Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1

Thomas Nelson A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1

Allison did everything she could do to rescue her marriage, but her husband left anyway. Their marriage is over. She retreats to the mountain home she inherited from her great-aunt Emma, a woman she thought she'd known well. But the trunks she discovers in the attic hold keepsakes, photographs, and journals that reveal secrets-and the stories of a kindred spirit.

As Allison learns more about Aunt Emma's life, she also learns more about her true self-and what it means to surrender completely to a sovereign God. Heart healing and moving forward with her life-making new friends, making new plans-Allison never dreamed of the many unexpected ways God can keep His promises.

Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Review 1 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Listening To God

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story of love and romance, marriage, divorce, heartbreak, and some healing. Above all listening to what God is telling you, not what you want.
The book opens with Allison try to go on with her life after her divorce. She has moved to Aunt Emma's cabin located in the mountains of Idaho. You will feel like you are walking the wilderness trails, taking in the beauty. We also search the attic, and are there to find the pictures, and the journals....what a gift.
With the journals we open another love story, well hidden in the family, and most don't seem to know about it. There is also a bridal gown..whose?? It does have significance, and we will see it again. Allison's daughter, Meridith has come to accept the divorce and loves both parents. Through her there seems to be a healing.
Through all of the stories, and there are more than one, we find God's hands leading, all they have to do is listen. The author's note at the end of the book, really moved me. Thank you Robin.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian fiction at its best

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This wasn't the life Allison Kavanagh had imagined for herself, but it was what her life had become. Like it or not, she had to get on with it." With these beginning words, Robin pens a deeply personal and moving story of marriage, divorce, heartbreak, and restoration.
The descriptions of the mountain cabin and community of Kings Meadow just north of Boise, Idaho create a great sense of place. And while I'm not a dog person, I fell in love with Gizmo. Allison had "read somewhere that owning a Papillon meant never going to the bathroom alone, and it was true. . . . She loved him for making her feel less alone."
The contemporary narrative seamlessly flashes back to the 1920s and 30s through the journals of Allison's Great Aunt Emma, a character I was immediately drawn to - financially independent as a nature photographer and considered to be the "rebel" of the family. But a different Emma emerges through the pages of her journal, and her words that impacted Allison will speak to readers also.
Allison, a woman of deep faith who had tried so hard to save her marriage, is heartbroken when her obedience results in Troy walking away. "She'd been so certain God would heal her marriage, but it was clear that she'd misunderstood. For Allison's marriage was over and God did not lie."
Relevant, compelling, emotional, honest, Spirit filled, real . . . A Promise Kept is Christian fiction at its best, a well-written story that entertains, yet challenges and convicts at the same time. For while this story focuses on a marriage torn apart by alcohol addiction, it also reminds us of spiritual truths that we know, but often tend to forget in the heat of the moment. It's piercing message is for all Christians as Allison asks herself, "Am I thankful for the hard things and disappointments that have happened in my life? Have I let Him be Lord over every area of my life?"
A Promise Kept is a great example of how God can use Christian fiction to change lives. I am thankful Robin and her husband, Jerry, were willing to share their story and pray that many readers will pick up this book and be touched by its message. I highly recommend this story to all readers.
Thank you to Litfuse Publicity for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Promise Kept by Robin Lee Hatcher

