Gage Turner who just happens to be her competition - and Curtis's old nemesis. Will she be able to get over the past or will she hold the grudge without knowing the reason why? Will she be able to make a go of the business, or is she doomed to fail?
Meet Heather, Abby, Lia, and Molly. Four women, each with her own set of problems, trials, and triumphs, will show that life goes on. That they may have been knocked down, but they're not out for the count. After mistakes have been made, after regrets have been vanquished and pasts forgiven, these women show that courage doesn't mean you have to do everything on your own. That God gives us friendships - a truly special gift. Sharing their grit and determination to be what God wants them to be, these four embrace their destinies and encourage each other along on their own respective walks. Everyone needs friends like these. This book will not only touch your heart, but it will encourage you to be a better friend and to look past your own hardships and reach out to someone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light, quick and pleasant romances

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heather, Molly, Abby and Lia are all members of the Smitten book club. Each of the four authors has written a short romance about one of these book club members.
It all starts with Heather discovering a dusty edition of The Gentlewoman's Guide to Love and Courtship written by a Smitten native, Pearl Chambers. Her curiosity aroused, Heather looks over the book and finds a note indicating a treasure is to be found within its pages. A little investigation indicates Pearl had always claimed to have found a gold mine in the area – in fact, on the property to which Molly has the mineral rights. Molly had lost her husband about a year ago, a firefighter who died in action. Molly who is trying to make a go of the adventure business she and her husband were building. Molly, who is about to loose everything because of her difficult financial situation.
Heather soon gets her friends looking for the treasure. While not finding the gold, she finds a treasure herself. As The Gentlewoman's Guide gets passed around the group, each of the four women find romance.
These romances are short and fast (only in novels, as they say). You are not going to find any complex plots here. Just short and quick romances. The stories are woven together as the mystery of the treasure of gold continues to the very end. There are quotes from The Gentlewoman's Guide as we read through the book. It was fun to see Pearl's wisdom from a generation or two ago still applied today.
This is a light read of pleasant romance.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Excellent Story from Smitten!

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to visit Smitten, Vermont! The third installment of the Smitten books is just as much fun as the first three. I loved the new gals that were featured in this story as well as seeing glimpses of former favorites. Each story featured couples with different challenges to developing relationships. However, I just loved the over arching story of Molly was especially touching. Using Pearl Chambers’ book, Gentlewoman’s Guide to Love and Courtship, added not only some sage advice and some chuckles to the story as well.
Even though the stories are short and don’t have the same story and character development as a normal novel we do see some continued development throughout the four stories. This is a testimony to how well these four authors work together. They each have a unique style while blending nicely with the other three.
If you’ve read the other books this one is just as good. If you’ve never read this authors and are curious this is a great way to get an idea of what kind of writers they are. Even though this is the third in the series it stands independently from the others.
Disclaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher, but was under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book to read!

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very good to read! I was super excited to read it and dive in! It took me long to read then usual because life got busy and this is a big book to read! I thought it was one giant book but it was 4 small books into one and they all intertwine together!
The first book was about a woman named Heather who was helping her friend Molly out because her husband had died last year and was on her own with a failing business and Heather had smarts to help out with that. Heather ends up falling in love with her ex boyfriend and they end up getting back together after she divorced her current husband and now her and her boyfriend end up getting engaged to help take care of her son that she had previously!
The second book was about a girl named Abbey and she was a pretty boring person who never did anything adventurous and then she lost her dad and now takes care of her mom and works at the local library! Well turns out her one friend that she was in love with named Wyatt was close with her dad before he died, and Wyatt had a letter from her dad and it said that he wanted Wyatt to take care of her because he was the right guy for her! They end up falling in love and being happy and Abbey learns to be more adventurous!
The third story was about a woman named Elliana who before she had grown up and made a life for herself had fallen in love with a guy named Joey. Well one day she hurt her tooth and found herself being taken care of by a guy named Joey, it was the one she had fallen in love with from before! Turns out Joey is still in love with her but life is complicated because his wife died a year ago from a random shooting at the mall and left behind a daughter named Grace who was so traumatized by the shooting that she stopped talking and only talked in sign language to stay close to her mom who was deaf and wanted to keep her mom in memory forever! They end up falling in love and get married!
The fourth story is about Molly who I mentioned earlier! She needs help keeping her business afloat and in the process falls in love with this guy who helps her keep her business alive.
All in all the book was pretty predictable but I enjoyed reading it!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good lazy day read