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Allison Kavanagh who is recently divorced moves into her great aunt Emma's home in Kings Meadow, Idaho to put the pieces of her life back together after a painful divorce. The journals she finds in the attic that were written by her great aunt Emma completely change her life. Through the journals she learns to forgive her ex-husband, Tony. They help her draw closer to God and to hear his voice more clearly. She also comes to the realization that just because a prayer isn't answered immediately it doesn't mean it won't be answered. She learns she must simply wait on God.
In this book you follow the lives of both Allison and her great aunt Emma. Allison's life happening at present and Emma's through her journals written over a span of forty years. Shared one entry at a time, each letter is a glimpse into Emma's past. A past that has been hidden for decades from future generations. You will come to know the true aunt Emma right along with Allison who uncovers secrets as she reads through the pages one by one. You will experience Emma's highs and lows, her moments of rejoicing and her moments of heartbreak along with little bits of wisdom on every page.
Quote:
"A faith that can't be tested can't be trusted"
I thoroughly enjoyed being a part of the lives of these characters for the duration of this story. They were so lovable and endearing and both Allison's and Emma's stories, although they happened in different eras, are prevalent today. You will see God's power of restoration unfold within the pages as each character draws closer to the One that makes all things new.
Quote:
"Freedom. I thought much about the word over the winter. I contemplated what it means to be free in Christ, and I resolved that freedom in Christ is the only kind of freedom worth anything. Every other kind of freedom pales beside it. And if I am free in Christ, then I will know freedom wherever he leads me, even if He should lead me into a prison cell, as He did the apostle Paul, or into a solitary life in a log house in the mountains of Idaho, as it seems to be now for me.
I continue to pray for Alexander. I wish he might know this freedom too. I understand now, as I could not understand before, that he was bound up on the inside. I wanted him to fill my every need, needs that can only be filled by the King of Kings. It is not fair to put that burden on another human being..."
Such thought provoking revelations are common in this story. It will satisfy you as a reader and strengthen your faith. The romance aspect takes a backseat but you will never miss it as the story makes a profound statement all on its own. Many tears were shed while reading this book and I encourage you to read the Author's Note at the end of the story as well because the tears don't end with the story. This is a miraculous story of healing and restoration that will touch the reader's heart. I HIGHLY recommend it!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine alone. If I recommend a book you can believe it's simply because I liked it. I received no monetary compensation for the review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Loved this sweet story

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jcole
Location:Malakoff, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great book by Robin Lee Hatcher! A Promise Kept is more than just another fiction story, instead this is a very personal story for Robin.
39-PromiseKept_quote202
Allison in the main character in A Promise Kept and she is navigating life after having her marriage destroyed by alcohol. After being married for over 18 years, Allison on Tony parted ways. Allison found comfort in a cabin in the woods left to her by her great Aunt Emma. While nestled away and learning what life looks as a divorced woman, she finds Emma’s journals.
Allison and her great Aunt Emma both share a marriages destroyed by alcohol, but both also share redemption through that destruction. As Allison reads Emma’s journals she sees her Aunt trust the Lord and grow in His truths. She also learns to stand on her own as a woman, wholly leaning on the Lord.
Seeing how Allison and Tony remain honorable toward one another, especially for their daughter’s sake, was very encouraging and heart warming.
This is a wonderful book to give to a friend who has dealt with divorce, alcoholism, and even just learning to lean into the Lord. There is tremendous maturity modeled by the characters in this story!
The best part was reading how Allison’s life was similar to what Robin Lee Hatcher dealt with in her own life.
I highly recommend this book, I enjoyed the story tremendously!
NOTE : I was offered a copy of A Promise Kept in exchange for an honest review by Litfuse
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful, emotional story!

Date:February 9, 2014
I'm a big fan of Robin Lee Hatcher, and when I learned that A Promise Kept was a smidge auto-biographical, I was even more intrigued. I flew through this book in a couple of days. Hatcher adopts a unique way of telling two stories—Allison's through the main narrative and Emma's through journal entries that Allison finds in the house. I loved getting to read both stories. At times, though, I felt that they could have been two separate stories, and I wanted just a little more of Emma's story to finish it out. But I loved how they paralleled each other so nicely.
While this is a romance, I loved how the main focus was on Allison and Emma's developing relationships with the Lord—the greatest romance of all! Everything didn't turn out perfectly by human standards, but it still felt like a "happy ending." The two stories each gave a tangible example of what redemption looks like, again paralleling with the message of the gospel.
Robin Lee Hatcher's latest novel, A Promise Kept, is a moving story that goes beyond the typical romance story lines. Inspired by events in the author's own life, it is Hatcher's most emotional—and thought-provoking—book yet. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith, Trust and Romance

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Lee Hatcher in her new book, “A Promise Kept” published by Thomas Nelson brings us into the lives of Allison Kavanagh and Emma Carter.
From the Back Cover: God was going to save her marriage, Allison was sure of it. What had become of His promise?
Tony Kavanagh had been Allison’s dream-come-true. They were in love within days, engaged within weeks, married and pregnant within a year. Her cup bubbled over with joy . . . but years later, that joy had been extinguished by unexpected trials.
The day Allison issued her husband an ultimatum, she thought it might save him. She never expected he would actually leave. She was certain God had promised to heal; it was clear that she’d misunderstood.
Now, living in the quiet mountain cabin she inherited from her single, self-reliant Great Aunt Emma, Allison must come to terms with her grief and figure out how to adapt to small town life. But when she finds a wedding dress and a collection of journals in Emma’s attic, a portrait of her aunt emerges that takes Allison completely by surprise: a portrait of a heartbroken woman surprisingly like herself.
As Allison reads the incredible story of Emma’s life in the 1920s and 1930s, she is forced to ask a difficult question: Does she really surrender every piece of her life to the Lord?
Drawing from her own heart-wrenching story of redemption, A Promise Kept is Robin Lee Hatcher’s emotionally charged thanksgiving to a God who answers prayers—in His own time and His own ways.
There comes a point, I think, in everyone’s lives where what we believe God has said He would do and the actual events do not seem to agree. When this occurs it can be devastating, emotionally, physically and spiritually. I think God allows this to happen to see if we will then draw closer to Him or draw away from Him in our pain. All of this happens within the pages of “A Promise Kept”. Ms. Hatcher has reached into her own life story and given us an emotionally charged drama that shows this test of faith. I believe she has done a remarkable job of showing the intensity of feeling each character goes through especially Allison and Emma. Ms. Hatcher has given us characters that are marvelous, meticulously crafted, and each one literally breathes on the pages. Robin Lee Hatcher has written a well done novel that I liked a lot.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story that needed to be told...

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A simple yet elegant wedding dress and a collection of several journals, both buried in a trunk in a cabin that had belonged to her Great Aunt Emma.
When Allison found these fascinating and feminine possessions, she needed to know the story behind them.
The surprising discovery sparked her investigation and it is soon clear that she in delving right into the human heart and soul, both her aunt's and her own.
And it is also clear that the two women are remarkably similar.
Allison is off-balance and unsure if herself after a 25 year marriage to an alcoholic, and she is a woman whom I found myself loving as I read.
I know people who are in the same place as Allison, and I saw and heard clear echoes of their experience in her story.
The very real problems that alcoholism causes come through in this book, and allison rings true as a person and a spouse of an addicted man.
Her thoughts, the way they swung from aching for justice and vowing to never be hurt again to wanting to trust and trying to make everything better... they are all there.
As she pores over Emma's self-revelations, she finds parallells to her own questions, doubts, and difficulties, and she finds hope in Emma's healing.
I'm glad that this book was written, very glad.
Most of us can enjoy *A Promise Kept* as a slice-of-life novel that is engaging and satisfying.
We can watch Allison become an even deeper, more grounded woman.
And some of us will read and know exactly what Allison has been through, and will understand her as a sister.
And all of us can marvel with Allison as we ponder the crazy, wonderful, unexpected, tearful, prayerful, beautiful way that God works out His plans for us.
There is heart-ache and rejoicing in this story.
Thank you very, very much to Litfuse for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets Unfold

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently divorced, Allison Kavanagh moves to the mountains of Idaho into the log home left to her by her great aunt Emma. The dissolution of her marriage weighed heavily on her heart, her conscience still pricked by the knowledge that God hates divorce. Her alcoholic ex-husband had wreaked havoc in their relationship. Her only daughter lives in Texas. Alone, she seeks resolution in her life, her faith having been destroyed along with her marriage. Through the discovery of her aunt's journals penned throughout the majority of her life, Allison begins a journey through her aunt's life that reveals secrets that lurked in her family's past.
The spiritual journey that Allison exemplifies is quite familiar, as she struggles with questions regarding whether she imagined or truly heard God's commands, and guilt regarding her failed marriage. As voiced in the book, while God hates divorce, He doesn't hate the divorced.
Allison's story is told alongside Emma's life story, alternating between the two time periods, occasionally reverting to Allison's early years with her former husband. At times I found this a bit confusing to follow, but as my reading continued their stories blended well. The author has created a very touching life history and spiritual journey through the pages of A Promise Kept. Very detailed and emotional, the story of how Allison began to rediscover her faith is heartwarming and an example for others who have faced divorce, and have lived with an alcoholic. The rediscovery of faith is a very strong point in this story of new beginnings and past heartache that have been blended into a poignant story of two very special women.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Intimate Story of God's Faithfulness