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third book in the "Smitten" series. This starts with four ladies of the Smitten book club finding "The Gentlewoman's Guide to Love" written by native Pearl Chambers, a local gentlewoman from three generations ago. There is a legend that Pearl found gold and left clues as to its where about in her book.
Heather, Abby, Lia, & Molly each take turns reading the book and each one finds another clues as to where the gold might be. Along the way each one of them find love in Smitten, Vermont, the romance capital of the country.
I found this book of four novellas to be a quick cozy read. I did think the couples feel in love awful fast. Some parts I did skim over as being slow.
I would recommend this book for a light lazy day read.
I received this book from booksneeze.com for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smitten Book Club

Date:January 8, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Denise Hunter, and Diann Hunt tell the stories of Heather, Abby, Lia, and Molly in their latest novel, Smitten Book Club.
This book contains four fun tales to fill your winter evenings with as Heather, Abby, Lia and Molly each search for a treasure that is buried somewhere in Smitten.
These women soon learn that what they are searching for is not monetary, but the gift of love that only God can give!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delicious

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Smitten Book Club by Colleen Coble, Kristen Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, and Denise Hunter was just what this hopeless romantic needed and enjoyed. It certainly feels like I cannot find love in this crazy world of digital media. It was refreshing to see that in this picturesque town the friends can find love, themselves, and maybe a little treasure. This story gives the romance enthusiast the perfect amount of love, spunk, and lots of banter because isnt that what makes for a great love story. I feel that each of the four stories will complement all types of readers with the relatable characters and the situations. The story was, in my opinion, too short I wanted a lot more but it did hit all the marks. I would love another and cannot wait for the next collaborative book from some of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Smitten Book Club, Smitten Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smitten Book Club

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SMITTEN BOOK CLUB is the third and final novella collection in the Smitten, Vermont series. This is the last novel that these four best friends will write together since Diann Hunt passed away from cancer.
The first story is written by Colleen Coble. Her character, Heather, found an old romantic advice book called A Gentlewoman's Guide to Love and Courtship and the lives of her and her three best friends begin to change. Heather’s old flame, Paul, came to town and plans to stay, and she begins to learn to trust and love despite his past bad decisions.
The second novella is by Kristen Billerbeck and stars shy, unadventurous Abby who dresses and lives as if she is an eighty year old librarian instead of a twenty-seven year old one. However, she discovers her father left her a mission before she died- to have an adventure. And in the steady hands of Wyatt, Abby soon finds that she might have more in common with another literary character than she thinks.
The third novella in Smitten Book Club is by Diann Hunt. Lia, is a sweet kindergarten teacher who has a second chance at showing her best friend, Joey, how she really feels. However, he’s hesitant to move past a former loss. As Lia and Joey rekindle friendship, Joey sees the importance of forgiveness, moving on, and trusting God in the wake of sadness and anger.
The last story is by Denise Hunter and brings to a close the storyline that underlies all four novellas- the mystery of the gold and where it is hidden. Molly is still reeling from the death of her husband. Her outdoors business is more than she can handle and heading towards ruin. When business competitor Gage offers to help her out, Molly is instantly suspicious but eventually says yes. As they become closer, Molly realizes that she can trust again and follow her own dreams.
I really enjoyed all four novellas. They were cute, well written, and sweet. If you liked the first two books in the Smitten series, then you will want to read THE SMITTEN BOOK CLUB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.