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only books I had previously read by Robin Lee Hatcher were some of her historical fiction. But since I really enjoyed her writing in that genre, I decided to take a chance on A Promise Kept, a more contemporary story. When I found out a little of the "story behind the story," I was even more intrigued and anxious to read it.
A Promise Kept is a very well-written, intimate story of God's faithfulness. Although the story is fictional, it is based on a challenging time in Robin's own life -- what appeared to be the end of a marriage that she truly expected God to save. As in Robin's own situation, the main character of her story finds herself doubting whether she correctly heard God's promise about her marriage.
As she begins digging into her aunt's story from the past, Allison learns important lessons about the present that help her find her way back to seeing God's way of keeping His promises. Robin does an excellent job of interweaving Allison's contemporary story with her Aunt Emma's surprising tale revealed through her journals. And she learns that God is always faithful to answer prayer, sometimes in unexpected ways and in His own timing.
To learn more about Robin and the experiences that prompted her to write A Promise Kept, visit her website and check out the interview linked there.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Claudette Kleckner
Location:Meridian, Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book tells a story the way God would see it go. He was the one behind Allison and Emma's and even Jerry's story. It tells a love story without all the romance, you just know in your heart the feelings these characters are going through. It shows how a relationship between other characters can be so deep and loving without romance in the picture. It tells of a story long ago and a story of modern times. The switch back and forth was so easy to follow compared to other books. It took me back to my broken marriage of years ago. My marriage didn't last as this character's does. But I thank God every day for putting my hubby in my life. Robin did an excellent job with this story line. I didn't want it to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God was going to save her marriage, Allison was sure of it. But neither her husband nor her marriage had been saved.
What had become of His promise?
Tony Kavanagh had been Allison’s dream-come-true. They were in love within days, engaged within weeks, married and pregnant within a year. Her cup bubbled over with joy . . . but years later, that joy had been extinguished by unexpected trials.
The day Allison issued her husband an ultimatum, she thought it might save him. She never expected he would actually leave. She was certain God had promised to heal; it was clear that she'd misunderstood.
Now, living in the quiet mountain cabin she inherited from her single, self-reliant Great Aunt Emma, Allison must come to terms with her grief and figure out how to adapt to small town life. But when she finds a wedding dress and a collection of journals in Emma’s attic, a portrait of her aunt emerges that takes Allison completely by surprise: a portrait of a heartbroken woman surprisingly like herself.
As Allison reads the incredible story of Emma’s life in the 1920s and 1930s, she is forced to ask a difficult question: Does she really surrender every piece of her life to the Lord?
Drawing from her own heart-wrenching story of redemption, A Promise Kept is Robin Lee Hatcher’s emotionally charged thanksgiving to a God who answers prayers—in His own time and His own ways.
My Review:
This book came to me at a time in my life when I needed it most. Giving control over to God is extremely difficult when you think that you have the answers. It is hard to wait for the right time, and we often get ahead of ourselves in trying to make our lives happen. Allison found inspiration through her aunt Emma's story, and I did as well. The things Emma faced and overcame was incredible, and gave Allison the inspiration she needed to do the right thing about her marriage.
Hatcher is known for her heartwarming stories, but I think this is her best one yet. She clearly portrays that waiting on God is the answer, and encourages us through her story; "Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord." Psalm 27:14. This was a story of redemption, second chances, and the rewards of waiting on the Lord. Recommended for lovers of clean, insightful, Christian fiction.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hatcher's best story yet

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Promise Kept" is a story of grace, answered prayer and restoration. Even though God answers our prayers in His time and for His purposes, we don't often get to see His plan ahead of time. When He makes us a promise, He keeps it although sometimes He delays in order to teach us patience, trust and faith.
Allison and Tony married young and became parents. They were blessed, but it didn't take long for Allison to find out that Tony had a drinking problem. Issuing him an ultimatum believing God had promised her that her marriage would be restored, she never dreamed her husband would choose to leave rather than give up drinking. She retreats to her Aunt Emma's mountain home and finds Emma's diaries which reveal a different person than the one she grew up knowing. She discovered that she and her Aunt had more in common than she could have guessed.
Robin Lee Hatcher inspires and encourages with "A Promise Kept". The Aunt Emma backstory captured my heart almost more than Allison and Tony's. The way she overcame her troubles and learned to trust God was an incredible example of how we should all react in times of trial and the results that take place when we do. If you have ever waited on God's answer to your dearest prayers or felt like giving up when God doesn't seem to be hearing you, this story will change the way you feel about waiting on Him. Hatcher is known for her heart-warming and emotional stories, but "A Promise Kept" is quite possibly her best yet.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Promise Kept, by Robin Lee Hatcher, is an amazing story. It tells of Allison Kavanagh’s struggle with God. She is sure that she heard His promise to save her marriage, and her heart is torn apart upon her divorce.
Moving in to her great-aunt’s cabin in Idaho, she soon discovers several journals as well as an old wedding dress in the attic. Bewildered at this discovery, since her aunt was single, she begins to read the journals, soon realizing that her aunt has struggled with God as well. As time passes and her ex-husband remains alcohol free, she begins to wonder if God might not keep His promise after all.
I enjoyed this book. Its characters were well-developed and easy to relate to. Their faults and problems were common situations that many have found themselves in. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent contemporary/historical novel

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Allison was sure she had heard from God. He had promised He would save their marriage. Yet here she was, alone in the Idaho mountains in the cabin she had inherited from her great aunt Emma. Her alcoholic husband gone after she had given him the ultimatum. She had been so sure and now it seemed God had not kept His promise.
This is a great novel, a combination of a contemporary story with a historical one. After Allison gets settles in the cabin, she begins to explore the attic. She finds journals her great aunt had kept. As Allison's story develops, we periodically read from Emma's journals. This technique of reading about Allison's life and Emma's life is perfectly done.
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It is so well written. I felt like I really knew Allison as she struggled with her faith in God's promises. While she never looses her strong faith, she certainly questions how she hears from God. Her experience is so familiar. And I really enjoyed Emma's story. It was very interesting to see how a troubled marriage was dealt with in the 1920s and 30s.
Well written, a great story, well presented characters, all revolving around a committed Christian faith, this is a superb novel. I highly recommend it.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through the Litfuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of her best yet

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Prospect,KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't the life Allison had planned but things don't always turn out as you plan. Her daughter is a grown woman and lives far away and her alcoholic husband left her even though she was certain God would heal their marriage, so Allison moves into the old log cabin home in the mountains of Idaho left to her by her Great Aunt Emma several years back. Allison has never been much of a collector nor has she kept memorabilia from her life. Emma left Allison box after box of items in the attic that reveal Emma had much more in common with Allison than she ever realized. Can Allison still be comforted and learn from the content of those boxes and the heartache her aunt had experienced? Healing comes from a number of unexpected places.
In some ways, there are two stories going on at the same time. Emma's story, which primarily takes place in the 1920s and 30s, and Allison's current day journey of healing, from her pain and disappointment, and her return to trusting God. The transitions between the time periods and the connection between the two are expertly done and easy to follow.
I have always enjoyed reading Robin Lee Hatcher's writings but she has addressed something in this novel that I don't know has been hit head on so well before. Allison felt certain God had promised to heal her marriage and then she felt God telling her to let go of her marriage. Why had God not kept his promise? Had she misunderstood either his promise or his direction? Everyone has certainly felt that way at one time or another and the author does an excellent addressing that question. Knowing that Ms. Hatcher used experiences from her own life in this novel , walking a path similar to Allison's, makes it even a more compelling story.
One of her best yet, A Promise Kept addresses alcoholism, divorce, and searching for God through a beautiful story. I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review and was in no way obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming and Uplifting

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in two different time frames, but with the common bridge of doubt, pain, finding strength and rediscovering God, "A Promise Kept" by Robin Lee Hatcher was an eloquently written story about two different women in different times, yet facing similar issues of rediscovering the person that God had made them to be while struggling with painful relationships that seem to have no hope.
The book captured the pain that not only ending relationships can carry with it and the questions that later arises, but also the importance of not losing who you are, no matter where in life one is, and touches on the power of healing, rediscovery and family.
With two main characters in different time periods, Robin Lee Hatcher, did a wonderful job at delicately carrying both stories without one losing too much with the other, all the while blending the power message of redemption that is carried throughout the book and how there is hope in all circumstances.
The characters, Allison and her great-aunt, Emma, are strong,well rounded characters who go through a journey of finding their voice and heart again while facing uncertainty due to their circumstances. Fully fleshed out with a strong background, Robin creates characters that are engaging and sympathetic and all the while drawing the reader to the common background of a rustic cabin, set back in the mountainous woods, that hosts both Allison and her great-aunt, although at different times, but for the same reasons of a broken heart.
It is almost like the place was created specifically, set back in the woods of the mountain, for a place of healing and retreat, as both women, in their own ways, find their way not just back to God and His redemption but healing in relationships and in the lives of the people that they meet.
The book was a wonderful read and it really touched on the journey it takes with accepting God's word, but not seeing it manifest as one may sometimes expect it to, as both Allison and Emma, share in both journal and journey, their attempts to not only make sense of the circumstances that suddenly surround them but a deeper understanding of what is it that God's plan for them was since what they thought, didn't manifest as they had prayed.
"A Promise Kept" shows that God's manifestation of His promises isn't always what we may imagine it to be, but sometimes in different ways that are much grander than we can expect. The story is honest and emotional wrenching at times while others, I found myself feeling like I was there with the characters and experiencing their life as they were experiencing life.
The people are real and tugged at the heart as a good book should,when it draws a reader in and "A Promise Kept", balanced between a powerful message and reminder and a enthralling story that keeps the reader turning the pages.
I really enjoyed reading, "A Promise Kept" and felt like it was a book to be share with someone as a reminder that though the characters weren't real, it was so easy to identify with them, in their doubt, their discovery and the power of grace and redemption that rings throughout this book.
***Thank you to Litfuse Publicity for the opportunity to read and review this book, in exchange for my personal opinion***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

KEPT PROMISES

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
LAURABO
Location:SPRINGFIELD, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God keeps His promises, maybe not in the way and time we want and expected. In A PROMISE KEPT by Robin Lee Hatcher we are shown again that God is a God of His word.
Allison Kavanaugh moves to the mountains of Idaho to start over after her marriage ends. Believing she had heard from God she had used "tough love" with her husband Tony, an alcholic. But he had walked out instead of the outcome she had envisioned.
Moving into the cabin her Great Aunt Emma had left her north of Boise she begins to work through her disappointment and reaches out and learns to talk to God again. Doubting her ability to hear from God, she had drifted and stopped talking to Him. In the attic she finds several journals of her aunts where she discovers an aunt she didn't know as well as she thought.
The book is a telling of two stories and through them both we see God's redemptive grace and restoration. I loved reading this narrative and give it a big thumbs up!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Seeing how God works in the lives of his believers

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"In the two weeks since moving into the log house, Allison and Gizmo had explored several paths on their daily walks. Allison's favorite was the one that followed the river. And today, with wildflowers blooming everywhere - an abundance of pinks and blues, yellows and oranges - she felt a lifting of her spirit. It was so pretty. God's handprints were everywhere.
Thank You.
Thank You that I had this place to come to. Thank You that I wasn't completely ruined in the divorce. I might've been. Other women have been. But I'm okay.
After Tony's first stint in rehab, Allison went on loving him, even when others though her crazy to put up with him. Even when he lost another job and then another and another. Even when he landed in the hospital. Again and again. Even when he broke her heart and disappointed her and abandoned her emotionally. With his every new attempt at recovery, she took hold of hope and expected to see him overcome the desire to drink. She believed again and again that he would get sober and stay sober. Only to see him fail. Again.
One good thing came out of her troubled marriage: Allison had been driven to the foot of the cross. Her faith in Christ has been born and then challenged and deepened. A Bible study leader once said to her,"A faith that can't be tested can't be trusted." Well, Allison's faith had been thoroughly tested. She'd gone through the refiner's fire more than once.
And then, at long, last, had come God's promise to save her marriage. Or at least she'd believed it was His voice. His promise at the time.
Tears sprang to her eyes at the memory. Disillusionment pierced her heart like the sting of a scorpion.
She'd been so certain God would heal her marriage, but it was clear that she'd misunderstood. For Allison's marriage was over and God did not lie.
She turned away from the bridal gown and the memories it had stirred to life and left the attic." (pg 42-43).
In the latest novel from Robin Lee Hatcher, A Promise Kept takes the reader into two very different time periods as Allison Kavanaugh moves into her great aunt Emma's home she inherited, she discovers a collection of journals that describe a very different Emma that no one had ever known. As Allison begins to heal from the promise she felt that God had given her and come to terms of acceptance in His will for her life, she finds Emma Carter was a very different woman growing up in the early 1900's and the love she had showcased how much God can work in someone's life when they are willing to commit to His plans 100%.
I received A Promise Kept by Robin Lee Hatcher compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is a story of how can can redeem not only anything but also anyone when we least expect it. I was surprised by the path Robin took her characters in and found myself wishing some things would have gone different ways. At the conclusion of this novel, Robin takes you behind the scenes for the real-life details of the inspiration for this story. One that shows that even though our time table for things we believe God wants in our lives, is a very different one than God has in place at times. In the end, however, ALL things work together for the good of those that love the Lord. I easily give this one a 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing A PROMISE KEPT by Robin Lee Hatcher

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewing A PROMISE KEPT by Robin Lee Hatcher
The writing style of the book is without chapters, but in keeping with the story, more like a diary of two lives; subjects covered include alcoholism, divorce, abuse, tough love, infidelity, with a cover that is right on target with the story. Beautiful.
I would recommend this book to people whose marriages are experiencing any of the above because of the issues dealt with.
Some of the good statements contained in the book include "A faith that can't be tested can't be trusted:" Times change but 'people' don't; God hates divorce. He doesn't hate the divorced; Easier is not necessarily better; Why does time fly by when you are happy and creep along when in sorrow? How can I pray 'thy will be done' if I know it includes going through the fire and I don't want to? If you stop moving forward, you move backward...like facing the wrong way on a conveyor belt. The television tells us we are worthy of whatever will make us beautiful or rich, smart, happy, and we want it, but..." Freedom in Christ is the only kind worth anything.
The author covers these difficult subjects scripturally and interestingly. She brings up situations that make you think, what would you do, or how would you react, ie, if your younger sister were the 'beautiful and popular' one and people flocked to her or used you to get to her; the question is asked, Can you be a Christian and a drunk at the same time; should you force the issue and find out if there is infidelity; we are who we are because of and in spite of...
The author weaves appropriate scriptures throughout the story to support or define things that are happening. In many instances she compares teachings many grew up with that often are no longer taught, ie, courtesy, respect, dress, homemaking vs career. She tells us that Jesus invites us to be yoked with Him as we walk through the fire of life together.
The book has a Reading Group Guide in the back so it can be used for discussion in group settings. I would recommend this book.
I received this book free from HarperCollins Christian Publishing CTB Thomas Nelson for review without any restrictions as to my comments.
ibelieve2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Promise Kept, Kings Meadow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

He is so faithful. Beautiful story, great read!

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shari Bradley
Location:Vista, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just as other reviewers have written, I love reading Robin's books. This one in particular was so special, as the topic is one close to my heart - and many others, I'm sure. Also loved the interwoven story of Allison's great aunt. So beautifully illustrates how God will work in His own way, not as we expect, but in often remarkably unexpected ways. One aspect especially touched my heart - keep praying for those you love and be grateful for those who prayed for you and yours. We know it makes a difference. God hears your prayers. Will have to keep this one on my kindle because I know I will be re-reading it in the near future. So grateful for writers like Robin, who write from their Spirit-touched hearts. Keeps me focused on the One who loves me and is not willing that any should perish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>